DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (4,073,245) in view of Tyler (8,439,607).
With regard to claim 1, Anderson discloses a method for creating a sediment control device (levee L), comprising:
clearing native soil on a tract of land of vegetation (col. 6, lines 28-34); turning over the native soil (col. 6, lines 28-34) and forming the native soil into a berm (fig. 2).
Anderson fails to explicitly state filtering the native soil, wherein unwanted larger particles or materials are removed; importing one or more soil binders; applying the one or more soil binders to the native soil; blending the one or more soil binders into the native soil; incorporating a reinforcement into the blended native soil and covering the berm with a protective covering.
Tyler discloses creating a sediment control device comprising soil and further comprising filtering the native soil, wherein unwanted larger particles or materials are removed (col. 3, lines 26-37); importing one or more soil binders and applying the one or more soil binders to the native soil (col. 4, lines 46-53); blending the one or more soil binders into the native soil (col. 4, lines 46-53); incorporating a reinforcement into the blended native soil (col. 2, lines 34-63) and covering the berm with a protective covering (vegetation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson and utilize binder and reinforcement in the berm as taught in Tyler, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to further strengthen the berm.
With regard to claim 2, Anderson further discloses the step of turning over the soil comprises disking (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 3, Anderson, as modified, further discloses the step of applying the one or more soil binders comprises broadcasting (Tyler, col. 4, lines 54-63).
With regard to claim 4, Anderson, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state the berm comprises a height between 4 inches and two feet. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the berm be any desired size to include 4 inches to two feet based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 5, Anderson further discloses the protective covering encourages vegetation growth (e.g. claim 1).
With regard to claims 6-8, Anderson, as modified, further discloses the one or more soil binders comprise a polymer (Tyler, col. 4, lines 46-53), the reinforcement comprises natural fibers, the reinforcement comprises synthetic fibers (Tyler, col. 2, lines 34-63).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (4,073,245) in view of Tyler (8,439,607), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Engwer (2001/0053545).
With regard to claim 9, Anderson, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to disclose the protective covering comprises a hydromulch product.
Engwer discloses covering a sediment control device with hydromulch (para 0013).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Anderson and utilize hydromulch on the berm as taught in Engwer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently apply seed to the berm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the independent claim(s). Creating sediment control devices are known such as those taught by Anderson (4,073,245), Tyler (8,439,607), and Engwer (2001/0053545). However, the cited prior art lacks destroying the berm; and leaving the destroyed berm materials in place as required by the independent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
10/08/2025