DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 21, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 5, 7-8 and 13 are amended, and claims 14-18 are added.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment, the objections to claims 1-2 and 8 have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, the rejection to claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the references not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 2, “The method of claim 2” should read “The method of claim 1”.
In Claim 15, “The method of claim 14” should read “The non-transitory distribution medium of claim 14”.
In Claim 16, “The method of claim 14” should read “The non-transitory distribution medium of claim 14”.
In Claim 17, “The method of claim 15” should read “The non-transitory distribution medium of claim 15”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7 and 13 recite “the being data intended to the target node”. The meaning of the limitation is unclear. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim are not clear as the one of ordinary skill in the art would not know from the claim terms what structure or steps are encompassed by the claim. MPEP 2173.05(g). Examiner advise changing the limitation to “the data being intended to the target node”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji) in view of Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong).
For claim 1, Ji teaches a method for link negotiation procedure for nodes of a wireless ad hoc network ([Page 2, third last para], a multi-hop voice communication method capable of ensuring excellent call quality on a wireless ad-hoc network. [Page 3, last para], [FIG. 1] and [FIG. 2], each of the transmitting node, the relay node, and the receiving node includes a physical layer and a data link layer), the method comprising in a first node of a wireless ad hoc network: determining that a target node of the wireless ad hoc network is not reachable with a point-to-point transmission ([Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node and forwards the voice data packet to the receiving node through the relay node. In this case, one or more relay nodes may be used for voice communication between the receiving node and the transmitting node), transmitting data to the second node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node). [Page 4, sixth last paragraph], the transmitting node transmits the voice data packet of the application layer, The frame is transmitted to the physical layer. [Page 4, fourth last paragraph], Next, the frame of the physical layer of the transmitting node is transmitted to the physical layer of the receiving node via at least one relay node), the being data intended to the target node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node)).
Although teaching in a wireless ad-hoc network, determining the receiving node is not reachable with a direct transmission and transmitting data via a relay node, Ji does not explicitly disclose transmitting broadcast transmission requesting a relay connection to the target node, the response indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node.
Deng is directed to providing a kind of methods, devices and systems for selecting relaying UE. More specifically, Deng teaches transmitting broadcast transmission requesting a relay connection to the target node ([Para. 39], the remote UE detects that the remote UE is located outside the network coverage and the remote UE wants to communicate with the network [Para. 37], the remote UE broadcasts a relay discovery request message to the network coverage outside the network coverage), the response indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node ([Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message. [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, so that the remote UE broadcast relay request and the response from the candidate relay UE indicates the relay capability of the candidate relay UE, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Although teach broadcasting relay connection request, Ji and Deng do not explicitly disclose wherein the broadcast transmission comprises information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission; listening on the given frequency or frequencies for the response; receiving on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network.
Yang is directed to providing method and device for sidelink discovery. More specifically, Yang teaches wherein the broadcast transmission comprises information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission ([Para. 0057] and [FIG. 5], the remote terminal device 140 may transmit a request message 505 towards the relay terminal device 120 in the vicinity when performing the sidelink discovery, the request message 505 including an indication 510 of the frequency band for the relay terminal device 120 to transmit the response message [Examiner’s Note: Deng teaches broadcast relay discovery request]), listening on the given frequency or frequencies for the response ([Para. 0058], After receiving the request message 505, the relay terminal device 120 may obtain a frequency band indication 510 from the request message 505. The first frequency band may be selected based on the indication 510 from the plurality of frequency bands that it operates, and the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band. In this manner, the remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received), receiving on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network ([Para. 0058], the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band (by the relay node). The remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received [Examiner’s Note: Ji teaches relay node of a wireless ad hoc network]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji and Deng, so that the remote terminal broadcasts relay request indicating a frequency and the response from the relay terminal is transmitted at the indicated frequency in the request, as taught by Yang. The modification would have improved efficiency when the remote UE monitors the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device is received (Yang [Para. 0005 and 0058]).
