DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 June 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a support layer having a support layer upper surface that includes a recess therein”, “an electrode in the recess”, as described in claim 1, and “a trench within the substrate exposing a lower surface of the electrode”, as described in claim 5, and “wherein a cross-sectional thickness of the second electrode cavity inside the resonator area is less than a cross-sectional thickness of the second electrode outside the resonator area”, as described in claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradley (PG Pub 20150381144).
Considering claim 2, Bradley (Figures 1 + 3A) teaches an RF filter circuit, comprising: a plurality of acoustic resonators (105 + paragraph 0004) arranged in the RF filter circuit, at least one of the plurality of acoustic resonators including: a support layer (305 + paragraph 0032) having a support layer upper surface that includes a recess (340 + paragraph 0032) therein; an electrode (315 + paragraph 0033) in the recess, the electrode including an electrode upper surface that is aligned to the support layer upper surface at an edge of the recess (paragraph 0033); and a piezoelectric film (overlying the support layer upper surface and the electrode upper surface, the piezoelectric film (320 + paragraph 0033) including a piezoelectric film lower surface conforming to the support layer upper surface and to the electrode upper surface at the edge of the recess (paragraphs 0032-0033).
Considering claim 3, Bradley (Figures 1 + 3A) teaches a reflector structure within the support layer beneath a lower surface of the electrode (paragraph 0032).
Considering claim 4, Bradley (Figures 1 + 3A) teaches a cavity (340 + paragraph 0032) within the support layer exposing a lower surface of the electrode.
Considering claim 9, Bradley (Figure 3A) teaches wherein the piezoelectric film includes Sc (paragraph 0037).
Considering claim 10, Bradley (Figure 3A) teaches wherein the electrode upper surface and the support layer upper surface are co-planar (see Figure 3A).
Considering claim 11, Bradley (Figure 3A) teaches wherein the electrode upper surface is aligned to the support layer upper surface at opposing edges of the recess (see Figure 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley (PG Pub 20150381144) and in view of Kim (PG Pub 20180054176).
Considering claim 5, Bradley teaches the RF filter circuit wherein the support layer comprises a substrate, the RF filter circuit further comprising as described above.
However, Bradley does not teach a trench with the substrate exposing a lower surface of the electrode.
Kim (Figure 1A) teaches a trench (113 + paragraph 0043) within the substrate exposing a lower surface of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a trench within the substrate exposing a lower surface of the electrode into Bradley’s device for the benefit of techniques for improving methods of manufacturing and structures for acoustic resonators.
Considering claim 6, Kim (Figure 29B) teaches wherein the electrode comprises a first electrode, the RF filter circuit further comprising: a second electrode (2910 + paragraph 0093) overlying an upper surface of the piezoelectric film (1621 + paragraph 0088) opposite the first electrode, wherein a resonator area of the piezoelectric is defined by an overlap of the second electrode and the first electrode projected onto the piezoelectric film (paragraphs 0091-0093), a second electrode cavity (2912 + paragraph 0093) included in an upper surface of the second electrode, wherein the second electrode cavity is located within the resonator area.
Considering claim 7, Kim (Figure 29B) teaches a cross-sectional thickness of the second electrode cavity inside the resonator area is less than a cross-sectional thickness of the second electrode outside the resonator area (limitation is met since the same structure is taught).
Considering claim 8, Kim (Figure 24B) teaches an electrode contact via (2410 + paragraph 0088) passing completely through the piezoelectric film to expose the electrode upper surface and a metal in the electrode contact via connecting to the electrode.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837