DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been provided nor considered at the time of this Office Action.
Response to Remarks
3. This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 03/11/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11, 14-16, 20-22, 25, and 28-30 have been amended, claims 3-5, 9-10, 12-13, 17-18, 23-24, and 26-27 have been previously presented.
Regarding the Statement of Substance of Interview on the Office action, the Examiner disagree. We do not believe the last statement, calling applicant's representative to resolve any remaining issues if the Examiner believes the application is not in condition for allowance, is accurate. The Examiner mentioned an updated search and/or reconsideration will be needed if an amendment is field and may have a follow up interview if we determined allowable subject matter. The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 03/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of (US-20200154380-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 1, 15 and 29-30, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
B) Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11, 21, and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The Examiner did not find the support for the amended claims in figure 8, paragraphs 120-126, 138-139, 143-144, and 161-162 of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20-25 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US-20220210844-A1) in view of Zhou et al (US-20200154380-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi teaches user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Figs. 1-3 and [0013]-[0015], describe the structure of the UE and BS in wireless communication network), one or more processors, coupled to one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to: ( [0006]-[0007], “The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for RA and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver“ and [0010], “The phrase “computer readable medium” includes any type of medium capable of being accessed by a computer, such as read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), “ and the processor configure to perform the functions of the method [0052]-[0059]) : receive an indication that associates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) to a first SSB group and a second SSB to a second SSB group (Figs. 6 and 9, [0242]-[0243] and [0275], lines 3-6 explicitly describe, Step910, the UE can receive a configuration by SIB1/ RCC that linked to the first and second SSB groups to determine, step 920, SSB1 from SSB1 group and SSB2 from SSB2 group), the first SSB group and the second SSB group associated with a single physical cell identifier (PCI) ([0199], lines 2-8, and [0202], lines 1-5 state “In one realization, two or multiple TRPs associated with a same cell, for example with same cell ID such as same PCI or same CGI, can transmit same PSS and SSS sequences, can use a same frame or half-frame for SSB transmission, and can transmit SSB on a same initial BWP.” Which confirm the two groups within the same cell have the same PCI is the physical cell ID), receive one or more scheduling indications that schedule reception of the first SSB, on a first set of one or more time domain resources, and schedule reception of a downlink transmission, on a second set of one or more time domain resources (Fig. 18, Step 1810 and [0491] lines 1-3 and [0487], lines 1-3 , states” In one realization, a UE can be configured with multiple groups of time-domain resources wherein each group is associated with a CSI value”. Step 1820 includes mapping between multiple groups based on the received configuration from BS, as illustrated in the example [0487]. Lines 3-7) that at least partially overlap with the first set of one or more time domain resources ([349], lines 1-5, specifies the first and second monitoring windows for reception download transmissions can be partial/full overlap in time resources), via a beam associated with the second SSB of the second SSB group (Claim 3, lines 13-15, states “for the second RA procedure, a second PRACH associated with a second DL RS from the second group of DL RSs.” Where the DL RS is directly related with the beam. [0203] lines 1-14 describes two examples: it states “different TRPs associated with a same cell can transmit a same subset of SSB indices using different spatial filters/beam, thereby enabling spatial multiplexing of SSB transmissions in same time and frequency resources,” That indicates the different TRPs (different SSB groups) can use the same SSB indices but with different beams, which implies the overlapping can associated with different beam. And “In another example, a UE can distinguish SSBs corresponding to different TRPs of a same cell that are multiplexed in time in a same time slot by methods other than or in addition to spatial filters/beams, such as by different TRP-specific cyclic shifts for the PSS/SSS sequences”. This example implies the possibility of using beam for overlapping SSB groups (Different TRPs) within the same cell. [0257], lines 1-10 illustrates the using of repetitions can be with or without UE Tx beam cycling per number of repetitions such as half the total number of repetitions, or DL RS cycling or precoder cycling, and the like and [0442] states “a UE Tx beam can be up to UE implementation, or can be same as a UE Tx beam for Msg1/A PRACH or can be same as a refined Rx beam that the UE used for Msg2/RAR reception.” That also support the beam associated with one SSB groups can be used for overlapping transmissions/receptions);
MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and receive the first SSB and the downlink transmission with the active TCI state.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0005], [0014], [0032] describe that the TCI state ordering / mapping between the set of TCI states and each SSB associated with the initial coreset (e.g., a mapping between TCI states and SSB indexes), as stated “The TCI state may be identified from a set of TCI states, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB (e.g., each QCL source) associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the first or the second SSB can associated with active TCI state, see also [0075], [0081] and [0121] which also confirm each SSB (including the second SSB) associated with at least one active TCI within the set of TCI state); and receive the first SSB and the downlink transmission with the active TCI state ([0080] state “UE 115-b may receive the signaling indicating the TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset (e.g., where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset)”, that may indicate a TCI state in a PDSCH-Config (e.g., an information element in RRC signaling). the SSB is indicated in a TCI state which is indicated by DCI. The TCI state may be associated with or related to the PDSCH. That implies the SSB can be a SSB used as or associated to QCL source corresponding to the PDSCH.” That indicates the UE can receive the SSB (e.g. first SSB) reference in active TCL state and the PDSCH, downlink transmission for performing the transmission with the active TCI state, where the downlink transmissions from a BS to a UE may also be called forward link transmissions, as stated in [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:: transmit an indication of support for receiving communications via multiple
beams in overlapping time resources (Fig. 6, [0223] and [0123], lines 54-58 states “ the UE can both transmit and receive with two or multiple Tx/Rx panels at any point in time (referred to as simultaneous transmission and reception on multiple panels “STRxMP” or as simultaneous multi-panel transmission and reception “SMPTRx”), which implies the UE can handle communications using multiple beams, Fig. 6, even in overlapping time resources [0313], lines 1-3, [0385], lines 1-3 confirm that PDCCH order can be enhanced to provide information/indication for two concurrent RA procedures (possibly from a two-panel UE) for two TRPs, [0196], lines 3-6) via a single component carrier or bandwidth part (Fig. 6 and [0203], 1-5, the transmission signals within the same frequency range/component carrier since they are associated with the same cell or BWPs within the same frequency range/component carrier [0114], lines 1-4 and [0202], lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 2.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the indication of support for receiving communications via multiple beams in overlapping time resources comprises: an indication of support for receiving a first communication that includes an SSB ([0209], lines 4-9 states “the UE may acquire different synchronization signals and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) blocks and then obtain different SIBs/RRC configurations corresponding to the two different cells, for example associated with different PCIs or different PSS/SSS sequences”, [0236], lines 8-13 and [200], lines 3-7 indicates the UE can receive communications that includes SSBs associated with specific TRPs ) and a second communication that includes data, control information ([0327], lines 1-6 states “ for a UE performing two or multiple concurrent RA procedures towards two TRPs/cells, the UE can monitor PDCCH for scheduling two RAR/Msg2/MsgB PDSCH receptions corresponding to the RA procedures, each possibly including a TA value, a TC-RNTI, and a RAR UL grant for Msg3 PUSCH transmission.” and [0559], lines 4-6, “he PUCCH transmission can include a few bits such as 2-6 bits of information such as CSI report value or CQI/MCS value, RSRP/SINR range, or a SSBRI or CRI” which implies these communications include control information and data, [0300], Fig. 11), or a reference signal.
Regarding claim 4 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB group is associated with one or more of a first transmission reception point (TRP) ([0251], lines11-13 states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group” and [0210] lines 7-12, states “For example, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2. Therefore, a number of “SSB groups” can be considered for a cell, where each “SSB group” corresponds to a different TRP ), a first panel of the UE ([0226], lines 1-7 and [0312], 4-8, states “ TRP-specific configuration and determination of parameters is based on a linkage with SSB groups, but any other linkage to UE panels can be considered in a similar manner” which indicate that each SSB group can be associated with a distinct panel of the UE, involving multiple panel UEs and multiple TRPs ), or a first beam group, and
wherein the second SSB group is associated with one or more of a second TRP
that is different from the first TRP ([0251], lines11-13 states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group” and [0210] lines 6-10, states “a first TRP can be associated with a first set of SSB indices and a second TRP can be associated with a second TRP. For example, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2), a second panel of the UE that is different from the
first panel of the UE ([0226], lines 1-7 and [0312], 4-8, states “ TRP-specific configuration and determination of parameters is based on a linkage with SSB groups, but any other linkage to UE panels can be considered in a similar manner” which means that each SSB group can be associated with a distinct panel of the UE, involving multiple panel UEs and multiple TRPs. [0087] also states “include TRP-specific information such as TRP indication, UE panel indication, TCI state indication for RAR PDCCH/PDSCH reception or for Msg3/MsgA PUSCH transmission corresponding to different TRPs or panels, “ which implies each TRP/SSB has own panel), or a second beam group that is different from the first beam group.