Although teaching response at a frequency indicated in the broadcast request for relay connection, Ji, Deng and Yang do not explicitly disclose and receiving an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node.
Xiong is directed to providing self-adaptive relay transmission method, system, equipment and computer storage medium. More specifically, Xiong teaches receiving an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node ([Para. 117], after the receiving end receives the data packet message, if the receiving end is a relay node, it needs to forward the data packet message to the destination node, and send the ACK message sent by the destination node. It is forwarded to the source node).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng and Yang, so that the relay node forwards to the source node the received the acknowledgement to the data transmission to the target node, as taught by Xiong. The modification would have improved the accuracy and reliability of data transmission (Xiong [Para. 2 and 3]).
For claim 2, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising receiving a response from more than one second nodes in the wireless ad hoc network (Ji [Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node. Deng [Para. 54] and [FIG. 5], UE1 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. UE2 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. Deng [Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message), the responses indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node (Deng [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. Deng [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE), and selecting one of the second nodes as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted (Deng [Para. 59], the remote UE selects from the at least one candidate relay UE according to the response message … one candidate relay UE serves as a relay UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 62], The remote UE selects, from the UE1 and the UE2 according to the response message fed back by the UE1 and the UE2, that use the UE1 as the intermediate UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. The selected relay UE can broadcast unicast traffic (including both uplink and downlink traffic) between the remote UE and the network. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Yang and Xiong so that the remote UE selects one candidate relay UE according to the responses, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
For claim 7, Ji teaches an apparatus in a wireless ad hoc network ([Page 3, paragraph 7] and [FIG. 2], A multi-hop voice communication method in a wireless ad hoc network, in the transmitting node [Examiner’s Note: The transmitting node is the apparatus]. At the transmitting node, transmitting a frame of the transmitting node to a receiving node via at least one relay node [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 2, the transmitting node, recceing node and relay node are cell phones. A cell phone includes a processor which executes a computer program, and memory in which the executed program is stored]), to cause the apparatus to determine that a target node of the wireless ad hoc network is not reachable with a point-to-point transmission ([Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node and forwards the voice data packet to the receiving node through the relay node. In this case, one or more relay nodes may be used for voice communication between the receiving node and the transmitting node), transmit data to the second node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node). [Page 4, sixth last paragraph], the transmitting node transmits the voice data packet of the application layer, The frame is transmitted to the physical layer. [Page 4, fourth last paragraph], Next, the frame of the physical layer of the transmitting node is transmitted to the physical layer of the receiving node via at least one relay node), the being data intended to the target node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node)).
Although teaching in a wireless ad-hoc network, determining the receiving node is not reachable with a direct transmission and transmitting data via a relay node, Ji does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, transmit broadcast transmission requesting a relay connection to the target node, the response indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node.
Deng is directed to providing a kind of methods, devices and systems for selecting relaying UE. More specifically, Deng teaches the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including a computer program code ([Para. 174], the invention may be implemented in combination of software and hardware. The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions. The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured ([Para. 174], The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), with the at least one processor ([Para. 174], The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions), transmit broadcast transmission requesting a relay connection to the target node ([Para. 39], the remote UE detects that the remote UE is located outside the network coverage and the remote UE wants to communicate with the network [Para. 37], the remote UE broadcasts a relay discovery request message to the network coverage outside the network coverage), the response indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node ([Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message. [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, so that the remote UE broadcast relay request and the response from the candidate relay UE indicates the relay capability of the candidate relay UE, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Although teach broadcasting relay connection request, Ji and Deng do not explicitly disclose the broadcast transmission comprising information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission; listen on the given frequency or frequencies for the response; receive on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network.
