DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“communication apparatus”
1
No structure found in specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “communication apparatus” in claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The communication apparatus is illustrated as a black box without particular structure, and no particular structure is linked to the communication apparatus. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-4 have been found indefinite for reciting the 112(f) limitation "communication apparatus" for which there is not adequate structure disclosed for performing the corresponding function of "receives from a terminal…"; therefore there is a lack of written description since an indefinite unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function, known and unknown, and would indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. US PGPUB 2021/0170903.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Tsuchiya discloses an information manager that manages information on a use reservation to use a charging and discharging stand that is connected to a power grid and charges and discharges a power storage mounted on a vehicle [fig. 1; system 1], the information manager comprising:
a communication apparatus that receives from a terminal used for the use reservation [fig. 1, 30 receiving from 180 or 80 (fig. 2); pars. 68, 75, 80-81 & 93], request information and permission and rejection information, the request information requesting the use reservation for a reservation target period, the permission and rejection information indicating permission or rejection of participation into supply and demand balancing in the power grid, of the vehicle in use of the charging and discharging stand [pars. 68, 75, 80-81, 84-85, 93, 96 & 108; information concerning participation in demand response is included in information sent to the server along with a time for shceulding charging; figs. 4-5]; and
a controller that performs reservation processing for making the use reservation in accordance with the request information when participation of the vehicle into the supply and demand balancing is permitted [fig. 1 & 4; server 30], wherein
the controller obtains a state of charge (SOC) of the power storage and uses the obtained SOC to set an amount of charging and discharging and a period of charging and discharging of the vehicle during a period during which the supply and demand balancing is performed [pars. 84-85].
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya discloses the terminal [fig. 2, 80] and server [fig. 2, 30].
Regarding claim 6, the method steps disclosed therein would have been are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 1. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “wherein when the participation into the supply and demand balancing is not permitted, the controller performs provisional reservation processing for provisionally making the use reservation in accordance with the request information, and when the controller receives other request information with permission of the participation into the supply and demand balancing after the controller performs the provisional reservation processing, the controller cancels a provisional reservation and performs the reservation processing” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Oono CA 2922836 C discloses a system for determining whether an EV operator is willing to participate in demand response events and scheduling charging based on that knowledge.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859