DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/509,968 filed 11/15/2023 by Kee Yun Kim.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1).
With respect to claim 1. BACK teaches a internal pressure measuring apparatus for a secondary battery (paragraph 0021). There is included a secondary battery which includes an electrode assembly 100 and a can 200 (paragraph 0022) the can being the claimed case. There is a cap assembly 300 coupled to the upper opening of the can 200 and include a cap plate 350 (paragraph 0023). The cap plate includes an electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0023). The connection jib 410 may be fastened to the electrolyte injection port 354 of the battery to transmit the pressure in the battery (paragraph 0026). The connection jjg is connected to a pressure gauge 420 which functions to display the internal pressure of the battery transmitted by the pressure medium filled in the pipe (paragraph 0030). The connection jib 410 is taken to be detachably installed in the cover. Specifically the projection 414 of the connection jig has a spiral cone shape to be inserted in the electrolyte inlet port (paragraph 0027).
With respect to claim 2. BACK teaches the internal pressure measuring apparatus which includes the connection jig 410 which is fastened to an electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0021). The connection jig 410 includes a plurality of parts, such as a projection 414, a sealing member 416, and a main body 412 (paragraph 0026). There is then a pipe 430 filled with a pressure medium (paragraph 0029) and is connected to the pressure gauge 420 which displays the pressure (paragraph 0030). Therefore the internal pressure measuring apparatus includes at least a housing with a plurality of members, and a sensor.
With respect to claim 3. BACK teaches the projection 414 which is inserted into the electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0027) and is taken to be the claimed connection protrusion protruding to one side of the housing body, this protrusion extends into the cover part 350 (paragraph 0023-0024).
With respect to claim 5. BACK teaches the protrusion414 of the connection jig extends in the vertical direction. The protrusion is connected to the pipe 430 (paragraph 0029) and is therefore taken to include at least an inner tube to guide the pressure medium 430 (paragraph 0029). The pressure medium may be fluid (paragraph 0015).
With respect to claim 7. BACK teaches a sealing member 416 that surrounds the projection 414 and sealing the electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0026). The sealing member is taken to be the claimed ring-shaped sealing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of CHANG (CN 210778885 U).
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 3 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK. BACK teaches a projection 414 which projects into the inlet port 354 (paragraph 0026). The projection 414 includes has a spiral cone shape to be inserted into the electrolyte port 354 (paragraph 0027). BACK does not explicitly teach the outer surface of the connection protrusion has a screw thread, and is configured to be coupled to as crew groove in the cover.
CHANG teaches a method for detecting the internal gas pressure of square batteries by providing a device that can detect the internal pressure of the battery (paragraph 0006). The device may include a top mold, sleeve, bottom mold, a screw and a pressure sensor (paragraph 0008). The mounting base 2 includes an internal thread hole that matches the external thread of the pressure sensor 3 connection end (paragraph 0031). The external thread of the connection end is screwed into the internal thread hole, and sealed and tightened (paragraph 0031). Similarly the electrolyte injection hole then includes at least the internal thread hole (paragraph 0037).
At the time the invention as filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to connect the pressure sensor of BACK with the screw and threads of the pressure senor of CHANG, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results. Both BACK and CHANG teaches methods of attaching a pressure sensor to a battery, and then CHANG teaches the use of the screw threads.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of KO (US 2024/0274938 A1).
Claim 6 is dependent upon claim 3 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK. BACK teaches the pipe 430 is filled with a pressure medium to measure the internal pressure of the battery without discharging gas filled int eh battery (paragraph 0029). The pressure gauge 420 displays the internal pressure transmitted by the pressure medium filled in the pipe 430 (paragraph 0030).
BACK does not explicitly teach a control circuit board connected to the pressure sensor and configured to process a measurement signal of the pressure sensor.
KO teaches a pouch shaped battery cell that includes a printed circuit board having a circuit layer (abstract). The circuit board 210 has a pressure sensor 220 attached to the side thereof (paragraph 0078). The pressure sensor 22 measures the pressure in the battery cells to transmit pressure information to an external device (paragraph 0078).
BECK teaches the pressure gauge 420 which displays the internal pressure form the medium film (paragraph 0030) then KO teaches connecting a pressure sensor to a printed circuit board. Therefore this would be a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of WANG (CN 113686271 A).
Claim 8 is dependent upon claim 7 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK, and claim 9 is dependent upon claim 8. BACK teaches the sealing member that surrounds the electrolyte inlet port (paragraph 0026). BACK does not explicitly teach the material of the sealing member.
WANG teaches a battery that includes a sealing ring (abstract). In the storage battery is an inner part with an electrolyte, and the joint of the battery cover is sealed by a sealing ring, and injecting an epoxy resin to reinforce the seal (page 2 lines 5-7).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the sealing ring of BACK with the epoxy resin of WANG, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results. The epoxy resin is listed as the material having a high corrosion resistance to an electrolyte in the case.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of SEOK (KR 20190059433 A).
Claim 10 is dependent upon claim 7 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK. BACK does not explicitly a mounting groove in a bottom surface of the housing of the pressure sensor and configured to receive a portion of the sealing member.
SEOK teaches a pressure sensor for a fuel cell system (abstract). There is included a pressure sensor (paragraph 0033). The pressure sensor includes an O-ring formed on an outer surface of the connection member (paragraph 0036). The substrate includes a groove where the O-ring may be positioned (paragraph 0036).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a groove for the sealing member of the pressure sensor of BACK as taught by SEOK as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 11-14, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of PANTEL (WO 2015/135696 A1).
Claim 11 is dependent upon claim 2 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK, claim 12 is dependent upon claim 11. However, BACK does not explicitly teach the material for the housing of the sensor.
