CTFR 18/510,279 CTFR 80146 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250048460 A1 (Lee et al., hereinafter Lee in view of US 20240063981 A1 (Liu et al., hereinafter Liu) . Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device a (Fig. 2, “slave device (#1 and #2)”), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 2, “memory unit 125”); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (“control unit 124”, please see the two-way arrows between 124 and 125), individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to: receive a data packet on an isochronous (ISO) link (par. [0277], “a master device shall transmit a packet when each sub-event starts until a CIS event is closed. If a slave device receives the packet from the master device, the slave device may transmit response T_IFS…”); and transmit a low energy (LE) packet with feedback for the data packet (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”, where the ACL traffic corresponds to feedback for secure/controlled traffic). Although implied, Lee does not specifically disclose transmit a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent. In related art concerning uplink management for true wireless earbuds, Liu discloses transmit a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent (Figs. 3-4 and 7; par. [0045], “With acknowledgement 302, the left earbud transmits an upstream data packet 303 containing audio capturing using a microphone”; par. [0046], “Line 310 can demark separate subevents within an isochronous interval or separate isochronous intervals of Bluetooth LE Audio communications”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s teachings about transmit[ing] a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent with the method of transmitting and receiving data in short-range wireless communication system and device disclosed by Lee because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by combining the data packet with ACK in a sub-event/s, the receiver does not need to wait for the next connection event to respond; therefore, transmission latency is improved. Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (Fig. 2, “client device 110”), comprising: one or more memories (“memory unit 115”); and one or more processors (“control unit 114”), coupled to the one or more memories (please see the two-way arrows between 114 and 115), individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to: transmit a first set of ISO data packets on an isochronous (ISO) link (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “ data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”); receive a second set of ISO data packets on the ISO link (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”); receive a first set of feedback packets for the first set of ISO data packets (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”; par. [0277], “A device transmitting a CIS PDU with the CIE bit set to 1 does not transmit data in the remaining sub-event of the current CIS event. In general, if all payloads scheduled in both directions are transmitted and acknowledged.”); transmit a second set of feedback packets for the second set of ISO data packet ( par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”; par. [0277], “A device transmitting a CIS PDU with the CIE bit set to 1 does not transmit data in the remaining sub-event of the current CIS event. In general, if all payloads scheduled in both directions are transmitted and acknowledged.”) and transmit a low energy (LE) packet in [an ISO subevent] earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”, which will be inserted/used at an earlier sub-interval than what it was originally schedule ). Although implied, Lee does not specifically disclose transmit a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent. In related art concerning uplink management for true wireless earbuds, Liu discloses transmit a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent (Figs. 3-4 and 7; par. [0045], “With acknowledgement 302, the left earbud transmits an upstream data packet 303 containing audio capturing using a microphone”; par. [0046], “Line 310 can demark separate subevents within an isochronous interval or separate isochronous intervals of Bluetooth LE Audio communications”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s teachings about transmit[ing] a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent with the method of transmitting a low energy (LE) packet in earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet disclosed by Lee because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that instead of sending a feedback or other information, LE packets can be transmitted in available space from an earlier ISO event/interval; therefore, later scheduled space would be available for other subevents. Resources are saved and priorities are achieved for low delay data packets. Note : the subject matter of claims 9 and 22 (obvious or restrictable?) Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless device (par. [0001]), comprising: receiving a data packet on an isochronous (ISO) link (par. [0277], “a master device shall transmit a packet when each sub-event starts until a CIS event is closed. If a slave device receives the packet from the master device, the slave device may transmit response T_IFS…”); and transmitting a low energy (LE) packet with feedback for the data packet (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”, where the ACL traffic corresponds to feedback for secure/controlled traffic). Although implied, Lee does not specifically disclose transmit a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent. In related art concerning uplink management for true wireless earbuds, Liu discloses transmit a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent (Figs. 3-4 and 7; par. [0045], “With acknowledgement 302, the left earbud transmits an upstream data packet 303 containing audio capturing using a microphone”; par. [0046], “Line 310 can demark separate subevents within an isochronous interval or separate isochronous intervals of Bluetooth LE Audio communications”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s teachings about transmit[ing] a low energy (LE) packet and feedback for the data packet together in an ISO subevent with the method of transmitting and receiving data in short-range wireless communication system and device disclosed by Lee because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by combining the data packet with ACK in a sub-event/s, the receiver does not need to wait for the next connection event to respond; therefore, transmission latency is improved. Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless device (par. [0001], comprising: transmitting a first set of ISO data packets on an isochronous (ISO) link (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “ data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”); receiving a second set of ISO data packets on the ISO link (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”); receiving a first set of feedback packets for the first set of ISO data packets (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”; par. [0277], “A device transmitting a CIS PDU with the CIE bit set to 1 does not transmit data in the remaining sub-event of the current CIS event. In general, if all payloads scheduled in both directions are transmitted and acknowledged .”); transmitting a second set of feedback packets for the second set of ISO data packet (par. [0246] and Fig. 8, “data transmission and reception between a master device and a slave device (or a source device or a sink device) through a CIS channel is performed within ISO_interval. In this instance, the ISO_interval may include at least one sub-event, and data transmission from the master device to the slave device and data transmission from the slave device to the master device may be performed within one sub-event.”; par. [0277], “A device transmitting a CIS PDU with the CIE bit set to 1 does not transmit data in the remaining sub-event of the current CIS event. In general, if all payloads scheduled in both directions are transmitted and acknowledged .”); and transmitting a low energy (LE) packet earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet [in an ISO subevent] (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”). Although implied, Lee does not specifically disclose transmit a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent. In related art concerning uplink management for true wireless earbuds, Liu discloses transmit a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent (Figs. 3-4 and 7; par. [0045], “With acknowledgement 302, the left earbud transmits an upstream data packet 303 containing audio capturing using a microphone”; par. [0046], “Line 310 can demark separate subevents