DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
“wherein the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure” (in claims 1 and 8) and “a number of second portions” (in claims 1 and 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the first portion, second portion and the third portion, does not reasonably provide enablement for “the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure or an E1.S 25mm enclosure”. Par[0034] merely mentions “the third portion ….can be selected such that enclosure 550-1 is an EDSFF E1.S 9.5 mm enclosure”. Par [0035] merely mentions “the third portion ….can be selected such that enclosure 550-1 is an EDSFF E1.S 15mm enclosure”. Par[0036] merely mentions “the third portion ….can be selected such that enclosure 550-1 is an EDSFF E1.S 25mm enclosure”. There are no specific structures disclosed explaining how exactly how “the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure or an E1.S 25mm enclosure”.
the specification does not specifically provide support as to how the second portion is selected (manually? Structurally adjustable?) How does the first and the third portion are sized to accommodate each different selected size of the 2nd portion?
At best, par[0030] briefly mentions that the second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be part of an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure, and/or an E1.S 25mm enclosure. However, there is not support as to how the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure.
[0030] FIG. 3 illustrates a first portion of an SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be the front of the SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be formed of metal and/or plastic and can be formed via die casting. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure. In a number of embodiments, the second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be part of an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure, and/or an E1.S 25mm enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be couplable to a first portion of the SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can include an opening 355 to receive a third portion of the SSD enclosure.
[0031] FIGS. 4A-4C illustrate a number of third portions of an SSD enclosure. In FIG. 4A, third portion 456 of an SSD enclosure can be a top heat spreader and/or heat sink for an SSD enclosure. Portion 456 can be sized and selected to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5 mm enclosure. Portion 456 can be couplable to a second portion (e.g., second portion 354 in FIG. 3) of an SSD enclosure. Portion 456 can be formed from metal and can be formed via extrusion. Portion 456 can include a heat pipe and/or a vapor chamber to provide heat transfer and/or cooling functionality for the enclosure.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make use of the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, it is not clearly understood how exactly the system would enable “the second portion is selected from a number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure” … and “wherein the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure”.
The specification does not specifically provide support as to how the second portion is selected (manually? Structurally adjustable? How does the overall structure adjustably accommodate the different form factors (different sizes) of the 2nd portion?
At best, par[0030] briefly mentions that the second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be part of an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure, and/or an E1.S 25mm enclosure. However, there is not support as to how the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure.
[0030] FIG. 3 illustrates a first portion of an SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be the front of the SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be formed of metal and/or plastic and can be formed via die casting. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure. In a number of embodiments, the second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be part of an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15 mm enclosure, and/or an E1.S 25mm enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can be couplable to a first portion of the SSD enclosure. The second portion 354 of the SSD enclosure can include an opening 355 to receive a third portion of the SSD enclosure.
[0031] FIGS. 4A-4C illustrate a number of third portions of an SSD enclosure. In FIG. 4A, third portion 456 of an SSD enclosure can be a top heat spreader and/or heat sink for an SSD enclosure. Portion 456 can be sized and selected to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5 mm enclosure. Portion 456 can be couplable to a second portion (e.g., second portion 354 in FIG. 3) of an SSD enclosure. Portion 456 can be formed from metal and can be formed via extrusion. Portion 456 can include a heat pipe and/or a vapor chamber to provide heat transfer and/or cooling functionality for the enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-3, 8-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272.
Note: Claims 1-20 are rejected as best understood and interpreted based on the support in the specification and the above 112(a)/112(b) rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 teaches a solid state drive (SSD) enclosure (100; figure 3B), comprising:
a first portion (150; figure 3B), wherein the first portion is configured to cover a first side (bottom side of 100; figure 3B) of an SSD (102; figure 3B);
a second portion (112; figure 3B); and
a third portion (110; figure 3B), wherein the third portion is configured receive the second portion (112), wherein the third portion (110) is configured to be releasably coupled (see figure 3A-B) to the second portion (112), and wherein the second portion and the third portion are configured to cover (see figures 3A-B) a second side (upper side of 100; see figure 3A-B) of the SSD.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 does not specifically teach the second portion is selected from a number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure; and wherein the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure.
Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches a similar SSD enclosure comprising an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure (see paragraph bridging columns 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further select a number of second portions in the SSD enclosure of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, as suggested by Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, such that the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, to accommodate different sizes of SSD, thus would enhance operational capacity and versatility.
Regarding claim 2, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the first portion is a first heat spreader (see figure 3B and figure 7B; also see column 8, lines 49-59).
Regarding claim 3, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the second portion is a second heat spreader (see column 8, lines 60-67).
Regarding claim 8, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 teaches a system, comprising:
a solid state drive (SSD) enclosure (100; figure 3B) including:
a first portion (150; figure 3B), wherein the first portion is configured to cover a first side (bottom side of 100; figure 3B) of an SSD (102; figure 3B);
a second portion (112; figure 3B); and
a third portion (110; figure 3B), wherein the third portion is configured receive the second portion (112), and wherein the second portion and the third portion are configured to cover (see figures 3A-B) a second side (upper side of 100; see figure 3A-B) of the SSD.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 does not specifically teach a number of second portions, and the second portion is selected from a number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure; and wherein the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure.
Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches a similar SSD enclosure comprising an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure (see paragraph bridging columns 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further selecta number of second portions in the SSD enclosure of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, as suggested by Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, such that the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, to accommodate different sizes of SSD, thus would enhance operational capacity and versatility.
Regarding claim 9, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein each of the number of second portions (112; figure 3B of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621) are configured to provide particular cooling characteristics for the SSD.
Regarding claim 10, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein one of the number of second portions is selected such that the enclosure is an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure (see above rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein one of the number of second portions is selected such that the enclosure is an E1.S 15mm enclosure (see above rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein one of the number of second portions is selected such that the enclosure is an E1.S 25mm enclosure (see above rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 13, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the first and third portion are coupled to each other (see figure 3B of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621).
Regarding claim 15, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 teaches a solid state drive (SSD) enclosure (100; figure 3B), comprising:
a first portion (150; figure 3B), wherein the first portion is configured as a first heat spreader (see figure 3B and figure 7B; and column 8, lines 49-59) to cool a solid state drive (SSD) (102; figure 3B);
a second portion (112; figure 3B), wherein the second portion is configured as a second heat spreader (see column 8, lines 60-70) to cool the SSD; and
a third portion (110; figure 3B), wherein the third portion is configured to be releasably coupled (see figure 3B) to the second portion.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 does not specifically teach the second portion is selected from a number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure; and wherein the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure.
Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches a similar SSD enclosure comprising an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure (see paragraph bridging columns 1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further selecta number of second portions in the SSD enclosure of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 configured to provide heat transfer functionality for an SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, as suggested by Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, such that the first portion and the third portion are sized to hold each of the number of second portions configured to provide heat transfer functionality for the SSD in an E1.S 9.5mm enclosure, an E1.S 15mm enclosure, or an E1.S 25mm enclosure, to accommodate different sizes of SSD, thus would enhance operational capacity and versatility.
Regarding claim 18, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 15, wherein the first (150) and third portion (110) are coupled (see figures 2A-3B of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621) to each other.
Regarding claim 19, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 15, wherein the second portion (112; figure 3B) is selected to meet cooling requirements (column 8, lines 49-59 of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621) for the SSD.
Regarding claim 20, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 15, wherein the second portion (112; figure 3B) is selected based on the form factor (see column 6, lines 33-53 and paragraph bridging columns 6-7 of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621) of the SSD.
11. Claims 4-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 and in further view of Farnsworth et al. U.S. Patent 7,957,134.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 1.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the second portion is configured to include a closed vapor chamber cooling portion.
Farnsworth et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches a memory module which employs a close vapor chamber (210; figure 9) for heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the heatsink of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, with a vapor chamber or heat pipe, as suggested by Farnsworth et al., to facilitate transferring of heat.
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 1.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the second portion is configured to include a heat pipe portion.
Farnsworth et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches a memory module which employs a heat pipe portion (166; figure 5) for heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the heatsink of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, with a vapor chamber or heat pipe, as suggested by Farnsworth et al., to facilitate transferring of heat.
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 8.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the second portion is configured to include a heat pipe portion.
Farnsworth et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches a memory module which employs a heat pipe portion (166; figure 5) for heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the heatsink of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, with a vapor chamber or heat pipe, as suggested by Farnsworth et al., to facilitate transferring of heat.
12. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 and further in view of Heyd et al. U.S. Patent 12,262,471.
Regarding claims 6-7, as mentioned above, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 1.
However, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the enclosure is an Enterprise and Data Center Standard Form Factor (EDSFF) enclosure; and wherein the EDSFF enclosure is a E1.S form factor enclosure (claim 7).
Heyd et al., in the same field of endeavor, shows EDSFF enclosure has been commonly known and used for housing an SSD (column 4, lines 38-50); wherein the EDSFF enclosure is a E1.S form factor enclosure (column 4, lines 38-50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide an EDSFF enclosure for housing an SSD of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272, wherein the EDSFF enclosure is a E1.S form factor enclosure, as suggested by Heyd et al., for enhanced thermal management and scalability.
13. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 and further in view of Sun et al. U.S. patent 11,194,372.
Regarding claim 16, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 15, however, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the first portion and the third portion are cast.
Sun et al., also teaches an SSD enclosure, which is made from casting (see column 1, lines 38-50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further make the first/third portion of the SSD enclosure of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 from casting, as suggested by D4, to enhance strength and durability.
14. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 and further in view of Mangay-Ayam, Jr. et al. U.S. Patent 8,665,601.
Regarding claim 17, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 teaches the enclosure of claim 15, however, Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 does not specifically teach the second portion is extruded.
Mangay-Ayam, Jr. et al., also teaches an SSD enclosure, which is made from extruding process (see column 16, lines 54-67).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further make second portion of the SSD enclosure of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 10,674,621 in view of Tsorng et al. U.S. Patent 12,213,272 from extruding process, as suggested by Mangay-Ayam, Jr. et al., for cost effective and improved material strength.
Conclusion
HUNG Q. DANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2835
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841