DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: as amended, it appears that the claim requires the hair treatment mechanism to be activated any time the hair treatment mechanism is lying adjacent to the individual. That is, the hair treatment mechanism will be turned on every time it is brought into proximity of a user. However, in instances where the battery does not have sufficient charge to turn the device on or the device is otherwise not connected to power, the hair treatment mechanism should not be capable of activation regardless of input to the heat sensor, since the processor will not have the power required to send an activation/deactivation signal. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Phoon (US 20190337172).
Regarding claim 1, Phoon discloses a hair styling device (cutting device 4; see fig. 2) comprising: a housing (main body 12; see fig. 2); a hair treatment mechanism mounted to the housing (cutting unit 6; see fig. 2); a processor (controller 8 can be any suitable component, such as a processor; see paragraph [0053] and figs. 2-3) being operatively coupled to the hair treatment mechanism (controller 8 receives data and controls the cutting unit 6 accordingly; see paragraph [0059]), the processor being mounted in the housing (controller 8 can be located in the main body 12 of the cutting device 4; see paragraph [0058] and fig. 2); and a heat sensor being operatively coupled to the processor (imaging arrangement 10 can comprise a heat sensor to determine a proximity to a user; see paragraph [0056]), the heat sensor being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism (imaging arrangement 10 is located on the outer body of cutting device 4; see fig. 6), the heat sensor facing away from the housing (imaging arrangement 10 faces away from main body 12; see fig. 6), the heat sensor being oriented such that the heat sensor is configured to face an individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on hair of the individual (imaging arrangement 10 faces the user during shaving, see figs. 6-7), the processor activating the hair treatment mechanism when the heat sensor detects heat (controller 8 receives data from imaging arrangement 10 and controls the cutting unit 6 operation accordingly; see paragraph [0059]) whereby the hair treatment mechanism is configured to be activated whenever the hair treatment mechanism is lying adjacent to the individual (because controller 8 controls operation of cutting unit 6 based on data from imaging arrangement 10, which can include a heat sensor, the device is capable of activating based on the detection of heat such as when adjacent to a user; see paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon further discloses wherein the processor (controller 8) is configured to deactivate the hair treatment mechanism when the heat sensor does not detect heat indicative of the heat sensor lying adjacent to the individual (controller 8 receives data from imaging arrangement 10 and controls the cutting unit 6 operation accordingly; see paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon further discloses an input being operatively coupled to the processor (the input must be connected to the controller 8 in order to control the imaging arrangement 10, which is connected to controller 8; see fig. 2), the input comprising a sensor control, the sensor control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the heat sensor (cutting device 4 may comprises a button, control, or other user interface element to allow a user to control operation of the system; see paragraph [0066]).
Examiner notes that the sensor effectively controls the cutting operation of the device as described in the rejection above. If a user interface element such as a button is provided to allow a user control of the system, then the sensor is controlled by extension. Therefore, a button allowing for controlling the operation of the system would reasonably activate or deactivate the sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoon (US 20190337172) in view of Yee (US 20230063551).
Regarding claim 2, Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the hair treatment mechanism comprises: a trimmer positioned on an exterior of the housing, the trimmer comprising a pair of blades, each blade of the pair of blades having a plurality of cutting teeth facing a same direction, the pair of blades being movable with respect to each other to cause a shearing motion between the plurality of cutting teeth of one blade of the pair of blades and the plurality of cutting teeth of another blade of the pair of blades; and a motor being positioned in the housing and being operatively coupled to the one blade of the pair of blades.
Yee discloses wherein the hair treatment mechanism comprises: a trimmer positioned on an exterior of the housing blades 50 are mounted on housing 27; see figs. 1-2), the trimmer comprising a pair of blades (stationary blade 51 and movable blade 52; see figs. 1-2), each blade of the pair of blades having a plurality of cutting teeth facing a same direction (stationary blade 51 and movable blade 52 each have cutting teeth facing the same direction; see figs. 1-2), the pair of blades being movable with respect to each other to cause a shearing motion between the plurality of cutting teeth of one blade of the pair of blades and the plurality of cutting teeth of another blade of the pair of blades (movable blade 52 reciprocates relative to stationary blade 51; see paragraph [0029]); and a motor being positioned in the housing and being operatively coupled to the one blade of the pair of blades (motor 55 is located in housing 27 and provides power to movable blade 52; see paragraph [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a trimmer with reciprocating blades. Phoon is silent as to the arrangement and movement of the blades. Yee discloses a known element which can be substituted in place of the cutting portion of Phoon’s device.
Regarding claim 4, Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon does not explicitly disclose a camera being operatively coupled to the processor, the camera being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism, the camera being configured to face the individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on the hair of the individual.