within an isochronous interval or separate isochronous intervals of Bluetooth LE Audio communications”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Liu’s teachings about transmit[ing] a low energy (LE) packet in an ISO subevent with the method of transmitting a low energy (LE) packet in earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet disclosed by Lee because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that instead of sending a feedback or other information, LE packets can be transmitted in available space from an earlier ISO event/interval; therefore, later scheduled space would be available for other subevents. Resources are saved and priorities are achieved for low delay data packets. Regarding claims 2 and 15, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein to transmit the LE packet, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to transmit the LE packet earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic”). Regarding claims 3, 12, 16 and 25, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 9, 14 and 22, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to transmit an indication that the LE packet is to be transmitted in the ISO subevent that is earlier than an LE event prescheduled for transmitting the LE packet (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic”). Regarding claims 4 and 17, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 3 and 16, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein the ISO subevent is after previous ISO subevents where all ISO data packets are received (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”). Regarding claims 6 and 19, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein to transmit the LE packet, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to transmit the LE packet in a same ISO subevent in which the ISO data packet is received, wherein the data packet is an ISO data packet (par. [0278], ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”). Regarding claims 7 and 20, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 6 and 19, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to increase a size of ISO subevents configured for an ISO interval (Fig. 17, please see adjusted subevents sizes. Where in BLE subintervals, (advIntervals) are increased by a random value between zero and 10ms (advDelay) for the purpose of collision avoidance). Regarding claims 8 and 21, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 6 and 19, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein to transmit the LE packet, the one or more processors are configured to cause the wireless device to transmit the LE packet based at least in part on a determination that there is no more data to be transmitted or received on the ISO link (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”). Regarding claims 10 and 23, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 9 and 22, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to move an LE anchor point associated with the LE event to a next ISO subevent start time (Fig. 17 and par. [0278], “Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.” Where the LE traffic is mixed with the ISO traffic using a next ISO subevent start time after the CIS event is moved to an early closing point). Regarding claims 11 and 24, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 9 and 22, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein to transmit the LE packet, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to transmit the LE packet in the ISO subevent after an ISO subevent in which a last feedback packet of the second set of feedback packets is transmitted (Fig. 17 and par. [0277], “…The link layer ends the CIS event in an end portion of the last sub-event. The master device or the slave device may also close early the CIS event using close isochronous event (CIE) bit. A device transmitting a CIS PDU with the CIE bit set to 1 does not transmit data in the remaining sub-event of the current CIS event. In general, if all payloads scheduled in both directions are transmitted and acknowledged, the link layer implementation is configured to early end the CIS event.”). Regarding claims 13 and 26, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 9 and 22, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein to transmit the LE packet, the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to transmit the LE packet with regular LE link parameters (par. [0278], “For ultra-low latency (ULL) data, because the length of the sub-event is short, even half of the set length of Sub_Interval may not be used. Therefore, an end portion of the entire Sub_Interval generally remains unused for data transmission. If a scheduler that utilizes the remaining portion of Sub_Interval that is not used for data transmission is configured, ACL traffic or other LE traffic may be mixed with ISO traffic.”; par. [0258], Please note that the LE traffic is mixed with ISO traffic; therefore, “commonly used or configured along with ISO data parameters”, as disclosed by the applicant in par. [0115]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Liu, and further in view of US 20200252162 A1 (Denboer et al., hereinafter Denboer) . Regarding claims 5 and 18, Lee and Liu disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to adjust a packet counter starting value for each ISO event. In related art concerning error correction for data packets in short-range wireless communications, Denboer discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to adjust a packet counter starting value for each ISO event (par. [0111], “The encryption component 504 may encrypt packets according to any one of a number of different encryption algorithms or protocols, such as the Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), or AES-counter with cipher block chaining message authentication code (CBC-MAC) (CCM) (AES-CCM). In one aspect, the encryption component 504 may generate a MIC value based on data that is to be transmitted, and the encryption component 504 may append the MIC value on the data that is to be included in a payload of a packet.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Denboer’s teachings wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless device to adjust a packet counter starting value for each ISO event with the method of transmitting and receiving data in short-range wireless communication system and device disclosed by Lee and Liu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the AES-counter would adjust the packet counter starting value for each ISO event, so that “security and/or integrity” is ensured (Denboer, par. [0111]). Note: The examiner has cited the PCT Written Opinion in this Office Action . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250119931 A1 relates to smartphone for providing short-range wireless communication network environment. US 20230299925 A1 relates to wireless data packet acknowledgement schemes. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Angelica Perez whose telephone number is 571-272-7885. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yuwen (Kevin) Pan can be reached at (571) 272-7855. The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and for After Final communications. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either the PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through the Private PAIR only. For more information about the pair system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll- free). Information regarding Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system can be found at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377. /ANGELICA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 2 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 3 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 4 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 5 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 6 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 7 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 8 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 9 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 10 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 11 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 12 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 13 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 14 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 15 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 16 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 17 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 18 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 19 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 20 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/510,279 Page 21 Art Unit: 2649