DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-19, 23-27, and 29-34 in the reply filed on 12/11/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all claims recite a refill cartridge. This is not found persuasive because the claims are directed towards different inventions.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19, 23-27, and 29-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 and 23-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,552. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claims are directed to a generally more specific spray wand configuration (with at most obvious differences) and the cleaning compositions are substantially the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-17, 19, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAWSON et al. (US 7,021,571) in view of SMITH et al. (US 2013/0109609).
Re Claims 1, 8, 14, LAWSON et al. teaches a spray wand with a hollow body and having a refill cartridge with solid chemistry (liquid includes solid products, col. 4 line 43, and granulated form; See col. 4 line 65-col. 5 line 2). LAWSON et al. does not appear to explicitly teach the cleaning composition of chlorine in the form of a solid chemistry. However, it is well known in the (spray) cleaning art to use chlorine for cleaning.
For example, SMITH et al. teaches a solid layered bleach composition with chorine for cleaning.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the spray cleaning device of LAWSON et al. which uses a cleaning composition and to utilize the known solid bleach of SMITH et al. to spray clean in a predictable and known way without unexpected results.
Re Claims 2, 9, 15, SMITH et al. teaches calcium hypochlorite. See Abstract.
Re Claims 3, 10, 16, 23, 25 SMITH et al. teaches sodium sulfate (filler, [0034], [0094]).
Claim 4 is rejected as unpatentable because at least tablets and cylinders are very well known in the art for a solid chemistry composition for cleaning.
Re Claims 5, 11, and 17, it would have been at least obvious to try through routine experimentation to change the compositions, noting that the upper end of the range is about double the value of the lower end of the range.
Re Claim 7, 19, 24, 26-27, sodium sulfate and sodium chloride are taught by SMITH et al. See [0092].
Conclusion
JASON Y. KO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/JASON Y KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711