Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on November 15, 2023.
Claims 1-27 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“exception action device”; “monitoring controller”; “imaging analyzer”; and “audio analyzer” in claims 19-27.
Although the claims do not use the word “means,” the nonce term “section” coupled solely with functional language does not connote sufficient structure to a POSITA. See Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339, 1348–49 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1-27 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/509,943 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without “significantly more.”
Step 1: Statutory Category
Claims 1–27 are directed to a process (method claims) and a system (apparatus claims), which are categories of invention eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Judicial Exception (Abstract Idea)
The claims are directed to methods and systems for remote monitoring and verification of imaging devices, which involve steps of collecting, evaluating, and reporting data regarding the operational status and quality of imaging devices. Such activities represent abstract ideas (i.e., mental processes and organizing human activity). The claims are directed to the following limitations (paraphrased from claim 1 as representative):
Providing a vehicle with imaging devices and a communications device.
Associating a unique identifier with each imaging device.
Evaluating video/audio messages from each imaging device.
Attending to correction upon determination of an exception.
Storing and indexing messages in a database.
Analyzing image/audio quality relative to standards.
Reporting exceptions for servicing or replacement.
These steps, when considered as a whole, recite the abstract idea of organizing human activity and mental processes, specifically the gathering, analysis, and reporting of data for equipment status monitoring. The Federal Circuit has found similar activities to be abstract ideas (see Electric Power Group and In re TLI Communications).
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, as they merely implement the abstract idea using generic computer components and imaging devices performing routine functions. The claims do not recite an improvement to the functioning of the computer, imaging device, or any other technology or technical field.
The claims recite generic components such as “imaging devices,” “communications device,” “operational status database,” “controller,” and “analyzer.” The functions performed by these components (collecting, evaluating, reporting) are described at a high level and do not require any specialized hardware or an improvement to the functioning of the computer or imaging devices themselves. There is no indication that the claims apply or use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond merely implementing it on generic technology. The claims do not effect a transformation or otherwise add a meaningful limitation that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: “Significantly More” (Inventive Concept)
Furthermore, the claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims use generic hardware in a conventional manner to perform generic data gathering, analysis, and reporting. The additional elements (imaging devices, communications device, database, controller, analyzer) are recited at a high level of generality and are described as performing their conventional functions. The claims do not include any unconventional hardware or a specific technical solution to a technical problem. The combination of elements performs routine and conventional functions (data collection, analysis, reporting) as would be performed by generic computing equipment. There is no improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field. Thus, the claims do not recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
Accordingly, the claims are not directed to patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Regarding dependent claims 2-18 and 20-27, the dependent claims add further limitations such as communicating messages at operational start (claim 2); storing messages indexed by unique identifier (claim 3); evaluating by visual display or audio sounding (claims 4–5); analytical analysis of image/audio quality (claims 6–12); comparing evaluations over time (claim 13); analyzing operational status, power supply (claims 14–15); periodic interrogation and exception reporting (claims 16–18, 21–22); quality assessment and deviation from standards (claims 23–26); and comparing multiple evaluations (claim 27). These limitations specifying particular steps or parameters for data gathering, analysis, storage, comparison, and reporting regarding the operational status and quality of imaging devices. These steps represent abstract ideas (mental processes and organizing human activity).
The dependent claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, as they merely implement the abstract idea using generic hardware and conventional functions. The dependent claims do not recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer, imaging device, or any other technology or technical field.
Furthermore, the dependent claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The limitations are directed to routine and conventional activities performed by generic hardware.
Accordingly, claims 2–27 are not directed to patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelski (US 2020/0068192) in view of Lagassey (2017/0026893).
Regarding Claims 1 and 19: Pelski teaches a system and method for monitoring the health of a plurality of video devices, determining a health state for each device based on device data, logging device status/events, generating alerts and automated corrective actions in response to unhealthy status, and providing a user interface for monitoring and management (see, e.g., Abstract; [0004], [0047]–[0054], Figs. 1–4).
associating in an operational status database a unique identifier with each respective one of the one or more imaging devices (each device tracked, unique IDs, [0037], [0050]);
evaluating a selected video and audio imaging message from a respective one of the imaging devices communicated to the central controller (health state determined by analytics/rules, [0038], [0047], [0051]);
upon determination of an exception in the video and audio imaging from a predetermined standard, attending to correction (alert, auto or manual resolution, [0004], [0039], [0054]).
