This is a non-final office action. Claims 1-20 were considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. This action is in response to communication filed on 12/23/2025.
a. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
b. Claims 1 and 16-17 has been amended.
Response to Arguments Regarding Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Applicant's arguments, see page 8-13 of Remarks, filed on 12/23/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Descombes et al. (US 2023/0344704 A1, hereinafter Descombes) in view of Muhammad et al. (US 20240292326 A1, hereinafter Muhammad) further in view of Gilson et al. (US 2017/0251440 A1, hereinafter Gilson).
Regarding claim 1, Descombes teaches a device ([33]: referring back to FIG. 1A, the core 115 may include a power optimizer system 130. According to various examples, the power optimizer system 130 may operate as an optimizing point for one or more operational parameters of the massive IoT devices 105.), comprising:
a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a network optimization logic ([34]: the power optimizer system 130 may include a processor 135 and a storage medium 140 storing (e.g., encoded with) instructions 145.), configured to:
discover a plurality of network devices in a network ([41]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network (i.e. determine IoT devices in the network to obtain the device parameters));
determine a plurality of device parameters corresponding to the plurality of network devices ([41-42]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network. The operational parameter records may include data corresponding to an uplink/downlink timer, standby timer, paging timer, etc. The operational parameters may refer to various operational states of a device over a network. These operational states can be an uplink/downlink state, an idle state, a power saving state, etc. (i.e. determine IoT device parameters));
group a first set of network devices of the plurality of network devices into a first energy management group ([37, 45]: The plurality of IoT devices 105 may be clustered such that devices with similar uplink and downlink count/count fractions are grouped together (i.e. group first cluster of IoT devices));
determine an energy optimization configuration for the first energy management group ([39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation. With the reconfiguration of selected IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices 105, the operational parameters (e.g., power saving timers) are optimized.).
Descombes however does not teach retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices within the network; first energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and a first set of device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the first set of network devices, wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions; wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; wherein the first set of network devices are configured to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode; and wherein one or more ports of the first set of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals.
Muhammad teaches retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices within the network ([58]: In order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side. Examples of such information include the CSI (Channel State Information) measured by each communication device and scheduling request from each communication device (i.e. obtain device parameters for grouping));
first energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and a first set of device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the first set of network devices ([57-58]: In order for a communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode “3”, it needs to acquire the detailed information as exemplified in the “Possible Information Elements” column. Specifically, BWP switching indication, BWP candidate (bitmask for selection), and PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) transmission power/EPRE (Energy Per Resource Element) are exemplified. It should be noted that, in order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side (i.e. grouping devices based on the location and device information)) wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions ([49]: The energy saving mode designation unit 122 designates a common energy saving mode that should be applied to each communication device group. The energy saving mode designation unit 122 is provided on the network side that can communicate with a communication device, and designates the common energy saving mode after recognizing the common energy saving mode that can be commonly supported by the plurality of communication devices belonging to the same communication device group. The energy saving modes that can be supported by each communication device are shared by any communication means between each of the communication device and the network side (i.e. determine devices can support energy saving mode, [0025, 0058, 0078]: grouping based on energy saving modes)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes to incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices within the network and group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and a first set of device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the first set of network devices, wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Descombes in view of Muhammad however does not teach wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; wherein the first set of network devices are configured to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode; and wherein one or more ports of the first set of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals.