Yang is directed to providing method and device for sidelink discovery. More specifically, Yang teaches the broadcast transmission comprising information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission ([Para. 0057] and [FIG. 5], the remote terminal device 140 may transmit a request message 505 towards the relay terminal device 120 in the vicinity when performing the sidelink discovery, the request message 505 including an indication 510 of the frequency band for the relay terminal device 120 to transmit the response message [Examiner’s Note: Deng teaches broadcast relay discovery request]), listen on the given frequency or frequencies for the response ([Para. 0058], After receiving the request message 505, the relay terminal device 120 may obtain a frequency band indication 510 from the request message 505. The first frequency band may be selected based on the indication 510 from the plurality of frequency bands that it operates, and the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band. In this manner, the remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received), receive on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network ([Para. 0058], the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band (by the relay node). The remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received [Examiner’s Note: Ji teaches relay node of a wireless ad hoc network]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji and Deng, so that the remote terminal broadcasts relay request indicating a frequency and the response from the relay terminal is transmitted at the indicated frequency in the request, as taught by Yang. The modification would have improved efficiency when the remote UE monitors the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device is received (Yang [Para. 0005 and 0058]).
Although teaching response at a frequency indicated in the broadcast request for relay connection, Ji, Deng and Yang do not explicitly disclose and receive an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node.
Xiong is directed to providing self-adaptive relay transmission method, system, equipment and computer storage medium. More specifically, Xiong teaches and receive an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node ([Para. 117], after the receiving end receives the data packet message, if the receiving end is a relay node, it needs to forward the data packet message to the destination node, and send the ACK message sent by the destination node. It is forwarded to the source node).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng and Yang, so that the relay node forwards to the source node the received the acknowledgement to the data transmission to the target node, as taught by Xiong. The modification would have improved the accuracy and reliability of data transmission (Xiong [Para. 2 and 3]).
For claim 8, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the apparatus of claim 7. The references further teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured (Deng [Para. 174], The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), with the at least one processor (Deng [Para. 174], The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions), to cause the apparatus further to receive a response from more than one second nodes in the ad hoc wireless network (Ji [Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node. Deng [Para. 54] and [FIG. 5], UE1 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. UE2 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. Deng [Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message), the responses indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node (Deng [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. Deng [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE), select one of the second nodes as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted (Deng [Para. 59], the remote UE selects from the at least one candidate relay UE according to the response message … one candidate relay UE serves as a relay UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 62], The remote UE selects, from the UE1 and the UE2 according to the response message fed back by the UE1 and the UE2, that use the UE1 as the intermediate UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. The selected relay UE can broadcast unicast traffic (including both uplink and downlink traffic) between the remote UE and the network. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the remote UE selects one candidate relay UE according to the responses, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Claims 3, 5, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji) in view of Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang), and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Vargas Anamuro et al. (WO2021116572A1, hereinafter Vargas Anamuro).
For claim 3, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the method of claim 2. Although teaching selecting one relay node from more than one relay nodes, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong do not explicitly disclose wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency.
Vargas Anamuro is directed to providing method and device carrying out said method for accessing a shared channel in order to respond to a relay request. More specifically, Vargas Anamuro teaches wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency ([Para. 66], The source device MTD broadcasts a relay request on a channel dedicated to the synchronization of the D2D relaying, this channel being shared between several devices of the cellular access network. [Para. 68], the source device MTD, on the shared channel, awaits a response to its Request for Relay (RR) request. [Para. 69], the candidate device UE receives the request RR. [Para. 77], the candidate device obtains a random waiting time defining a response interval in the contention window. [Para. 80], the waiting time expires, the candidate device listens to the shared channel, and if the channel is free at the end of the waiting time, the candidate device UE sends to the device source MTD in said channel, in response to the request RR, an application message Relay Candidate (RC) indicating that the candidate device UE can constitute a relay device. [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an RC message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. [Para. 82] The source device MTD broadcasts to inform the candidate device UE and the other candidate devices [Examiner’s Note: The different candidate devices have different random waiting times indicating that their responses are received at separate times in the same frequency for otherwise collision occurs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the responses to request broadcast are received at different times in the same frequency, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
For claim 5, Ji, Deng, Yang, Xiong and Vargas Anamuro teach the method of claim 3. The references further teach further comprising selecting as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted the node which response was received first (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an Relay Candidate (RC) message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. Vargas Anamuro [Para. 62], if the candidate device UE is selected, it relays data between this source device MTD and the access point BS in the upstream direction. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the first candidate EU that transmits the response to the broadcast is selected as the relay, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
For claim 9, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the apparatus of claim 8. Although teaching selecting one relay node from more than one relay nodes, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong do not explicitly disclose wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency.
