DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 10 line 23 `The term “isolated signal” refers to a signal that has passed through”` is an incomplete sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13-15 and 18-19 use the term “about”. The specification defines about as being “ranges that include the identified value within a margin of 20%, 10%, or preferably 5%, and any values therebetween” on page 9 lines 2-3. Examiner gives the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation using the definition of about provided in the specification i.e. a range including the identified value within a margin of 20%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mirza et al. (Performance Enhancement of Ytterbium-Doped Fiber Amplifier, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Mirza teaches:
A system for amplifying optical signals (Fig. 5), the system comprising:
a first isolator configured to receive an input signal and convert the input signal into a first isolated signal (#I-1 of Fig. 5, isolator);
a first pump configured to generate first pump photons (#P-1 of Fig. 5, pump);
a first coupler configured to receive and join the first isolated signal and the first pump photons into a first pumped signal (#C-1 of Fig. 5, WDM coupler);
a first ytterbium doped fiber configured to receive the first pumped signal and convert the first pumped signal to a first amplified signal (#Y-1 of Fig. 5, YDF);
a second isolator configured to receive the first amplified signal and convert the first amplified signal into a second isolated signal (#I-2 of Fig. 5, isolator);
a second pump configured to generate second pump photons (#P-2 of Fig. 5, pump);
a second coupler configured to receive and join the second isolated signal and the second pump photons into a second pumped signal (#C-2 of Fig. 5, WDM coupler);
a second ytterbium doped fiber configured to receive the second pumped signal and convert the second pumped signal into a second amplified signal (#Y-2 of Fig. 5, YDF); and
a third isolator configured to receive the second amplified signal and convert the second amplified signal into an amplified optical signal (#I-3 of Fig. 5, isolator);
wherein the first pump and second pump are configured as co-propagating in-band asymmetrical pump sources for the first and second photons (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping).
Regarding claim 2, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 1 meter and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x1024m-3 (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping).
Regarding claim 3, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the second ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 6 meters and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x1024m-3 (" Therefore, a length of 6 m and a Yb3+ doping concentration of 50 × 1024 m−3gives the highest peak gain of 62.5 dB. ")
Regarding claim 4, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first pump is operated at a wavelength of about 0.92 μm and a power of about 1 Watt. (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping)
Regarding claim 5, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the second pump is operated at a wavelength of about 0.98 μm (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping) and a power of about 4 Watts ("The power of the signal and P-2 is kept at −35 dBm and 4 W".).
Regarding claim 6, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the input signal is between 1.02 μm and 1.08 μm ("for a signal wavelength of 1.0329 μm ").
Regarding claim 7, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a first gain medium excitation wavelength, and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a second gain medium excitation wavelength (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping).
Regarding claim 8, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 7, wherein the first gain medium excitation wavelength is lower than the second gain medium excitation wavelength (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping).
Regarding claim 9, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 8, wherein the first gain medium excitation wavelength is at a minimum with respect to the second gain medium excitation wavelength and the second gain medium excitation wavelength is at a maximum with respect to the first gain medium excitation wavelength (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping).
Regarding claim 10, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a core radius of about 3.4 μm and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a core radius of about 3.4 μm (Table 2).
Regarding claim 11, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a doping radius of about 2.4 μm and second ytterbium doped fiber has a doping radius of about 2.4 μm (Table 2).
Regarding claim 12, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 7, wherein the system is operated between 275 degrees Kelvin and 325 degrees Kelvin (Table 2).
Regarding claim 13, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the system has a signal attenuation of about 0.1 dB (Table 2)
Regarding claim 14, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 13, wherein the first pump has a signal attenuation of about 0.15 dB and the second pump has a signal attenuation of about 0.15dB (Table 2).
