DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 15 November 2023 and the Applicant claims priority to provisional application 63/383,825 filed 15 November 2022. Therefore, the effective filing date of the instant application is 15 November 2022.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 03 September 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 03 September 2026, it is noted that claims 11-14 have been amended and no new claims have been canceled. Support for the amendments can be found in para. 8 of the specification. No new matter has been added.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 12 and 13 are dependent from claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maupin et al. (US 6849266 B2) in view of Rheaume et al. (EP 0250908 A2).
Regarding claim 11, Maupin teaches a device for controlling ectoparasites on small rodents (abs; entire teaching). The apparatus comprises an enclosure which is an opening to allow entry and exit of rodents. The device includes an applicator with an ectoparasiticide (col. 3, lns. 49-60). Acaricide in the instant claims is interpreted as a type of ectoparasiticide (substance to kill ticks and mites). The enclosure may include bait to lure the rodents (col. 8, lns. 37-53).
Regarding the amendment in claim 11, the limitation of “wherein the electrostatically charged microspheres are configured to be passively acquired by small mammals bearing an electric charge of the opposite polarity as the microspheres without said mammal making direct contact with an applicator within the station” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. The limitation is describing the process instead of the final product/device. The limitation is therefore interpreted as comprising “electrostatically charged microspheres.” "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 12, the opening of the device that allows for entry and egress of rodents is interpreted as excluding larger animals.
Regarding claim 13, parts of the enclosure of the device is made of plastic (col. 8, lns. 54-58), which is simultaneously interpreted as reusable.
Regarding claim 14, the ectoparasiticide in the enclosure may be applied using a fibrous material, such as strands of cotton wick (col. 8, ln. 66-col. 9, ln. 6), which is interpreted as a biodegradable material.
Maupin does not specifically teach electrostatically charged microspheres that are encapsulated with entomopathogenic acaricides in claim 11.
Rheaume teaches insecticides, such as microorganisms, bacteria, fungi, and viruses that are toxic to insects (pg. 4, lns. 30-34), such as mites (pg. 4, ln. 21), which is interpreted as an entomopathogenic acaricide in claim 11. The composition includes insecticides or pesticides that are entrapped by a charged polymer (pg. 2, lns. 27-28), where charged polymer is interpreted as “electrostatically charged” in claim 11. Rheaume provides an example of a bacteria that kills insects entrapped within a microsphere (Example 8), which is interpreted as an encapsulated microsphere comprising an electrostatically charged polymer and an entomopathogenic acaricide in claim 11. The composition can be applied to the pests or to the pests’ habitat (claims 15 and 16).
Since Maupin does not specifically teach electrostatically charged microspheres that are encapsulated with entomopathogenic acaricides in claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Rheaume’s teaching with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have recognized the additional benefit of using an entrapped or encapsulated entomopathogenic acaricide for increased persistence and stability of the pesticides (Rheaume; pg. 2, lns. 22-23) in Maupin’s composition, which also prioritizes long-lasting and stable compositions (Maupin; col. 5, lns. 36-40). Furthermore, Rheaume’s teaching of using an entrapped or encapsulated entomopathogenic acaricide in a charged polymer with Maupin’s composition would result in a contactless device wherein based on the properties of ionic forces, the charged polymer will necessarily be able to transfer to an oppositely charged surface. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Maupin and Rheaume do not recite or suggest the language of independent claim 11 and the amendments (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Regarding the amendment in claim 11, the limitation of “wherein the electrostatically charged microspheres are configured to be passively acquired by small mammals bearing an electric charge of the opposite polarity as the microspheres without said mammal making direct contact with an applicator within the station” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. The limitation is describing the process instead of the final product/device. The limitation is therefore interpreted as comprising “electrostatically charged microspheres.” "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
The Applicant argues that the teachings call for an applicator, which is not required in independent claim 11 (Remarks, pg. 11).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Rheaume’s teaching of using an entrapped or encapsulated entomopathogenic acaricide in a charged polymer with Maupin’s composition would result in a contactless device wherein based on the properties of ionic forces, the charged polymer will necessarily be able to transfer to an oppositely charged surface.
The Applicant argues that Rheaue teaches using a molecular charge to entrap an active ingredient, whereas the present invention utilizes statistically-charged carriers (Remarks, pg. 11).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Absent of a clear definition of “electrostatically charged microspheres” from the Applicant’s disclosure, as recited in instant claim 11, the limitation is given its broadest reasonable interpretation using customary and ordinary meaning. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as a microsphere with an electrical charge. The composition in Rheaume’s teaching includes insecticides or pesticides that are entrapped by a charged polymer (pg. 2, lns. 27-28), where charged polymer is interpreted as “electrostatically charged” in claim 11. Rheaume provides an example of a bacteria that kills insects entrapped within a microsphere (Example 8), which is interpreted as an encapsulated microsphere comprising an electrostatically charged polymer and an entomopathogenic acaricide in claim 11.
The Applicant argues that dependent claims 12-14 are patentable (Remarks, pg. 12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Regarding claim 12, the opening of the device that allows for entry and egress of rodents is interpreted as excluding larger animals. Regarding claim 13, parts of the enclosure of the device is made of plastic (col. 8, lns. 54-58), which is simultaneously interpreted as reusable. Regarding claim 14, the ectoparasiticide in the enclosure may be applied using a fibrous material, such as strands of cotton wick (col. 8, ln. 66-col. 9, ln. 6), which is interpreted as a biodegradable material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613