Gilson teaches wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network ([49]: The control unit 118 can control the level of functionality based on a condition being met, such as the occurrence of a triggering condition. For example, the control unit 118 can change the level of functionality upon detecting presence of a device, upon failing to detect presence of a device (e.g., or any device), and/or the like. [83-86]: At step 602, a triggering condition can be detected. For example, the triggering condition can be detected at the network device. At step 604, functionality of the network device can be maintained, reduced, or increased based on detecting the triggering condition. For example, functionality of a wireless radio of the network device can be reduced based on detecting the triggering condition. Reducing functionality can comprise reducing a number of transmissions, stopping transmissions, powering down a transmitter, powering down a receiver, a combination thereof, and/or the like (i.e. reducing functionality of a device based on the detection of devices within the network));
wherein the first set of network devices are configured to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode ([41]: The first device 102 can enter a reduced functionality mode (e.g., turn off beacons or enter power saving mode for certain periods of time). [93]: At step 610, information can be transmitted to the user device (e.g., via the wireless radio) after restoring functionality of the network device (e.g., wireless radio). The information can comprise a beacon, data transmission, and/or the like (i.e. transmit beacon indicating the operational mode of the device)); and
wherein one or more ports of the first set of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals ([29, 66, 72]: The first device 102 can be in a reduced functionality mode because no client devices were in range or actively communicating to the first device 102. The first device 102 can comprise a computing device, such as an access point, such as a wireless access point. A wireless access point (e.g., or other device) can enter a reduced functionality mode by turning off a WiFi transmitter and while maintaining operation of a WiFi receiver (i.e. the port of the access point stays operational to receive signals). Upon receiving the probe request, the wireless access point can return to default functionality mode to communicate with the mobile device.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad to incorporate the teachings of Gilson and the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; wherein the first set of network devices are configured to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode; and wherein one or more ports of the first set of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to control resource consumption by selectively reducing and restoring resources and functionality of various network device elements (Gilson, [02]).
Regarding claim 2, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Descombes teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to transmit the energy optimization configuration to the first set of network devices in the first energy management group ([37-39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation. With the reconfiguration of selected IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices 105, the operational parameters (e.g., power saving timers) are optimized (i.e. transmit power saving configuration to the first cluster of IoT devices)).
Regarding claim 7, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Descombes teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to group a second set of network devices of the plurality of network devices into a second energy management group based on a second set of device parameters of the plurality of device parameters corresponding to the second set of network devices ([45, 59]: One or more clusters with relatively smaller values of features can be selected for optimization. [37]: The plurality of IoT devices 105 may be clustered such that devices with similar uplink and downlink count/count fractions are grouped together (i.e. group second cluster of IoT devices based on device parameters)).
Muhammad teaches group a second set of network devices of the plurality of network devices into a second energy management group based on the device placement data ([52-58]: In order for a communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode “3”, it needs to acquire the detailed information as exemplified in the “Possible Information Elements” column. Specifically, BWP switching indication, BWP candidate (bitmask for selection), and PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) transmission power/EPRE (Energy Per Resource Element) are exemplified. It should be noted that, in order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side (i.e. grouping devices based on the location information)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and group a second set of network devices of the plurality of network devices into a second energy management group based on the device placement data. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Regarding claim 13, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Muhammad further teaches wherein the plurality of device parameters include one or more of: device identifiers of the plurality of network devices, software versions of the plurality of network devices, or power-saving capabilities of the plurality of network devices ([40]: The energy saving option of “Software reconfiguration” (SW reconfiguration) reduces the energy consumption of the O-RU by reconfiguring the software executed by the O-RU for energy saving. For example, the energy consumption of the O-RU can be reduced by rewriting the software to one that can execute the similar processes as in the normal mode and the like, but with less energy consumption while reducing the processing speed and the like).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and the plurality of device parameters including device identifiers of the plurality of network devices and software versions of the plurality of network devices. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Regarding claim 15, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Muhammad further teaches wherein the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data are stored in a storage device in the network ([49]: The energy saving modes that can be supported by each communication device are shared by any communication means between each of the communication device and the network side. This information may be notified to the network side in substantially real time from each communication device, or it may have been notified or shared from each communication device in the past and have been stored or registered in the network side (typically, the core network)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data are stored in a storage device in the network. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Regarding claim 16, Descombes teaches a method, comprising:
discovering a plurality of network devices in a network ([41]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network (i.e. determine IoT devices in the network to obtain the device parameters));
determining a plurality of device parameters corresponding to the plurality of network devices ([41-42]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network. The operational parameter records may include data corresponding to an uplink/downlink timer, standby timer, paging timer, etc. The operational parameters may refer to various operational states of a device over a network. These operational states can be an uplink/downlink state, an idle state, a power saving state, etc. (i.e. determine IoT device parameters));
grouping one or more network devices of the plurality of network devices into an energy management group ([37, 45]: The plurality of IoT devices 105 may be clustered such that devices with similar uplink and downlink count/count fractions are grouped together (i.e. IoT devices clustered based on device parameters)); and
determining an energy optimization configuration for the energy management group ([39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation. With the reconfiguration of selected IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices 105, the operational parameters (e.g., power saving timers) are optimized.).
