DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (English machine translation of CN 109464765 A).
Regarding Claims 1-4 and 6: Chen et al. teaches a fire suppression composition comprising 1-bromo-1,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropene ([0008] and [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5: Chen et al. teaches the fire suppression composition may further comprise additional compounds such as 3-bromo-1,1,2,3-tetrafluoropropene (bromotetrafluoropropene) ([0033]).
Regarding Claim 7: Chen et al. teaches the composition further comprising one or more additional fire suppression agents ([0033]).
Regarding Claim 10: Chen et al. does not require the presence of any per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances.
Regarding Claim 11: Chen et al. teaches a method comprising detecting a fire and dispensing the fire suppression composition ([0035]-[0038]).
Regarding Claim 12: Chen et al. teaches a fire extinguishing module (device) comprising the composition ([0033] and [0038]).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0108559).
Regarding Claims 1-3: Sharma et al. teaches a fire extinguishing composition comprising CF2BrCH=CH2, a compound of claim 1 wherein n is 3, each X is H, Br, or F, and contains no -CF3- or -CF2- ([0001] and [0015]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 9: Sharma et al. teaches the composition further comprising a further fire suppressing diluent gas such as nitrogen or carbon dioxide ([0012] and [0027]).
Regarding Claim 10: Sharma et al. does not require the presence of any per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances.
Regarding Claim 11: Sharma et al. teaches a method comprising detecting a fire and dispensing the composition ([0051]).
Regarding Claim 12: Sharma et al. teaches the composition in a device (Fig. 1 and [0049]).
Claim(s)14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (English machine translation of CN 109464765 A).
Chen et al. teaches the fire suppression compound 1-bromo-1,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropene, a compound of the claimed formula wherein n=3, each X is H, Br, or F, and contains no -CF3- or -CF2- ([0008] and [0033]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0108559).
Sharma et al. teaches the fire extinguishing CF2BrCH=CH2, a compound of claim 14 wherein n is 3, each X is H, Br, or F, and contains no -CF3- or -CF2- ([0001] and [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (English machine translation of CN 109464765 A).
Chen et al. teaches the composition of claim 7 as set forth above.
Chen et al. does not teach the specific amounts of the fire extinguishing agents. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0108559).
Sharma et al. teaches the composition of claim 7 as set forth above. Sharma et al. teaches the diluent gas present in about 8-32% (v/v) ([0027]).
Sharma et al. does not teach the specific claimed amount of diluent gas. However, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 July 22, 2026