Status of Claims
This is the second Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are currently pending. Claim 1 is currently amended and claim 4 has been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/11/2026 have been entered.
In view of the Claims, Applicant’s amendments have been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-11, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chung et al. (US20120158236A1) in view of Ko et al. (US20200037498A1), and further in view of Huang ("Optimal Line-Sweep-Based Decompositions for Coverage Algorithms"), hereinafter Chung, Ko, and Huang, respectively.
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior arts of record do not disclose or suggest any configuration for generating the patter arrangement direction corresponding to the boundary of the work area. Examiner has found argument persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chung in view of Ko, and further in view of Huang. Each of claims 2-3 and 5-15, depend directly or indirectly, from claim 1 in view of Chung, Ko, and Huang, and by dependency of claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung in view of Ko, and further in view of Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches of a moving robot ("a lawn mower which can automatically form a desired image on a lawn", [0008]), comprising: a main body (see at least FIG. 1); a blade provided to the main body and configured to be rotatable to cut grass ("The processor may include one of a blade with a cutting edge for cutting lawn grass", [0043], "the blade of the lawn mowing unit 30 may be rotated to cut the grass", [0035]); and at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) configured to: generate travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]), control the movement of the main body based on the generated travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012], "moving the lawn mower 100 along a movement path of the lawn mower 100 in the lawn area (operation S140)", [0074]), and control the blade to rotate to cut grass based on the generated travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012], "The processor may include one of a blade with a cutting edge for cutting lawn grass", [0043]).
However, Chung does not teach of a plurality of wheels configured to rotate to move the main body; obtain location information of a boundary based on shape information of a work area; obtain alignment direction information of a pattern corresponding to the boundary based on pattern information and the obtained location information of the boundary; generate travel path information based on the obtained alignment direction information of the pattern; and control the plurality of wheels to rotate to move the main body.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a plurality of wheels ("A moving robot according to the present disclosure may include…wheels 1092", [0071]) configured to rotate to move the main body ("The control unit 1800 may control the traveling unit 1300 to independently control the operations of the left wheel driving motor and the right wheel driving motor, so that the main body of the moving robot 100 travels straight or rotates", [0118]); and control the plurality of wheels to rotate to move the main body ("The control unit 1800 may control the traveling unit 1300 to independently control the operations of the left wheel driving motor and the right wheel driving motor, so that the main body of the moving robot 100 travels straight or rotates", [0118]).
However, Ko does not teach of obtain location information of a boundary based on shape information of a work area; obtain alignment direction information of a pattern corresponding to the boundary based on pattern information and the obtained location information of the boundary; and generate travel path information based on the obtained alignment direction information of the pattern.
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of obtain location information of a boundary based on shape information of a work area ("coverage region - the region to be covered is planar (or can be embedded in the plane), is connected, and is defined by an outer perimeter and holes its interior. In this paper we will assume that both the perimeter and holes are polygonal", Pg. 2 Section 2, "the optimal line sweep decomposition for convex polygonal worlds is generated by sweeping a line parallel to one of the boundary edges", Pg. 1 Section 1, Huang defines the work area as a polygon with a perimeter = shape data includes location of boundaries), obtain alignment direction information of a pattern corresponding to the boundary based on pattern information and the obtained location information of the boundary ("the optimal line sweep decomposition for convex polygonal worlds is generated by sweeping a line parallel to one of the boundary edges", Pg. 1 Section 1, "We have shown that for polygonal worlds, the optimal line sweep decomposition uses a sweep direction perpendicular to an edge of the boundary", Pg. 6 Section 5, "To determine the optimal sweep direction, we can express the sum of subregion altitudes as a function of sweep direction and then minimize this expression", Pg. 3 Section 3.1, Sweep direction (alignment direction) is computed from boundary location), and generate travel path information based on the obtained alignment direction information of the pattern ("A coverage algorithm must generate what we will call a coverage path, i.e., a detailed sequence of motion commands for a robot that sweep the given sensor or actuator over a specified region", Pg. 1 Section 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of Chung with the teaching of Ko to include wheels to move the main body and the teaching of Huang to locate the area boundary from the shape, and set the mowing direction based on that boundary with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable autonomous movement of the robot throughout the work area (Ko, [0079]), and to improve the efficiency of the system by cutting down the number of turns required from the robot (Huang, "we claim that minimizing the number of these turns is the most important factor in an efficient solution…", Pg. 1 Section 1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, obtain the shape information of the work area and size information of the work area ("The movement path…may be arbitrarily determined…in view of the size and shaped of the lawn area", [0056]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a plurality of beacons, each of which is located at different positions in the work area, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, in response to receiving location information from the plurality of beacons, based on the received location information from the plurality of beacons.