Descombes however does not teach retrieving device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network; energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and one or more device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions; wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; and configuring the plurality of network devices to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode, wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals.
Muhammad teaches retrieving device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network ([58]: In order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side. Examples of such information include the CSI (Channel State Information) measured by each communication device and scheduling request from each communication device (i.e. obtain device parameters for grouping));
energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and one or more device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices ([57-58]: In order for a communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode “3”, it needs to acquire the detailed information as exemplified in the “Possible Information Elements” column. Specifically, BWP switching indication, BWP candidate (bitmask for selection), and PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) transmission power/EPRE (Energy Per Resource Element) are exemplified. It should be noted that, in order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side (i.e. grouping devices based on the location and device information)) wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions ([49]: The energy saving mode designation unit 122 designates a common energy saving mode that should be applied to each communication device group. The energy saving mode designation unit 122 is provided on the network side that can communicate with a communication device, and designates the common energy saving mode after recognizing the common energy saving mode that can be commonly supported by the plurality of communication devices belonging to the same communication device group. The energy saving modes that can be supported by each communication device are shared by any communication means between each of the communication device and the network side (i.e. determine devices can support energy saving mode)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes to incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and retrieving device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network; energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and one or more device parameters of the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Descombes in view of Muhammad however does not teach wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; and configuring the plurality of network devices to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode, wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals.
Gilson teaches wherein the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network ([49]: The control unit 118 can control the level of functionality based on a condition being met, such as the occurrence of a triggering condition. For example, the control unit 118 can change the level of functionality upon detecting presence of a device, upon failing to detect presence of a device (e.g., or any device), and/or the like. [83-86]: At step 602, a triggering condition can be detected. For example, the triggering condition can be detected at the network device. At step 604, functionality of the network device can be maintained, reduced, or increased based on detecting the triggering condition. For example, functionality of a wireless radio of the network device can be reduced based on detecting the triggering condition. Reducing functionality can comprise reducing a number of transmissions, stopping transmissions, powering down a transmitter, powering down a receiver, a combination thereof, and/or the like (i.e. reducing functionality of a device based on the detection of devices within the network));
configuring the plurality of network devices to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode ([41]: The first device 102 can enter a reduced functionality mode (e.g., turn off beacons or enter power saving mode for certain periods of time). [93]: At step 610, information can be transmitted to the user device (e.g., via the wireless radio) after restoring functionality of the network device (e.g., wireless radio). The information can comprise a beacon, data transmission, and/or the like (i.e. transmit beacon indicating the operational mode of the device)); and
wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals ([29, 66, 72]: The first device 102 can be in a reduced functionality mode because no client devices were in range or actively communicating to the first device 102. The first device 102 can comprise a computing device, such as an access point, such as a wireless access point. A wireless access point (e.g., or other device) can enter a reduced functionality mode by turning off a WiFi transmitter and while maintaining operation of a WiFi receiver (i.e. the port of the access point stays operational to receive signals). Upon receiving the probe request, the wireless access point can return to default functionality mode to communicate with the mobile device.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad to incorporate the teachings of Gilson and the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network; and configuring the plurality of network devices to transmit a status signal indicative of switching on or switching to an operational mode, wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to control resource consumption by selectively reducing and restoring resources and functionality of various network device elements (Gilson, [02]).
