DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office action is in response to Applicant’s filing on 11/15/2023. Claims 1-22 are pending. The earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention is 09/05/2017.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,829,981. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference is that the patented independent claims have the following added language:
The ”configured to be handled by an operator as a handheld device in a hand of the operator within any other support structure” is the added language, and is the language that’s different between the two sets of claims. This is an obvious variation of the current claims, as data capture devices are typically handheld (i.e. capable of being held in the hand).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 4 recite “the battery charge level” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. See where claims 3 and 4 are dependent upon claim 5, not claim 2. This renders the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “to secure the secure the mobile device. . . . in line 2. This renders the claim indefinite as it does not make grammatical sense, and thereby the scope of the claim is unascertainable. The examiner recommends deleting the italicized language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17, 18, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2003/0132298 to Swartz (“Swartz”) in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0209965 to Maack (“Maack”).
With regard to claim 1, Swartz discloses the claimed data capture system for use within a venue (e.g. [0043] The present invention will be described in terms of an improved retail shopping system.), comprising:
a data capture device repository housing a plurality of data capture devices, each of the plurality of data capture devices configured to capture product data via an imaging component, each of the plurality of data capture devices having a respective housing (see e.g. [0090] dispenser unit 230 that holds several portable terminal with barcode reader, and dispenses said terminal(s) individually to users, as disclosed; [0092] The hand-held portable terminal 240 is stored in one of a plurality of slots 234 in the dispenser unit 230.);
a first data acquisition assembly configured to capture, via a mobile device associated with a customer, customer data associated with the customer (see e.g. [0088-89] card reader, biometric reader); and
a server having at least one hardware processor, the server being communicatively coupled to at least one of the data capture device repository and the first data acquisition assembly, the server being configured to, upon the first data acquisition assembly capturing the customer data associated with the customer, associate one of the plurality of data capture devices with at least one of the customer and the customer data associated with the customer, resulting in an associated data capture device, wherein the data capture device repository is configured to lockingly house each of the plurality of data capture devices (see e.g. [0011] [0042-43] [0051] [0059-64] [0092] [0095] [0108] etc., central host 14 and controller 150 functioning as the central host for the portable terminals. The controller/host is coupled to portable terminals via wireless LAN and to POS systems, it also interacts with the entrance unit 220/dispenser unit 230 and processes biometric data; [0092] Each of the slots is physically and electronically marked and may be provided with locking means for locking the portable terminal 240 in place until the portable terminal is assigned for use to a customer.), and
wherein the data capture device repository is further configured to, responsive to an association of the one of the plurality of data capture devices with the at least one of the customer and the customer data associated with the customer, unlock the associated data capture device for removal of the associated data capture device from the data capture device repository upon a receipt of an unlock signal (see e.g. [0092] when the portable terminal is assigned to a customer, the locking means is disengaged, allowing removal; if the terminal is not removed in time, it is relocked and the customer’s data file is updated. The disengagement is under control of the central processor / controller 150 and implies an electronic control signal).
Swartz does not explicitly disclose the unlock signal. Maack teaches at e.g. [0008] [0011] published claim 1 and 6, abstract that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the portable electronic device art to include the ability to generate an electronic signal to respective activate or deactivate said mechanical lock 102. Where the motivation to combine this feature from Maaqck to Swartz, is shown in Maack at [0001] “a software controlled mechanical lock for the prevention of theft of portable electronic devices such as battery-powered medical and consumer electronic devices.” See also Maack, [0007] Thus, it is in object of the present invention to provide a security system for a portable electronic device for preventing unauthorised removal thereof from a docking station without the need to perform repeated mechanical operations to selectively activate and deactivate the security system. Maack [0011].
With regard to claim 17, Swartz further discloses a mobile application (app) implementing a graphical user interface (GUI), the mobile app configured to execute instructions, via one or more processors of the mobile device, to compile a product register, the product register including a list of products whose respective product data has been captured via the associated data capture device, the product register being stored within a memory of the mobile device (see e.g. published claim 19).
