DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 1-13 and 15 and the election of the virus SARS-CoV-2 in the reply filed on 5/26/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Applicant contents that it should not be a serious burden to examine Groups I and II together and that it would be a significant expense for Applicant to prosecute Group II separately from Group I. This is not found persuasive because, firstly, while the examiner appreciates there is financial cost associated with applications and prosecution, this does not outweigh the propriety of the requirement. The restriction requirement properly established burden, such as different search strategies/queries/classes & subclasses, and Applicant has provided no evidence that the search would not be a burden, nor has applicant provided any evidence of search strategies that would be coextensive for the entire breadth of the claims.
Further, Applicant is reminded had Group I have been elected, that upon indication of allowable subject matter (assuming arguendo that claim 14 was allowable), withdrawn process claims would have been considered for rejoinder, as was stated in the restriction requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims Status
Claims 1-15 are pending. Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/26/26.
Claims 1-13 and 15 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
The instant Application was filed is 11/15/2023 and has no claims for the benefit of domestic or foreign priority.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) is on file as of 09/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 are objected to for the following informalities. Claims 2-13 recite “Method according to claim 1”, instead of “The method according to claim 1”, conforming with conventional US claim language. Without the proper article, the claim could be open to interpretations that might render the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The claims, as drafted, are drawn to treatment/prophylaxis in a patient in need of a fatigue. The claims, as drafted, and specification do not establish the patient population of who would benefit from “a fatigue”, and the art does not provide recognition of patients in need of “a fatigue”, or how one would achieve such a result. The claim administer a pyridine-3,4-diamine, however this compound is not recognized in the art to provide the effect instantly claimed, nor are the various forms recited (co-crystal, polymorph, etc). One of skill in the art would be unduly burdened to practice the invention commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite, “A method for the prophylaxis and/or treatment in a patient in need thereof of a fatigue, which is associated with a viral infection…” While it appears the intent of the application is to treat fatigue associated with a viral infection, the claim language is confusing, does not properly establish the relationship, and as drafted, the claim appears to be indicating the patient is in need of fatigue. It is unclear what patient would be in need of “fatigue” and it does not clearly identify what condition the patient has or is at risk of developing. Further, the optionally clause ii) is confusing, because the phrasing is, “… and optionally i) for the prophylaxis and/or treatment of … and/or ii) of a chronic fatigue syndrome…” lacks any indication what is being done. Further, claim 4-13 further define the fatigue and in the claims, as drafted, it is unclear what the actual patient or therapy is for the treatment.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1, 4, and 15 recite the broad recitation chronic fatigue syndrome, and the claim also recites post-infectious fatigue syndrome which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 7 recites the broad limitation “less than or equal to 50” and the narrower limitation “less than or equal to 40, less than or equal to 30, or less than or equal to 20.” Claim 8 recites the broad limitation “hours of greater than or equal to 6 and less than or equal to 12” and the narrower limitations, for example, “optionally greater than or equal to 6 and less than or equal to 8.” Claim 9 recites the broad limitation, “great than or equal to 1mg” and the narrower limitations, for example, “greater than or equal to 5 mg to less than or equal to 60 mg.”. Claim 10 recites the broad limitation, “less than or equal to 60 mg” and the narrower limitations, for example, “less than or equal to 18 mg.” Claim 11 recites the broad limitation, “greater than or equal to 60” and the narrower limitations, for example, “greater than or equal to 90 up to 100”. Claim 13 recites the broad limitation, “greater than or equal to 60” and the narrower limitation, for example, “greater than or equal to 80 or more”.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 1 is confusing, as it recites, “administering … a compound selected from… or polymorph thereof, and mixtures containing two of the mentioned compounds.” It is unclear whether it is administering the compound, polymorph, salts, etc. or mixtures containing 2 of the compound forms, or how, as drafted, one could administer one of the Markush members, and then administer two more, because administration of 2 would necessarily result in 3 being administered, and this cannot exist in the claims, and by administering only 2 in combination, you are not administering the Markush member as required. This is rectified by replacing “and mixtures” with “…or mixtures…”
Claim 2 recites, “ss(+)RNA viruses …”, followed by single virus sources. It is unclear if the viral infection trigger is only one or requires multiple viruses within the scope of the claims.
Claim 5 recites, “the health problems… persists for greater than or equal to 3…” and it is confusing as to what the numbers refers. Is it days? Weeks? In contrast, “4” is weeks, however this cannot be directly established for “3”.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the health problems of …” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since Claim 1 is silent on health problems.
Claim 8 recites, “wherein the need for sleep …” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since Claim 1 is silent on a need for sleep.
Claim 12 recites, “the long-term treatment…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 appears to be the claim from which 12 should depend for antecedent support.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 includes the limitation “derivative”, which is broader in scope than the recitation of compounds/forms in claim 1, from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim interpretation In the interest of compact prosecution, for the purposes of prior art the claims have been interpreted in light of the specification with the intent of being drawn generally to treatment/prophylaxis of fatigue.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GUYON (US 2015/0353467 A1).