Regarding claim 17, Descombes teaches a device ([33]: referring back to FIG. 1A, the core 115 may include a power optimizer system 130. According to various examples, the power optimizer system 130 may operate as an optimizing point for one or more operational parameters of the massive IoT devices 105.), comprising:
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a network optimization logic, configured to: discover a plurality of network devices in a network ([41]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network (i.e. determine IoT devices in the network to obtain the device parameters));
determine a plurality of device parameters corresponding to the plurality of network devices ([41-42]: At block 202, the instructions may be executable by the processor to obtain operational parameter records corresponding to the plurality of the IoT device(s) 105 connected to a network. The operational parameter records may include data corresponding to an uplink/downlink timer, standby timer, paging timer, etc. The operational parameters may refer to various operational states of a device over a network. These operational states can be an uplink/downlink state, an idle state, a power saving state, etc. (i.e. determine IoT device parameters));
group one more network devices of the plurality of network devices into one or more energy management groups ([37, 45]: The plurality of IoT devices 105 may be clustered such that devices with similar uplink and downlink count/count fractions are grouped together (i.e. group cluster of IoT devices based on device parameters)); and
determine one or more energy optimization configurations corresponding to the one or more energy management groups ([39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation. With the reconfiguration of selected IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices 105, the operational parameters (e.g., power saving timers) are optimized.).
Descombes however does not teach retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network; one or more energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices, wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions; wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals; and the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network.
Muhammad teaches retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network ([58]: In order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side. Examples of such information include the CSI (Channel State Information) measured by each communication device and scheduling request from each communication device (i.e. obtain device parameters for grouping));
one or more energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices ([57-58]: In order for a communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode “3”, it needs to acquire the detailed information as exemplified in the “Possible Information Elements” column. Specifically, BWP switching indication, BWP candidate (bitmask for selection), and PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel) transmission power/EPRE (Energy Per Resource Element) are exemplified. It should be noted that, in order for the network side (the energy saving ID setting unit 121) to appropriately group each communication device located within the same directional range from a base station, it is preferable that the information indicating the relative position of each communication device and the base station be shared from each of the communication devices to the network side (i.e. grouping devices based on the location and device information)), wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions ([49]: The energy saving mode designation unit 122 designates a common energy saving mode that should be applied to each communication device group. The energy saving mode designation unit 122 is provided on the network side that can communicate with a communication device, and designates the common energy saving mode after recognizing the common energy saving mode that can be commonly supported by the plurality of communication devices belonging to the same communication device group. The energy saving modes that can be supported by each communication device are shared by any communication means between each of the communication device and the network side (i.e. determine devices can support energy saving mode)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes to incorporate the teachings of Muhammad and retrieve device placement data indicative of placements of the plurality of network devices in the network; one or more energy management group dynamically based on a qualification utilizing both the device placement data and the plurality of device parameters associated with each of the one or more network devices, wherein the qualification determines the first set of network devices are capable of implementing one or more energy optimization functions. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for communication device group to comply with the energy saving mode (Muhammad, [57]).
Descombes in view of Muhammad however does not teach wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals; and the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network.
Gilson teaches wherein one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals ([29, 66, 72]: The first device 102 can be in a reduced functionality mode because no client devices were in range or actively communicating to the first device 102. The first device 102 can comprise a computing device, such as an access point, such as a wireless access point. A wireless access point (e.g., or other device) can enter a reduced functionality mode by turning off a WiFi transmitter and while maintaining operation of a WiFi receiver (i.e. the port of the access point stays operational to receive signals). Upon receiving the probe request, the wireless access point can return to default functionality mode to communicate with the mobile device.); and
the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network ([49]: The control unit 118 can control the level of functionality based on a condition being met, such as the occurrence of a triggering condition. For example, the control unit 118 can change the level of functionality upon detecting presence of a device, upon failing to detect presence of a device (e.g., or any device), and/or the like. [83-86]: At step 602, a triggering condition can be detected. For example, the triggering condition can be detected at the network device. At step 604, functionality of the network device can be maintained, reduced, or increased based on detecting the triggering condition. For example, functionality of a wireless radio of the network device can be reduced based on detecting the triggering condition. Reducing functionality can comprise reducing a number of transmissions, stopping transmissions, powering down a transmitter, powering down a receiver, a combination thereof, and/or the like (i.e. reducing functionality of a device based on the detection of devices within the network));
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad to incorporate the teachings of Gilson and one or more ports of the plurality of network devices stays operational to receive one or more control signals; and the energy optimization configuration is dynamically determined based on one or more changes within the network. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to control resource consumption by selectively reducing and restoring resources and functionality of various network device elements (Gilson, [02]).