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB group and the second SSB group are associated with a group of active TCI states (Fig. 9, [0132] states “ UE can be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell “, [0275] recites the SSB groups are associated with different TRPs, which are inherently associated with different active TCI states,[0200], lines 7-9 state “a TCI state configured by a serving cell to a UE can be with respect to SSB(s) or TCI state(s) of a neighbor/non-serving cell”. Where the active TCI states are used to define the spatial filtering and quasi co-location (QCL) relationships between downlink reference signals DL RSs and transmission configurations {0132] and [0230], lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1,
MolavianJazi fails to teach wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state and is associated with an SSB index of the second SSB group, and wherein a second active TCI state is associated with an SSB index of the first SSB group.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state ([0137], [0142] and [0149] state “the UE may receive signaling indicating a TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the indicating a TCI state( could be the first, second, or any other in the set) associated with SSB index, which is a specific SSB within the SSB group, to monitor the CORESET. [0071] describe how the network ordering the set of the TCI state includes the first TCI state as an active TCI state , if chosen by the network) and is associated with an SSB index of the second SSB group, and wherein a second active TCI state is associated with an SSB index of the first SSB group ([0006] states “The method may include receiving signaling indicating a number of SSBs associated with an initial control resource set (e.g., an initial coreset) and a TCI state ordering within a set of TCI states.” And [0007] sates “ receive signaling indicating a TCI state of the set of TCI states corresponding to the initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB of the number of SSBs associated with the initial coreset. “ Which implies the active TCI state is associated with SSB index (refer to a specific within the group of SSB), which included the first or second active TCI state among the set of the TCI state. [0072] states “TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 are mapped to SSB1 QCL source, TCI state 2 and TCI state 3 are mapped to SSB 2 QCL source, and so on, till TCI state 63 and TCI state 64 are mapped to SSB 32 QCL source. Then remaining TCI states (e.g., TCI states that may be associated with other coresets, TCI states that are not within the set of TCI states applicable to the initial coreset, etc.) may be mapped accordingly. For example, TCI state 65 may be mapped to SSB 1, TCI state 66 mapped to SSB2, and so on, till TCI state 96 may be mapped to SSB 32.“ and [0077] lines 11-17 describe another example on how the association and ordering of the TCI states with SSB indexes when multiple groups are available, see also [0019]. [0032] lines 6-9 explicitly describe the mapping between the set of TCL states and each SSB index associated with the CORSET. That provides a cross association where the TCI states are not restricted to SSBs from a certain group and can be flexible to mapping the TCI states across the SSB groups, as indicated in [0014] lines 2-4, [0081] lines 11-17 and [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication that associates the first SSB to the first SSB group and the second SSB to the second
SSB group, are configured to cause the UE to (Figs. 6 and 9, [0242]-[0243] and [0275], lines 3-6 explicitly describe, Step910, the UE ( which includes one or more processors) can receive a configuration by SIB1/ RCC that linked to the first and second SSB groups to determine, step 920, SSB1 from SSB1 group and SSB2 from SSB2 group)): receive the indication that associates the first SSB to the first SSB group and the second SSB to the second SSB group via one or more of: a system information block (SIB), a unicast radio resource control (RRC) communication ([0275], lines 1-6 states “a UE receives a configuration (in SIB1 extension or common RRC configuration) of a first “SSB group” and of a second “SSB group”. The UE determines a first SSB from the first SSB group and a second SSB from the second SSB group. “ Fig. 9, Step 910 and [0242], lines 3-7 also illustrate that the SIB can provide the information to associate specific SSBs with their respective SSB groups),
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 8.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein a set of transmitted SSBs includes SSBs of the first SSB group and SSBs of the second SSB group ([0213]mention that SSB groups are linked to specific TRPs and [0210] illustrates that SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2, which implies the set of transmitted SSBs includes SSBs from the first and second SSB group, [0251], lines 11-17, states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group. In another example, the UE can provide a set of CSI-RS RSRP values for each set of CSI-RS resources, associated with PRACH transmission, wherein each CSI-RS in the set is QCL with at least one SSB in the SSB group” which indicates that the set of transmitted SSBs may include SSBs from both groups, Fig. 14 Steps 1410-1420).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the downlink transmission comprises one or more of: a downlink control communication ([0025], [0412], lines 1-3, and Fig. 14 describe that the PDCCH is used for downlink control communications, such as scheduling the reception RAR or Msg4PDSCH), a downlink data communication ([0190], describes that the PDSCH as the channel used for downlink data communication when states “A PDSCH scheduled after Msg3 transmission is referred to for brevity as Msg4 PDSCH, but it is understood that contention resolution can be provided by any PDSCH that the UE receives after transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH and not necessarily by the first such PDSCH.” Which confirms the Msg4 (contention resolution) is transmitted using PDSCH), or a reference signal ([0121] and [0457] recite several types of reference signals such as SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DL RSs, etc.).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches and wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources ([0177], lines 12-15, and [0349], lines 10-15 states “the UE may be monitoring for a PDCCH for a RAR from a first TRP while the UE is monitoring for a PDCCH for a Msg4 PDSCH from a second TRP, with the corresponding RAR time window having no/partial/full overlap in time with the corresponding contention resolution time window.” And [0093], lines 11-15, indicates that during this overlapping window the UE can monitor PDCCH for scheduling both RAR and MsgB PDSCH receptions. [0281] also states “In one example, time multiplexing applies only to transmissions by a single-panel UE while simultaneous or time-overlapping receptions can be supported by such UE.”)
MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach based at least in part on one or more of: the first SSB being associated with a second active TCI state and the second SSB being associated with the first active TCI state, the second SSB being associated the first active TCI state, or the first SSB not being associated with an active TCI state, wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state.