PANTEL teaches a sensor housing for detecting elements of the battery cell (abstract). The sensor package then is made of a thermosetting plastic to be chemically resistant and electrolyte tight (page 6 lines 31-33).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the material of the housing of the sensor of BACK with the thermosetting plastic of PANTEL as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 13. The rejection of claim 1 above in view of BACK is repeated here. Further the rejection in view of BACK and PATNEL in view of claims 11-12 are repeated here.
With respect to claim 14. BACK teaches a sealing member 416 that surrounds the projection 414 and sealing the electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0026). The sealing member is taken to be the claimed ring-shaped sealing member.
With respect to claim 16. BACK teaches a can 200 where the cap assembly seals the can (paragraph 0022). The connection jig 410 is fastened in the electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0021) from the cap (paragraph 0024). The cap plate 350 is taken to be the claimed cover body, and the connection jig is taken to be the claimed connector (see Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 18. BACK teaches the projection 414 which is inserted into the electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0027) and is taken to be the claimed connection protrusion protruding to one side of the housing body, this protrusion extends into the cover part 350 (paragraph 0023-0024). BACK teaches the protrusion414 of the connection jig extends in the vertical direction. The protrusion is connected to the pipe 430 (paragraph 0029) and is therefore taken to include at least an inner tube to guide the pressure medium 430 (paragraph 0029). The pressure medium may be fluid (paragraph 0015).
Claim(s)15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of PANTEL (WO 2015/135696 A1) as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of WANG (CN 113686271 A).
Claim 15 is dependent upon claim 14 which is rejected above under 35 103 in view of BACK and PANTEL. BACK teaches the sealing member that surrounds the electrolyte inlet port (paragraph 0026). BACK does not explicitly teach the material of the sealing member.
WANG teaches a battery that includes a sealing ring (abstract). In the storage battery is an inner part with an electrolyte, and the joint of the battery cover is sealed by a sealing ring, and injecting an epoxy resin to reinforce the seal (page 2 lines 5-7).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the sealing ring of BACK with the epoxy resin of WANG, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results. The epoxy resin is listed as the material having a high corrosion resistance to an electrolyte in the case.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of PANTEL (WO 2015/135696 A1) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of CHANG (CN 210778885 U).
Claim 17 is dependent upon claim 16 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of BACK. BACK teaches a projection 414 which projects into the inlet port 354 (paragraph 0026). The projection 414 includes has a spiral cone shape to be inserted into the electrolyte port 354 (paragraph 0027). BACK does not explicitly teach the outer surface of the connection protrusion has a screw thread, and is configured to be coupled to as crew groove in the cover.
CHANG teaches a method for detecting the internal gas pressure of square batteries by providing a device that can detect the internal pressure of the battery (paragraph 0006). The device may include a top mold, sleeve, bottom mold, a screw and a pressure sensor (paragraph 0008). The mounting base 2 includes an internal thread hole that matches the external thread of the pressure sensor 3 connection end (paragraph 0031). The external thread of the connection end is screwed into the internal thread hole, and sealed and tightened (paragraph 0031). Similarly the electrolyte injection hole then includes at least the internal thread hole (paragraph 0037).
At the time the invention as filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to connect the pressure sensor of BACK with the screw and threads of the pressure senor of CHANG, as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art element for another in order to achieve predictable results. Both BACK and CHANG teaches methods of attaching a pressure sensor to a battery, and then CHANG teaches the use of the screw threads.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACK (US 2010/0112420 A1) in view of OURY (US 2024/0243374 A1).
With respect to claim 19. BACK teaches a internal pressure measuring apparatus for a secondary battery (paragraph 0021). There is included a secondary battery which includes an electrode assembly 100 and a can 200 (paragraph 0022) the can being the claimed case. There is a cap assembly 300 coupled to the upper opening of the can 200 and include a cap plate 350 (paragraph 0023). The cap plate includes an electrolyte inlet port 354 (paragraph 0023). The connection jib 410 may be fastened to the electrolyte injection port 354 of the battery to transmit the pressure in the battery (paragraph 0026). The connection jjg is connected to a pressure gauge 420 which functions to display the internal pressure of the battery transmitted by the pressure medium filled in the pipe (paragraph 0030). The connection jib 410 is taken to be detachably installed in the cover. Specifically the projection 414 of the connection jig has a spiral cone shape to be inserted in the electrolyte inlet port (paragraph 0027).
BACK does not explicitly teach a battery pack including a plurality of secondary batteries and an accommodation housing in which the batteries are accommodated, and an external measurement part installed on the accommodation housing.
OURY teaches a battery module which includes a plurality of battery cells 24 (paragraph 0040) the module being taken to be the claimed battery pack. The battery module is configured to store the cells inside a protective housing 28 (paragraph 0042). The battery module 12 includes a pressure measurement system 88 (paragraph 0044). The pressure measurement system 88 may include a strain gauge circuit configured to measure deformation of the module and a cell monitoring unit 92 or other computation module configured for generated pressure measurement based on the amount of the deformation (paragraph 0044).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the battery of BACK in the battery module of OURY as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results. Specifically OURY teaches a known combination of battery cells into a module for an application of use with an electric motor (paragraph 0039). The pressure measurement system 88 of OURY then is taken to be the claimed external measurement part installed on the accommodation housing (see Figure 2).
With respect to claim 20. OURY teaches the pressure measurement system 88 may include a strain gauge circuit 90 to measure the deformation of the battery module 12 (paragraph 0044). The strain gauge 90 is part of the system 88, which is taken to include the claimed accommodation housing.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722