DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/8/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ESTABLISHING AN ASSOCIATION TO A BASIC SERVICE SET IDENTIFIER IN A DATA NETWORK.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (Pub No: 2023/0089624), herein Lin ‘624, and further in view of Lin (Pub No: 2015/0334579), herein Lin 2.
As to claim 1, Lin ‘624 teaches a method of operation of a wireless network comprising a plurality of wireless clients and an access point, the access point having at least one BSSID basic service set identifier (Lin ‘624, Fig 1, the method in a network with wireless clients D1/D2 and AP 103 with BSSID), the method comprising:
inhibiting broadcast of at least a first SSID service set identifier from the access point (Lin ‘624, [0029], omitting the SSID from broadcasted beacon frames from the access point);
receiving a first probe message from a first wireless client at the access point, the first probe message carrying a first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID);
accessing a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID)
using a first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the first wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the first wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration) .
Lin ‘624 does not explicitly teach sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server.
However, Lin2 teaches sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “sending a request to a server for a profile” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
As to claim 2, Lin ‘624 teaches comprising: inhibiting broadcast of at least a second SSID service set identifier from the access point (Lin ‘624, [0029], omitting the SSID from broadcasted beacon frames from the access point [0034] a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID); receiving a second probe message from a second wireless client at the access point, the second probe message carrying a second SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID [0034] a different device with different SSID); a second wireless local area network profile for the second SSID service set identifier at the access point (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID); and using the first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the second wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the second wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID).
Lin ‘624 teaches sending a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a profile from a server.
However, Lin2 teaches a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a profile from a server. (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “receiving a profile from a server” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches comprising: inhibiting broadcast (Lin ‘624, [0029], omitting the SSID from broadcasted beacon frames from the access point); of at least the first and second SSID service set identifiers by using hidden SSID mode (Lin ‘624, [0034], different SSIDS are omitted).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches comprising: receiving messages carrying wireless local area network profiles (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID) associated with a greater number of SSID service set identifiers at the access point from the server than a number of BSSID basic service set identifiers available for the access point (Lin ‘624, multiple different SSIDS with one BSSID. Greater SSIDs than BSSID).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches wherein the or each BSSID basic service set identifier is a predetermined MAC address of the access point (Lin ‘624, the BSSID is a MAC header address).
As to claim 7, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches wherein the wireless local area network profile contains details of a security code for access to a service associated with a SSID service set identifier (Lin, ‘624, [0017] [0037] the profile contains credentials (security code) for the SSID and device).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches wherein the security code is a passphrase (Lin, ‘624, [0017] [0037], the credential is a password).
As to claim 9, Lin ‘624 teaches an access point for a wireless network comprising a plurality of wireless clients and the access point, the access point having at least one basic service set identifier(Lin ‘624, Fig 1, an AP in the network with wireless clients D1/D2 and AP 103 with BSSID), and the access point comprising one or more processors configured to cause the access point (Lin ‘624, [0043], the AP has a processor) :
in dependence on receiving a first probe message from a first wireless client, the first probe message carrying a first SSID service set identifier(Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID) accessing a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID)
in dependence on a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID), to use a first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the first wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the first wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration).
Lin ‘624 does not explicitly teach sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server.
However, Lin2 teaches sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “sending a request to a server for a profile” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
As to claim 10, Lin ‘624 teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the access point: in dependence on receiving a second probe message from a second wireless client at the access point, the second probe message carrying a second SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID [0034] a different device with different SSID); a second wireless local area network profile for the second SSID service set identifier at the access point (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID); and in dependence on a message carrying a second wireless local area network profile for the second SSID (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID), using the first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the second wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the second wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID).
Lin ‘624 teaches sending a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a profile from a server.
However, Lin2 teaches a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a profile from a server. (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “receiving a profile from a server” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches comprising: inhibiting broadcast (Lin ‘624, [0029], omitting the SSID from broadcasted beacon frames from the access point)of at least the first and second SSID service set identifiers by using hidden SSID mode (Lin ‘624, [0034], different SSIDS are omitted).