Regarding claim 15, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a cladding radius of about 62.5 μm and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a cladding radius of about 62.5 μm (Table 2)
Regarding claim 17, Mirza teaches:
A system for amplifying optical signals (Fig. 5), the system comprising:
a first isolator configured to receive an input signal and convert the input signal into a first isolated signal (#I-1 of Fig. 5, isolator);
a first pump configured to generate first pump photons (#P-1 of Fig. 5, pump);
a first coupler configured to receive and join the first isolated signal and the first pump photons into a first pumped signal (#C-1 of Fig. 5, WDM coupler);
a first gain medium configured to receive the first pumped signal and convert the first pumped signal to a first amplified signal (#Y-1 of Fig. 5, YDF);
a second isolator configured to receive the first amplified signal and convert the first amplified signal into a second isolated signal (#I-2 of Fig. 5, isolator);
a second pump configured to generate second pump photons (#P-2 of Fig. 5, pump);
a second coupler configured to receive and join the second isolated signal and the second pump photons into a second pumped signal (#C-2 of Fig. 5, WDM coupler);
a second gain medium configured to receive the second pumped signal and convert the second pumped signal into a second amplified signal (#Y-2 of Fig. 5, YDF);
a third isolator configured to receive the second amplified signal and convert the second amplified signal into an amplified optical signal (#I-3 of Fig. 5, isolator);
wherein the first gain medium is excited using a wavelength with a lower photon absorption rate than the second gain medium (“the first stage… is excited through a pump having 1W of power at a wavelength of 0.92 μm, where the absorption of the pump photons is lower”); and
the first pump is operated at a minimum power with respect to the power at which the second pump is operated (“the pump power of the first stage at a minimum value compared to the second stage”).
Regarding claim 18, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 17, wherein the first gain medium is a first ytterbium doped fiber, the first ytterbium doped fiber having a length of about1 meter and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x1024 (Section 4. Proposed Dual -Stage In-Band Asymmetrical Pumping)
Regarding claim 19, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 18, wherein the second gain medium is a second ytterbium doped fiber, the second ytterbium doped fiber having a length of about 6 meters and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x 1024m-3 (" Therefore, a length of 6 m and a Yb3+ doping concentration of 50 × 1024 m−3 gives the highest peak gain of 62.5 dB. ").
Regarding claim 20, Mirza teaches:
The system of claim 18, wherein the input signal is between 1.02 μm and 1.08 μm ("for a signal wavelength of 1.0329 μm ").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 103368048) in view of Villeneuve et al. (US 20170155225).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches:
A system for amplifying optical signals (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a first isolator configured to receive an input signal and convert the input signal into a first isolated signal (#2 of Fig. 1, isolator);
a first pump configured to generate first pump photons (#7 of Fig. 1, pump source);
a first coupler configured to receive and join the first isolated signal and the first pump photons into a first pumped signal (#4 of Fig. 1, fiber combiner);
a first ytterbium doped fiber configured to receive the first pumped signal and convert the first pumped signal to a first amplified signal (#5 of Fig. 1, ytterbium doped fiber);
a second isolator configured to receive the first amplified signal and convert the first amplified signal into a second isolated signal (#8 of Fig. 1, isolator);
a second pump configured to generate second pump photons (#12 of Fig. 1, pump light source);
a second coupler configured to receive and join the second isolated signal and the second pump photons into a second pumped signal (#9 of Fig. 1, fiber optic combiner);
a second ytterbium doped fiber configured to receive the second pumped signal and convert the second pumped signal into a second amplified signal (#10 of Fig. 1, doped ytterbium fiber)
wherein the first pump and second pump are configured as co-propagating in-band asymmetrical pump sources for the first and second photons (pumps #7 and #12 are shown as co-propogating, and are pumping using different powers, hence being asymmetrical).
Wang does not teach:
and a third isolator configured to receive the second amplified signal and convert the second amplified signal into an amplified optical signal;
However, Villeneuve teaches:
An output isolator (#620B of Fig. 19)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the amplifier system of Wang with an output isolator similar to Villeneuve with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing reliability by preventing backward light from destabilizing pump diodes (Villeneuve [140]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the input signal is between 1.02 μm and 1.08 μm. (the center wavelengths of the optical components is 1064 nm [11-12 and 15], a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the amplifier is designed to amplify signal centered at 1064 nm)
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a core radius of about 3.4 μm and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a core radius of about 3.4 μm [14].
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a cladding radius of about 62.5 μm and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a cladding radius of about 62.5 μm [14].
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Villeneuve as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nyushkov et al. (High-energy pulses from all-PM ultra-long Yb-fiber…, 2021) and Tanvi et al. (Optimized Gain of YDFA, 2014).
Regarding claim 2, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1,
Wang does not teach:
wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 1 meter and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x10^24 m^-3.
