DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the following communication: Non-provisional Application No. 18/510,332 filed on 11/15/2023.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1 and 16 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4, 8-10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaginides et al., US 20170308705 (hereinafter Karaginides) in view of Louis et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,421,777 (hereinafter Louis) in view of Randall et al., US 2005/0132351 (hereinafter Randall).
In regards to claim 1, Karaginides teaches:
For a RAN (radio access network), a method of rapidly upgrading a plurality of machines distributed across a plurality of cell sites, downloading a second boot disk for each of the plurality of machines at each of the plurality of cell sites, the second boot disk comprising an upgraded version of a first boot disk currently used by each of the plurality of machines; and for each particular machine (p. 1, [0006]), see “various features relate to OTA image updating (e.g., software/programming updates) for a device while utilizing anti-rollback functionality in processing devices”, (p. 1, [0002]), see “over-the-air programming (OTA) refers to various methods of distributing new software updates... to devices like cellphones, set-top boxes or secure voice communication equipment (e.g., encrypted 2-way radios). One important feature of OTA is that one central location can send an update to all the users, who are unable to refuse, defeat, or alter that update, and that the update may apply immediately to every device on the channel. In the context of mobile devices OTA may include over-the-air service provisioning (OTASP)” and (p. 8, [0068]), see “the device receives a second device image via a communication interface 1104 and initiates a first boot of the device 1106. In certain illustrative embodiments, the second device image may be an updated image for the device (e.g., OTA image). The at least one boot loader is instructed to perform security processing (e.g., integrity check, authentication) on the second device image and set and execute the second device image as a trial image after security processing on the second device image is successful 1108. The device monitors the executed second device image to determine if predetermined operational parameters in the device are met 1110”.
Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
each particular machine of the plurality of machines executing one or more base station applications.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 30-34), see “RPL.Map 412 provides an identification of which images are to be downloaded to a client. In particular, RPL.Map 412 contains entries for each client. Each entry includes a client identifier and an identifier of the image that is to be sent to the client in response to a reboot by the client”.
powering off the particular machine; replacing the first boot disk of the particular machine with the second boot disk that is the upgraded version of the first boot disk; and powering on the particular machine.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 6-20), see “the processes of the present invention also may be applied to the sending of any combination of images, including more than just the boot image, down to a target client. For example, an initial BIOS Flash Utility may be downloaded as the boot image, followed by reboot. During the reboot, a DOS image with a hardware scan program may be downloaded followed by reboot. When this second reboot occurs, an OS/2 based installer image may be then downloaded followed by a reboot in which a local boot image is then downloaded. As can be seen, the present invention allows a wide ranging set of maintenance tasks on a target client computer. An installer image contains a full DOS environment with which the install program is run. The local boot image is a set of instructions to load the boot sector of the hard disk”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
creating a copy of data stored by a data disk of the particular machine to preserve data stored currently on the data disk.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 2, Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach::
each particular machine executes a local agent, wherein the method is performed for each particular machine by the local agent of the particular machine.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 30-34), see “RPL.Map 412 provides an identification of which images are to be downloaded to a client. In particular, RPL.Map 412 contains entries for each client. Each entry includes a client identifier and an identifier of the image that is to be sent to the client in response to a reboot by the client”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
In regards to claim 3, Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach::
sending a notification to a control plane server for the plurality of cell sites, the notification indicating the particular machine has been successfully upgraded.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 9, lines 21-25), see “the State update program changes the state to LOCAL to indicate a successful installation of the target client operating system. This results in the state deamon 410 on server 406 switching the boot image indicated in the RPL.MAP configuration file 412 to LocalBoot”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
discarding the copy of the data based on the particular machine being successfully upgraded.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 4, Karaginides teaches:
downloading the second boot disk for the particular machine comprises receiving a message from the control plane server that (i) indicates the second boot disk has been uploaded to a datastore of the particular cell site (p. 6, [0052]) see “an OTA image upgrade may be requested/obtained from a server device 902 (e.g., server device 118). This request may be generated within the server device”.
Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
(ii) directs the local agent to download the second boot disk from the datastore.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 6-20), see “the processes of the present invention also may be applied to the sending of any combination of images, including more than just the boot image, down to a target client. For example, an initial BIOS Flash Utility may be downloaded as the boot image, followed by reboot. During the reboot, a DOS image with a hardware scan program may be downloaded followed by reboot. When this second reboot occurs, an OS/2 based installer image may be then downloaded followed by a reboot in which a local boot image is then downloaded. As can be seen, the present invention allows a wide ranging set of maintenance tasks on a target client computer. An installer image contains a full DOS environment with which the install program is run. The local boot image is a set of instructions to load the boot sector of the hard disk”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
In regards to claim 8, Karaginides teaches:
powering off the particular machine; reverting the second boot disk of the particular machine to the first boot disk of the particular machine; using the copy of the data to revert the data disk of the particular machine; powering on the particular machine (p. 1, [0005]), see “if the OTA image crashes in the first execution after passing image authentication and blowing anti-rollback version OTPs, the previous current image is invalidated, which forces the device to restore itself using the factory-set default (golden) image”.
Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
when upgrading the particular machine fails, the method further comprises: sending a notification to a control plane server for the plurality of cell sites, the notification indicating upgrading the particular machine has failed.
However, Louis teaches such use: (Fig. 4, see client 400, Server 406, 410 State Daemon)” and (column 10, lines 17-19), see “if state daemon failed, no further updates will be made to the remote boot file RPL.MAP 412. If possible, the daemon will write an error message into an error log”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
discarding the copy of the data.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 9, Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
said powering off, reverting, using, discarding, and powering are performed after receiving a directive from the control plane server in response to the notification to perform said powering, reverting, using, discarding, and powering on.
However, Randall teaches such use: (p. 4, [0067] In an embodiment according to the present invention, an electronic device end-user may activate/initiate a hard rollback by pressing down on a power key, some other key, or even a combination of keys, for some duration of time, for example, 6 seconds. In an embodiment according to the present invention, the DM server 127 may be capable of initiating a rollback of the firmware/software from an updated version to a previous/un-updated version, for example, a version copied/saved in the backup zone 133 in NVM 109”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 10, Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
receiving the directive from the control plane server comprises receiving the directive from the control plane server via a management server for the plurality of cell sites.
However, Randall teaches such use: (p. 4, [0067] In an embodiment according to the present invention, an electronic device end-user may activate/initiate a hard rollback by pressing down on a power key, some other key, or even a combination of keys, for some duration of time, for example, 6 seconds. In an embodiment according to the present invention, the DM server 127 may be capable of initiating a rollback of the firmware/software from an updated version to a previous/un-updated version, for example, a version copied/saved in the backup zone 133 in NVM 109”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 16, Karaginides teaches:
For a RAN (radio access network), a non-transitory machine readable medium storing a program for execution by a set of processing units, the program for rapidly upgrading a plurality of machines distributed across a plurality of cell sites, downloading a second boot disk for each of the plurality of machines at each of the plurality of cell sites, the second boot disk comprising an upgraded version of a first boot disk currently used by each of the plurality of machines; and for each particular machine (p. 1, [0006]), see “various features relate to OTA image updating (e.g., software/programming updates) for a device while utilizing anti-rollback functionality in processing devices”, (p. 1, [0002]), see “over-the-air programming (OTA) refers to various methods of distributing new software updates... to devices like cellphones, set-top boxes or secure voice communication equipment (e.g., encrypted 2-way radios). One important feature of OTA is that one central location can send an update to all the users, who are unable to refuse, defeat, or alter that update, and that the update may apply immediately to every device on the channel. In the context of mobile devices OTA may include over-the-air service provisioning (OTASP)” and (p. 8, [0068]), see “the device receives a second device image via a communication interface 1104 and initiates a first boot of the device 1106. In certain illustrative embodiments, the second device image may be an updated image for the device (e.g., OTA image). The at least one boot loader is instructed to perform security processing (e.g., integrity check, authentication) on the second device image and set and execute the second device image as a trial image after security processing on the second device image is successful 1108. The device monitors the executed second device image to determine if predetermined operational parameters in the device are met 1110”.
Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
each particular machine of the plurality of machines executing one or more base station applications.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 30-34), see “RPL.Map 412 provides an identification of which images are to be downloaded to a client. In particular, RPL.Map 412 contains entries for each client. Each entry includes a client identifier and an identifier of the image that is to be sent to the client in response to a reboot by the client”.
powering off the particular machine; replacing the first boot disk of the particular machine with the second boot disk that is the upgraded version of the first boot disk; and powering on the particular machine.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 6-20), see “the processes of the present invention also may be applied to the sending of any combination of images, including more than just the boot image, down to a target client. For example, an initial BIOS Flash Utility may be downloaded as the boot image, followed by reboot. During the reboot, a DOS image with a hardware scan program may be downloaded followed by reboot. When this second reboot occurs, an OS/2 based installer image may be then downloaded followed by a reboot in which a local boot image is then downloaded. As can be seen, the present invention allows a wide ranging set of maintenance tasks on a target client computer. An installer image contains a full DOS environment with which the install program is run. The local boot image is a set of instructions to load the boot sector of the hard disk”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
creating a copy of data stored by a data disk of the particular machine to preserve data stored currently on the data disk.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 17, Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
each particular machine executes a local agent, wherein the sets of instructions are performed for each particular machine by the local agent of the particular machine.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 7, lines 30-34), see “RPL.Map 412 provides an identification of which images are to be downloaded to a client. In particular, RPL.Map 412 contains entries for each client. Each entry includes a client identifier and an identifier of the image that is to be sent to the client in response to a reboot by the client”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
In regards to claim 18, Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
sending a notification to a control plane server for the plurality of cell sites, the notification indicating the particular machine has been successfully upgraded.
