DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-20 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-14, 16-20 are amended.
Claims 3, 4 and 7 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN-2050476671-U to Watanabe (“Watanabe”).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe (Figs 1-3) discloses a wheel assembly (1 “wheel supporting structure, Fig 7, Abstract) comprising: a wheel portion (not shown, would be connected to 9a flange, Abstract, Fig 1, 7) comprising a wheel flange portion (9a “rotation-side flange”), wherein the wheel flange portion comprises a foreign matter discharge portion (first, second, third discharge surfaces forming a path to 13a “foreign matter discharge hole”) having a first discharge surface (axially indented part of 9a, and adjacent surface of 13a “foreign matter discharge holes”, Page 3 Para 2 beginning “hub 3a is combined…”,Annotated Fig 2 “AF2”) and a second discharge surface (axial directed 30 “flange side layer difference part”, radially indented part of 9a, AF2) indented in different directions (just described) on an inner side surface (AF2) of the wheel flange portion; a hub portion (3a) transmitting driving force transmitted through a drive shaft (not shown, hubs of driven wheels are known in the art to be attached to a drive shaft) to the wheel portion; and a hubcap coupling portion (the end of 14, left Fig 1) connected to a hubcap (not shown, known in the art to be connected to drive shaft and typically having a hub cap thereon the end of 14, left Fig 1), wherein the first discharge surface is provided along the inner side surface of the wheel flange portion (just described), and the second discharge surface is provided along an inner side surface of the hubcap coupling portion (AF2), wherein the second discharge surface is provided with a predetermined slope (90 degrees, AF2) with respect to the inner side surface of the hubcap coupling portion, wherein the hub portion comprises a disk guide portion (AF2 “axial inner side of outer ring shaft 2a,) having a cylindrical shape protruding to one side (Fig 1), wherein the disk guide portion comprises a third discharge surface (26, AF2) formed by indenting an outer circumferential surface of the one side, and wherein the second discharge surface and the third discharge surface face each other (AF2), thereby forming a movement path for foreign matter between the second discharge surface and the third discharge surface (Abstract, Page 2, Para 2 beginning “In order to solve..”, Page 3 Para 2 beginning “hub 3a is combined…”,Page 4 Para 3 beginning “the rotating-side flange 9a…” , Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, including a transitional surface of the second discharge surface wherein the wheel flange portion is connected to the hub portion (9a integral to hub Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, further comprising a brake disc portion (not shown, Page 5, Para 5 beginning “In addition, the outer ring….”, Fig 1, 5, 7) disposed between the wheel portion and the hub portion, wherein the second discharge surface extends between the wheel portion and the brake disc portion (Page 5, Para 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, further comprising a brake disc portion (not shown, Page 5, Para 5 beginning “In addition, the outer ring….”, known in the art to be connected to flange 9a/28 via bolt 12 in coupling hole , Fig 1, 5, 7) disposed between the wheel portion and the hub portion, wherein the third discharge surface is spaced apart from (Fig 2) the second discharge surface.
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, wherein the third discharge surface is provided in a position facing the foreign matter discharge portion such that the foreign matter discharge portion and the third discharge surface form the movement path through which the foreign matter passes (Abstract, and as described in paragraph 5 of this document)
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, wherein the third discharge surface has a width corresponding to a width of the foreign matter discharge portion (as shown AF2).