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a plurality of beacons, each of which is located at different positions in the work area (see at least FIG. 4B, "Specifically, the moving robot 100 may set a virtual boundary on the basis of location information based on signals…and a set a travel area with respect to the boundary", [0214]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to ("a control unit configured to set a travel area using location information", [0026]), in response to receiving location information from the plurality of beacons ("received from a plurality of location information transmitters provided in a predetermined area", [0214]), based on the received location information from the plurality of beacons ("Specifically, the moving robot 100 may set a virtual boundary on the basis of location information based on signals…and a set a travel area with respect to the boundary", [0214]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Ko to include a communicator to detect information location with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the robot to establish and recognize a travel area, defining where it can and cannot operate (Ko, Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 2 as stated above, additionally, wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to: that minimizes a working time for lawn care to be performed by the moving robot ("The lawn mower according to the exemplary embodiments of the present invention can significantly reduce the time required to form an image on a lawn and enables a user to work at any time, even after sunset", [0087]), based on the shape information of the work area, the size information of the work area ("The movement path…may be arbitrarily determined…in view of the size and shaped of the lawn area", [0056]), and the pattern information ("a lawn processing pattern is determined for each cell on a movement path of the lawn mower 100", [0079]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of obtain the alignment direction information of the pattern.
Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of obtain the alignment direction information of the pattern ("Ultimately, we want a coverage path that minimizes some cost such as time", Pg. 1 Abstract, "Under these assumptions, a decomposition that minimizes the sum of the subregion altitudes (as measured along the sweep direction) will produce an optimal coverage path", Pg. 3 Section 2.1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Huang to set the mowing direction based on that boundary with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of the system by cutting down the number of turns required from the robot (Huang, "we claim that minimizing the number of these turns is the most important factor in an efficient solution…", Pg. 1 Section 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising: an inputter configured to receive the pattern information ("a control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 5 as stated above, additionally, wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to, generate the travel path information that minimizes a working time for lawn care to be performed by the moving robot ("The lawn mower according to the exemplary embodiments of the present invention can significantly reduce the time required to form an image on a lawn and enables a user to work at any time, even after sunset", [0087]) based on the obtained current location information of the main body ("a plurality of lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]), and the shape information of the work area ("The movement path…may be arbitrarily determined…in view of the size and shaped of the lawn area", [0056]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a plurality of beacons, each of which is located at different positions in the work area, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, in response to receiving non-pattern information through the inputter: obtain current location information of the main body based on communication signals with the plurality of beacons.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a plurality of beacons, each of which is located at different positions in the work area (see at least FIG. 4B, "Specifically, the moving robot 100 may set a virtual boundary on the basis of location information based on signals…and a set a travel area with respect to the boundary", [0214]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to, in response to receiving non-pattern information through the inputter ("location information based on a signal received", [0026]): obtain current location information of the main body based on communication signals with the plurality of beacons ("control unit configured to set a travel area based on a virtual boundary when the virtual boundary is set using location information based on a signal received from the location information transmitter", [0026]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teachings of Ko to include a communicator to detect information location with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the robot to establish and recognize a travel area, defining where it can and cannot operate (Ko, Abstract).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, specifically, information of the pattern ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a user device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the display to display the obtained alignment direction information, or control the communicator to transmit the obtained alignment direction information of the pattern to the user device.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a user device ("FIG. 2A is a conceptual view illustrating a state where the moving robot performs communications with a terminal", [0048], FIG. 2A and 2C control unit has communication unit 1200 and the terminal (user device) has communication unit 210); and a display (FIG. 2C, Display Unit 251), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the display to display the obtained alignment direction information, or control the communicator to transmit the obtained alignment direction information of the pattern to the user device ("the operation state of the moving robot can be output through the display unit", [0099]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teachings of Ko to include a communicator to detect information location, a user device, and a display with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the robot to establish and recognize a travel area, defining where it can and cannot operate (Ko, Abstract), allow for user interaction and remote user operation for the moving robot (Ko, [0048]), and visually represent the robot location and improve user awareness (Ko, [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, additionally, based on the generated travel path information "a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]) and the pattern information ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of wherein the at least one processor is configured to control a rotational speed of the plurality of wheels.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the at least one processor is configured to control a rotational speed of the plurality of wheels ("For example, while the moving robot main body travels, the left wheel driving motor and the right wheel driving motor may be rotated in the same direction. However, a traveling direction of the moving robot main body (or moving robot) 100 may be switched when the left wheel driving motor and the right wheel driving motor are rotated at different speeds or in opposite directions", [0013]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Ko to include rotational speed of wheels with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust traveling speed for safer, or more precise or efficient movement (Ko, [0119]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung, Ko, and Huang as applied above, and further in view of Balutis et al. (US20160165795A1), hereinafter Balutis.