However, Louis teaches such use: (column 9, lines 21-25), see “the State update program changes the state to LOCAL to indicate a successful installation of the target client operating system. This results in the state deamon 410 on server 406 switching the boot image indicated in the RPL.MAP configuration file 412 to LocalBoot”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
discarding the copy of the data based on the particular machine being successfully upgraded.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
In regards to claim 20, Karaginides teaches:
powering off the particular machine; reverting the second boot disk of the particular machine to the first boot disk of the particular machine; using the copy of the data to revert the data disk of the particular machine; powering on the particular machine (p. 1, [0005]), see “if the OTA image crashes in the first execution after passing image authentication and blowing anti-rollback version OTPs, the previous current image is invalidated, which forces the device to restore itself using the factory-set default (golden) image”.
Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
when upgrading the particular machine fails, the program further comprises sets of instructions for: sending a notification to a control plane server for the plurality of cell sites, the notification indicating upgrading the particular machine has failed.
However, Louis teaches such use: (Fig. 4, see client 400, Server 406, 410 State Daemon)” and (column 10, lines 17-19), see “if state daemon failed, no further updates will be made to the remote boot file RPL.MAP 412. If possible, the daemon will write an error message into an error log”.
Karaginides and Louis are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides and Louis before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides to include the teachings of Louis, as a system for managing boot images, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help maintain system administrative knowledge of enterprise-wide computer configurations as suggested by Louis (column 7, lines 6-20, column 13, lines 15-32).
Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
discarding the copy of the data.
However, Randall teaches such use: (Abstract), see “disclosed herein is a network communicating with a plurality of mobile electronic devices. The network and the mobile electronic devices may support rollback of updated firmware/software from an updated version to a previous version. The previous version may be stored in non-volatile memory in the mobile electronic device. The non-volatile memory may be, for example, a NAND-type flash memory. In an embodiment according to the present invention, a backup zone of non-volatile memory may be employed to backup firmware/software to be updated in the mobile electronic device” and (p. 5, [0078]), see “in an embodiment according to the present invention, after a successful update has been performed on firmware/software, the backup zone 133A may be erased/deleted/overwritten, for example. In an embodiment according to the present invention, erasing a NAND-type flash memory, such as for example, NAND-type flash memory portion 188A illustrated in FIG. 1A may be efficiently performed”.
Karaginides, Louis and Randall are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis and Randall before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides and Louis, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Randall, as a system for employing software rollback, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to determining when a rollback is necessary as suggested by Randall (p. 5, [0078], p. 9, [0133]).
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaginides in view of Louis in view of Randall in view of Fang et al., CN 102024129 A (hereinafter Fang).
In regards to claim 1 the rejections above are incorporated respectively.
In regards to claim 11, Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
the second boot disk comprises (i) an upgraded operating system (OS), (ii) an upgraded runtime component, and (iii) upgraded CVE (common vulnerabilities and exposures) patches.
However, Fang teaches such use: (p. 8, [0074]), see “the new image file is written into the internal memory card module 20 to realize the update of the operating system” and (p. 2, [0003]), see “generally, the operating system of the embedded device memory in the form of writing embedded device in a single image file. image file typically includes boot code for the embedded device is initialized, data (e.g., other application programs) and other driving program of each component of the embedded device to realize the predetermined functions of the embedded device application program, dynamic link library, database, multimedia files, other desired included in embedded device. method of writing image file generally called recording method. has been developed out of the various recording methods, such as a patch after burning method, patch front recording method and so on”.
Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Fang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Fang before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Fang, as a system for writing data for embedded devices, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to simplify the device write flash process, as suggested by Fang (p. 2, [0003]), p. 9, [0086]).
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaginides in view of Louis in view of Randall in view of Moiin et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,550,017 (hereinafter Moiin).
In regards to claim 1 the rejections above are incorporated respectively.
In regards to claim 12, Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
the data stored by the data disk comprises a current configuration file for the particular machine and a set of current runtime data for the particular machine.