As to claim 13, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches comprising: receiving messages carrying wireless local area network profiles (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID) associated with a greater number of SSID service set identifiers at the access point from the server than a number of BSSID basic service set identifiers available for the access point (Lin ‘624, multiple different SSIDS with one BSSID. Greater SSIDs than BSSID).
As to claim 14, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches wherein the or each BSSID basic service set identifier is a predetermined MAC address of the access point (Lin ‘624, the BSSID is a MAC header address).
As to claim 15, Lin ‘624 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions executable by one or more processors to cause an access point having at least one BSSID basic service set identifier (Lin ‘624, Fig 1, an AP in the network with wireless clients D1/D2 and AP 103 with BSSID) to:
in dependence on receiving a first probe message from a first wireless client, the first probe message carrying a first SSID service set identifier(Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID) accessing a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID)
in dependence on a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID), to use a first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the first wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the first wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration).
Lin ‘624 does not explicitly teach sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server.
However, Lin2 teaches sending a first request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the first SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a first wireless local area network profile for the first SSID service set identifier at the access point from the server (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “sending a request to a server for a profile” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
As to claim 16, Lin ‘624 teaches storing instructions executable by one or more processors to cause the access point to: in dependence on receiving a second probe message from a second wireless client at the access point, the second probe message carrying a second SSID service set identifier (Lin ‘624, [0030], receiving/detecting a probe request which specifies a first SSID [0034] a different device with different SSID); a second wireless local area network profile for the second SSID service set identifier at the access point (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID); and in dependence on a message carrying a second wireless local area network profile for the second SSID (Lin ‘624, [0014-0015], the AP accesses a configuration with a authentication server profile associated with the SSID), using the first BSSID basic service set identifier to establish an association between the second wireless client and the access point to provide access to a wireless local area network according to the second wireless local area network profile (Lin ‘624, [0034][0017], the AP uses the profile and configuration data with the BSSID to authenticate and associate the device 101 with the WLAN according to the configuration [0034] the profile is from a different device with a different SSID and associates with the same single BSSID).
Lin ‘624 teaches sending a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier; receiving a message carrying a profile from a server.
However, Lin2 teaches a request message from the access point to a server of the access point requesting a wireless local area network profile associated with the SSID service set identifier (Lin2, [0041][0042], sending a VAP setup request to a server requesting a station profile for the station using the SSID in the request. [0003] the station is a profile for a station in a wireless local area network of the AP); receiving a message carrying a profile from a server. (Lin2, [0041][0042], receiving a reply with the station profile for the requested SSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “receiving a profile from a server” as taught by Lin2 in the system of Lin ‘624, so that it would provide better management of APs creating a high throughput network for customized wireless services (Lin2, [0004][0005]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Benveniste (Pub No: 2002/0163933).
As to claim 4, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches an access point and a server (see citations for claim 1).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the access point is an access point for at least part of a multi-dwelling building and the server is a server for the multi-dwelling building.
However, Benveniste teaches wherein the access point is an access point for at least part of a multi-dwelling building and the server is a server for the multi-dwelling building (Benveniste, [0062], an AP is in a multi-unit dwelling and the system is for the multi-unit dwelling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “the AP in a multi-unit dwelling” as taught by Benveniste in the system of Benveniste, so that it would overlapping cell coverage to users that can be shared (Benveniste, [0063]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Lin ‘624 and Lin 2 teaches an access point and a server (see citations for claim 9).
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the access point is an access point for at least part of a multi-dwelling building and the server is a server for the multi-dwelling building.
However, Benveniste teaches wherein the access point is an access point for at least part of a multi-dwelling building and the server is a server for the multi-dwelling building (Benveniste, [0062], an AP is in a multi-unit dwelling and the system is for the multi-unit dwelling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “the AP in a multi-unit dwelling” as taught by Benveniste in the system of Benveniste, so that it would overlapping cell coverage to users that can be shared (Benveniste, [0063]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Divvi et al (Pub No: 2023/0300719) [0090]-[0102].
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469