DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 2 shows a reference numeral “200” that is displayed over two lines (see below).
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 2: “are configured to cooperate maintain” appears to contain a typo.
Claim 14, line 2: “the base” lacks antecedent basis and should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burnley (US 7461995).
Re Clm 1: Burnley discloses a socket retainer assembly (title) configured to retain a ball (100) connected to a support post (col 1, line 64), the socket retainer assembly comprising: a ball-receiving body (1) including a channel (6) to receive the ball of the ball assembly and configured to retain the ball in the channel (top curved portion); and a slidable locking pin (30) configured to slide in the ball-receiving body (via hole 3) and configured to lock the ball in the channel in a locked position (pin is inserted) and configured to slide to an unlocked position from which the ball can be removed from the channel (see column 4).
Re Clm 5: Burnley discloses wherein in the locked position, the slidable locking pin is trapped and cannot slide without being pushed by a user, securing the ball in the channel (see fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnley (US 7461995) in view of Vegunta et al. (US 10,030,368).
Re Clm 2-4: Burnley fails to disclose wherein the socket retainer assembly produces an audible sound to indicate when the slidable locking pin moves between the locked position and the unlocked position (clm 2); wherein the ball-receiving body includes a visible indicator that the slidable locking pin is in the locked position and the unlocked position (clm 3); and wherein the visible indicator comprises a first symbol indicating the locked position and a second symbol indicating the unlocked position (clm 4).
Vegunta et al. teach the use of a locking pin assembly for the secure connection between two articulating members, wherein the assembly produces an audible sound to indicate when the slidable locking pin moves between the locked position and the unlocked position (top of column 14); and also wherein a receiving body includes a visible indicator including a first symbol indicating the locked position and a second symbol indicating the unlocked position (see top of column 11 for visual reference indicators). This is taught for the purpose of providing an indication of when the locking pin is properly in the seated locked position (see both top of col 11 and top of col 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the assembly of Burnley with indicators (audible or visual) as taught by Vegunta et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an indication of when the locking pin is properly in the seated locked position.
Re Clm 18: Burnley discloses socket retainer assembly (1) configured to retain a ball (100) of a ball assembly, the socket retainer assembly comprising: a ball-receiving body (1) including a channel (6) to receive the ball of the ball assembly and configured to retain the ball in the channel; and a slidable locking pin (30) configured to lock and unlock the ball in the channel (see columns 3-4).
Burnley fails to disclose a visible indicator configured to indicate when the slidable locking pin is in a locked and an unlocked position and an audible indicator configured to indicate when the slidable locking pin moved between a locked position and an unlocked position.
Vegunta et al. teach the use of a locking pin assembly for the secure connection between two articulating members, wherein the assembly produces an audible sound to indicate when the slidable locking pin moves between the locked position and the unlocked position (top of column 14); and also wherein a receiving body includes a visible indicator including a first symbol indicating the locked position and a second symbol indicating the unlocked position (see top of column 11 for visual reference indicators). This is taught for the purpose of providing an indication of when the locking pin is properly in the seated locked position (see both top of col 11 and top of col 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the assembly of Burnley with both visual and audible indicators, as taught by Vegunta et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing an indication of when the locking pin is properly in the seated locked position to alert a user to potential uncoupling issues.
Re Clm 20: Burnley as modified above discloses a base (bottom portion of assembly 1) including a first base portion (proximate to left mount hole 2) and a separate second base portion (proximate right mount hole 2), configured to enable the socket retainer assembly to be assembled.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnley (US 7461995) in view of Shearer et al. (US 11378114).
Re Clm 6: Burnley discloses wherein the ball-receiving body comprises a hollow lower portion, but fails to disclose a base configured to mount within the hollow lower body portion.
Shearer et al. disclose a socket retainer assembly wherein the assembly comprises a body with a hollow lower portion (18), and a base (10) configured to mount within the hollow lower body portion.
This is taught for the purpose of providing a hidden connection between the assembly and a boat deck.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided the lower hollow body portion of Burnley to receive a base configured to mount within the hollow lower body portion, as taught by Shearer et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a hidden connection between the assembly and a boat deck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re Clms 7-9, 15-17, and 19: the prior art fails to disclose or otherwise be combinable to suggest wherein the slidable locking pin comprises a locking channel having a channel width, and the locking channel is configured to engage a locking post on the base, the locking post having a post width that is less than the channel width to allow the slidable locking pin to slide between the locked position and the unlocked position.
Re Clms 10-14: the prior art fails to disclose or otherwise be combinable to suggest a base spring configured to bias the slidable locking pin upwardly to ensure the slidable locking pin is retained in the up position in a receiving slot formed in the ball-receiving body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678