However, Zhou teaches based at least in part on one or more of: the first SSB being associated with a second active TCI state and the second SSB being associated with the first active TCI state ([0006] states “The method may include receiving signaling indicating a number of SSBs associated with an initial control resource set (e.g., an initial coreset) and a TCI state ordering within a set of TCI states.” And [0007] sates “ receive signaling indicating a TCI state of the set of TCI states corresponding to the initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB of the number of SSBs associated with the initial coreset. “ Which implies the active TCI state is associated with SSB index (refer to a specific within the group of SSB), which included the first or second active TCI state among the set of the TCI state. [0072] states “TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 are mapped to SSB1 QCL source, TCI state 2 and TCI state 3 are mapped to SSB 2 QCL source, and so on, till TCI state 63 and TCI state 64 are mapped to SSB 32 QCL source. Then remaining TCI states (e.g., TCI states that may be associated with other coresets, TCI states that are not within the set of TCI states applicable to the initial coreset, etc.) may be mapped accordingly. For example, TCI state 65 may be mapped to SSB 1, TCI state 66 mapped to SSB2, and so on, till TCI state 96 may be mapped to SSB 32.“ and [0077] lines 11-17 describe another example on how the association and ordering of the TCI states with SSB indexes when multiple groups are available, see also [0019]. [0032] lines 6-9 explicitly describe the mapping between the set of TCL states and each SSB index associated with the CORSET. That provides a cross association where the TCI states are not restricted to SSBs from a certain group and can be flexible to mapping the TCI states across the SSB groups, as indicated in [0014] lines 2-4, [0081] lines 11-17 and [0076]), the second SSB being associated the first active TCI state, or the first SSB not being associated with an active TCI state, wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state ([0137], [0142] and [0149] state “the UE may receive signaling indicating a TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the indicating a TCI state( could be the first, second, or any other in the set) associated with SSB index, which is a specific SSB within the SSB group, to monitor the CORESET. [0071] describe how the network ordering the set of the TCI state includes the first TCI state as an active TCI state , if chosen by the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB is configured for reference signal
received power (RSRP) measurement ([0253], [0405] states “Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives from higher layers a set of SS/PBCH block indexes and provides to higher layers a corresponding set of RSRP measurements” that confirm the SSB is configured for RSRP measurement).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication that enables scheduling ([0336], lines 6-10, illustrates the UE may receive configurations or indications to enable the scheduling of SSBs with additional communications using overlapping resources), using at least partially overlapping resources ([0203], lines 1-5, indicates different TRPs associated with a same cell can transmit a same subset of SSB indices using different spatial filters/beam, thereby enabling spatial multiplexing of SSB transmissions in same time and frequency resources), of SSBs with additional communications that are associated with an SSB group that does not include the SSBs ([0503] describes an example, “a PRACH preamble group configured for CSI reporting can be associated with a single SSB or associated with multiple SSBs. For example, a PRACH preamble group for CSI reporting can be a subset of CFRA preambles associated with an SSB, which implies even if the same SSBs are not included in the group or the association based on configurations provided by higher layers as described in [0270], “For example, the configuration can be provided by higher layers, such as a SIB1 extension, or a new SIB, or common RRC configuration. In one example, TRP association can be provided using other methods such as PRS resource sets.”).
Regarding to claim 15 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi teaches a network node for wireless communication (Figs. 1-3 and [0013]-[0015], describe the structure of the UE and BS in wireless communication network), comprising: one or more processors, coupled to one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to: ([0006]-[0007], “The BS includes a transceiver configured to receive a first configuration for RA and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver“ and [0010], “The phrase “computer readable medium” includes any type of medium capable of being accessed by a computer, such as read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), “ and the processor configure to perform the functions of the method [0052]-[0059]): transmit an indication that associates a first synchronization signal block (SSB) to a first SSB group and a second SSB to a second SSB group (Figs. 6 and 9, [0242]-[0243] and [0275], lines 3-6 explicitly describe, Step910, the UE can receive from the BS a configuration by SIB1/ RCC that linked to the first and second SSB groups to determine, step 920, SSB1 from SSB1 group and SSB2 from SSB2 group), the first SSB group and the second SSB group associated with a single physical cell identifier (PCI), ([0199], lines 2-8, and [0202], lines 1-5 state “In one realization, two or multiple TRPs associated with a same cell, for example with same cell ID such as same PCI or same CGI, can transmit same PSS and SSS sequences, can use a same frame or half-frame for SSB transmission, and can transmit SSB on a same initial BWP.” Which confirm the two groups within the same cell have the same PCI is the physical cell ID); transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more scheduling indications that schedule reception of the first SSB, on a first set of one or more time domain resources (Fig. 18, Step 1810 and [0491] lines 1-3 and [0487], lines 1-3 , states” In one realization, a UE can be configured by the BS with multiple groups of time-domain resources wherein each group is associated with a CSI value”. Step 1820 includes mapping between multiple groups based on the received configuration from BS, as illustrated in the example [0487]. Lines 3-7), and schedule reception of a downlink transmission , on a second set of one or more time domain resources that at least partially overlap with the first set of one or more time domain resources ([349], lines 1-5, specifies the first and second monitoring windows for reception download transmissions can be partial/full overlap in time resources), via a beam associated with the second SSB of the second SSB group (Claim 3, lines 13-15, states “for the second RA procedure, a second PRACH associated with a second DL RS from the second group of DL RSs.” Where the DL RS is directly related with the beam. [0203] lines 1-14 describes two examples: it states “different TRPs associated with a same cell can transmit a same subset of SSB indices using different spatial filters/beam, thereby enabling spatial multiplexing of SSB transmissions in same time and frequency resources,” That indicates the different TRPs (different SSB groups) can use the same SSB indices but with different beams, which implies the overlapping can associated with different beam. And “In another example, a UE can distinguish SSBs corresponding to different TRPs of a same cell that are multiplexed in time in a same time slot by methods other than or in addition to spatial filters/beams, such as by different TRP-specific cyclic shifts for the PSS/SSS sequences”. This example implies the possibility of using beam for overlapping SSB groups (Different TRPs) within the same cell. [0257], lines 1-10 illustrates the using of repetitions can be with or without UE Tx beam cycling per number of repetitions such as half the total number of repetitions, or DL RS cycling or precoder cycling, and the like and [0442] states “a UE Tx beam can be up to UE implementation, or can be same as a UE Tx beam for Msg1/A PRACH or can be same as a refined Rx beam that the UE used for Msg2/RAR reception.” That also support the beam associated with one SSB groups can be used for overlapping transmissions/receptions).
MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state; and transmit, to the UE, the first SSB and the downlink transmission with the active TCI state.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0005], [0014], [0032] describe that the TCI state ordering / mapping between the set of TCI states and each SSB associated with the initial coreset (e.g., a mapping between TCI states and SSB indexes), as stated “The TCI state may be identified from a set of TCI states, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB (e.g., each QCL source) associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the first or the second SSB can associated with active TCI state, see also [0075], [0081] and [0121] which also confirm each SSB (including the second SSB) associated with at least one active TCI within the set of TCI state)); and transmit, to the UE, the first SSB and the downlink transmission with the active TCI state ([0080] state “UE 115-b may receive the signaling indicating the TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset (e.g., where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset)”, that may indicate a TCI state in a PDSCH-Config (e.g., an information element in RRC signaling). the SSB is indicated in a TCI state which is indicated by DCI. The TCI state may be associated with or related to the PDSCH. That implies the SSB can be a SSB used as or associated to QCL source corresponding to the PDSCH.” That indicates the UE can receive the SSB (e.g. first SSB) reference in active TCL state and the PDSCH, downlink transmission for performing the transmission with the active TCI state, where the downlink transmissions from a BS to a UE may also be called forward link transmissions, as stated in [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: receive, from the UE, an indication of support for receiving communications (Fig. 6, [0223] and [0123], lines 54-58 states “ the UE can both transmit and receive with two or multiple Tx/Rx panels at any point in time (referred to as simultaneous transmission and reception on multiple panels “STRxMP” or as simultaneous multi-panel transmission and reception “SMPTRx”), which implies the UE can handle communications with the BS using multiple beams, Fig. 6, even in overlapping time resources [0313], lines 1-3, [0385], lines 1-3 confirm that PDCCH order can be enhanced to provide information/indication for two concurrent RA procedures (possibly from a two-panel UE) for two TRPs, [0196], lines 3-6) via multiple beams in overlapping time resources via a single component carrier or bandwidth part (Fig. 6 and [0203], 1-5, the transmission signals within the same frequency range/component carrier since they are associated with the same cell or BWPs within the same frequency range/component carrier [0114], lines 1-4 and [0202], lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 16.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the indication of support for receiving communications via multiple beams in overlapping time resources comprises: an indication of support for receiving a first communication that includes an SSB ([0209], lines 4-9 states “the UE may acquire different synchronization signals and physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) blocks and then obtain different SIBs/RRC configurations corresponding to the two different cells, for example associated with different PCIs or different PSS/SSS sequences”, [0236], lines 8-13 and [200], lines 3-7 indicates the UE can receive communications that includes SSBs associated with specific TRPs ) and a second communication that includes data, control information ([0327], lines 1-6 states “ for a UE performing two or multiple concurrent RA procedures towards two TRPs/cells, the UE can monitor PDCCH for scheduling two RAR/ Msg2/MsgB PDSCH receptions corresponding to the RA procedures, each possibly including a TA value, a TC-RNTI, and a RAR UL grant for Msg3 PUSCH transmission.” and [0559], lines 4-6, “he PUCCH transmission can include a few bits such as 2-6 bits of information such as CSI report value or CQI/MCS value, RSRP/SINR range, or a SSBRI or CRI” which implies these communications include control information and data, [0300], Fig. 11), or a reference signal.
Regarding claim 18 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB group is associated with one or more of a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the network node ([0192], lines 12-14 explain that a TRP can include base station (eNB/gNB) antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, or combinations or variations thereof. [0251], lines11-13 states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group” and [0210] lines 7-12, states “For example, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2. Therefore, a number of “SSB groups” can be considered for a cell, where each “SSB group” corresponds to a different TRP ), a first panel of the UE ([0226], lines 1-7 and [0312], 4-8, states “ TRP-specific configuration and determination of parameters is based on a linkage with SSB groups, but any other linkage to UE panels can be considered in a similar manner” which indicate that each SSB group can be associated with a distinct panel of the UE, involving multiple panel UEs and multiple TRPs ), or a first beam group,
and wherein the second SSB group is associated with one or more of a second TRP that is different from the first TRP and is associated with the network node ([0192], lines 12-14 explain that a TRP can include base station (eNB/gNB) antennas, remote radio heads, a remote antenna of a base station, or combinations or variations thereof. [0251], lines11-13 states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group” and [0210] lines 6-10, states “a first TRP can be associated with a first set of SSB indices and a second TRP can be associated with a second TRP. For example, SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2), a second panel of the UE that is different from the first panel of the UE ([0226], lines 1-7 and [0312], 4-8, states “ TRP-specific configuration and determination of parameters is based on a linkage with SSB groups, but any other linkage to UE panels can be considered in a similar manner” which means that each SSB group can be associated with a distinct panel of the UE, involving multiple panel UEs and multiple TRPs. [0087] also states “include TRP-specific information such as TRP indication, UE panel indication, TCI state indication for RAR PDCCH/PDSCH reception or for Msg3/MsgA PUSCH transmission corresponding to different TRPs or panels, “ which implies each TRP/SSB has own panel), or a second beam group that is different from the first beam group.
