DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the first retention clip comprises a leg (e.g. leg having 8) canted inward toward the one or more tabs (e.g. see figure) and a clip tab (e.g. 8) formed in the leg and canted into the cavity to engage the rib (e.g. again the rib is intended use and applicant should review MPEP 2113-2114), wherein the second retention clip comprises a pair of legs (e.g. 5) each having a generally J-shaped side profile and a guide member (e.g. guide member having 9) coupled between the pair of legs, wherein the third retention clip is disposed between the pair of legs of the second retention clip and comprises a clip tab configured to cooperate with the clip tap of the first retention clip to engage the rib.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ argument that claims 1 and 11 are amended to add first retention clip, a second retention clip and third retention clip and how they function with structure that is not positively claimed such as distal end of a rib or the intention of mitigate pullout of the rib is not persuasive since as previously and currently provided the reference of Shinomiya teaches 1st retention clip, a second retention clip and third retention clip. Applicant should also see amended rejection below with regard to reference of Shinomiya.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, “the clip tab” unclear which clip tap applicant is referring to base on claims 5-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, 15-16 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinomiya et al (US20100252705A1).
Shinomiya discloses a retainer (e.g. figures) to couple a first component (e.g. intended use, see MPEP 2113-2114 but the reference of Shinomiya is capable of retaining a first component 200) to a second component (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 and the reference of Shinomiya is capable of retaining a second component 101) having a rib (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 and the reference of Shinomiya teaches a rib 100) via a male fastener (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 and the reference of Shinomiya teaches a male fastener 202A), the retainer comprising a body portion (e.g. body of 1) having formed therein a female fastener (e.g. female fastener having 2 that receives the male fastener 202A), wherein the female fastener is configured to receive the male fastener (e.g. figures 7-10), one or more tabs (e.g. see figure below) coupled to the body portion, and a plurality of retention clips resiliently coupled to the body portion (e.g. clips shown in figures 1-2), wherein the plurality of retention clips comprises a first retention clip (e.g. see figure below), a second retention clip (e.g. see figure below) and a third retention clip (e.g. see figure below), wherein the one or more tabs and at least one of the plurality of retention clips cooperate to define a cavity (e.g. cavity receiving 100) configured to receive the rib (e.g. the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of receiving the rib, the intended use structure is given little or no patentable weight see MPEP 2113-2114), wherein the plurality of retention clips is arranged to engage and retain the rib within the cavity (e.g. see figures 7-10), wherein the first retention clip and the second retention clip cooperate to define a flared opening to the cavity (e.g. see figure below) configured to guide a distal end of the rib into the cavity (e.g. again the rib is intended use and the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of this, see MPEP 2113-2114 with regard to intended use), wherein the first retention clip and the third retention clip (see figure below) are configured to engage the rib to mitigate pullout (e.g. again the rib is intended use and the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of this, see MPEP 2113-2114 with regard to intended use).
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the female fastener is shaped as a collar (e.g. collar receiving 202A) with a plurality of grooves (e.g. 2 and 2A) formed on an inner sidewall surface thereof.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the body portion defines a set of shoulders (e.g. shoulders part of 3 having 7 which can be received in a potential doghouse structure) configured to engage a doghouse structure (e.g. intended use, the set of shoulders are capable of being received in a doghouse).
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the retainer is a stamped retainer clip (e.g. see 0016, states metallic plate of single piece, the method of stamped is considered to be product by process limitation and given little or no patentable weight in an apparatus when the retainer is made of resilient single piece of metal, see MPEP 2113-2114 regarding method limitation).
Regarding claim 11: Shinomiya discloses a retainer assembly to couple a first component having an opening to a second component having a rib (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of this), the retainer assembly comprising a male fastener (202A) configured to pass at least partially through the opening formed in the first component (e.g. intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of this). See rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the female fastener is shaped as a collar with a plurality of grooves formed on an inner sidewall surface thereof (see rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 13: Wherein the body portion defines a set of shoulders configured to engage a doghouse structure (e.g. see rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the first retention clip comprises a clip tab (e.g. 8) canted into the cavity and configured to engage the rib (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of engaging the rib), and the third retention clip comprises clip tab (e.g. other of 8, figure below) configured to cooperate with the clip tab of the first retention clip to engage the rib (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but the retainer of Shinomiya is capable of engaging the rib).
Regarding claim 16: Wherein the first retention clip and the third retention clip are configured to pinch, scrape, dig into, or otherwise grip the rib to mitigate pullout (e.g. again intended use see MPEP 2113-2114 but the first retention clip and the third retention clip are capable of pinch, scrape, dig into or otherwise grip the rib to mitigate pullout of Shinomiya is capable of engaging the rib).
Regarding claim 18: Wherein the retainer is a stamped retainer clip (see rejection of claim 8).
Regarding claim 19: A retainer to couple a first component to a second component having a rib via a male fastener, the retainer comprising a body portion having formed therein a female fastener, wherein the female fastener is shaped as a collar with a plurality of grooves
formed on an inner sidewall surface thereof and configured to receive the male fastener, one or more tabs coupled to the body portion, and a first retention clip, a second retention clip, and a third retention clip resiliently coupled to the body portion to define a cavity, wherein the first retention clip and the third retention clip are configured to pinch, scrape, dig into, or otherwise grip the rib to mitigate pullout, and wherein the first retention clip and the second retention clip cooperate to define a flared opening to the cavity configured to guide a distal end of the rib into the cavity (see rejection of claims above).
Regarding claim 20: Wherein the body portion defines a set of shoulders configured to engage a doghouse structure (see rejection of claims above).
Regarding claim 21: Wherein the second retention clip comprises a pair of legs (e.g. each of 5) and a guide member (e.g. horizontal section having 9) coupled between the pair of legs, wherein each of the pair of legs defines a first linear segment (e.g. one of 5) coupled to the body portion, a second linear segment (e.g. the horizontal section having 9) substantially parallel to the body portion, and a third linear segment (e.g. other of 5) coupling the second linear segment to the guide member.
Regarding claim 22: Wherein the third retention clip (e.g. clip having 9) comprises a fastener pass-through opening configured to allow a distal end of the male fastener to pass through the third retention clip upon tightening (see figure below shows different interpretation of claim 1 and limitation of claim 22).
Regarding claim 23: Wherein the third retention clip is formed from material punched from within an area bounded by the second retention clip (e.g. see rejection of claims above regarding punched).
Regarding claim 24: Wherein the one or more tabs are substantially perpendicular to the body portion (e.g. see tabs in figure above).
Regarding claim 25: Wherein one or more barbs (e.g. 8 or 9) formed on at least one of the first retention clip or the third retention clip and configured to grip the rib (e.g. again rib is intended use, see rejection of claims above).
Regarding claim 26: Wherein one or more alignment features (e.g. see other tabs or 8 or 9) configured to engage a corresponding feature on the rib to ensure installation of the retainer in a predetermined orientation relative to the rib.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675