DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Election/Restriction response filed on 03/13/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 are independent. Claims 6, 7, 10, and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B (Figures 5-6), Subspecies SA (mesh material defining openings); Species FB (non-bioresorbable), and Subspecies SA (hydrophobic) in the reply filed on 03/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7, and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the outer surface” in line 6 of the claim. Lines 1-2 recites “a first outer surface” and “a second outer surface.” It is unclear which of the outer surface that “the outer surface” in line 6 is referring to. For the purpose of examination, “the outer surface” ion line 6 of the claim is interpreted to be –the second outer surface--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the outer surface” in line 6 of the claim. Lines 1-2 recites “a first outer surface” and “a second outer surface.” It is unclear which of the outer surface that “the outer surface” in line 6 is referring to. For the purpose of examination, “the outer surface” ion line 6 of the claim is interpreted to be –the second outer surface--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the outer surface” in line 6 of the claim. Lines 1-2 recites “a first outer surface” and “a second outer surface.” It is unclear which of the outer surface that “the outer surface” in line 6 is referring to. For the purpose of examination, “the outer surface” ion line 6 of the claim is interpreted to be –the second outer surface--.
The art rejection(s) below is/are made as best understood by the examiner because of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue(s) state above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenhalgh et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017/0020646).
Regarding claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 11-14, Greenhalgh discloses [claim 1] an implant (the whole implant shown in Figs. 6A and 6B), comprising: a substrate (the middle mesh layer of the implant, Figs. 6A and 6B) having an outer surface (the outer surface facing the first layer, see Figure below); a first layer (see Figure below) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate, the first layer including a polymeric material (e.g. polypropylene, Para. [0009]); and a second layer (see Figure below) disposed on the outer surface of the substrate; [claim 2] wherein the substrate includes a mesh material (Para. [0008]); [claim 3] wherein the substrate includes a polypropylene mesh material (Para. [0009]); [claim 4] wherein the substrate defines openings (Para. [0008], the mesh material is porous and defines openings); [claim 5] wherein the substrate includes a hydrocarbon polymer (Para. [0009] polypropylene is a hydrocarbon polymer); [claim 8] wherein the first layer is formed of a material that is non-bioresorbable (Para. [0009], polypropylene is non-bioresorbable); [claim 9] wherein the second layer is a hydrophobic layer (Para. [0009], layer formed of polypropylene is hydrophobic); [claim 11] wherein the outer surface is a first outer surface, the substrate having a second outer surface (the outer surface facing the third layer, see Figure below); [claim 12] wherein the outer surface is a first outer surface, the substrate having a second outer surface (the outer surface facing the third layer, see Figure below), the second outer surface being spaced from the first outer surface (Figs. 6A and 6B), further comprising, a third layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the first layer including a polymeric material (Para. [0009]); and a fourth layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the third layer being disposed between the fourth layer and the second outer surface of the substrate (see Figure below); [claim 13] wherein the outer surface is a first outer surface, the substrate having a second outer surface (the outer surface facing the third layer, see Figure below), the second outer surface being disposed opposite the first outer surface, further comprising, a third layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the first layer including a polymeric material (Para. [0009]); and a fourth layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the third layer being disposed between the fourth layer and the second outer surface of the substrate (see Figure below); [claim 14] wherein substrate includes a mesh material (Para. [0008], the outer surface is a first outer surface, the substrate having a second outer surface (see Figure below), the second outer surface being disposed opposite the first outer surface (see Figure below), further comprising, a third layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the first layer including a polymeric material (Para. [0009]); and a fourth layer (see Figure below) disposed on the second outer surface of the substrate, the third layer being disposed between the fourth layer and the second outer surface of the substrate (see Figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenhalgh et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017/0020646) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thierfelder et al. (US Pub. No.: 2003/0195386)
Regarding claim 15, Greenhalgh discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim but fails to disclose that the substrate includes a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion forming a Y-shaped substrate.
Thierfelder teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical implant), a surgical implant comprising a substrate (10, Fig. 1) including a first portion (18, Fig. 1), a second portion (14, Fig. 1), and a third portion (16, Fig. 1), the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion forming a Y-shaped substrate (Fig. 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the substrate of Greenhalgh to include a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion forming a Y-shaped substrate as taught by Thierfelder in order to obtain the advantage of obtain the appropriate shape for addressing urological disorders, such as pelvic floor disorders (Thierfelder, Paras. [0051] and [0074]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20060195010 A1 Arnal; Kevin R. et al. discloses a multiple-layer mesh implant.
US 20220296351 A1 Patel; Umesh H. et al. discloses a multiple-layer implant.
US 7070558 B2 Gellman; Barry et al. discloses a multiple-layer implant.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771