CTNF 18/510,239 CTNF 83390 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. This action is in response to the following communication: Non-provisional Application No. 18/510,239 filed on 11/15/2023. 3. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims. Claim Objections 4. It is noted that claims 10-12, 15, 17 and 18 recites alternative/optional use language: Claims 10-12, 15, 17 and 18 references “and/or…” Appropriate corrections are required Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 5. 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 6. Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 10 recites a “computer readable storage medium”. However, it appears that this “computer readable storage medium” is directed to a signal per se. A product is a tangible physical article or object, some form of matter, which a signal is not. A signal, a form of energy, does not fall within one of the four statutory classes of § 101. As such, the claimed “ computer readable storage medium ” is not limited to embodiments that fall within a statutory category of invention (see Interim Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications for Patent Subject Matter Eligibility – Annex IV(c) (1300 OG 142 signed 26OCT2005). Consequently, claim 10 is rejected as non-statutory. Claims 11-18 do not remedy the deficiencies of claim 10 and are also rejected as non-statutory. 7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below. Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19 , the limitations “generating a map of a first satellite's orbital path with respect to Earth's surface”, and “identifying, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path, a first activation region of Earth's surface” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation judgment and/r opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1. Claims 1, 10 and 19: Under Prong 2 Step 2A, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements “a computer”, “a computer program product”, “a computer readable storage medium”, “a system”, and “a processor” merely recite instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, thus is not a practical application under Prong 2. The additional element “activated on the first satellite”, “preventing first application updates from being performed” and “performance of the first application updates on the first satellite”, do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering data. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and (g), respectively. Claims 1, 10 and 19: Under Step 2B , the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated above in prong 2, the additional elements “a computer”, “a computer program product”, “a computer readable storage medium”, “a system”, and “a processor” merely recite instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and the additional element “activated on the first satellite”, “preventing first application updates from being performed” and “performance of the first application updates on the first satellite”, is merely gathering data which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine conventional activity. See for example Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362, MPEP 2106.05(d). Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite further additional elements “a computer”, “a computer program product”, “a computer readable storage medium”, “a system”, and “a processor”. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore, the additional elements recited in claims 1, 10 and 19 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application under prong 2, nor amount to significantly more under step 2B. Regarding claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 17 and 18, the limitations recited in these claims merely describe the “data being classified”, “determining a priority of the events”, “determination that the footprint coverage region” and “identifying… a plurality of other activation regions” in each of claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 17 and 18 , thus, are likewise analyzed under Prong 1 as mental process. Regarding claims 2-7, 11-16 and 20, the additional elements of “generating a dictionary”, “receiving an update”, “preventing the second application update”, “causing performance of the second application updates”, “first satellite is a low Earth orbit (LEO) satellite”, “preventing the first application updates”, “generating a table of events”, and “predetermined metric is selected” is analyzed under Prong 2 as mere data gathering which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, or amounts to significantly more under Step 2B for the reasons provided in the rejection of claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 8. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim s 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,875,144 (hereinafter Lin) in view of Reid et al., US 2020/0379118 (hereinafter Reid) . In regards to claim 1 , Lin teaches: A computer-implemented method, comprising: (Fig. 5), see “Map, Satellite, Farllon Islands, San Francisco, San Mateo, Palo Alto, San Jose, Fremont, mountains) and (column 5, lines 53-55), see “FIG. 5 illustrates a visualization including a map that allows a DM to draw a geofence for software update distributions, according to an embodiment” and (column 33, lines 9-11), see “in an embodiment, an additional or complementary broadcast network can be used, including but not limited to radio (e.g., FM radio), satellite and WiFi networks”. a first application is expected to be activated on the first satellite for a duration that a footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region (column 10, lines 32-40), see “mobility client data can include but is not limited to: location data (e.g., timestamp, latitude, longitude, and altitude), sensor data (e.g., acceleration data, gyroscope data) and environment data (e.g., temperature data). In an embodiment, the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region, preventing first application updates from being performed on the first satellite; and in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is not within the first activation region, causing performance of the first application updates on the first satellite (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. Lin doesn't explicitly teach: generating a map of a first satellite's orbital path with respect to Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. identifying, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path, a first activation region of Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 2 , Lin teaches: generating a dictionary, wherein the dictionary includes entries for a plurality of applications including the first application, wherein the dictionary includes dependent component definitions each associated with a different one of the dictionary entries (column 1, lines 58-60), see “the plurality of software models also define interdependencies between one or more versions of the plurality of software models. Update files are generated for software updates stored in a data repository. Download information files are also generated that include instructions for downloading and installing the update files. The instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models”. In regards to claim 4 , Lin doesn't explicitly teach: the first satellite is a low Earth orbit (LEO) satellite. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area” and (Abstract), see “a low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite includes a global positioning receiver configured to receive first signaling”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 5 , Lin teaches: preventing the first application updates from being performed on the first satellite includes delaying the first application updates from being performed on the first satellite until a determination is made that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is not within the first activation region (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. In regards to claim 6 , Lin teaches: generating a table of events queued to be performed by the first satellite; and determining a priority of the events of the table based on at least one predetermined metric (column 1, lines 64-66), see “the instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models”. In regards to claim 7 , Lin teaches: the at least one predetermined metric is selected from the group consisting of: a timeline of when the event can be performed, how long an event is anticipated to take to be performed, and a maximum amount of time that the event can be delayed (column 1, line 66 – column 2, line 7), see “a distribution task is generated that includes a start time, an end time and a mobility client group, and installation tasks are generated for mobility clients in the mobility client group. In accordance with the installation tasks, the download information files are transferred to the mobility clients in the mobility client group”. In regards to claim 8 , Lin teaches: in response to the determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region, using the determined priorities to determine whether to cause performance of a first of the events during a duration that a footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”, (column 1, lines 64-66), see “the instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models” and (column 10, lines 32-40), see “mobility client data can include but is not limited to: location data (e.g., timestamp, latitude, longitude, and altitude), sensor data (e.g., acceleration data, gyroscope data) and environment data (e.g., temperature data). In an embodiment, the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. In regards to claim 9 , Lin teaches: generating a schedule for performing a plurality of maintenance activities, wherein the plurality of maintenance activities include the first application updates (column 16, lines 34-37), see “the Deployment Manager (DM) creates and schedules Distribution Tasks, tracks status of Installation Tasks and tracks installation issues. The Executive accesses dashboards and visualizations (e.g., charts, tables)”. the schedule is based on a position of the footprint coverage region with respect to the first activation region and the other activation regions (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. a plurality of other activation regions of Earth's surface (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. Lin doesn't explicitly teach: identifying, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path. However, Reid teaches such use (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 10 , Lin teaches: A computer program product, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions readable and/or executable by a computer to cause the computer to: (Fig. 5), see “Map, Satellite, Farllon Islands, San Francisco, San Mateo, Palo Alto, San Jose, Fremont, mountains) and (column 5, lines 53-55), see “FIG. 5 illustrates a visualization including a map that allows a DM to draw a geofence for software update distributions, according to an embodiment” and (column 33, lines 9-11), see “in an embodiment, an additional or complementary broadcast network can be used, including but not limited to radio (e.g., FM radio), satellite and WiFi networks”. a first application is expected to be activated on the first satellite for a duration that a footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region (column 10, lines 32-40), see “mobility client data can include but is not limited to: location data (e.g., timestamp, latitude, longitude, and altitude), sensor data (e.g., acceleration data, gyroscope data) and environment data (e.g., temperature data). In an embodiment, the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region, prevent first application updates from being performed on the first satellite; and in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is not within the first activation region, cause performance of the first application updates on the first satellite (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. Lin doesn't explicitly teach: generate a map of a first satellite's orbital path with respect to Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. identify, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path, a first activation region of Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 11 , Lin teaches: generate a dictionary, wherein the dictionary includes entries for a plurality of applications including the first application, wherein the dictionary includes dependent component definitions each associated with a different one of the dictionary entries (column 1, lines 58-60), see “the plurality of software models also define interdependencies between one or more versions of the plurality of software models. Update files are generated for software updates stored in a data repository. Download information files are also generated that include instructions for downloading and installing the update files. The instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models”. In regards to claim 13, Lin doesn't explicitly teach: the first satellite is a low Earth orbit (LEO) satellite. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area” and (Abstract), see “a low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite includes a global positioning receiver configured to receive first signaling”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 14 , Lin teaches: preventing the first application updates from being performed on the first satellite includes delaying the first application updates from being performed on the first satellite until a determination is made that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is not within the first activation region (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. In regards to claim 15 , Lin teaches: generate a table of events queued to be performed by the first satellite; and determine a priority of the events of the table based on at least one predetermined metric (column 1, lines 64-66), see “the instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models”. In regards to claim 16 , Lin teaches: the at least one predetermined metric is selected from the group consisting of: a timeline of when the event can be performed, how long an event is anticipated to take to be performed, and a maximum amount of time that the event can be delayed (column 1, line 66 – column 2, line 7), see “a distribution task is generated that includes a start time, an end time and a mobility client group, and installation tasks are generated for mobility clients in the mobility client group. In accordance with the installation tasks, the download information files are transferred to the mobility clients in the mobility client group”. In regards to claim 17 , Lin teaches: in response to the determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region, use the determined priorities to determine whether to cause performance of a first of the events during a duration that a footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”, (column 1, lines 64-66), see “the instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models” and (column 10, lines 32-40), see “mobility client data can include but is not limited to: location data (e.g., timestamp, latitude, longitude, and altitude), sensor data (e.g., acceleration data, gyroscope data) and environment data (e.g., temperature data). In an embodiment, the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. In regards to claim 18 , Lin teaches: generate a schedule for performing a plurality of maintenance activities, wherein the plurality of maintenance activities include the first application updates (column 16, lines 34-37), see “the Deployment Manager (DM) creates and schedules Distribution Tasks, tracks status of Installation Tasks and tracks installation issues. The Executive accesses dashboards and visualizations (e.g., charts, tables)”. the schedule is based on a position of the footprint coverage region with respect to the first activation region and the other activation regions (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. a plurality of other activation regions of Earth's surface (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. Lin doesn't explicitly teach: identify, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path. However, Reid teaches such use (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 