Yee discloses a camera being operatively coupled to the processor (camera 140 is connected to CPU 61), the camera being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism (camera 140 is mounted on arm 70 of housing 27), the camera being configured to face the individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on the hair of the individual (in use, camera 140 faces the user such that images are transmitted to display unit 25; see paragraphs [0041-0042] and figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a camera that faces an individual during use. Yee further discloses that the existing clippers do not have the ability to clearly show the back and sides of one’s own head during a self-haircut process (see paragraph [0003]), which makes the process more difficult for the user. It is further stated that the use of a mirror can cause poor cuts due to the difficulty in seeing the positioning of the clipper relative to the head. The camera eliminates the need for a mirror and solves its associated problems since it is fixedly attached to the clipper body and the user will more easily recognize the positioning of the clipper.
Regarding claim 6, Phoon as modified discloses the limitations of claim 4 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon as modified further discloses an input being operatively coupled to the processor (the input must be connected to the controller 8 in order to control the imaging arrangement 10, which is connected to controller 8; see fig. 2), the input comprising: a sensor control, the sensor control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the heat sensor (cutting device 4 may comprises a button, control, or other user interface element to allow a user to control operation of the system; see paragraph [0066]).
Yee further discloses a camera control, the camera control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the camera (switch 145 senses when camera arm 70 is in deployed position 72 and sends a signal to turn on camera 140; see paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon to include a camera control so that the camera can be deactivated when not in use. Yee further discloses that when not in use, the camera is in a stowed position (stowed position 71, see fig. 1). This allows for a device that can provide the desired standardized view while maintaining portability (see paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Phoon as modified discloses the limitations of claim 4 as described in the rejection above.
Yee further discloses a transceiver (transceiver 210) being operatively coupled to the processor wherein the processor is configured to be in signal communication with a remote electronic device (CPU 61 is connected to transceiver 210, which transmits information back and forth between clipper 20 and display unit 25, which is part of cell phone 250; see paragraphs [0011, 0038] and figs. 4-5), the processor being configured to transmit images captured by the camera via the transceiver to the remote electronic device (images captured by camera 140 are transmitted to display unit 25, where a user can see the image overlayed with graphical interface 400; see paragraphs [0041-0042] and figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a transceiver that is in signal communication with a remote electronic device. Yee further discloses that the transceiver allows images to be sent from the camera to the display unit so that a user can see more easily (see paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Yee further discloses a power supply (battery 28) being electrically coupled to the processor (CPU 61 is connected to battery 28; see paragraph [0038] and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Phoon in view of Yee to include wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the processor. Phoon is silent as to the power supply configuration. Yee discloses a known element, a power supply which is electrically coupled to the processor, which can be substituted into Phoon’s device.
Regarding claim 9, Phoon as modified discloses the limitations of claim 8 as described in the rejection above.
Yee discloses wherein the power supply comprises a battery (battery 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include wherein the power supply comprises a battery. Phoon is silent as to what comprises a power supply. Yee discloses a known element, a battery, which can be substituted into Phoon’s device as modified.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoon (US 20190337172) in view of Yee (US 20230063551), and further in view of Khubani (US 20200031004).
Regarding claim 10, Phoon as modified discloses the limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon as modified does not explicitly disclose a charging port being electrically coupled to the battery and being mounted on the exterior of the housing.
Khubani discloses a charging port (charge port 25) being electrically coupled to the battery and being mounted on the exterior of the housing (charge port 25 is provided on the housing of shaving apparatus 1; see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Khubani to include a charging port electrically connected to the battery. Phoon as modified is silent on the charging apparatus and its associated structures, therefore the charging port of Khubani can be substituted into the device without changing its function. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that including a charging port allows a user to recharge the device, which eliminates the need to consistently replace the batteries.
Regarding claim 11, Phoon as modified discloses the limitations of claim 10 as described in the rejection above.
Phoon as modified does not explicitly disclose a charge indicator being operatively coupled to the battery, the charge indicator being configured to indicate when the battery is charging.
Khubani discloses a charge indicator being operatively coupled to the battery (charge indicator 26), the charge indicator being configured to indicate when the battery is charging (charge indicator 26 tells a user if the shaving apparatus 1 is charging, charged, or needs to be charged; see paragraph [0027] and fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Khubani to include a charge indicator coupled to the battery. Phoon as modified is silent on the charging apparatus and its associated structures, therefore the charge indicator of Khubani can be substituted into the device without changing its function. Further, Khubani discloses that the charge indicator communicates to the user the charge status of the battery (see paragraph [0027]), which allows a user to determine if and when the device should be charged.