Vargas Anamuro is directed to providing method and device carrying out said method for accessing a shared channel in order to respond to a relay request. More specifically, Vargas Anamuro teaches wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency ([Para. 66], The source device MTD broadcasts a relay request on a channel dedicated to the synchronization of the D2D relaying, this channel being shared between several devices of the cellular access network. [Para. 68], the source device MTD, on the shared channel, awaits a response to its Request for Relay (RR) request. [Para. 69], the candidate device UE receives the request RR. [Para. 77], the candidate device obtains a random waiting time defining a response interval in the contention window. [Para. 80], the waiting time expires, the candidate device listens to the shared channel, and if the channel is free at the end of the waiting time, the candidate device UE sends to the device source MTD in said channel, in response to the request RR, an application message Relay Candidate (RC) indicating that the candidate device UE can constitute a relay device. [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an RC message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. [Para. 82] The source device MTD broadcasts to inform the candidate device UE and the other candidate devices [Examiner’s Note: The different candidate devices have different random waiting times indicating that their responses are received at separate times in the same frequency for otherwise collision occurs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the responses to request broadcast are received at different times in the same frequency, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
For claim 11, Ji, Deng, Yang, Xiong and Vargas Anamuro teach the apparatus of claim 9. The references further teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured (Deng [Para. 174], The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), with the at least one processor (Deng [Para. 174], The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions), to cause the apparatus further to select as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted the node which response was received first (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an Relay Candidate (RC) message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. Vargas Anamuro [Para. 62], if the candidate device UE is selected, it relays data between this source device MTD and the access point BS in the upstream direction. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the first candidate EU that transmits the response to the broadcast is selected as the relay, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji) in view of Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Gupta et al. (US20160270056A1, hereinafter Gupta).
For claim 4, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the method of claim 2. Although teaching selecting relay node from more than one node, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising responses from more than one second nodes are received on different frequencies.
Gupta is directed to providing mechanisms for association request signaling between ioe devices. More specifically, Gupta teaches further comprising responses from more than one second nodes are received on different frequencies ([Para. 0060], the relay module 210 a (of candidate relay) may determine what tones may be identified in a discovery broadcast as available for use in association requests. [Para. 0063], the relay module 210 a may assist the IoE device 102 b in processing one or more association requests received from corresponding one or more IoE devices 102 (e.g., 102 a and 102 d as some examples). These association requests may be received on one or more of the tones identified in the discovery broadcast. In response, the relay module 210 a may prepare a message for transmission to the one or more other IoE devices 102 seeking to associate with the IoE device 102 b).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the responses to discovery broadcast from more than one devices are received in different frequencies, as taught by Gupta. The modification would have limited the amount of power and latency imposed on the IoE device to perform contention resolution procedure (Gupta [Para. 0006]).
Claim 10 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 10 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji) in view of Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang), and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Selvanesan et al. (US20230171826A1, hereinafter Selvanesan).
For claim 6, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request (Deng [Para. 146], When it is detected that the channel quality is lower than a predetermined threshold, the remote UE triggers to repeatedly perform an operation to resend, to the network, the broadcast relay discovery request message to reselect Relay UE. Deng [Para. 98], In step S110, when it is determined, that the relay UE needs to be reselected, the remote UE repeats step S101 to resend the network-widen discovery request message to the network. Deng [43] , the candidate relay UE receives the relay discovery request message from the remote UE. Deng [Para. 46], the candidate relay UE feeds back to the remote UE a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message Deng [Para. 131], the UE determines whether the measured link quality between the remote UE and the UE1 and the link quality between the remote UE and the UE2 meet predetermined link quality conditions (for example, the link quality is higher than a predetermined quality threshold), selects, from the UE1 and the UE2, the UE1 [Examiner’s Note: Only UEs whose link qualities are higher than the threshold are considered in reselection to be relay UE and the previous Relay UE should not be considered because its link quality is lower than the threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the remote UE rejects the previous relay node in reselection, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Although teaching reselection of relay UE based on link quality, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong do not explicitly disclose further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request.
