DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 43-59 are pending. Claims 43-49 and 53-59 are the subject of this NON-FINAL Office Action. This is the first office action on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of nicking only (as opposed to nicking with polymerase and labeled nucleotides), adaptor affinity tag e.g. biotin pull-down (as opposed to incorporated nucleotide affinity tag pulldown) and nicking enzyme is Nt.CviPII in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged. The election of Nt.CviPII is withdrawn. Claims 50-52 are withdrawn because they are directed to nicking with polymerase and labeled nucleotides for pulldown.
Claim Interpretation
The specification defines “nicking enzyme” as “a site specific enzyme that cleaves (e.g. nicks) one strand (either the top or bottom strands, but not both strands) of a double-stranded nucleic acid at a nonrandom position in the DNA” (para. 0096). Thus, for example, “DNase I is not a nicking enzyme because DNase I cleaves DNA at random positions” so that “as used herein, the term nicking enzyme specifically excludes DNase I” (para. 0098). Similarly, MNase does not fit this definition because it is not site specific (see Spec., Table 1). To this end, although US20160208323 describes use of MNase to nick open chromatin, followed by biotin adaptor ligation (e.g. paras. 0017, 0083-85), yet it is specifically excluded by Applicants’ definition of “nicking enzyme.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Indefiniteness
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
It is unclear if the “optionally” in claim 53 modifies only “barcoded primers,” or all of “barcoded primers” and “the adaptors.” This is due to the following confusing conjugation: “wherein step (b) comprises amplifying; optionally barcoded primers and/or wherein the adaptors comprise a barcode sequence.”
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description
Claims 43-49 and 53-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the full scope of the claimed invention.
The specification fails to demonstrate possession of any method of mapping chromatin accessibility (open chromatin) other than reacting the sample with a nicking enzyme, a polymerase and a labeled nucleotide to selectively label the open chromatin in the sample. Claim 43 broadly encompasses mapping chromatin accessibility (open chromatin) using “a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme.” Although the nicking enzyme must be site specific, yet this encompasses dozens if not hundreds of possible enzymes, including those yet developed/engineered. Moreover, claim 43 merely requires reacting this generic “nicking enzyme” with “a sample containing fixed or unfixed cell nuclei” using any technique. In other words, the nicking could be with polymerase and labeled dNTPs (the only embodiment disclosed), or simply a nicking reaction followed by ligating adaptors, and every conceivable technique between. And generic ligating a generic adaptor encompasses numerous possible techniques such as blunt end ligation, overhand ligation, Tn5-mediated ligation, or any other of numerous different methods. Finally, this nicked and adaptor-ligated chromatin must be “enrich[ed] for, optionally amplifying, and then sequencing DNA fragments that comprise the adaptors.”
In light of this breadth, the specification should provide detailed description to fill in all of these generic techniques, so that the “written description of the invention” is “in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains . . . to make and use the same.” However, this is not the case. As to “a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme,” a single reaction is disclosed: “a nicking enzyme, a polymerase, four dNTPs and at least one or more labeled dNTPs (or two or more labeled dNTPs) to selectively label the chromatin in the sample” (Spec., para. 0007). As to the adaptor ligation, again a single reaction is disclosed: “end-repair dA tailing and adapter ligation” (para. 0023). Together, this combination of “a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme,” a single reaction is disclosed: “a nicking enzyme, a polymerase, four dNTPs and at least one or more labeled dNTPs (or two or more labeled dNTPs) to selectively label the chromatin in the sample,” followed by dA tailing and adapter ligation is the only technique disclosed for “detecting open chromatin in fixed or unfixed cell nuclei” using “a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme, and [] a ligase and adaptors” in claim 43. Finally, the specification never explains how the nicked and adaptor-ligated open chromatin is “enrich[ed] for . . . DNA fragments that comprise the adaptors.” Nothing in the specification describes an enrichment step using the adaptors. Instead, the only enrichment is by way of biotin-streptavidin pulldown of incorporated biotin-dNTPs from the step of “a nicking enzyme, a polymerase, four dNTPs and at least one or more labeled dNTPs (or two or more labeled dNTPs) to selectively label the chromatin in the sample.” As explained below, for example, the specification is silent as to any method of enriching using biotin-labeled adaptors. Thus, compared to the breadth of the claims, the specification fails to disclose anything other than a single embodiment, which fails to satisfy written description of the entire scope of the claims.