Regarding Claim 11, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly (1 “wheel supporting structure, Fig 7, Abstract) comprising: a wheel portion (not shown, would be connected to 9a flange, Abstract, Fig 1, 7) comprising a wheel flange portion (9a “rotation-side flange”), wherein the wheel flange portion comprises a foreign matter discharge portion (first, second, third discharge surfaces forming a path to 13a “foreign matter discharge hole”) having a first discharge surface (axially indented part of 9a, and adjacent surface of 13a “foreign matter discharge holes”, Page 3 Para 2 beginning “hub 3a is combined…”, Annotated Fig 2 “AF2”) and a second discharge surface (axial directed 30 “flange side layer difference part”, radially indented part of 9a, AF2) indented in different directions (just described) on an inner side surface (AF2) of the wheel flange portion; a hub portion (3a) connected to the wheel portion (just described), wherein the hub portion comprises a disk guide portion (AF2 “axial inner side of outer ring shaft 2a,) having a cylindrical shape protruding to one side (Fig 1), wherein the disk guide portion comprises a third discharge surface (26, AF2) formed by indenting an outer circumferential surface of the one side, and wherein the second discharge surface and the third discharge surface face each other (AF2), thereby forming a movement path for foreign matter between the second discharge surface and the third discharge surface (Abstract, Page 2, Para 2 beginning “In order to solve..”, Page 3 Para 2 beginning “hub 3a is combined…”,Page 4 Para 3 beginning “the rotating-side flange 9a…” , Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 11, further comprising: a brake disc portion (not shown, Page 5, Para 5 beginning “In addition, the outer ring….”, known in the art to be connected to flange 9a/28 via bolt 12 in coupling hole that passes through brake, flange and wheel portion, Fig 1, 5, 7) connected to the wheel portion and transmitting braking force, wherein the hub portion comprises a disk support portion supporting the brake disc portion.
Regarding Claim 13, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 12, wherein a coupling hole is formed in the wheel portion, the brake disc portion, and the hub portion, respectively (as described in paragraph 12 of this document), and where the foreign matter discharge portion and the third discharge surface are spaced apart from the coupling hole (Fig 1, AF2).
Regarding Claim 14, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 13, wherein the wheel portion, the brake disc portion (not shown, Page 5, Para 5 beginning “In addition, the outer ring….”, known in the art to be connected to flange 9a/28 via bolt 12 in coupling hole, Fig 1, 5, 7) and the hub portion are connected using a coupling bolt penetrating through the coupling hole (just described).
Regarding Claim 15, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 13, wherein the foreign matter discharge portion is formed in a number corresponding to that of the coupling hole (“phase coincidence” of 36 “hole” and 13a, Page 5, Par 2 beginning “As shown in Fig. 6…”, Page 5 Para 3 beginning However, in the rolling..” “improve assembling performance (avoiding) collision” , Page 5 Para 4 beginning “Therefore, through the outer ring…”) .
Regarding Claim 16, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 12, wherein the first discharge surface is formed in a circumferential direction of the wheel portion and the second discharge surface is formed in an axial direction (as shown AF2).
Regarding Claim 17, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 16, wherein the second discharge surface (radially between) extends between the wheel portion and the brake disc portion (not shown, Page 5, Para 5 beginning “In addition, the outer ring….”, known in the art to be connected to flange 9a/28 via bolt 12 in coupling hole, Fig 1, 5, 7).
Regarding Claim 18, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 11, wherein the third discharge surface is formed by forging using an annular mold (italicized limits: “Product by Process”, method limit in product claim, [i.e. product by process], not limiting: "The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production", (MPEP 2113)).
Regarding Claim 19, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 18, wherein the third discharge surface adjusts a width by changing a size of a radius of the annular mold (italicized limits: “Product by Process”, method limit in product claim, [i.e. product by process], not limiting: "The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production", (MPEP 2113).
Regarding Claim 20, Watanabe discloses the wheel assembly of claim 18, wherein a width of the third discharge surface increases or decreases in proportion to an increase or decrease in a radius of the annular mold (italicized limits: “Product by Process”, method limit in product claim, [i.e. product by process], not limiting: "The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production", (MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim discloses the wheel assembly of claim 1, wherein the predetermined slope of the second discharge surface is 90 degrees, but does not disclose wherein the predetermined slope has an angle of about 8 degrees to about 45 degrees relative to the inner side surface of the hubcap coupling portion.
The angular dimension(s) of the predetermined slope is/are not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, made as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a predetermined angle of the second surface of the foreign matter discharge portion to be in the range of 8 to 45 degrees, with the motivation to avoid sharp corners in which debris particles could become entrapped, with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to objections to Drawing Figure 2, and rejection of Claims 6-10 and 13-20 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of amendments to Figure 2 and claims. The drawing objections and claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claim(s) under 35 USC § 102 have been considered but are moot, in light of claim for which a new set of rejections in contained herein.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hobe (US-20150314817-A1 discloses a wheel having a foreign matter discharge portion including discharge surfaces and holes in wheel flange and wheel disc.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615