Regarding claim 8, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 7 as stated above, specifically, wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to: obtain information based on the generated travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of obtain estimated working time information, and control the display to display the obtained estimated working time information.
Balutis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of obtain estimated working time information ("estimated amount of time to completion", [0008]), and control the display to display the obtained estimated working time information ("The operations can include: displaying a user interface element indicating an estimated amount of time to completion", [0008]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the elements of modified Chung with the elements of Balutis to displaying the obtained estimated working time to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements in order allow the user to visualize progress and anticipate completion of the mowing operation.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung, Ko, and Huang as applied above, and further in view of Tian (CN 114859885A), hereinafter Tian.
Regarding claim 9, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 7 as stated above, further comprising: an inputter configured to receive the pattern information ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]), wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to, in response to receiving the alignment direction information of a pattern through the inputter ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit…a plurality of lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]), and information of the pattern in the work area ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of correct the received alignment direction information, and control the display to display the corrected alignment direction information.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of control the display to display information ("the operation state of the moving robot can be output through the display unit", [0099]).
However, Ko does not teach of correct the received alignment direction information.
Tian, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of correct the received alignment direction information ("correct the exit direction of the lawn mowing robot based on the compensation value during the lawn mowing robot's work exit process", [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Ko to display and teaching of Tian to correct a received alignment direction with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to visually represent the robot location and improve awareness (Ko, [0075]), and ensure accurate and stable operation of the robot throughout the work process (Tian, [0035]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung, Ko, Huang, and Tian as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Balutis.
Regarding claim 10, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 9 as stated above, wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to: generate the travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]) of the pattern in the work area ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]), based on the generated travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of based on the corrected alignment direction information, obtain estimated working time information, and control the display to display the obtained estimated working time information.
Balutis, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of obtain estimated working time information ("estimated amount of time to completion", [0008]), and control the display to display the obtained estimated working time information ("The operations can include: displaying a user interface element indicating an estimated amount of time to completion", [0008]).
However, Balutis does not teach of based on the corrected alignment direction information.
Tian, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of based on the corrected alignment direction information ("correct the exit direction of the lawn mowing robot based on the compensation value during the lawn mowing robot's work exit process", [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Balutis to display the obtained estimated working time and the teaching of Tian to correct a received alignment direction with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the user to visualize progress and anticipate completion of the mowing operation, and ensure accurate and stable operation of the robot throughout the work process (Tian, [0035]).
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung, Ko, and Huang as applied above, and further in view of Barber et al. (US20210378171A1), hereinafter Barber.
Regarding claim 11, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, specifically, based on the generated travel path information ("a plurality a lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when controlling the plurality of wheels to rotate to move the main body, control a rotational speed of the blade to be reduced in response to changing a traveling direction of the main body.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the at least one processor is configured to, when controlling the plurality of wheels to rotate to move the main body ("The control unit 1800 may control the traveling unit 1300 to independently control the operations of the left wheel driving motor and the right wheel driving motor, so that the main body of the moving robot 100 travels straight or rotates", [0118]), and in response to changing a traveling direction of the main body ("a traveling direction of the moving main body (or moving robot) 100 may be switched", [0103]).
