Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The text “
” renders the claim indefinite as part of the text is “cut off”. Thus, one would not have been apprised of the metes and bounds of the depicted compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14, 55, and 78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Askew et al. US 6,784,190 B2 (Askew).
Askew discloses compounds
,
,
, and
.
See columns 111-114. At least compounds 14-17 are embraced by instant formula (A). Askew teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-2, 14, 55, and 78 are anticipated.
Claim(s) 1-2, 13-14, 55, 92, and 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. US 2018/0093984 A1 (Jiang).
Jiang discloses compounds
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
, and
.
Jiang teaches that one or several compounds described therein can be used in the preparation of a formulation , such as a pharmaceutical formulation, by combining the compound or compounds as an active ingredient with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier [0235]. Depending on the therapeutic form of the system (e.g., transdermal patch vs. oral tablet), the carrier may be in various forms. In addition , pharmaceutical formulations may contain preservatives, solubilizers, stabilizers, re-wetting agents, emulgators, sweeteners, dyes, adjusters, and salts for the adjustment of osmotic pressure, buffers, coating agents or antioxidants.
In another aspect, Jiang provided a method of delaying the onset and/or development of a fibrotic disease in an individual (such as a human) who is at risk for developing a fibrotic disease [0241]. It is appreciated that delayed development may encompass prevention in the event the individual does not develop the fibrotic disease. An individual at risk of developing a fibrotic disease in one aspect has or is suspected of having one or more risk factors for developing a fibrotic disease. Risk factors for fibrotic disease may include an individual's age (e.g., middle-age or older adults), the presence of inflammation, having one or more genetic component associated with development of a fibrotic disease, medical history such as treatment with a drug or procedure believed to be associated with an enhanced susceptibility to fibrosis (e.g., radiology) or a medical condition believed to be associated with fibrosis, a history of smoking, the presence of occupational and/or environmental factors such as exposure to pollutants associated with development of a fibrotic disease.
Jiang further provides kits for carrying out the methods of the invention, which comprises one or more compounds described herein or a pharmacological composition comprising a compound described therein [0260]. The kits may employ any of the compounds disclosed therein. In one variation, the kit employs a compound described therein or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The kits may be used for any one or more of the uses described therein, and, accordingly, may contain instructions for use in the treatment of a fibrotic disease. In some embodiments, the kit contains instructions for use in the treatment of liver fibrosis.
The IC50 values obtained for αvβ1 integrin inhibition for exemplary compounds are shown in Table B-1 [0733]. The compounds tested were compound samples prepared according to procedures described in the Synthetic Examples section, with the stereochemical purity as indicated in the Examples indicated for Example or Compound No. 1-62.
At least compounds 81-84, 86, 97-98, and 102-104 are embraced by instant formula (A). Jiang teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-2, 13-14, 55, 92, and 95 are anticipated.
Claim(s) 93, 97-98, 100, 107, 110-111, and 115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. US 2018/0093984 A1 (Jiang) as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, 55, 92, and 95 above.
Jiang teaches or reasonably suggests administration of a compound of the invention to an instant subject. Jiang teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 93, 97-98, 100, 107, 110-111, and 115 are anticipated.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 13-14, 55, 74-75, 78, 84, 89-93, 95, 97-98, 100, 104-107, 110-111, and 115 are pending. Claims 1-2, 13-14, 55, 78, 92-93, 95, 97-98, 100, 107, 110-111, and 115 are rejected. Claims 74-75, 84, and 104-106 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 89-91 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Jiang et al. US 2018/0093984 A1 (Jiang) as applied to claims 1-2, 13-14, 55, 92, and 95 above is representative of prior art. Jiang does not teach or suggest an instantly claimed compound.
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691