Regarding claim 18, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 17.
Descombes teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: transmit the one or more energy optimization configurations to the one or more energy management groups respectively ([37-39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation. With the reconfiguration of selected IoT devices of the plurality of IoT devices 105, the operational parameters (e.g., power saving timers) are optimized (i.e. transmit power saving configuration to the cluster of IoT devices)).
Claim 3-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson further in view of Schoening et al. (US 2015/0113299 A1, hereafter Schoening).
Regarding claim 3, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 2.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to discover the plurality of network devices or transmit the energy optimization configuration to the first set of network devices by utilizing one or more network automation protocols.
Schoening teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to discover the plurality of network devices or transmit the energy optimization configuration to the first set of network devices by utilizing one or more network automation protocols ([33, 56, 64]: At 306, the switch receives the change power state request and communicates the change power state request to the device. For example, switch 34 may communicate the change of power request to each network device 32 in subnet 18. At 308, the device can transition from one power state to a different power state (e.g., a non-operable state to an operable state). Briefly discussing some of the possible signaling mechanisms of the architecture, the system of FIG. 1 can leverage a simple network management protocol (SNMP) and a secure socket layer (SSL) protocol to execute any of the functions of the present disclosure (i.e. transmit power state request to the devices using SNMP)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Schoening and the network optimization logic is further configured to transmit the energy optimization configuration to the first set of network devices by utilizing network automation protocols. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for energy management for devices (Schoening, [56]).
Regarding claim 4, Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Schoening teaches the device of claim 3.
Descombes teaches wherein the energy optimization configuration is indicative of one or more power down times and one or more wake-up times ([82]: The power optimizer system may apply the optimal parameters (e.g., active timers) that are identified during power consumption estimation to a selected cluster of IoT devices (e.g., the cluster 715 which may have the smallest ranking). In some examples, the power optimizer system may modify the active timers such as the misconfigured or sub-optimal configuration of IoT devices may be reconfigured with optimal timers. According to some examples, the IoT devices may be reconfigured with power saving timers/active timers using device management and service enablement protocols (i.e. optimization configuration indicating availability timers/power saving timer)).
Regarding claim 5, Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Schoening teaches the device of claim 4.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the first set of network devices switch off at the one or more power down times indicated by the energy optimization configuration, and wherein the first set of network devices switch on at the one or more wake-up times indicated by the energy optimization configuration.
Schoening teaches wherein the first set of network devices switch off at the one or more power down times indicated by the energy optimization configuration ([53]: Operational and non-operational levels can be defined by power levels 0-10. Non-operational state could be, for example, 0 shut off, 1 hibernate, 2 sleep. [25, 56]: Controller 20 may communicate the change in power request to switch 34. At 306, the switch receives the change power state request and communicates the change power state request to the device. For example, switch 34 may communicate the change of power request to each network device 32 in subnet 18. At 308, the device can transition from one power state to a different power state (e.g., a non-operable state to an operable state) (i.e. Network device switch off at times indicated in the request, example of time interval for operating state is explained in [25])), and
wherein the first set of network devices switch on at the one or more wake-up times indicated by the energy optimization configuration ([53]: Operational and non-operational levels can be defined by power levels 0-10. In addition, operational states could be, for example, 3 standby, 4 ready, 5 low, 6 frugal, 7 medium, 8 reduced, 9 high, 10 full. [25, 56]: Controller 20 may communicate the change in power request to switch 34. At 306, the switch receives the change power state request and communicates the change power state request to the device. For example, switch 34 may communicate the change of power request to each network device 32 in subnet 18. At 308, the device can transition from one power state to a different power state (e.g., a non-operable state to an operable state) (i.e. Network device switch on at times indicated in the request, example of time interval for operating state is explained in [25])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Schoening to further incorporate the teachings of Schoening and the first set of network devices switch off at the one or more power down times indicated by the energy optimization configuration, and the first set of network devices switch on at the one or more wake-up times indicated by the energy optimization configuration. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for energy management for devices (Schoening, [56]).