However, Ko does not teach of control a rotational speed of the blade to be reduced.
Barber, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of control a rotational speed of the blade to be reduced ("user may input a desired speed for the mower to be propelled, a blade height for the mower, a blade speed (e.g., an RPM) for the mower", [0013]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Ko to include wheels to move the main body and teaching of Barber to control a rotational speed of the blade with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to enable autonomous movement of the robot throughout the work area (Ko, [0079]), and ensure safe and controlled operation of the mower during lawn care activities (Barber, [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above.
However, modified Chung does not teach of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a server, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, in response to a lawn care operation being completed, control the communicator to transmit at least one of the shape information of the work area, the pattern information, the alignment direction information of the pattern, and the generated travel path information to the server.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of further comprising: a communicator configured to communicate with a server ("FIG. 2A is conceptual view illustrating a state where the moving robot performs communications…with a server", [0048]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to, control the communicator to transmit at least one of the shape information of the work area, the pattern information, the alignment direction information of the pattern, and the generated travel path information to the server ("For example, the server 300 may exchange data with the moving robot 100 and/or the terminal 200, to register information related to a boundary set for the moving robot 100, map information based on the set boundary, and/or obstacle information on the map", [0089]).
However, Ko does not teach of in response to a lawn care operation being completed.
Barber, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of in response to a lawn care operation being completed ("control the mower via the control interface while performing the task, and finally provide an additional input to indicate that the task has been completed", [0016]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combine the elements of modified Chung with the communicator and server of Ko and lawn care operation completion of Barber to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these elements in order to allow the robot to establish and recognize a travel area, defining where it can and cannot operate (Ko, Abstract), to offload data processing and algorithms to separate system (Ko, [0091]), and to transition the mower between operational states (Barber, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 12 as stated above.
However, modified Chung does not teach of wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive at least one of the pattern information, the shape information of the work area, and size information of the work area from the server.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive at least one of the pattern information, the shape information of the work area, and size information of the work area from the server ("For example, the server 300 may exchange data with the moving robot 100 and/or the terminal 200, to register information related to a boundary set for the moving robot 100, map information based on the set boundary, and/or obstacle information on the map. In addition, the server 300 may provide the registered information to the moving robot 100 and/or the terminal 200 according to a request", [0089]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Ko to include detect shape information of work area and a server with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for defining non-linear outdoor spaces (Ko, [0009]), and offload data processing and algorithms to a separate system (Ko, [0091]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chung teaches of all limitations of claim 1 as stated above, further comprising: an inputter configured to receive the pattern information ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]), wherein the at least one processor ("control unit", [0012]) is configured to control a height of the blade ("the control unit 40 lowers the height of the lawn mowing unit 30 to be closer to the ground", [0046]), based on the pattern information ("control unit analyzing the image received from the image input unit, determining a lawn processing pattern", [0012]), and the generated travel path information ("a plurality of lawn processing patterns which corresponds to each position on the movement path while the lawn mower moves along the movement path", [0012]).
However, modified Chung does not teach of control a rotational speed of the blade, and rotation and stoppage of the blade, based on an operation type received through the inputter.
Barber, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a rotational speed of the blade, and rotation and stoppage of the blade ("user may input a desired speed for the mower to be propelled, a blade height for the mower, a blade speed (e.g., an RPM) for the mower", [0013]), based on an operation type received through the inputter ("the control input portion may be decoupled from the equipment (whether physically removed, wirelessly decoupled, and/or whether a different mode of operation is selected (e.g., a user selecting autonomous mode on the control interface)", [0022]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have modified the teaching of modified Chung with the teaching of Barber to include control a rotational speed of the blade and operation types received through the inputter with reasonable expectations of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure safe and controlled operation of the mower during lawn care activities (Barber, [0017]), and allow flexible configuration of mower behavior (Barber, [0013]).
Conclusion
ABIGAIL LEE ESPINOZA
Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657