Guyon teaches a method of treating condition of fatigue related to a neurological pathology (e.g. claim 7) by administering to a patient in need thereof, 3,4-diaminopyridine tartrate or phosphate (e.g. claim 2). Guyon teaches that the dose administered is, for example, between 5 and 20 mg (e.g. claim 9) Administration of the compound to this patient population in Guyon necessarily results in prophlyaxis, as the dose is squarely within the ranges instantly claimed. Further, because the same compound is given at the instantly claimed doses, it necessarily must provide the same results (e.g. improvement on the sleep needed, achieving a Bell score improvement, etc.).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GAROVOY (US 2014/0255380 A1).
Garovoy teaches administration of amifampridine to patients in a double-blind study, “patients receive a total daily dose of amifampridine phosphate 30 to 80 mg per day given 3 to 4 times per day, with a maximum single dose of 20 mg; with the exception of patients with moderate renal impairment, who will start at a total daily dose of 10 mg.” (para [0448]). Patients randomized into the treatment group received 14 days of treatment (para [0452]-[0453]) and in the open label extension, receive their dose beyond the 14 days (para [0454]). Administration of the compound to this patient population in Garavoy necessarily results in prophlyaxis, as the dose is squarely within the ranges instantly claimed. Further, because the same compound is given at the instantly claimed doses, it necessarily must provide the same results (e.g. improvement on the sleep needed, achieving a Bell score improvement, etc.).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CONG (WO2022266535 A1, 12/22/2022) as evidenced by YONG (Yong “Long COVID or post-COVID-19 syndrome: putative pathophysiology, risk factors, and treatments ” Infectious Diseases Volume 53, 2021-Issue 10, Pages 737-754. Published online: 22 May 2021).
Cong teaches compositions and methods for modulating viral pathogenesis by regulating the expression or activity of viral infection mediating factors, such as KCNA6 (Abstract), expressly identifying 4-aminopyridine (4-AP) and 3,4-diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) as known druggable agents for these targets (para [00142]), demonstrating a dose-dependent inhibitory effect of 3,4-DAP on SARS-Cov-2 viral entry in human cells in vitro prior to infection (paras, [0039] and [00146]; FIG. 17).
Cong teaches a method of treating/preventing a viral infection in a cell, where the infection is SARS-CoV-2 (claim 4), via administration of amifampridine (claim 7). Because there are so few compounds recited in claim 7, one could at once envisage each individually in the method. Further, Cong teaches treating COVID-19 via administration of amifampridine (claim 13).
Yong provides the beneficial teachings that most frequent symptoms of long COVID are fatigue and dyspnea (i.e. shortness of breath), and other symptoms include cognitive and mental disorders, headache, myalgia, chest and joint pains, smell and taste dysfunctions, cough, hair loss, insomnia, wheezing, rhinorrhea, sputum, and cardiac and gastrointestinal issues. These symptoms may persist for up to six months and continue after hospital discharge or symptom onset (Introduction, p 2). Yong further summarizes in Table 2 more detail symptoms of individual studies, including fatigue, cognitive dysfunction, sensorimotor symptoms, headaches, memory issues, other sleep issues, reduced work schedule, insomnia, heart palpitations, and muscle aches, etc.
Thus, in light of the beneficial teachings, treatment of COVID-19 would necessarily include all symptoms, including fatigue and because the same compound is given in a therapeutically effective amount, it necessarily must provide the same results (e.g. improvement on the sleep needed, achieving a Bell score improvement, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CONG (WO2022266535 A1, 12/22/2022) in view of YONG (Yong “Long COVID or post-COVID-19 syndrome: putative pathophysiology, risk factors, and treatments ” Infectious Diseases Volume 53, 2021-Issue 10, Pages 737-754. Published online: 22 May 2021), and BELL (D.S. Bell. The Doctor's Guide to Chronic Fatigue Syndrome - Understanding, Treating, and Living with CFIDS (1994); Chapter 9 "The Measurement of Disability," pages 122-4 (original source), 3 pages).
The teachings of Cong and Yong are presented above. Bell provides the CFIDS Disability Scale, which is the “Bell Scale” instantly claimed. Bell provides background on the use of the scoring and its functionality and use. The chart is used to track disability and progress towards, or lack of, improvement for the patient during treatments. The scale evaluates symptoms, limitations, and cognitive function amongst other elements.
Because it provides a means to track a patients progress particularly with regards to symptoms that are commonly found in COVID-19 infections, it would have been obvious to have utilized the standardized Bell Disability Scale to track patients during their treatment for COVID-19 to determine if they were improving, as it is indicated as a useful tool for the monitoring of symptoms and limitations. One would immediately understand that the Bell scores would be useful in COVID-19, as the elements in the scores are consistent with the symptoms defined in Yong for COVID-19 patients. As with all treatments, improvements are the desired outcomes, and one would reasonably conclude that with any treatment, one would move towards 100 as the infection clears and the treatment is effective.
Conclusion
/Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625