Regarding claim 12, Phoon discloses a hair styling device (cutting device 4; see fig. 2) comprising: a housing (main body 12; see fig. 2); a hair treatment mechanism mounted to the housing (cutting unit 6; see fig. 2), a processor (controller 8 can be any suitable component, such as a processor; see paragraph [0053]) being operatively coupled to the hair treatment mechanism (controller 8 receives data and controls the cutting unit 6 accordingly; see paragraph [0059]), the processor being mounted in the housing (controller 8 can be located in the main body 12 of the cutting device 4; see fig. 2, paragraph [0058]); a heat sensor being operatively coupled to the processor (imaging arrangement 10 can comprise a heat sensor to determine a proximity to a user; see paragraph [0056]), the heat sensor being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism (imaging arrangement 10 is located on the outer body of cutting device 4), the heat sensor facing away from the housing (imaging arrangement 10 faces away from main body 12; see fig. 6), the heat sensor being oriented such that the heat sensor is configured to face an individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on hair of the individual (imaging arrangement 10 faces the user during shaving, see figs. 6-7), the processor activating the hair treatment mechanism when the heat sensor detects heat (controller 8 receives data from imaging arrangement 10 and controls the cutting unit 6 operation accordingly; see paragraph [0059]) whereby the hair treatment mechanism is configured to be activated whenever the hair treatment mechanism is lying adjacent to the individual (because controller 8 controls operation of cutting unit 6 based on data from imaging arrangement 10, which can include a heat sensor, the device is capable of activating based on the detection of heat such as when adjacent to a user; see paragraph [0059]), the processor being configured to deactivate the hair treatment mechanism when the heat sensor does not detect heat indicative of the heat sensor lying adjacent to the individual (controller 8 receives data from imaging arrangement 10 and controls the cutting unit 6 operation accordingly; see paragraph [0059]); an input being operatively coupled to the processor and being mounted on the exterior of the housing (the input must be connected to the controller 8 in order to control the imaging arrangement 10, which is connected to controller 8; see fig. 2; further, the input must be located on the housing in order for a user to be able to reach it), the input comprising: a sensor control, the sensor control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the heat sensor (cutting device 4 may comprises a button, control, or other user interface element to allow a user to control operation of the system; see paragraph [0066]).
Phoon does not explicitly disclose the heat sensor being positioned opposite the plurality of cutting teeth of the pair of blades.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon to have the heat sensor (imaging arrangement 10) be arranged opposite the blades. This would not change the overall function of the sensor, even if adjustments to the operational parameters (such as the distance from the user at which the sensor signals for a cutting operation to begin or end) would need to be adjusted. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Phoon as modified does not explicitly disclose the hair treatment mechanism comprising: a trimmer positioned on an exterior of the housing, the trimmer comprising a pair of blades, each blade of the pair of blades having a plurality of cutting teeth facing a same direction, the pair of blades being movable with respect to each other to cause a shearing motion between the plurality of cutting teeth of one blade of the pair of blades and the plurality of cutting teeth of another blade of the pair of blades; and a motor being positioned in the housing and being operatively coupled to the one blade of the pair of blades; a camera being operatively coupled to the processor, the camera being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism, the camera being positioned adjacent to the plurality of cutting teeth of the pair of blades, the camera being configured to face the individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on the hair of the individual; a camera control, the camera control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the camera; a transceiver being operatively coupled to the processor wherein the processor is configured to be in signal communication with a remote electronic device, the processor being configured to transmit images captured by the camera via the transceiver to the remote electronic device; a power supply being electrically coupled to the processor, the power supply comprising a battery.
