Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Kim(US 20230065554 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches a finger-gripper assembly system comprising: a finger; a gripper to which the finger is coupled so as to be removable; and a station configured to store a removed finger, wherein the gripper comprises: an extender configured to extend in an extension direction intersecting a first axis; and a connector coupled to a lower side of the extender so as to be movable in the extension direction, wherein the connector is coupled to the finger, wherein the station comprises: a station body having a main hole; and a finger insertion groove into which an upper side of the finger is inserted, wherein the finger insertion groove extends from the main hole in the extension direction.
(Refer to annotated Kim Figs above)
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches the finger-gripper assembly system of claim 14, wherein the finger comprises: a finger body having a mounting hole, wherein the mounting hole is formed on an upper side of the finger body and open upward such that a lower side of the connector is inserted into the mounting hole; and a latch connected with the connector to obstruct separation of the connector from the mounting hole, after the connector is inserted into the mounting hole, wherein a width of the finger insertion groove corresponds to a width of a portion of the finger body inserted into the finger insertion groove. (Refer to annotated Kim Figs above)
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the finger-gripper assembly system of claim 14, wherein the latch comprises a protrusion configured to protrude out of the finger body, and wherein the protrusion is pressed toward the finger body by a region comprising the finger insertion groove, after the finger is inserted into the finger insertion groove. (Refer to annotated Kim Figs above)
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the finger-gripper assembly system of claim 14, wherein the finger insertion groove has an opening toward the finger body, when the finger is disposed in the finger insertion groove. (Refer to annotated Kim Figs above)
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches the finger-gripper assembly system of claim 14, wherein the extender comprises a plurality of extenders, the connector comprises a plurality of connectors, the finger comprises a plurality of fingers, and the finger insertion groove comprises a plurality of finger insertion grooves, and wherein a quantity of the plurality of extenders corresponds to a quantity of the plurality of fingers, a quantity of the plurality of connectors corresponds to the quantity of the plurality of fingers, and a quantity of the plurality of finger insertion grooves corresponds to the quantity of the plurality of fingers. (Refer to annotated Kim Figs above)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9,11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and further in view of Silbert(US 20230390947 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a finger-gripper assembly comprising: a finger; and a gripper to which the finger is coupled so as to be removable, wherein the gripper comprises: an arm; an extender coupled to a lower end of the arm, wherein the extender extends, from the arm, along a second axis that extends in an extension direction and intersects with the first axis; and a connector coupled to a lower side of the extender so as to be movable along the second axis, wherein the connector is connectable to the finger. Kim fails to teach wherein the extender is rotatable about a first axis. However, Silbert teaches an automated gripping mechanism with an arm , extender , connector and removable fingers where the extender is rotatable about a first axis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Silbert to have a finger-gripper assembly with an extender rotatable around a first axis capable of coupling with the connector in order to move the fingers back and forth in a second axis direction.
(Refer to annotated Kim and Silbert Figs above)
Regarding Claim 2, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the finger comprises: a finger body having a mounting hole, wherein the mounting hole is formed on an upper side of the finger body and open upward such that a lower side of the connector is inserted into the mounting hole; and a latch connected with the connector to obstruct separation of the connector from the mounting hole, after the connector is inserted into the mounting hole.
(Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18, 20 and 21 above)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 2, Kim further teaches wherein the latch comprises: an overlapping region configured to overlap the mounting hole when viewed from above; and a protrusion configured to protrude out of the finger body when viewed from above.
(Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18, 20 and 21 above)
Regarding Claim 4, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein the latch is rotatable about a rotational axis located between the overlapping region and the protrusion and extending in a direction of the first axis, after the protrusion is pressed toward the finger body.
(Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18, 20 and 21 above)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein the connector comprises a coupling groove, into which the overlapping region is inserted, and wherein movement of the connector in the direction of the first axis is restricted after the overlapping region is inserted into the coupling groove.
(Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18, 20 and 21 above)
Regarding Claim 7, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 6, Kim further teaches wherein the finger further comprises a support configured to elastically push the protrusion away from the finger body. (Refer to annotated Kim Fig 21 above)
Regarding Claim 9, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 7, wherein the finger further comprises a stop that is brought into contact with an end portion of the overlapping region to obstruct movement of the overlapping region toward the finger body. (Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18 and 21 above)
Regarding Claim 11, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 3, Kim further teaches wherein the protrusion comprises an inclined portion in which the latch curves toward the finger body. (Refer to annotated Kim Fig 21 above)
Regarding Claim 12, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 7, Kim further teaches wherein the overlapping region comprises: a first overlapping portion disposed on a side of the connector in the extension direction to support a support surface located on the side of the connector in the extension direction; and a second overlapping portion inserted into the coupling groove to obstruct movement of the connector in the direction of the first axis. (Refer to annotated Kim Fig 18 above)
Regarding Claim 13, Kim as modified by Silbert teaches the finger-gripper assembly of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the extender comprises a plurality of extenders, and the finger comprises a plurality of fingers, and wherein a quantity of the connector corresponds to a quantity of the plurality of extenders, and a quantity of the plurality of fingers corresponds to the quantity of the plurality of extenders. (Refer to annotated Kim Fig. 23 above)
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kamon et Al(US 20230356409 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the finger-gripper assembly system of claim 15, Kim fails to teach wherein the finger further comprises a first magnet disposed on an end portion of the finger body in the extension direction, and wherein the station further comprises a second magnet configured to generate an attractive force with respect to the first magnet, and wherein the second magnet is disposed, in the extension direction, on an end portion of a region comprising the finger insertion groove. However Kamon teaches a gripper with exchangeable fingers where the connection between the connector and the fingers is made with magnets. While Kamon doesn’t teach the magnets at the exact position claimed above It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to rearrange the magnets such that they are arranged where the first magnet is disposed on an end portion of the finger body in the extension direction and the second magnet disposed, in the extension direction, on an end portion of a region comprising the finger insertion groove since such a modification would have involved a mere rearrangement of parts. A rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim and to have finger-gripper assembly with removable fingers and a fingers station where the connection of the fingers and the finger station is bot made by a latch but with magnets in order to have an assembly with less moving parts. (Refer to annotated Kim and Kamon Figs above) (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654