As to claim 49, the specification is completely silent as to “the adaptors comprise an affinity tag” such as biotin for pull-down (which is also elected by Applicants in the Reply 07/13/2026). The only affinity tag technique disclosed is labeling dNTPs incorporated during nicking and polymerase activity in the step of claim 43 using “a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme” as explained above. The specification is simply silent about affinity tagged (e.g. biotin) adaptors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Novelty; Prior Art.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention..
Claims 43, 46-49 and 53-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2017034970.
As to claim 43, WO2017034970 teaches method for detecting open chromatin in fixed or unfixed cell nuclei, comprising:
(a) reacting a sample containing fixed or unfixed cell nuclei, wherein the cell nuclei comprise chromatin (isolating chromatin from nuclei onto solid supports; para. 0030ff), with:
(i) a reaction mixture comprising a nicking enzyme (paras. 0048 & 0206- “The method may further comprising treating the chromatin fragments bound to the solid support with a CRISPR-Cas system comprising a guide RNA specific for a sequence of interest, whereby genomic DNA associated with a specific target molecule is determined. The CRISPR-Cas system may comprise a fluorescent marker, whereby the sequence of interest of a chromatin fragment is determined. The CRISPR-Cas system may comprise a nickase, wherein the nickase generates nicks at the sequence of interest, wherein the nicks are repaired with fluorescent nucleotides and DNA polymerase, whereby the sequence of interest of a chromatin fragment is determined” & “In addition, CRISPR-Cas9 can be used to label specific loci by nick translation: Cas9 D10A contains a nuclease disabling mutation that creates a guide RNA-directed nick in the DNA instead of a double strand break. Fluorescent nucleotides can then be incorporated at the site by DNA polymerase, thus labeling sequences targeted by the guide RNA (86), Importantly, CRISPR-Cas9 approaches for labeling genomic regions do not require global DNA denaturation and can be applied directly to chromatin, even after fixation (87). Therefore CRISPR-Cas9 specificity is an alternate means to identify the genomic loci associated with extended chromatin fragments.”), and
(ii) a ligase and adaptors (paras. 0078, 0099); and
(b) enriching for, optionally amplifying, and then sequencing DNA fragments that comprise the adaptors (id.).
As to claim 46, WO2017034970 teaches the reaction mixture further comprises a polymerase, four dNTPs, and a labeled dNTP (paras. 0048 & 0206).
As to claim 47, WO2017034970 teaches after reaction step (a), the method comprises reverse cross-linking and isolating labelled genomic DNA, and then fragmenting the isolated labelled genomic DNA, prior to reaction step (b) (e.g. para. 0204); optionally wherein the reverse cross-linking is done using heat or chemical treatment; optionally wherein the DNA is fragmented to a median size in the range of 100bp-lkg.
As to claim 48, WO2017034970 teaches performing end-repair and/or dA tailing, and then adaptor ligation (para. 0212).
As to claim 49, WO2017034970 teaches the adaptors comprise an affinity tag (e.g. Fig. 5).
As to claim 53, WO2017034970 teaches step (b) comprises amplifying; optionally using barcoded primers and/or wherein the adaptors comprise a barcode sequence (e.g. para. 0192).
As to claim 54, WO2017034970 teaches mapping a sequence read obtained from the sequencing of step (b) onto a genomic sequence (e.g. paras. 0154ff).
As to claim 55, WO2017034970 teaches analyzing a first population of cells using the method claim 43 to produce a first data set and optionally a first epigenetic map; and
analyzing a second population of cells using the same method to produce a second data set and optionally a second epigenetic map; and comparing the first data set or epigenetic map to the second data set or epigenetic map (id.)
As to claim 56, WO2017034970 teaches the first population of cells and the second population of cells are from the same individual at different times (id.)
As to claim 57, WO2017034970 teaches the first population of cells and the second population of cells are different populations of cells from different tissues or from different individuals (id.)
As to claim 58, WO2017034970 teaches the cell nuclei are obtained from a cell culture (e.g. paras. 0095 & 0209)
As to claim 59, WO2017034970 teaches the cell nuclei are obtained from a sample from an individual, optionally selected from a bodily fluid and a biopsy (id.)
Note on Obvious-Type Double Patenting
Due to a restriction in parent Application No. 16/327698, the current claim 43 is not subject to double patenting rejection. See 35 U.S.C. § 121. However, any amendments to the claims to include reacting the nuclei with a composition comprising a mixture of a nicking enzyme, four dNTPs, and at least one labeled dNTP, and a polymerase to selectively label the chromatin will result in double patenting rejections over both US11198910 and US11840741 for the reasons explained in the Non-Final in U.S. 17/454082.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/AARON A PRIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681