19 , Lin teaches: A system, comprising: a processor; and logic integrated with the processor, executable by the processor, or integrated with and executable by the processor, the logic being configured to: (Fig. 5), see “Map, Satellite, Farllon Islands, San Francisco, San Mateo, Palo Alto, San Jose, Fremont, mountains) and (column 5, lines 53-55), see “FIG. 5 illustrates a visualization including a map that allows a DM to draw a geofence for software update distributions, according to an embodiment” and (column 33, lines 9-11), see “in an embodiment, an additional or complementary broadcast network can be used, including but not limited to radio (e.g., FM radio), satellite and WiFi networks”. a first application is expected to be activated on the first satellite for a duration that a footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region (column 10, lines 32-40), see “mobility client data can include but is not limited to: location data (e.g., timestamp, latitude, longitude, and altitude), sensor data (e.g., acceleration data, gyroscope data) and environment data (e.g., temperature data). In an embodiment, the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region, prevent first application updates from being performed on the first satellite; and in response to a determination that the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is not within the first activation region, cause performance of the first application updates on the first satellite (column 10, lines 36-40), see “the location data can be used to determine if a mobility client has entered or exited a geofence (a virtual geographic boundary) to trigger a download of a software package or perform some other location-based service, as described in reference to FIG. 5”. Lin doesn't explicitly teach: generate a map of a first satellite's orbital path with respect to Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use: (p. 27, [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. identify, on the map along the first satellite's orbital path, a first activation region of Earth's surface. However, Reid teaches such use: However, Reid teaches such use [0272]), see “the processing system of the satellite 110 stores a map or other data structure of the orbital path 1322 that indicates the position of the area”. Lin and Reid are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software upgrading. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Lin and Reid before him or her, to modify the system of Lin to include the teachings of Reid, as a system for broadcasting data, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Lin, which is focused on an over-the-air service platform, because that would provide Lin with the ability to provide navigation services through a space-based broadcast of a satellite when navigation functionality has degraded as suggested by Reid (p. 27, [0272]), p. 29, [0288]). In regards to claim 20 , Lin teaches: the dictionary includes entries for a plurality of applications including the first application, wherein the dictionary includes dependent component definitions each associated with a different one of the dictionary entries (column 1, lines 58-60), see “the plurality of software models also define interdependencies between one or more versions of the plurality of software models. Update files are generated for software updates stored in a data repository. Download information files are also generated that include instructions for downloading and installing the update files. The instructions define an installation order hierarchy that preserves the interdependencies between the one or more versions of the plurality of software models” . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 10. Claims 3 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per claims 3 and 12, prior art of record does not each and/or fairly suggest “receiving an update for a second application, wherein the update for the second application is received while the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region; in response to receiving the update for the second application, comparing the dependent component definition associated with the second application to the dependent component definition associated with the first application to determine whether performance of the update for the second application while the footprint coverage region of the first satellite is within the first activation region is capable of deactivating the first application on the first satellite; in response to a determination, based on results of the comparison, that at least one component of the dependent component definition associated with the second application matches at least one component of the dependent component definition associated with the first application, preventing the second application update from being performed on the first satellite; and in response to a determination, based on the results of the comparison, that none of the components of the dependent component definition associated with the second application match any of the components of the dependent component definition associated with the first application, causing performance of the second application updates on the first satellite”. The art of record does not expressly disclose such features . Conclusion 07-96 AIA 11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publications Knowles 20060122776 teaches a method of searching an inventory of satellite remote sensing data for data granules, scenes, or images that cover a specified area of interest whereby each data granule is indexed to the relevant ascending equatorial crossing of the satellite. Representative points in the area of interest are traced backwards along the orbital track to determine where the satellite must have crossed the equator on the ascending pass in order for the sensor to have seen the area of interest. Spatial search of the data is thereby reduced to a simple search on a range of crossing longitudes. Castiel 7277673 teaches a plurality of satellites are placed into a virtually geosynchronous orbit, in which a first part of the orbit, that is near apogee, has a similar movement to the rotation of the earth, and therefore the orbit appears virtually stationary relative to the earth. Different satellites in the orbit are caused to have specified standardized parameters, and also defined according to an orbital position at a date certain. The different satellites and therefore be assigned to different owners according to these parameters. 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Evral Bodden whose telephone number is 571-272-3455. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9am to 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Cha Do, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-3721. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automatedinterview-request-air-form. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EVRAL E BODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 2 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 3 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 4 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 5 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 6 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 7 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 8 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 9 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 10 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 11 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 12 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 13 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 14 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 15 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 16 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 17 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 18 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 19 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 20 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 21 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 22 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 23 Art Unit: 2193 Application/Control Number: 18/510,239 Page 24 Art Unit: 2193