Regarding claim 6, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: retrieve historical usage data for the first set of network devices; and generate the energy optimization configuration based on the historical usage data.
Schoening teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to:
retrieve historical usage data for the first set of network devices ([61]: a management application can monitor power consumption and receive a peak power alert. A policy can be created to minimize this peak consumption by leveraging power states. Part of this policy may include identifying eligible phones, laptops, and building HVAC systems that could be candidates for shifting to a low power state or hibernation state (i.e. monitoring or collecting power consumption data for devices)); and
generate the energy optimization configuration based on the historical usage data ([61]: A management application can monitor power consumption and receive a peak power alert. A policy can be created to minimize this peak consumption by leveraging power states. Part of this policy may include identifying eligible phones, laptops, and building HVAC systems that could be candidates for shifting to a low power state or hibernation state. For example, in the context of these identified devices, a laptop could move to hibernation, eligible phones could also move to a low power state, printers could move to a sleep mode or hibernation state (i.e. use collected power consumption data to generate operational sates for devices)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Schoening and retrieve historical usage data for the first set of network devices and generate the energy optimization configuration based on the historical usage data. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for energy management for devices (Schoening, [56]).
Regarding claim 19, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 17.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: retrieve historical usage data for an energy management group of the one or more energy management groups; generate a power down schedule for the energy management group based on the historical usage data; and transmit the power down schedule to the energy management group.
Schoening teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: retrieve historical usage data for an energy management group of the one or more energy management groups ([61]: A management application can monitor power consumption and receive a peak power alert. A policy can be created to minimize this peak consumption by leveraging power states. Part of this policy may include identifying eligible phones, laptops, and building HVAC systems that could be candidates for shifting to a low power state or hibernation state (i.e. monitoring or collecting power consumption data for devices)); and
generate a power down schedule for the energy management group based on the historical usage data ([61]: A management application can monitor power consumption and receive a peak power alert. A policy can be created to minimize this peak consumption by leveraging power states. Part of this policy may include identifying eligible phones, laptops, and building HVAC systems that could be candidates for shifting to a low power state or hibernation state. For example, in the context of these identified devices, a laptop could move to hibernation, eligible phones could also move to a low power state, printers could move to a sleep mode or hibernation state (i.e. use collected power consumption data to generate power down operational states for devices)); and
transmit the power down schedule to the energy management group ([56, 61]: At 302, a network domain controller determines which devices associated with a subnet should receive a change for a power request. At 304, the change of power request can be communicated to a switch, which is associated with each device that is to receive the change power state request. For example, controller 20 may communicate the change in power request to switch 34.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to incorporate the teachings of Schoening and retrieve historical usage data for the first set of network devices, generate the energy optimization configuration based on the historical usage data, and transmit the power down schedule to the energy management group. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for energy management for devices (Schoening, [56]).
Claims 8-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson further in view of Wenzel et al. (US 2019/0295034 A1, hereafter Wenzel).
Regarding claim 8, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 7.
Descombes teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: determine an operational configuration of the second set of network devices ([39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the power cost variation determination instructions 154 to determine that some of the IoT devices out of the plurality of IoT devices 105 may exhibit different patterns of operational parameters and thereby exhibit different power consumption patterns. The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation (i.e. determine configuration for second cluster of devices)).
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach generate a device replacement list for the second energy management group based on the operational configuration of the second set of network devices.
Wenzel teaches generate a device replacement list for the second energy management group based on the operational configuration of the second set of network devices ([327-328]: Process 1700 is shown to include receiving maintenance recommendations (step 1702), according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the maintenance recommendations indicate what equipment requires equipment servicing (e.g., repair and/or replacement). For example, an equipment servicing recommendation can indicate that an outdoor VRF unit is consuming too much power and needs to be repaired. In some embodiments, based on the equipment servicing recommendation, a determination is made that a valve of the outdoor VRF unit should be replaced (i.e. generate the device replacement list for recommendation)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Wenzel and generate a device replacement list for the second energy management group based on the operational configuration of the second set of network devices. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for maintenance recommendations (Wenzel, [327]).