Selvanesan is directed to providing feedback and traffic differentiation in sidelink relays. More specifically, Selvanesan teaches further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request ([Para. 0303] and [FIG. 4], In case a packet transmission failed, i.e., the data was received non-successfully at the receiving entity 404, the link quality included in the overall feedback message received at the TX UE 402 between the relay UE and the RX UE may be used by the TX UE to start a relay reselection process in case the link quality is identified at the TX UE as being below a predefined threshold and causing the non-successful reception of the data or transmission at the receiving entity [Examiner’s Note: Selvanesan teaches link quality lower than a threshold results in data transmission unsuccessful prior to relay reselection]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the unsuccessful data transmission may be indicated by the link quality lower than a threshold, as taught by Selvanesan. The modification would have allowed the relay UE to differentiate transmissions that is to be relayed to a receiving entity and intended for the UE (Selvanesan [Para. 0019]).
For claim 12, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the apparatus of claim 7. The references further teach wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured (Deng [Para. 174], The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), with the at least one processor (Deng [Para. 174], The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions), to cause the apparatus further to reject a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request (Deng [Para. 146], When it is detected that the channel quality is lower than a predetermined threshold, the remote UE triggers to repeatedly perform an operation to resend, to the network, the broadcast relay discovery request message to reselect Relay UE. Deng [Para. 98], In step S110, when it is determined, that the relay UE needs to be reselected, the remote UE repeats step S101 to resend the network-widen discovery request message to the network. Deng [43], the candidate relay UE receives the relay discovery request message from the remote UE. Deng [Para. 46], the candidate relay UE feeds back to the remote UE a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message Deng [Para. 131], the UE determines whether the measured link quality between the remote UE and the UE1 and the link quality between the remote UE and the UE2 meet predetermined link quality conditions (for example, the link quality is higher than a predetermined quality threshold), selects, from the UE1 and the UE2, the UE1 [Examiner’s Note: Only UEs whose link qualities are higher than the threshold are considered in reselection to be relay UE and the previous Relay UE should not be considered because its link quality is lower than the threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Yang and Xiong so that the remote UE rejects the previous relay node in reselection, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Although teaching reselection of relay UE based on link quality, Deng, Gupta and Xiong do not explicitly disclose to cause the apparatus further to reject a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request.
Selvanesan is directed to providing feedback and traffic differentiation in sidelink relays. More specifically, Selvanesan teaches to cause the apparatus further to reject a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request ([Para. 0303] and [FIG. 4], In case a packet transmission failed, i.e., the data was received non-successfully at the receiving entity 404, the link quality included in the overall feedback message received at the TX UE 402 between the relay UE and the RX UE may be used by the TX UE to start a relay reselection process in case the link quality is identified at the TX UE as being below a predefined threshold and causing the non-successful reception of the data or transmission at the receiving entity [Examiner’s Note: Selvanesan teaches link quality lower than a threshold results in data transmission unsuccessful prior to relay reselection]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the unsuccessful data transmission may be indicated by the link quality lower than a threshold, as taught by Selvanesan. The modification would have allowed the relay UE to differentiate transmissions that is to be relayed to a receiving entity and intended for the UE (Selvanesan [Para. 0019]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), in view of Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong).