Pelski does not teach providing a crash event response vehicle with one or more imaging devices for imaging video and audio at a site of a crash event and a communications device for communicating imaged video and audio as a message to a central controller; Pelski is directed to building/facility surveillance cameras, not vehicle-mounted imaging devices for crash event response.
However, Lagassey teaches a modular, vehicle-based imaging system for crash/event detection, including vehicle-mounted cameras/microphones, unique device identification, remote communication, diagnostics, and management (see, e.g., Abstract; [0052]–[0147], Figs. 1–13). Further, Lagassey teach providing a crash event response vehicle with one or more imaging devices for imaging video and audio at a site of a crash event (vehicle-mounted cameras/mics for crash/event detection, [0052]-[0147]) and a communications device for communicating imaged video and audio as a message to a central controller (vehicle sends data to remote server, [0073], [0099], [0199]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Pelski’s analytics-based, automated health monitoring and exception workflow with the vehicle-based imaging system of Lagassey, for the purpose of ensuring reliable, remotely managed operation of vehicle-mounted imaging devices in a crash event response fleet. The motivation is to improve reliability, uptime, and maintainability of mobile imaging systems, as is already done for distributed fixed cameras in Pelski.
Regarding Claim 2: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the selected video and audio imaging message is communicated upon operational start of a respective one of the one or more imaging devices (Pelski, device status at startup, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the selected video and audio imaging message is stored in the operational status database for evaluation indexed by the respective unique identifier of the respective one of the one or more imaging devices (Pelski, logs messages/events by device ID, [0050], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 4: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the evaluation is based on a visual display of the video imaging of selected video and audio imaging message (Pelski, UI for device status, [0054], [0055]).
Regarding Claim 5: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the evaluation is based on an audio sounding of the audio imaging of the selected video and audio imaging message (Pelski, alerts, [0054]).
Regarding Claim 6: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the evaluation is based on an analytical analysis of the video imaging of selected video and audio imaging message (Pelski, analytics/rules for health, [0038], [0051]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 23: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 6, wherein the analytical analysis evaluates one or more image characteristics relating to image quality (Pelski, analytics/rules, [0038], [0051]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 24: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process recited in claim 7, wherein the image characteristics of the analytical analysis evaluates image sharpness, clarity, color balance, and focus relative to a respective predetermined standard (Pelski, analytics/rules, [0038], [0051]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 25: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 7, wherein the evaluation determines whether the imaging device was obstructed from imaging (Pelski, periodic polling, [0037], [0047]).
Regarding Claims 10 and 26: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the evaluation is based on an analytical analysis of the audio imaging of the selected video and audio imaging message (Pelski, rules/thresholds, [0051], [0056]).
Regarding Claim 11: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, wherein the analytical analysis evaluates one or more audio characteristics relating to audio quality (Pelski, historical logs, [0050], [0056]).
Regarding Claims 12 and 27: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process recited in claim 11, wherein the audio characteristics of the analytical analysis evaluates audio clarity, a presence of static, and audio legibility relative to a respective predetermined standard (Pelski, [0050], [0056]).
Regarding Claim 13: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of comparing an evaluation of a first one of the video and audio imaging messages stored under the index for the respective one of the one or more imaging devices with an evaluation of a second one of the selected video and audio imaging message for the respective one of the one or more imaging
Devices (Pelski, [0050], [0056]).
Regarding Claim 14: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, further comprising analyzing an operational status of the respective one of the one or more imaging devices (Pelski, health status analytics, [0038], [0051]).
Regarding Claim 15: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 14, wherein the operational status analysis comprises evaluating power supply capacity of the response vehicle (Pelski, device power status, [0051]).
Regarding Claims 16 and 20: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 1, further comprising the step of communicating a request to a respective one of the one or more imaging devices to communicate a video message to the central controller for evaluation, whereby the respective one of the one or more imaging devices communicates a video and audio imaging message in response to the request (Pelski, periodic polling, [0037], [0047]).
Regarding Claims 17 and 21: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 16, wherein the central controller communicates the request to the respective one of the one or more imaging devices on a periodic schedule (Pelski, periodic polling, [0037], [0047]).
Regarding Claims 18 and 22: Pelski in view of Lagassey teach the process as recited in claim 17, wherein the central controller, upon failure of a response communication to the request, enters an exception status to the database for the respective one of the one or more imaging devices (Pelski, logs exceptions, [0050], [0051]).
Conclusion
/FAHD A OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627