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB group and the second SSB
group are associated with a group of active TCI states (Fig. 9, [0132] states “UE can be configured with a list of up to M TCI-state configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell “, [0275] recites the SSB groups are associated with different TRPs, which are inherently associated with different active TCI states,[0200], lines 7-9 state “a TCI state configured by a serving cell to a UE can be with respect to SSB(s) or TCI state(s) of a neighbor/non-serving cell”. Where the active TCI states are used to define the spatial filtering and quasi co-location (QCL) relationships between downlink reference signals DL RSs and transmission configurations {0132] and [0230], lines 23-27).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi fails to teach wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state and is associated with an SSB index of the second SSB group, and wherein a second active TCI state is associated with an SSB index of the first SSB group.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state ([0137], [0142] and [0149] state “the UE may receive signaling indicating a TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the indicating a TCI state( could be the first, second, or any other in the set) associated with SSB index, which is a specific SSB within the SSB group, to monitor the CORESET. [0071] describe how the network ordering the set of the TCI state includes the first TCI state as an active TCI state , if chosen by the network) and is associated with an SSB index of the second SSB group, and wherein a second active TCI state is associated with an SSB index of the first SSB group ([0006] states “The method may include receiving signaling indicating a number of SSBs associated with an initial control resource set (e.g., an initial coreset) and a TCI state ordering within a set of TCI states.” And [0007] sates “ receive signaling indicating a TCI state of the set of TCI states corresponding to the initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB of the number of SSBs associated with the initial coreset. “ Which implies the active TCI state is associated with SSB index (refer to a specific within the group of SSB), which included the first or second active TCI state among the set of the TCI state. [0072] states “TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 are mapped to SSB1 QCL source, TCI state 2 and TCI state 3 are mapped to SSB 2 QCL source, and so on, till TCI state 63 and TCI state 64 are mapped to SSB 32 QCL source. Then remaining TCI states (e.g., TCI states that may be associated with other coresets, TCI states that are not within the set of TCI states applicable to the initial coreset, etc.) may be mapped accordingly. For example, TCI state 65 may be mapped to SSB 1, TCI state 66 mapped to SSB2, and so on, till TCI state 96 may be mapped to SSB 32.“ and [0077] lines 11-17 describe another example on how the association and ordering of the TCI states with SSB indexes when multiple groups are available, see also [0019]. [0032] lines 6-9 explicitly describe the mapping between the set of TCL states and each SSB index associated with the CORSET. That provides a cross association where the TCI states are not restricted to SSBs from a certain group and can be flexible to mapping the TCI states across the SSB groups, as indicated in [0014] lines 2-4, [0081] lines 11-17 and [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit
the indication that associates the first SSB to the first SSB group and the second SSB to
the second SSB group, are configured to cause the network node to: (Figs. 6 and 9, [0242]-[0243] and [0275], lines 3-6 explicitly describe, Step910, the UE ( which includes one or more processors) can receive a configuration by SIB1/ RCC that linked to the first and second SSB groups to determine, step 920, SSB1 from SSB1 group and SSB2 from SSB2 group)): transmit the indication that associates the first SSB to the first SSB group and the second SSB to the second SSB group via one or more of: a system information block (SIB), a unicast radio resource control (RRC) communication ([0275], lines 1-6 states “a UE receives a configuration (in SIB1 extension or common RRC configuration) of a first “SSB group” and of a second “SSB group”. The UE determines a first SSB from the first SSB group and a second SSB from the second SSB group. “ Fig. 9, Step 910 and [0242], lines 3-7 also illustrate that the SIB can provide the information to associate specific SSBs with their respective SSB groups),
a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or downlink control information (DCI).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 22.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein a set of transmitted SSBs includes SSBs of the first SSB group and SSBs of the second SSB group ([0213]mention that SSB groups are linked to specific TRPs and [0210] illustrates that SSB indices {0,1,2,3} correspond to TRP #1 and SSB indices {4,5,6,7} correspond to TRP #2, which implies the set of transmitted SSBs includes SSBs from the first and second SSB group, [0251], lines 11-17, states “when each TRP is associated with a SSB group, the UE can provide a set of SSB RSRP values for each SSB group. In another example, the UE can provide a set of CSI-RS RSRP values for each set of CSI-RS resources, associated with PRACH transmission, wherein each CSI-RS in the set is QCL with at least one SSB in the SSB group” which indicates that the set of transmitted SSBs may include SSBs from both groups, Fig. 14 Steps 1410-1420).