Yee discloses the hair treatment mechanism comprising: a trimmer positioned on an exterior of the housing (blades 50 are mounted on housing 27; see figs. 1-2), the trimmer comprising a pair of blades (stationary blade 51 and movable blade 52; see figs. 1-2), each blade of the pair of blades having a plurality of cutting teeth facing a same direction (stationary blade 51 and movable blade 52 each have cutting teeth facing the same direction; see figs. 1-2), the pair of blades being movable with respect to each other to cause a shearing motion between the plurality of cutting teeth of one blade of the pair of blades and the plurality of cutting teeth of another blade of the pair of blades (movable blade 52 reciprocates relative to stationary blade 51; see paragraph [0029]); and a motor being positioned in the housing and being operatively coupled to the one blade of the pair of blades (motor 55 is located in housing 27 and provides power to movable blade 52; see paragraph [0030]); a camera being operatively coupled to the processor (camera 140 is connected to CPU 61; see fig. 4), the camera being mounted to the housing adjacent to the hair treatment mechanism (camera 140 is mounted on arm 70 of housing 27; see fig. 3), the camera being positioned adjacent to the plurality of cutting teeth of the pair of blades (camera 140 is mounted adjacent to stationary blade 51 and movable blade 52; see fig. 3), the camera being configured to face the individual when the hair treatment mechanism is in use on the hair of the individual (in use, camera 140 faces the user such that images are transmitted to display unit 25; see paragraphs [0041-0042] and figs. 4-5); a camera control, the camera control being actuatable to alternately activate and deactivate the camera (switch 145 senses when camera arm 70 is in deployed position 72 and sends a signal to turn on camera 140; see paragraph [0036]); a transceiver (transceiver 210) being operatively coupled to the processor wherein the processor is configured to be in signal communication with a remote electronic device (CPU 61 is connected to transceiver 210, which transmits information back and forth between clipper 20 and display unit 25, which is part of cell phone 250; see paragraphs [0011, 0038] and figs. 4-5), the processor being configured to transmit images captured by the camera via the transceiver to the remote electronic device (images captured by camera 140 are transmitted to display unit 25, where a user can see the image overlayed with graphical interface 400; see paragraphs [0041-0042] and figs. 4-5); a power supply being electrically coupled to the processor (CPU 61 is connected to battery 28; see paragraph [0038] and fig. 4), the power supply comprising a battery (battery 28; see fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a trimmer with reciprocating blades. Phoon is silent as to the arrangement and movement of the blades. Yee discloses a known element which can be substituted in place of the cutting portion of Phoon’s device. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a camera that faces an individual during use. Yee further discloses that the existing clippers do not have the ability to clearly show the back and sides of one’s own head during a self-haircut process (see paragraph [0003]), which makes the process more difficult for the user. It is further stated that the use of a mirror can cause poor cuts due to the difficulty in seeing the positioning of the clipper relative to the head. The camera eliminates the need for a mirror and solves its associated problems since it is fixedly attached to the clipper body and the user will more easily recognize the positioning of the clipper. Still further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon to include a camera control so that the camera can be deactivated when not in use. Yee further discloses that when not in use, the camera is in a stowed position (stowed position 71, see fig. 1). This allows for a device that can provide the desired standardized view while maintaining portability (see paragraph [0004]). Still further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include a transceiver that is in signal communication with a remote electronic device. Yee further discloses that the transceiver allows images to be sent from the camera to the display unit so that a user can see more easily (see paragraph [0011]). Still further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include wherein the power supply is electrically coupled to the processor. Phoon is silent as to the power supply configuration. Yee discloses a known element, a power supply which is electrically coupled to the processor, which can be substituted into Phoon’s device. Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Yee to include wherein the power supply comprises a battery. Phoon is silent as to what comprises a power supply. Yee discloses a known element, a battery, which can be substituted into Phoon’s device as modified.
Phoon as modified does not explicitly disclose a charging port being electrically coupled to the battery and being mounted on the exterior of the housing; and a charge indicator being operatively coupled to the battery, the charge indicator being configured to indicate when the battery is charging.
Khubani discloses a charging port being electrically coupled to the battery and being mounted on the exterior of the housing (charge port 25 is provided on the housing of shaving apparatus 1; see fig. 3); and a charge indicator being operatively coupled to the battery, the charge indicator being configured to indicate when the battery is charging (charge indicator 26 tells a user if the shaving apparatus 1 is charging, charged, or needs to be charged; see paragraph [0027] and fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Phoon in view of Khubani to include a charging port electrically connected to the battery and a charge indicator operatively coupled to the battery. Phoon as modified is silent on the charging apparatus and its associated structures, therefore the charging port and charge indicator of Khubani can be substituted into the device without changing its function. Regarding the limitation of a charging port, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that including a charging port allows a user to recharge the device, which eliminates the need to consistently replace the batteries. Regarding the charge indicator, Khubani discloses that the charge indicator communicates to the user the charge status of the battery (see paragraph [0027]), which allows a user to determine if and when the device should be charged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Phoon does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat sensor and processor positively activate the hair treatment mechanism whenever the hair treatment device is lying adjacent to a person, Examiner respectfully points to paragraph [0059] of Phoon. It is disclosed that the processor (controller 8) receives data from the heat sensor (imaging arrangement 10, which can comprise a heat sensor; see paragraph [0056]) in order to control operation of the hair treatment mechanism (cutting unit 6), for example controlling a cutting action. As presently interpreted, “controlling a cutting action” encompasses activating/deactivating the hair treatment mechanism based on received data from the heat sensor. Thus, it is understood that the presence or absence of heat detected by the heat sensor has a direct effect on the cutting action of the hair treatment mechanism, i.e., whether the mechanism is activated or not. As a result, Examiner respectfully maintains that Phoon discloses the limitations of claim 1 as currently recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 10821618 to Morrison, drawn to a foam dispensing electric shaver apparatus; US 20150246454 to Mintz, drawn to a method and apparatus for a clipper; and CN 210643003 to Bao, drawn to a gray hair removal component, gray hair removal comb, and a CNC gray hair removal system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3799