Regarding claim 9, Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel teaches the device of claim 8.
Wenzel further teaches wherein the device replacement list includes one or more replacement devices corresponding to each network device of the second set of network devices ([327-328]: Process 1700 is shown to include receiving maintenance recommendations (step 1702), according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the maintenance recommendations indicate what equipment requires equipment servicing (e.g., repair and/or replacement). For example, an equipment servicing recommendation can indicate that an outdoor VRF unit is consuming too much power and needs to be repaired. In some embodiments, based on the equipment servicing recommendation, a determination is made that a valve of the outdoor VRF unit should be replaced (i.e. device replacement list includes devices corresponding to the network in building fig. 1(10). Here, devices in the building fig. 1(10) are second set of network devices)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel to further incorporate the teachings of Wenzel and the device replacement list includes one or more replacement devices corresponding to each network device of the second set of network devices. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for maintenance recommendations (Wenzel, [327]).
Regarding claim 10, Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel teaches the device of claim 9.
Wenzel further teaches further comprising a display ([310]: User interface 1618 can include, for example, one or more human-machine interfaces or client interfaces (e.g., graphical user interfaces, reporting interfaces, text-based computer interfaces, client-facing web services, web servers that provide pages to web clients, etc.)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel to further incorporate the teachings of Wenzel and the device comprising a display. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for user to view the equipment servicing information (Wenzel, [310]).
Regarding claim 11, Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel teaches the device of claim 10.
Wenzel further teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: generate an interactive dashboard indicative of the energy optimization configuration ([157]: Data and processing results from model predictive optimizer 830, equipment controller 828, or other modules of MPM system 602 may be accessed by (or pushed to) monitoring and reporting applications 826. Monitoring and reporting applications 826 may be configured to generate real time “system health” dashboards that can be viewed and navigated by a user. Fig. 10(1018) and [253-254]: FIG. 10, process 1000 is shown to include updating the efficiency and the reliability of the building equipment based on the optimal maintenance strategy (step 1018). In some embodiments, step 1018 includes updating the efficiency ηi for one or more time steps during the optimization period to account for increases in the efficiency η of the building equipment that will result from performing maintenance on the building equipment or purchasing new equipment to replace or supplement one or more devices of the building equipment (i.e. dashboard shows the energy optimization configuration (energy efficiency estimation due to equipment replacement) performed by system 600)) and the device replacement list ([311]: MPM system 602 provides equipment and/or operation data to service provider 1616 and/or user interface 1618. The equipment and/or operation data can include, for example, the equipment performance information provided by BMS 606, determinations made by MPM system 602 about equipment in BMS 606, and other pertinent information a service provider and/or a user may require (i.e. provide device replacement list and schedule to user as per description in fig. 17(1714 and [333] where it is described that user can elect to schedule an equipment replacement/servicing for devices)); and
display the interactive dashboard on the display ([310]: User interface 1618 can include, for example, one or more human-machine interfaces or client interfaces (e.g., graphical user interfaces, reporting interfaces, text-based computer interfaces, client-facing web services, web servers that provide pages to web clients, etc.)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad, Gilson and Wenzel to further incorporate the teachings of Wenzel and generate an interactive dashboard indicative of the energy optimization configuration and the device replacement list, and display the interactive dashboard on the display. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for user to view the equipment servicing information (Wenzel, [310]).
Regarding claim 20, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 17.
Descombes teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: determine an operational configuration of an energy management group of the one or more energy management groups ([39, 46]: The processor 135 may execute the power cost variation determination instructions 154 to determine that some of the IoT devices out of the plurality of IoT devices 105 may exhibit different patterns of operational parameters and thereby exhibit different power consumption patterns. The processor 135 may execute the optimal operational parameters reconfiguration instructions 158 to reconfigure the one or more IoT devices (e.g., a cluster of devices) of the plurality of IoT devices 105 with the one or more optimal operational parameters that are identified earlier during PCF estimation (i.e. determine configuration for cluster of devices)).
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach generate a device replacement list for the energy management group based on the operational configuration of the energy management group.