Regarding claim 24 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the downlink transmission comprises one or more of: downlink control communication ([0025], [0412], lines 1-3, and Fig. 14 describe that the PDCCH is used for downlink control communications, such as scheduling the reception RAR or Msg4PDSCH), a downlink data communication ([0190], describes that the PDSCH as the channel used for downlink data communication when states “A PDSCH scheduled after Msg3 transmission is referred to for brevity as Msg4 PDSCH, but it is understood that contention resolution can be provided by any PDSCH that the UE receives after transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH and not necessarily by the first such PDSCH.” Which confirms the Msg4 (contention resolution) is transmitted using PDSCH), or a reference signal ([0121] and [0457] recite several types of reference signals such as SSB, CSI-RS, SRS, DL RSs, etc.).
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches and wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources ([0177], lines 12-15, and [0349], lines 10-15 states “the UE may be monitoring for a PDCCH for a RAR from a first TRP while the UE is monitoring for a PDCCH for a Msg4 PDSCH from a second TRP, with the corresponding RAR time window having no/partial/full overlap in time with the corresponding contention resolution time window.” And [0093], lines 11-15, indicates that during this overlapping window the UE can monitor PDCCH for scheduling both RAR and MsgB PDSCH receptions. [0281] also states “In one example, time multiplexing applies only to transmissions by a single-panel UE while simultaneous or time-overlapping receptions can be supported by such UE.”)
MolavianJazi fails to teach based at least in part on one or more of: the first SSB being associated with a second active TCI state and the second SSB being associated with the first active TCI state, the second SSB being associated with first active TCI state, or the first SSB not being associated with an active TCI state, wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state,
However, Zhou teaches based at least in part on one or more of: the first SSB being associated with a first active TCI state and the second SSB being associated with a second active TCI state ([0006] states “The method may include receiving signaling indicating a number of SSBs associated with an initial control resource set (e.g., an initial coreset) and a TCI state ordering within a set of TCI states.” And [0007] sates “ receive signaling indicating a TCI state of the set of TCI states corresponding to the initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB of the number of SSBs associated with the initial coreset. “ Which implies the active TCI state is associated with SSB index (refer to a specific within the group of SSB), which included the first or second active TCI state among the set of the TCI state. [0072] states “TCI state 1 and TCI state 2 are mapped to SSB1 QCL source, TCI state 2 and TCI state 3 are mapped to SSB 2 QCL source, and so on, till TCI state 63 and TCI state 64 are mapped to SSB 32 QCL source. Then remaining TCI states (e.g., TCI states that may be associated with other coresets, TCI states that are not within the set of TCI states applicable to the initial coreset, etc.) may be mapped accordingly. For example, TCI state 65 may be mapped to SSB 1, TCI state 66 mapped to SSB2, and so on, till TCI state 96 may be mapped to SSB 32.“ and [0077] lines 11-17 describe another example on how the association and ordering of the TCI states with SSB indexes when multiple groups are available, see also [0019]. [0032] lines 6-9 explicitly describe the mapping between the set of TCL states and each SSB index associated with the CORSET. That provides a cross association where the TCI states are not restricted to SSBs from a certain group and can be flexible to mapping the TCI states across the SSB groups, as indicated in [0014] lines 2-4, [0081] lines 11-17 and [0076]), the second SSB being associated with first active TCI state, or the first SSB not being associated with an active TCI state,
wherein the active TCI state is a first active TCI state ([0137], [0142] and [0149] state “the UE may receive signaling indicating a TCI state of a set of TCI states corresponding to an initial coreset, where the set of TCI states includes at least one TCI state corresponding to each SSB associated with the initial coreset.” That implies the indicating a TCI state( could be the first, second, or any other in the set) associated with SSB index, which is a specific SSB within the SSB group, to monitor the CORESET. [0071] describe how the network ordering the set of the TCI state includes the first TCI state as an active TCI state , if chosen by the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi to incorporate the teachings of Zhou (in analogous art) by including wherein the second SSB is associated with an active transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to support efficient techniques for identifying spatial parameters, such as SSB indexes, for receiving control information in an coreset (e.g., based on TCI state ordering that includes at least one TCI state for each QCL source or SSB associated with the initial coreset), (Zhou, abstract and [0072]).
Regarding claim 27 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first SSB is configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement ([0253], [0405] states “Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives from higher layers a set of SS/PBCH block indexes and provides to higher layers a corresponding set of RSRP measurements” that confirm the SSB is configured for RSRP measurement by BS).
Regarding claim 28 (Currently Amended), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to: transmit an indication that enables scheduling ([0336], lines 6-10, illustrates the UE may receive from the BS configurations or indications to enable the scheduling of SSBs with additional communications using overlapping resources), using at least partially overlapping resources ([0203], lines 1-5, indicates different TRPs associated with a same cell can transmit a same subset of SSB indices using different spatial filters/beam, thereby enabling spatial multiplexing of SSB transmissions in same time and frequency resources), of SSBs with additional communications that are associated with an SSB group that does not include the SSBs ([0503] describes an example, “a PRACH preamble group configured for CSI reporting can be associated with a single SSB or associated with multiple SSBs. For example, a PRACH preamble group for CSI reporting can be a subset of CFRA preambles associated with an SSB, which implies even if the same SSBs are not included in the group or the association based on configurations provided by higher layers as described in [0270], “For example, the configuration can be provided by higher layers, such as a SIB1 extension, or a new SIB, or common RRC configuration. In one example, TRP association can be provided using other methods such as PRS resource sets.”).
