DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term(s) such as “Intel” and “Xeon”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7 and claims dependent thereupon are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, applicant recites “wherein said one male portion consists of a cylindrical pin affixed to the interior of said receiver and said corresponding female portion consists of at least one slot within said receiver adapter designed to allow said one male portion to slide into said at least one slot so that said receiver adapter can be connected to said receiver.” However, it is believe this is a typo the male portion (cylindrical pin) is engaged to the female portion (including one slot) is part of the OPS module computer (as seen in figures 5-7). In other words, as the applicant has claimed the limitation the male portion which is provided in the receiver adapter is not able to engage to itself as claimed (i.e. female portion consist of at least one sot within said receiver adapter” and the office raises the question how does the receiver adapter is capable of connecting to receiver. For purpose of examination, the office will treat the limitation as the female portion being part of the OPS computer module as illustrated in figure 5-7 and paragraph 38 of specification.
Furthermore, the office notes that similar error is in the dependent claim when applicant refer to the receiver being a separate component than of receiver adapter. The office highly recommends at least reviewing the operation of the invention in light of figure 5-7 and corresponding specification paragraphs. The engagement of male and female connection (pins/slots) is occurring between the receiver adapter (100) and the OPS computer module (200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. US Pub 2013/0016483.
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Chuang discloses,
A computer (figure 2 and 3c) for (intended use language) use with a touchscreen display, comprising:
a receiver adapter (element 3c), wherein said receiver adapter comprises a receiver (receiver where element 33/31c is indicated) for accepting an open pluggable specification (“OPS”) computer module (1c which houses device like element 2 as shown in figure 4), wherein said receiver comprises:
a multipin plug (element 33, figure 3c) for connecting said receiver adapter to said OPS computer module; and
at least one male portion (fig. 3c, group of elements 31c extending outward into the slot similar to present application) extending outward into said receiver to prevent the insertion of an OPS computer module not containing a corresponding female portion (element 174c), wherein said one male portion consists of a cylindrical pin (as seen in figure 3c, at least one of the male portion of element 31c is cylindrical, see annotated drawing below; the office notes that the applicant is only requiring one of the male portion to be cylindrical pin) affixed to the interior of said receiver and said corresponding female portion consists of at least one slot (as seen in figure 3c, element 174c, see annotated drawing) within said receiver adapter designed to allow said one male portion to slide into said at least one slot so that said receiver adapter can be connected to said receiver (figure 3c, as the two components engaged the female portion accepts the cylindrical pin).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang discloses,
Wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver extending vertically from said receiver (element 31c which is similar to element 43/44 extending vertically, see annotated figure 3c).
Regarding claim 3, Chuang teaches,
Wherein said at least one male portion extending outwards into said receiver extends horizontally from said receiver (annotated figure 3c, element 31c which in same plane as 33, similar to elements 41/42 of present application,).
Regarding claim 4, Chuang discloses,
further comprising a second male portion (any one of the other 31c as indicated in figure 3c, is consider as the second male portion, such that this is extending outwards and thus preventing the insertion of 1c if that corresponding female portion isn't there) extending outward into said receiver to prevent the insertion of an OPS computer module not containing a corresponding second female portion.
Regarding claim 5, Chuang discloses,
wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver comprises one vertical (as seen in figure 3c, each of element 31c is one vertical and one horizontal similar to present application) and one horizontal male portion (as seen in figure 3c, each of element 31c is one vertical and one horizontal similar to present application) extending outward into said receiver.
Regarding claim 6, Chuang discloses,
wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver comprises two vertical and two horizontal male portions extending outward into said receiver (as seen in figure 3c, element 31c is two vertical and two horizontal male portions; paragraph 34).
Regarding claim 7, Chuang discloses,
A method of upgrading an OPS computer module, comprising:
providing a receiver adapter (figure 2 and 3c, element 3c), wherein said receiver adapter comprises a slot (slot where element 33/31c is indicated) for accepting an OPS computer module,
wherein said slot comprises:
a multipin plug (element 33, figure 3c) for connecting said receiver adapter to said OPS computer module (1c which houses device like element 2 as shown in figure 4); and
at least one male portion (fig. 3c, group of elements 31c extending outward into the slot similar to present application) extending outward into said slot to prevent the insertion of an OPS computer module not containing a corresponding female portion (element 174c) wherein said one male portion consists of a cylindrical pin (as seen in figure 3c, at least one of the male portion of element 31c is cylindrical, see annotated drawing below; the office notes that the applicant is only requiring one of the male portion to be cylindrical pin) affixed to the interior of said receiver and said corresponding female portion consists of at least one slot (as seen in figure 3c, element 174c, see annotated drawing) within said receiver adapter designed to allow said one male portion to slide into said at least one slot so that said receiver adapter can be connected to said receiver (figure 3c, as the two components engaged the female portion accepts the cylindrical pin); and
inserting an OPS computer module containing a corresponding female portion into said receiver adapter (as the OPS computer module 1c and 2 are inserted into the slot which contains the female portion 174c) and received in the adapter 3c),
Regarding claim 8, Chuang discloses,
Wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver extending vertically from said receiver (element 31c which is similar to element 43/44 extending vertically).
Regarding claim 9, Chuang discloses,
Wherein said at least one male portion extending outwards into said receiver extends horizontally from said receiver (figure 3c, element 31c which in same plane as 33, similar to elements 41/42 of present application).
Regarding claim 10, Chuang discloses,
further comprising a second male portion (any one of the other 31c as indicated in figure 3c, is consider as the second male portion, such that this is extending outwards and thus preventing the insertion of 1c if that corresponding female portion isn't there) extending outward into said receiver to prevent the insertion of an OPS computer module not containing a corresponding second female portion.
Regarding claim 11, Chuang discloses,
wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver comprises one vertical (as seen in figure 3c, each of element 31c is one vertical and one horizontal similar to present application) and one horizontal male portion (as seen in figure 3c, each of element 31c is one vertical and one horizontal similar to present application) extending outward into said receiver.
Regarding claim 12, Chuang discloses,
wherein said at least one male portion extending outward into said receiver comprises two vertical and two horizontal male portions extending outward into said receiver (as seen in figure 3c, element 31c is two vertical and two horizontal male portions; paragraph 34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant provides arguments regarding the newly amended limitation. Specifically, the details regarding the male portion being cylindrical. The office respectfully disagrees.
As provided in the rejection above, Chuang teaches the newly amended limitation and specifically the details of the male portion being cylindrical pin. The office notes that the applicant is only requiring one of the male portion of at least one male portion to be cylindrical pin. For more detail the office notes to see the rejection provided above and annotated drawing above on how the newly amended limitation is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MacLeod et al. US Patent 6424525 – figure 1, element 20 and 18 teaches the horizontal and vertical alignment pins/male portion as recited.
Helot US Patent 6185095 – figure 1, element 36 and adjacent to element 34 are the alignment pins
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841