For claim 13, Deng teaches a non-transitory distribution medium readable by a computer and comprising program instructions which ([Para. 174], the invention may be implemented in combination of software and hardware. The software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions. The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), when loaded into an apparatus ([para. 7], a first apparatus for selecting a relay UE. [Para. 174], the invention may be implemented in combination of software and hardware. The software programs may be stored in a computer readable recording medium), execute operations comprising ([Para. 174], the software program may be executed by a processor to implement the steps or functions): transmitting broadcast transmission requesting a relay connection to the target node ([Para. 39], the remote UE detects that the remote UE is located outside the network coverage and the remote UE wants to communicate with the network [Para. 37], the remote UE broadcasts a relay discovery request message to the network coverage outside the network coverage), the response indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node ([Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message. [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE).
Although teaching broadcasting relay connection request and the response to the request, Deng does not explicitly disclose determining that a target node of the wireless ad hoc network is not reachable with a point-to-point transmission, transmitting data to the second node, the being data intended to the target node.
Ji is directed to providing a multihop voice communication method in a wireless ad hoc network, and a voice data packet design method for multihop voice communication in a wireless ad hoc network. More specifically, Ji teaches determining that a target node of the wireless ad hoc network is not reachable with a point-to-point transmission ([Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node and forwards the voice data packet to the receiving node through the relay node. In this case, one or more relay nodes may be used for voice communication between the receiving node and the transmitting node), transmitting data to the second node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node). [Page 4, sixth last paragraph], the transmitting node transmits the voice data packet of the application layer, The frame is transmitted to the physical layer. [Page 4, fourth last paragraph], Next, the frame of the physical layer of the transmitting node is transmitted to the physical layer of the receiving node via at least one relay node), the being data intended to the target node ([Page 2, last paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, data of the transmission node is relayed by another node and arrives at the destination node (that is, the reception node)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, so that the transmitting node transmits data to the receiving node not reachable through a relay node in ad hoc network, as taught by Ji. The modification would have allowed the receiving node not recognize the one-way packet delay time at the node and achieved excellent call quality (Ji [Page 3, paragraph 10]).
Although teaching transmitting node transmits data to the receiving node not reachable through a relay node in ad hoc network, Deng and Ji do not explicitly disclose the broadcast transmission comprising information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission; listening on the given frequency or frequencies for the response; receiving on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network.
Yang is directed to providing method and device for sidelink discovery. More specifically, Yang teaches the broadcast transmission comprising information on the given frequency or frequencies to send a response to the broadcast transmission ([Para. 0057] and [FIG. 5], the remote terminal device 140 may transmit a request message 505 towards the relay terminal device 120 in the vicinity when performing the sidelink discovery, the request message 505 including an indication 510 of the frequency band for the relay terminal device 120 to transmit the response message [Examiner’s Note: Deng teaches broadcast relay discovery request]), listening on the given frequency or frequencies for the response ([Para. 0058], After receiving the request message 505, the relay terminal device 120 may obtain a frequency band indication 510 from the request message 505. The first frequency band may be selected based on the indication 510 from the plurality of frequency bands that it operates, and the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band. In this manner, the remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received), receiving on a given frequency a response from a second node of the wireless ad hoc network ([Para. 0058], the response message 515 for the request message 505 is in turn transmitted towards the remote terminal device 140 in the first frequency band (by the relay node). The remote terminal device 140 may only monitor the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device 120 is received [Examiner’s Note: Ji teaches relay node of a wireless ad hoc network]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng and Ji, so that the remote terminal broadcasts relay request indicating a frequency and the response from the relay terminal is transmitted at the indicated frequency in the request, as taught by Yang. The modification would have improved efficiency when the remote UE monitors the desired frequency band when the response message for the relay terminal device is received (Yang [Para. 0005 and 0058]).
Although teaching response at a frequency indicated in the broadcast request for relay connection, Deng, Ji and Yang do not explicitly disclose and receiving an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node.
Xiong is directed to providing self-adaptive relay transmission method, system, equipment and computer storage medium. More specifically, Xiong teaches receiving an acknowledgement from the second node that the data has been successfully transmitted to the target node ([Para. 117], after the receiving end receives the data packet message, if the receiving end is a relay node, it needs to forward the data packet message to the destination node, and send the ACK message sent by the destination node. It is forwarded to the source node).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Ji and Yang, so that the relay node forwards to the source node the received the acknowledgement to the data transmission to the target node, as taught by Xiong. The modification would have improved the accuracy and reliability of data transmission (Xiong [Para. 2 and 3]).