However, Moiin teaches such use: (column 10, lines 38-58), see “the global database manager 130 forms a central repository of the system resources, their physical masters, and their backups. It is a system wide and fault tolerant service providing a global and consistent name space and repository services. The global database manager 130 provides a generic database service allowing database entries to be added and removed consistently in the system. In addition, the database can be queried from any node of the distributed system. The global database manager 130 is used by the infrastructure of the system to store configuration parameters, and can be extended to include runtime data, that must be maintained consistently across the system. A two-phase commit protocol can be used to implement the global database manager such that the consistency of the database is guaranteed following an update. The global database manager 130, through the management subsystem 126, allows a user to update the database via a command line interface and exports a library intended for the other programs in the system. The global database manager 130 allows for the rolling upgrade and the addition and removal of nodes or services by the system administrator”.
Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Moiin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Moiin before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Moiin, as a system for monitoring distributed fault tolerant system, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to mask software failures as suggested by Moiin (column 10, lines 38-58, column 14, last para.).
8. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karaginides in view of Louis in view of Randall in view of Ambre et al., U.S. Patent No. 12,020,011 (hereinafter Ambre).
In regards to claim 1 the rejections above are incorporated respectively.
In regards to claim 13, Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
the particular machine comprises a particular virtual machine (VM) executing on a particular host computer.
However, Ambre teaches such use: (column 1, lines 7-17), see “in conventional virtual computing environments, life cycle management of components, e.g., management Points of Delivery (PODs) and workload PODS, may be complex and cumbersome. Compatibility between a management component and workload components is essential for the operation of the computing environments. Furthermore, applications executing within the virtual computing environment often require updating to ensure performance and functionality. Management of updates may also be difficult due to the distributed nature of conventional virtual computing environments”.
Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Ambre, as a system for upgrade of a virtualization system, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help managing an upgrade of a virtualization infrastructure component as suggested by Ambre (column 1, lines 7-17), column 16, lines 12-30).
In regards to claim 14, Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
the one or more base station applications executed by the particular VM are executed within pods running on the particular VM.
However, Ambre teaches such use: (column 1, lines 7-17), see “in conventional virtual computing environments, life cycle management of components, e.g., management Points of Delivery (PODs) and workload PODS, may be complex and cumbersome. Compatibility between a management component and workload components is essential for the operation of the computing environments. Furthermore, applications executing within the virtual computing environment often require updating to ensure performance and functionality. Management of updates may also be difficult due to the distributed nature of conventional virtual computing environments”.
Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Ambre, as a system for upgrade of a virtualization system, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help managing an upgrade of a virtualization infrastructure component as suggested by Ambre (column 1, lines 7-17), column 16, lines 12-30).
In regards to claim 15, Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides doesn’t explicitly teach:
the one or more base station applications comprises one or more vDUs (virtual distributed units).
However, Ambre teaches such use: (column 1, lines 7-17), see “in conventional virtual computing environments, life cycle management of components, e.g., management Points of Delivery (PODs) and workload PODS, may be complex and cumbersome. Compatibility between a management component and workload components is essential for the operation of the computing environments. Furthermore, applications executing within the virtual computing environment often require updating to ensure performance and functionality. Management of updates may also be difficult due to the distributed nature of conventional virtual computing environments”.
Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, software updates.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teaching of Karaginides, Louis, Randall and Ambre before him or her, to modify the system of Karaginides, Louis and Randall, in particular Karaginides to include the teachings of Ambre, as a system for upgrade of a virtualization system, and accordingly it would enhance the system of Karaginides, which is focused on device rollback, because that would provide Karaginides with the ability to help managing an upgrade of a virtualization infrastructure component as suggested by Ambre (column 1, lines 7-17), column 16, lines 12-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-7 and 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As per claims 5 and 19, prior art of record does not each and/or fairly suggest that “the control plane server uploads the second boot disk to the datastore of the particular cell site after receiving an API (application programming interface) call that defines an upgrade plan and an upgrade bundle for upgrading the plurality of cell sites, the upgrade bundle comprising the second boot disk”. The art of record does not expressly disclose such features.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publications
Skan 7698698 teaches a method for receiving, storing, and applying an update package to modify an original image stored within non-volatile flash memory devices. More specifically, the present design provides a download agent responsible for communicating with a server to transfer and store the update package; and an update agent responsible for verifying, decompressing and decoding the update package.
Suthar 20200396142 a Network Functions Virtualization Orchestrator (NFVO) obtains a radio service descriptor defining communication parameters for a radio in a virtual Radio Access Network (vRAN). Based on the radio service descriptor, the NFVO determines whether a virtual Distributed Unit (vDU) that is configured in accordance with the communication parameters and a virtual Centralized Unit (vCU) that is configured in accordance with the communication parameters are already instantiated in the vRAN. If it is determined that the vDU or the vCU is not already instantiated, the NFVO automatically instantiates the vDU or the vCU in the vRAN.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EVRAL E BODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193