However, Tanvi teaches:
An ytterbium doped fiber with a length of about 1 meter (Table 1)
Additionally, Nyushkov teaches:
an ytterbium doped fiber with a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x10^ 24 m^-3. (“Yb-doped fiber (LIEKKI Yb700-6/125-PM)“)
For clarity, Kanskar (US 20180109064) teaches:
Yb-700 fiber is doped at 50 * 10^24 /m^3 (“Yb-700 (Yb ˜50×10^24 m^−3)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the first gain fiber of Wang to be 1 meter in length similar to Tanvi and to have a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov with a reasonable expectation of success. Using a fiber length of 1 meter would have the predictable result of providing a minimal noise figure for the first stage (Tanvi: Table 1). Using a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov would have the predictable result of providing balanced gain and thermal performance.
Regarding claim 3, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1
Wang does not teach:
wherein the second ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 6 meters and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x10^24 m^-3.
However, Tanvi teaches:
an ytterbium doped fiber with a length of about 6 meters (Table 1)
Additionally, Nyushkov teaches:
an ytterbium doped fiber with a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x10^24 m^-3. (“Yb-doped fiber (LIEKKI Yb700-6/125-PM)“)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the second gain fiber of Wang to be 6 meters in length similar to Tanvi and to have a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov with a reasonable expectation of success. Using a fiber length of 6 meters would have the predictable result of providing a maximum optimized gain (Tanvi: Table 1). Using a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov would have the predictable result of providing balanced gain and thermal performance.
Claim(s) 4, 7-9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Villeneuve as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paschotta et al. (Ytterbium-Doped Fiber Amplifiers, 1997).
Regarding claim 4, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the first pump is operated at a power of about 1 Watt [32].
Wang does not teach:
wherein the first pump is operated at a wavelength of about 0.92 μm
However, Paschotta teaches:
Pumping an ytterbium fiber at 910 nm (Section V)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the first pump of Wang to use a 910 nm pump similar to Paschotta with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the performance by increasing gain as 910 nm pumping provides the highest gain per unit length (Paschotta [Section V-b]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1,
Wang does not teach:
wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a first gain medium excitation wavelength, and the second ytterbium doped fiber has a second gain medium excitation wavelength.
However, Villeneuve teaches:
Yb-doped gain media are excited by pump wavelengths such as 976 nm or 980 nm [143] and
optical amplifiers may use multiple pump lasers having different wavelengths [146]
Additionally, Paschotta teaches:
Pumping at 910 nm and pumping at 976 nm (Section V)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the first pump of Wang to use 910 nm light similar to Paschotta and maintain the second pump at 976 nm with a reasonable expectation of success. Changing the first pump to use 910 nm light would increase the gain of the system, but would introduce large amounts of ASE noise at 975 nm. If both stages were to use 910 nm pumping light, this ASE would be amplified further in the second stage, increasing the noise (Paschotta , Fig. 5 shows that the gain is highest at 975 nm for 975 nm pumping). Maintaining the 975 nm pumping in the second stage would improve the noise figure of the system by amplifying the ASE noise at 975 nm less (Paschotta, Fig. 5 shows that the gain at 975 nm is much lower for 975 nm pumping). Additionally, it is known the art to use ASE light to pump a second stage, as shown in Ahn et al. (US 20030035204) (“The second amplifier plays a role in amplifying an optical signal by utilizing the re-amplified forward ASE and the backward ASE as the pumping light.”). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to change only the first stage to use 910 nm light to increase the gain of the first stage, and maintain the 976 nm pumping of the second stage to reduce the noise figure of the amplifier, and to absorb the ASE from the previous stage.
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 7, wherein the first gain medium excitation wavelength is lower than the second gain medium excitation wavelength (In the above combination, 910 nm is lower than 976 nm).