For claim 14, Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong teach the non-transitory distribution medium of claim 13. The references further teach wherein the operations further comprise receiving a response from more than one second nodes in the wireless ad hoc network (Ji [Page 2, second paragraph], In a wireless ad hoc network, the receiving node may not be within the transmitting distance of the transmitting node, in which case the transmitting node selects a third node determined in the routing protocol as the relay node. Deng [Para. 54] and [FIG. 5], UE1 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. UE2 feeds back a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message to the remote UE. Deng [Para. 57], the remote UE receives a response message that is fed back by at least one candidate relay UE and corresponds to the relay discovery request message), the responses indicating capability to relay transmissions to the target node (Deng [Para. 50], the response message further includes information for indicating the relay capability of the candidate relay UE. Deng [Para. 67], the selected relay UE performs so that the remote UE can communicate with the network through the selected relay UE), and selecting one of the second nodes as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted (Deng [Para. 59], the remote UE selects from the at least one candidate relay UE according to the response message … one candidate relay UE serves as a relay UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 62], The remote UE selects, from the UE1 and the UE2 according to the response message fed back by the UE1 and the UE2, that use the UE1 as the intermediate UE of the remote UE. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. The selected relay UE can broadcast unicast traffic (including both uplink and downlink traffic) between the remote UE and the network. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Yang and Xiong, so that the transmitting node transmits data to the receiving node not reachable through a relay node in ad hoc network, as taught by Ji. The modification would have allowed the receiving node not recognize the one-way packet delay time at the node and achieved excellent call quality (Ji [Page 3, paragraph 10]).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), in view of Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Vargas Anamuro et al. (WO2021116572A1, hereinafter Vargas Anamuro).
For claim 15, Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong teach the non-transitory distribution medium of claim 14. Although teaching selecting one relay node from more than one relay nodes, Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong do not explicitly disclose wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency.
Vargas Anamuro is directed to providing method and device carrying out said method for accessing a shared channel in order to respond to a relay request. More specifically, Vargas Anamuro teaches wherein responses from more than one second nodes are separated in time on the same frequency ([Para. 66], The source device MTD broadcasts a relay request on a channel dedicated to the synchronization of the D2D relaying, this channel being shared between several devices of the cellular access network. [Para. 68], the source device MTD, on the shared channel, awaits a response to its Request for Relay (RR) request. [Para. 69], the candidate device UE receives the request RR. [Para. 77], the candidate device obtains a random waiting time defining a response interval in the contention window. [Para. 80], the waiting time expires, the candidate device listens to the shared channel, and if the channel is free at the end of the waiting time, the candidate device UE sends to the device source MTD in said channel, in response to the request RR, an application message Relay Candidate (RC) indicating that the candidate device UE can constitute a relay device. [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an RC message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. [Para. 82] The source device MTD broadcasts to inform the candidate device UE and the other candidate devices [Examiner’s Note: The different candidate devices have different random waiting times indicating that their responses are received at separate times in the same frequency for otherwise collision occurs]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the responses to request broadcast are received at different times in the same frequency, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
For claim 17, Deng, Ji, Yang, Xiong and Vargas Anamuro teach the non-transitory distribution medium of claim 15. The references further teach further comprising selecting as the node to which data intended to the target node is transmitted the node which response was received first (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 81], The first candidate device that transmits an Relay Candidate (RC) message without collision wins the contention process and is selected as the relay device. Vargas Anamuro [Para. 62], if the candidate device UE is selected, it relays data between this source device MTD and the access point BS in the upstream direction. Deng [Para. 73], data transmission is performed between the remote UE and the network through the selected relay UE. Deng [Para. 39], the remote UE wants to communicate with the network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the first candidate EU that transmits the response to the broadcast is selected as the relay, as taught by Vargas Anamuro. The modification would have favored the devices closest to the source device to give them more chances of being selected as a relay device and made it possible to reduce the energy consumption of the source device (Vargas Anamuro [Para. 24]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), in view of Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Gupta et al. (US20160270056A1, hereinafter Gupta).