With regard to claim 18, Swartz further discloses where the mobile app is further configured to execute the instructions to remove a to-be-removed product from the list of products upon (i) receiving a trigger indicative of a product-subtraction operation and (ii) capturing, via the associated data capture device, the respective product data associated with the to-be-removed product (see e.g. [0046] [0055] [0098]).
With regard to claim 20, Swartz further discloses where the server is further configured to, upon a detection of a repositioning of the associated data capture device into the data capture device repository, close a session for products whose respective product data has been captured via at least one of the associated data capture device and the mobile device (see e.g. [0108-112]).
With regard to claim 21, Swartz discloses the associated data capture device includes a charge pack configured to be connected to and to provide power to the mobile device ([0246]).
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swartz, Maack, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0156207 to Frankenberger (“Frankenberger”).
With regard to claim 2-4, Swartz does not disclose claim 2. Swartz discloses that the scanner can be equipped with a battery at e.g. [0049], [0050], [0054], [0236] [0238]. Swartz does not appear to disclose that the scanner is chosen based on a battery charge level. Frankenberger teaches at e.g. [0025-28] where the device(s) are charged in the housing, and then when the battery level reaches various threhsold(s) alert(s) to different degrees can be provided to a user to indicate that the device is ready to be used. The obvious advantage to this combination is that the user is able to select the device, or the device being selectively available to the user, based on the battery charge threshold satisfied, charge level, or the like, as described in Frankenberger at cited portions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mobile device art to include selection based on the charge level of the electronic device, as shown in Frankenstein, where this is beneficial in that the user is able to select the device, or the device being selectively available to the user, based on the battery charge threshold satisfied, charge level, or the like
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swartz, Maack, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0189006 to Smus et al. (“Smus”)
With regard to claims 5-7, Swartz/Maach does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 5, 6. For claim 7, see Swartz at e.g. [0225] where the system is fully capable of providing alerts to customer(s) based on time. For the pairing aspects, see Smus. Smus teaches at e.g. abstract, [0004] [0005-8] [0016-20] [0047-49] entering wireless pairing mode, pair a first and second device, and pairing credentials such as various identifiers and token at [0047-49]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the electronic device art before the effective filing date of modify Swartz/Maack to include such pairing between devices, as shown in Smus, where the advantage of such added functionality allows for data transfer between the devices. See Smus, [0004]
Claim(s) 8-11, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swartz, Maack, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0032559 to Sonnendorfer et al. (“Sonnendorfer”).
With regard to claim 8-11, 19, Swartz/ Maack do not teach claim 8-11, 19. Sonnendorfer does teach where the associated data capture device is removably attachable to a shopping cart having an item-receiving area (see e.g. Fig. 2). For claim 9 FOV, see e.g. [0117]. For claim 10, see e.g. [0016] [0083]. For claim 11, see [0083] and associated figures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the electronic device art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such ability to scan a shopping cart, and removably attach mobile device to capture device, as shown in Sonnendofer, where this is beneficial as it makes it possible for wholesale and retail to offer their customers a simple payment system, which is readily used by the same and which can be operated without a large personnel requirement. See Sonnendorfer, [0066], [0258] improved customer loyalty, [0007-9].
Claim(s) 12-16, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swartz, Maack, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0262554 to Elliott (“Elliott”).
With regard to claim 12-13, 15-16, Swartz and Maack do not teach claims 12-13, 15-16. Elliott teaches the mobile device with GUI, shopping list maintained in memory and product database, indication of product selection and removal from pending shopping list (see e.g. Fig. 6, [0099-101] [0108] etc.). For claim 13 see e.g. Elliott [0099-103]. For claim 15-16 directional guidance at e.g. Elilliott [0099-103]. For claim 22, see recipes and ingredients list at e.g. [0059-65] [0073-74] [0083-84] etc.. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the device art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Swartz/Maack to include such shopping cart GUI and navigation features, as shown in Elliot, as this provides the added benefit of assisting the shopping identify items they need and how to get them as efficiently as possible. See Elliot.
With regard to claim 14, Swartz further discloses where the mobile app is further configured to execute the instructions to provide a running total cost of all products for which the respective product data has been captured (see e.g. [0098]).
Conclusion
/PETER LUDWIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627