Wenzel teaches generate a device replacement list for the energy management group based on the operational configuration of the energy management group ([327-328]: Process 1700 is shown to include receiving maintenance recommendations (step 1702), according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, the maintenance recommendations indicate what equipment requires equipment servicing (e.g., repair and/or replacement). For example, an equipment servicing recommendation can indicate that an outdoor VRF unit is consuming too much power and needs to be repaired. In some embodiments, based on the equipment servicing recommendation, a determination is made that a valve of the outdoor VRF unit should be replaced (i.e. generate the device replacement list for recommendation)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Wenzel and generate a device replacement list for an energy management group based on the operational configuration of the energy management group. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for maintenance recommendations (Wenzel, [327]).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson further in view of Kapur et al. (US 2016/0285640 A1, hereafter Kapur).
Regarding claim 12, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 7.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: determine one or more critical network devices of the plurality of network devices based on the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data; and exclude the one or more critical network devices from the first energy management group or the second energy management group.
Kapur teaches wherein the network optimization logic is further configured to: determine one or more critical network devices of the plurality of network devices based on the plurality of device parameters ([53-54]: The device module 202 determines a non-critical device 112 a-n based on one or more network characteristics of the device 112 a-n. the network characteristics include a bandwidth utilization for a network device 112 a-n (i.e. determine critical device based on bandwidth utilization parameter)) and the device placement data ([53-55]: The device module 202 determines a non-critical device 112 a-n based on one or more network characteristics of the device 112 a-n. the network characteristics include a number of data paths associated with a network device 112 a-n. As used herein, a data path may comprise a path that data travels from one endpoint to another endpoint using one or more network devices 112 a-n. In some embodiments, if the number of active data paths through the SDN is below a predetermined threshold, the network devices 112 a-n associated with the data paths may be considered critical network devices 112 a-n (i.e. determine critical device from placement information)); and
exclude the one or more critical network devices from the first energy management group or the second energy management group (fig. 5(502) and [90]: FIG. 5 is a schematic flow chart diagram illustrating one embodiment of a method 500 for on-demand power management in a networked computing environment. The method 500 begins and determines 502 one or more non-critical devices 112 a-n of a plurality of devices 112 a-n of an SDN. the method 500 shuts down 506 at least a portion of the SDN comprising the one or more non-critical devices 112 a-n in response to the bandwidth utilizations for the one or more non-critical devices 112 a-n being less than a threshold bandwidth (i.e. not include critical devices in power management)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Kapur and determine one or more critical network devices of the plurality of network devices based on the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data, and exclude the one or more critical network devices from the first energy management group or the second energy management group. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order for on-demand power management in a networked computing environment (Kapur, [90]).
Regarding claim 14, Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson teaches the device of claim 1.
Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson however does not teach wherein the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data are stored in corresponding plurality of network devices.
Kapur teaches wherein the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data are stored in corresponding plurality of network devices ([65-67]: The network module 302 determines the network topology based on network data received from each network device 112 a-n of the SDN. The network data, in certain embodiments, includes identification data for a network device 112 a-n, identification data for one or more network devices 112 a-n that may be connected to the network device 112 a-n, and/or the like. The network module 302 receives network data periodically from the network devices 112 a-n. For example, the network devices 112 a-n may send network data to the network module 302 once a day, every hour, every fifteen minutes, after an event, or the like (i.e. device identification and device location within the network is stored in the network device and it is provided to the network module)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Descombes in view of Muhammad and Gilson to further incorporate the teachings of Kapur and the plurality of device parameters and the device placement data are stored in corresponding plurality of network devices. One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to update the network topology based on network data (Kapur, [66]).
Additional References
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Janoso et al US 20150301543 A1: SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR AUTOMATED HOUSEHOLD ENERGY MANAGEMENT BASED ON CLASSIFICATION AND LOCATION INFORMATION.
b. Dasgupta et al., US 20140222983 A1: DYNAMICALLY DETERMINING NODE LOCATIONS TO APPLY LEARNING MACHINE BASED NETWORK PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT
Conclusion
/SUJANA KHAKURAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453