For claim 16, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the non-transitory distribution medium of claim 14. Although teaching selecting relay node from more than one node, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising responses from more than one second nodes are received on different frequencies.
Gupta is directed to providing mechanisms for association request signaling between ioe devices. More specifically, Gupta teaches further comprising responses from more than one second nodes are received on different frequencies ([Para. 0060], the relay module 210 a (of candidate relay) may determine what tones may be identified in a discovery broadcast as available for use in association requests. [Para. 0063], the relay module 210 a may assist the IoE device 102 b in processing one or more association requests received from corresponding one or more IoE devices 102 (e.g., 102 a and 102 d as some examples). These association requests may be received on one or more of the tones identified in the discovery broadcast. In response, the relay module 210 a may prepare a message for transmission to the one or more other IoE devices 102 seeking to associate with the IoE device 102 b).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the responses to discovery broadcast from more than one devices are received in different frequencies, as taught by Gupta. The modification would have limited the amount of power and latency imposed on the IoE device to perform contention resolution procedure (Gupta [Para. 0006]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN106888494A, hereinafter Deng), in view of Ji et al. (KR101033239B1, hereinafter Ji), Yang et al. (WO2018202212A1, hereinafter Yang) and Xiong et al. (CN114125989A, hereinafter Xiong), and further in view of Selvanesan et al. (US20230171826A1, hereinafter Selvanesan).
For claim 18, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong teach the non-transitory distribution medium of claim 13. The references further teach further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request (Deng [Para. 146], When it is detected that the channel quality is lower than a predetermined threshold, the remote UE triggers to repeatedly perform an operation to resend, to the network, the broadcast relay discovery request message to reselect Relay UE. Deng [Para. 98], In step S110, when it is determined, that the relay UE needs to be reselected, the remote UE repeats step S101 to resend the network-widen discovery request message to the network. Deng [43], the candidate relay UE receives the relay discovery request message from the remote UE. Deng [Para. 46], the candidate relay UE feeds back to the remote UE a response message corresponding to the relay discovery request message Deng [Para. 131], the UE determines whether the measured link quality between the remote UE and the UE1 and the link quality between the remote UE and the UE2 meet predetermined link quality conditions (for example, the link quality is higher than a predetermined quality threshold), selects, from the UE1 and the UE2, the UE1 [Examiner’s Note: Only UEs whose link qualities are higher than the threshold are considered in reselection to be relay UE and the previous Relay UE should not be considered because its link quality is lower than the threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the remote UE rejects the previous relay node in reselection, as taught by Deng. The modification would have avoided communication failure and complex relay switching process once a relay connected to the remote UE fails (Deng [Para. 5]).
Although teaching reselection of relay UE based on link quality, Ji, Deng, Yang and Xiong do not explicitly disclose further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request.
Selvanesan is directed to providing feedback and traffic differentiation in sidelink relays. More specifically, Selvanesan teaches further comprising: rejecting a response from a node with which data transmission has been unsuccessful prior transmitting the broadcast request ([Para. 0303] and [FIG. 4], In case a packet transmission failed, i.e., the data was received non-successfully at the receiving entity 404, the link quality included in the overall feedback message received at the TX UE 402 between the relay UE and the RX UE may be used by the TX UE to start a relay reselection process in case the link quality is identified at the TX UE as being below a predefined threshold and causing the non-successful reception of the data or transmission at the receiving entity [Examiner’s Note: Selvanesan teaches link quality lower than a threshold results in data transmission unsuccessful prior to relay reselection]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Deng, Ji, Yang and Xiong, so that the unsuccessful data transmission may be indicated by the link quality lower than a threshold, as taught by Selvanesan. The modification would have allowed the relay UE to differentiate transmissions that is to be relayed to a receiving entity and intended for the UE (Selvanesan [Para. 0019]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417