Regarding claim 9, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 8, wherein the first gain medium excitation wavelength is at a minimum with respect to the second gain medium excitation wavelength and the second gain medium excitation wavelength is at a maximum with respect to the first gain medium excitation wavelength. (In the above combination, 910 nm and 976 nm are the minimum and maximum effective pumping wavelengths, while pumping at 1047 or 1064 nm is possible, it is not effective around 1064 nm {Paschotta: Section V-D}).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches:
A system for amplifying optical signals (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a first isolator configured to receive an input signal and convert the input signal into a first isolated signal (#2 of Fig. 1, isolator);
a first pump configured to generate first pump photons (#7 of Fig. 1, pump source);
a first coupler configured to receive and join the first isolated signal and the first pump photons into a first pumped signal (#4 of Fig. 1, fiber combiner);
a first gain medium configured to receive the first pumped signal and convert the first pumped signal to a first amplified signal (#5 of Fig. 1, ytterbium doped fiber);
a second isolator configured to receive the first amplified signal and convert the first amplified signal into a second isolated signal (#8 of Fig. 1, isolator);
a second pump configured to generate second pump photons (#12 of Fig. 1, pump light source);
a second coupler configured to receive and join the second isolated signal and the second pump photons into a second pumped signal (#9 of Fig. 1, fiber optic combiner);
a second gain medium configured to receive the second pumped signal and convert the second pumped signal into a second amplified signal (#10 of Fig. 1, doped ytterbium fiber);
and the first pump is operated at a minimum power with respect to the power at which the second pump is operated (the first pump has a maximum power of 1.2W [32], and the second pump is powered at 3W [33], thus the first pump is operated at a minimum power with respect to the power at which the second pump is operated)
Wang does not teach:
a third isolator configured to receive the second amplified signal and convert the second amplified signal into an amplified optical signal;
wherein the first gain medium is excited using a wavelength with a lower photon absorption rate than the second gain medium;
However, Villeneuve teaches:
An output isolator (#620B of Fig. 19) and
Yb-doped gain media are excited by pump wavelengths such as 976 nm or 980 nm [143] and
optical amplifiers may use multiple pump lasers having different wavelengths [146]
Additionally, Paschotta teaches:
Pumping at 910 nm and pumping at 976 nm (Section V)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the first pump of Wang to use 910 nm light similar to Paschotta, maintain the second pump at 976 nm, and add an output isolator similar to Villeneuve with a reasonable expectation of success. Changing the first pump to use 910 nm light would increase the gain of the system, but would introduce large amounts of ASE noise at 975 nm. If both stages were to use 910 nm pumping light, this ASE would be amplified further in the second stage, increasing the noise (Paschotta , Fig. 5 shows that the gain is highest at 975 nm for 975 nm pumping). Maintaining the 975 nm pumping in the second stage would improve the noise figure of the system by amplifying the ASE noise at 975 nm less(Paschotta, Fig. 5 shows that the gain at 975 nm is much lower for 975 nm pumping). Additionally, it is known the art to use ASE light to pump a second stage, as shown in Ahn et al. (US 20030035204) (“The second amplifier plays a role in amplifying an optical signal by utilizing the re-amplified forward ASE and the backward ASE as the pumping light.”). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to change only the first stage to use 910 nm light to increase the gain of the first stage, and maintain the 976 nm pumping of the second stage to reduce the noise figure of the amplifier, and to absorb the ASE from the previous stage. Adding an output isolator would have the predictable result of increasing reliability by preventing backward light from destabilizing pump diodes (Villeneuve [140]).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Villeneuve as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goldberg (US 6608951).
Regarding claim 5, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the second pump is operated at a wavelength of about 0.98 μm (Claim 10)
Wang does not teach, but Goldberg does teach:
Pumping at a power of 2-4 Watts (“emission from high power broad area laser diode pumps can be efficiently coupled into such fibers. A 100 μm wide broad stripe laser diode can generate an output power of 2 to 4 W at 810, 915 or 980 nm with long operating life")
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the second pump of Wang to use a 4 W pump similar to Goldberg with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the gain of the amplifier by increasing the inversion of the gain fibers.
Regarding claim 16, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the second pump is operated at a power between 2 Watts and 6 Watts [33].
Wang does not teach:
wherein the first pump is operated at a power between 2 Watts and 6 Watts,
However, Goldberg teaches:
Pumping at a power of 2-4 Watts (“emission from high power broad area laser diode pumps can be efficiently coupled into such fibers. A 100 μm wide broad stripe laser diode can generate an output power of 2 to 4 W at 810, 915 or 980 nm with long operating life")
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the second pump of Wang to use a 4 W pump similar to Goldberg with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the gain of the amplifier by increasing the inversion of the gain fibers.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Villeneuve as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotb (HIGH-ENERGY YB-DOPED FEMTOSECOND FIBER LASERS, 2015).
