93999DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed 06/12/2026. Claim 32 cancelled. Claims 1-18 allowed; claims 20-23 and 27-30 are objected to. Claims 19, 24-26, and 31 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Title has been amended; previous objection withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19 and 31 have been considered but are moot because on new grounds of rejection based on amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (EP 3151281 B1 ) (Lim, hereafter) in view of Sim et al. (US 20210159445 A1) Sim, hereafter).
Regarding claim 19, Lim discloses a display apparatus (Figures 1-34 and corresponding text) comprising: a substrate (100a) having a plurality of pixels (P), each pixel (P) having a plurality of subpixels (SP); a pattern portion (131)disposed on the substrate (100a) and having a concave structure between subpixels(SP) of the plurality of subpixels(π46); and a reflective portion (Figure 3:141)on the pattern portion (π82), wherein the plurality of subpixels (SP) include an overcoat layer(130a, protective layer) having a first layer on the substrate (110a) and a light extraction portion on the first layer and adjacent to the reflective portion (141), the first layer having a plurality of concave portions (131a).
Lim fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area and a non-light emission area adjacent to the light emission area; a pattern portion disposed in the non-light emission area on the substrate; wherein the pattern portion is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench; wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer.
Sim discloses(Figure 6) wherein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area (EA) and a non-light emission area (NEA) adjacent to the light emission area (EA); a pattern portion(624) disposed in the non-light emission area(NEA) on the substrate(110); wherein the pattern portion(624) is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench (Groove)(π122-π128).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of Lim as disclosed by Sim herein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area and a non-light emission area adjacent to the light emission area; a pattern portion disposed in the non-light emission area on the substrate; wherein the pattern portion is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench;, the motivation being improving light extraction efficiency and at the same time, improving color gamut by inhibiting a change in color coordinates.
Lim as modified by Sim fail to disclose wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of Lim wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 24, Lim teaches the display apparatus set forth above except wherein a depth of the concave structure of the pattern portion is same as or greater than a depth of the concave portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of LIM, since it has been held that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working, ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 19 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al, (US 20210183964 A1) (Jang, hereafter) in view of Sim et al. (US 20210159445 A1) Sim, hereafter.)
Regarding claim 19, Jang teaches (Figure 1-19 and corresponding text(Figure 3) display apparatus comprising: a substrate (100) having a plurality of pixels (P), each pixel(SPA) having a plurality of subpixels; a pattern portion (140)disposed on the substrate(100) and having a concave structure )(153) between subpixels (SPA) of the plurality of subpixels; and a reflective portion (RL) on the pattern portion (140), wherein the plurality of subpixels (SPA)include an overcoat layer(140) having a first layer (150, patte4rn portion) on the substrate(100) and a light extraction portion(153) on the first layer(150) and adjacent to the reflective portion(RL), the first layer (150) having a plurality of concave portions (153).
Jang fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area and a non-light emission area adjacent to the light emission area; a pattern portion disposed in the non-light emission area on the substrate; wherein the pattern portion is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench; wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer.
Sim discloses(Figure 6) wherein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area (EA) and a non-light emission area (NEA) adjacent to the light emission area (EA); a pattern portion(624) disposed in the non-light emission area(NEA) on the substrate(110); wherein the pattern portion(624) is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench (Groove)(π122-π128).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of Jang as disclosed by Sim herein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a light emission area and a non-light emission area adjacent to the light emission area; a pattern portion disposed in the non-light emission area on the substrate; wherein the pattern portion is provided to surround the light emission area in the form of a slit or a trench;, the motivation being improving light extraction efficiency and at the same time, improving color gamut by inhibiting a change in color coordinates.
Jang as modified by Sim fail to disclose wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of Jang wherein a radius of a concave portion is related to a refractive index of the first layer, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. in re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 25, Jang teaches (Figure 3) the light extraction portion (153) overlaps the light emission area (RP), and the pattern portion is adjacent to the light extraction portion(π118)
Regarding claim 26, Jang teaches (Figure 3) wherein the plurality of subpixels (SPA1,SPA2,SPA3) each includes a light emitting element layer (EDL), the light emitting element layer(EDL) includes: a pixel electrode(AE) in the light emission area (EP); a light emitting layer(SED) on the pixel electrode(AE) and the non-light emission area (NEP); and a reflective electrode(CE) disposed on the light emitting layer (SED), wherein the reflective portion is a portion of the reflective electrode(π236).
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al, (US 20210183964 A1) (Jang, hereafter) in view of US 20200350517 A1 Bae et al. (US 20200350517 A1) (Bae ,hereafter).
Jang teaches (Figure 3) a substrate (100a) having an emission area (EP) and a non-emission area (NEP) adjacent to the emission area,(EP) an overcoat layer(140) in the emission area, the overcoat layer(140) having a first layer(150) and a light extraction portion(153) on the first layer, the first layer having a plurality of concave portions (153); and a reflective portion on the light extraction portion(CE).
Jang fails to explicitly disclose a trench portion in the non-emission area, the trench portion at least partially surrounding the emission area.
BAE discloses (Figures 3, 4a to 4c) The roof layer 410 may include a hole
Before the effective filing dateme410H overlapping or facing the air cavity AC. The hole 410H of the roof layer 410 may be formed during a process of forming the air cavity AC. One hole 410H may be provided in the roof layer 410, or a multiple holes 410H may be provided in the roof layer 410. In an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 4A, one hole 410H may be provided to be entirely around the periphery of the emission area EA so as to surround the emission area EA. As shown in FIG. 4B, holes 410H may each have a slit shape and may be arranged along a side of the emission area EA. As shown in FIG. 4C, holes 410H may be arranged to be entirely around a periphery of the emission area EA so as to surround the emission area EA, and may be spaced apart from each other(π89-π91).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the display apparatus of Jang as disclosed by BAE wherein a trench portion in the non-emission area, the trench portion at least partially surrounding the emission area the motivation being to enhance the efficiency of propagated light,
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable
if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening
claims. Claims 21-23 and 27-29 are objected to due to their dependence on claim 20.
10. Claim 1-18 allowed.
The following is an examiner' statement of reasons for allowance:
The reasons for allowance are the same as indicated in the office action dated 03/12/2026
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Can be found in the 892 and below:
KR 102332108 B1-organic light emitting device to improve light extraction efficiency- reads on amendment
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875