As to claims 29 and 30 see similar rejections to claims 1 and 15, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
8. Claims 5, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US-20220210844-A1) ) in view of Zhou et al (US-20200154380-A1), further in view of Kang et al. (US-20240372602-A1).
Regarding claim 5 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi and Zhou do not explicitly teach wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index.
However, Kang teach wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index ([0267], states “the base station may indicate to the UE which CORESET pool corresponds to the P-TRP or the S-TRP through CORESET pool index configuration. As a specific example, the base station may explicitly configure/indicate the UE that CORESET pool index 0 corresponds to P-TRP and CORESET pool index 1 corresponds to S-TRP.” Which implies the BS may configure the UE with different CORESET pool indices for different TRPs, where each TRP can serve different SSB, as states in [0290], lines 7-10, “Here, when the S-TRP corresponds to the non-serving cell, it may mean that the P-TRP corresponds to the serving cell and the S-TRP belongs to a cell having PCI different from that of the P-TRP.” And as we explain in Claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Kang (in analogous art) by including wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index to improve the reliability by association different TRPs with different SSB groups (Kang, [0192], lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi and Zhou do not explicitly teach wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index.
However, Kang teach wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index ([0267], states “the base station may indicate to the UE which CORESET pool corresponds to the P-TRP or the S-TRP through CORESET pool index configuration. As a specific example, the base station may explicitly configure/indicate the UE that CORESET pool index 0 corresponds to P-TRP and CORESET pool index 1 corresponds to S-TRP.” Which implies the BS may configure the UE with different CORESET pool indices for different TRPs, where each TRP can serve different SSB, as states in [0290], lines 7-10, “Here, when the S-TRP corresponds to the non-serving cell, it may mean that the P-TRP corresponds to the serving cell and the S-TRP belongs to a cell having PCI different from that of the P-TRP.” And as we explain in Claim 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Kang (in analogous art) by including wherein the first SSB group is associated with a first control resource set pool index, and wherein the second SSB group is associated with a second control resource set pool index to improve the reliability by association different TRPs with different SSB groups (Kang, [0192], lines 5-11).
9. Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (US-20220210844-A1) in view of in view of Zhou et al. (US-20200154380-A1) and further Zhang et al. (US-20230132666-A1).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the UE of claim 1.
MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based at least in part on: the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based at least in part on: the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement ([0117], lines 5-8, states “The SSB may be used for radio resource management (RRM) measurements. The SSB may be also used for a higher-layer parameter information element (IE) (e.g., MeasObjectNR).” Where the RRM measurements includes RSRP measurements [0071], [0075], lines 10-13 states “ The SSB may be used for radio resource management (RRM) measurements. The SSB may be also used for a higher-layer parameter information element (IE) (e.g., MeasObjectNR).”and [0101], lines 8-13 describes the SSB can be a SSB used for RRM measurement, or the SSB can be a SSB configured in the higher-layer parameter MeasObjectNR IE. These paragraphs confirm that the SSB that indicated by higher layer parameter through (RRC) can be used instead of using first SSB as long as their parameters are properly configured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by including wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based on the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement to improve the reliability and enhance the network performance (Zhang, [0066], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 26 (Original), MolavianJazi and Zhou teach the network node of claim 15.
MolavianJazi does not explicitly teach wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based at least in part on: the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based at least in part on: the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement ([0117], lines 5-8, states “The SSB may be used for radio resource management (RRM) measurements. The SSB may be also used for a higher-layer parameter information element (IE) (e.g., MeasObjectNR).” Where the RRM measurements includes RSRP measurements [0071], [0075], lines 10-13 states “ The SSB may be used for radio resource management (RRM) measurements. The SSB may be also used for a higher-layer parameter information element (IE) (e.g., MeasObjectNR).”and [0101], lines 8-13 describes the SSB can be a SSB used for RRM measurement, or the SSB can be a SSB configured in the higher-layer parameter MeasObjectNR IE. These paragraphs confirm that the SSB that indicated by higher layer parameter through (RRC) can be used instead of using first SSB as long as their parameters are properly configured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified MolavianJazi in view of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Zhang (in analogous art) by including wherein the UE supports reception of the first SSB and the downlink transmission on overlapping resources based on the first SSB not being configured for reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement to improve the reliability and enhance the network performance (Zhang, [0066], lines 4-8).
Relevant Prior Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (US-20250106080-A1), Zheng et al. (US-20240236989-A1), Manolakos et al. (US-20200351055-A1), Eyuboglu et al. (US-11140695-B1), Zhang et al. (US-20190174466-A1) and MolavianJazi et al. (US-20220191940-A1) teach method involved reception on multiple beams in a wireless network.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463