Regarding claim 11, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 1,
Wang does not teach:
wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a doping radius of about 2.4 μm and second ytterbium doped fiber has a doping radius of about 2.4 μm.
However, Kotb teaches:
A doping radius of 2.497 μm (Table 5.1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the gain fibers of Wang to use a doping radius similar to Kotb with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing stability by providing a more uniform gain throughout the fiber while maintaining overlap and total gain. Wang is silent towards the doping radius of the fibers, Kotb merely fills in the gaps.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Villeneuve, and Paschotta as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Nufern (Ytterbium-Doped Single-Mode Single Clad Fiber, 2016).
Regarding claim 12, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 7,
Wang does not teach:
wherein the system is operated between 275 degrees Kelvin and 325 degrees Kelvin
However, Nufern teaches:
Optical Fiber operating range between -55 to 85 degrees Celsius (“Operating Temperature Range -55 to 85 degrees C”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the amplifier system of Wang to use an operating range similar to Nufern with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving reliability by preventing beam instability caused by extreme temperatures.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Villeneuve, Paschotta, and Nufern as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Mirza et al. (Design of a Continuous-Wave Ytterbium-Doped Tunable Fiber Laser Pump…, 2022), hereinafter referred to as Mirza(2).
Regarding claim 13, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system according to claim 12
Wang does not teach:
wherein the system has a signal attenuation of about 0.1 dB.
However, Mirza(2) teaches:
wherein the system has a signal attenuation of about 0.1 dB (Table 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the amplifier system of Wang to have a signal attenuation of about 0.1 dB with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the gain of the system by not attenuating the signal unnecessarily.
Regarding claim 14, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system according to claim 13
However, Wang does not teach:
wherein the first pump has a signal attenuation of about 0.15 dB and the second pump has a signal attenuation of about 0.15dB.
However, Mirza(2) teaches:
A pump with pump attenuation of about 0.15 dB (Table 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the amplifier system of Wang to use pumps with a signal attenuation of about 0.15 dB with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of increasing the gain of the system by not attenuating the signal unnecessarily.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Villeneuve and Paschotta as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Tanvi and Nyushkov.
Regarding claim 18, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 17, wherein the first gain medium is a first ytterbium doped fiber (#5 of Fig. 1, ytterbium doped fiber)
Wang does not teach:
the first ytterbium doped fiber having a length of about1 meter and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x10 ^ 24 m ^-3
However, Tanvi teaches:
wherein the second ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 1 meter (Table 2)
Additionally, Nyushkov teaches:
wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x1024m-3. (“Yb-doped fiber (LIEKKI Yb700-6/125-PM)“)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the first gain fiber of Wang to be 1 meter in length similar to Tanvi and to have a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov with a reasonable expectation of success. Using a fiber length of 1 meter would have the predictable result of providing a maximum optimized gain for the first stage (Tanvi: Table 2). Using a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov would have the predictable result of providing balanced gain and thermal performance.
Regarding claim 19, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 18, wherein the second gain medium is a second ytterbium doped fiber (#10 of Fig. 1, doped ytterbium fiber)
Wang does not teach:
the second ytterbium doped fiber having a length of about 6 meters and a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x 1024m-3.
However, Tanvi teaches:
wherein the second ytterbium doped fiber has a length of about 6 meters (Table 1)
Additionally, Nyushkov teaches:
wherein the first ytterbium doped fiber has a Yb3+ concentration of about 50 x1024m-3. (“Yb-doped fiber (LIEKKI Yb700-6/125-PM)“)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the second gain fiber of Wang to be 6 meters in length similar to Tanvi and to have a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov with a reasonable expectation of success. Using a fiber length of 6 meters would have the predictable result of providing a maximum optimized gain (Tanvi: Table 1). Using a Yb3+ concentration similar to Nyushkov would have the predictable result of providing balanced gain and thermal performance.
Regarding claim 20, Wang, as modified above, teaches:
The system of claim 18, wherein the input signal is between 1.02 μm and 1.08 μm (the center wavelengths of the optical components is 1064 nm [11-12 and 15], a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the amplifier is designed to amplify signal centered at 1064 nm)
Conclusion
/A.D.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645