DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11-15 are pending.
Claims 4 and 9-10 are canceled.
Claims 1, 5-6, 11-12, 13, and 15 are amended.
Specifically, independent claims 1, 13, and 15 are amended; claims 5-6 and 11-12 are amended to correct dependencies due to claims 4 and 9-10 being canceled.
Claim 14 is an electronic device comprising a processor achieving the content search method of claim 1; claim 14 is original, performing the method of amended claim 1.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11-15 are rejected.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/CN2022/091918 filed 05/10/2022 associated with CN202110631031.7 filed 06/07/2021.
Statutory Review under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 11-12 are directed towards a method and have been reviewed.
Claims 1-3 and 7 appear to be directed to patent-eligible subject matter as the claims are not directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 1 does not recite any abstract ideas but contains additional elements “receiving,” “displaying,” “displaying,” and “displaying.”
Claims 2-3 and 7 also do not recite any abstract ideas and contain the additional elements of their respective parent claims.
Claims 4 and 9-10 were not directed to patent-eligible subject matter as they performed a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application; however, claims 4 and 9-10 have been canceled.
Claims 5-6, 8, and 11-12 remain directed to patent-eligible subject matter as their judicial exceptions are integrated into a practical application as per (Revised) Step 2A, Prong Two of the patent subject matter eligibility determination.
Claim 13 is directed toward a system and has been reviewed.
Claim 13 initially appears to remain statutory under 35 USC § 101, as it invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). A claim that properly recites a means-type limitation cannot be software per se because it necessarily includes the processor along with the special programming that accomplishes the function.
Claim 13 appears to remain directed to patent-eligible subject matter as the claim is not directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 14 is directed toward a system and has been reviewed.
Claim 14 initially appears to remain statutory, as the system includes hardware, “a memory,” described in the specification in at least ¶ 00221 as “hardware.”
The instant specification, notably FIG. 8, ¶ 00218-00221, is interpreted as providing the appropriate support, reciting, “FIG. 8 shows a schematic structural diagram of an electronic device provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure” and “the electronic device 800 may include a processing apparatus 801 (e.g., a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, etc.), which can perform various suitable actions and processing according to a program stored in a read-only memory (ROM) 802…”
Claim 14 does recite “a processor.” The specification does not specifically define its mentions of a “processor” as hardware. The specification does recite a processing apparatus 801 in the context of the memory and does recite examples being a central processing unit or a graphics processing unit (which would normally be considered exemplary in nature). The Examiner is interpreting the processor as supported by the processing apparatus 801 and its examples of a central processing unit or a graphics processing unit at this time.
Claim 14 appears to remain directed to patent-eligible subject matter as the claim is not directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 15 is directed toward an article of manufacture and have been reviewed.
Claim 15 initially appears to remain statutory, as the article of manufacture excludes signals (claim says ‘non-transitory’).
Claim 15 appears to remain directed to patent-eligible subject matter as the claim is not directed to a judicial exception.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p9, filed 09/11/2025, with respect to the cancelation of rejected claims 4 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections are moot.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pp10-11, filed 09/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Smith.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because it uses a generic placeholder “receiving unit” and “display unit” coupled with functional language “configured to” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claim 13 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
¶ 00219, “The electronic device 800 in some embodiments of the present disclosure may include but are not limited to mobile terminals such as a mobile phone, a notebook computer, a digital broadcasting receiver, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable Android device (PAD), a portable media player (PMP), a vehicle-mounted terminal (e.g., a vehicle-mounted navigation terminal), a wearable device, or the like, and fixed terminals such as a digital TV, a desktop computer, a smart home device, or the like”
¶ 00228-00229, “the electronic device is caused to: receive a search keyword … and display various target contents by region on a search result page”
[specifically regarding “receiving”]
¶ 00222, “Usually, the following apparatus may be connected to the I/O interface 805: an input apparatus 806 including, for example, a touch screen, a touch pad, a keyboard, a mouse, a camera, a microphone, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or the like”
[specifically regarding “displaying”]
¶ 00222, “an output apparatus 807 including, for example, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a loudspeaker, a vibrator, or the like; a storage apparatus 808 including, for example, a magnetic tape, a hard disk, or the like; and a communication apparatus 80”
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Response to Amendments - 35 USC § 101
Claim 4 and 9-10 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101; however, the claims have been canceled, and the rejections are now moot.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claim 5 introduces detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, which is a mental process.
Claim 5 also introduces updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region. The additional elements recited within the claim are mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
This judicial exception of detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page is integrated into a practical application despite its generically recited computer elements.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to updating displayed content based on the direction of the first triggering operation. While merely performing the update based on a first triggering operation would not be considered an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the consideration of the direction of the first triggering operation improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Thus, claim 5 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim 6 introduces detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page, which is a mental process.
Claim 6 also introduces playing a multimedia content displayed in a second target display region sequentially. The additional elements recited within the claim are mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
This judicial exception of detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page is integrated into a practical application despite its generically recited computer elements.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to beginning playback of displayed content after detection of a second triggering operation. The detection is the judicial exception; however, the detection resulting in the initiation of multimedia content playback shows improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Thus, claim 6 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim 8 recites determining relation to a target group and determining relation to a target entity object and further recites a display mode of the bullet-screen information being determined and determining a target display mode corresponding to target bullet-screen information, which is a mental process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
This judicial exception of determining relation to a target group and determining relation to a target entity object, and a display mode of the bullet-screen information being determined, and determining a target display mode corresponding to target bullet-screen information is integrated into a practical application despite its generically recited computer elements.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to displaying both the plurality of comment controls and the first multimedia content in an identical region, each comment control belonging to an individual publisher, each publisher having a particular attribute that dictates display of an input target comment content according to a display mode driven by the publisher-specific attribute tied to the comment control being used.
In particular, the combination of additional elements use the determinations in a specific manner that sufficiently limits the use of the mental processes to the practical application of displaying information differently based on which comment control feature (of the plurality of simultaneously displayed comment control features) is being activated and what publisher is associated with it.
These additional claim elements improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Thus, claim 8 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim 11 introduces detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, which is a mental process.
Claim 11 also introduces updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region. The additional elements recited within the claim are mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
This judicial exception of detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page is integrated into a practical application despite its generically recited computer elements.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to updating displayed content based on the direction of the first triggering operation. While merely performing the update based on a first triggering operation would not be considered an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, the consideration of the direction of the first triggering operation improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Thus, claim 11 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim 12 introduces detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page, which is a mental process.
Claim 12 also introduces playing a multimedia content displayed in a second target display region sequentially. The additional elements recited within the claim are mere generic transmission and presentation of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
This judicial exception of detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page is integrated into a practical application despite its generically recited computer elements.
Specifically, the claims recite additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. The claims have been evaluated to ensure that the claims reflect the disclosed improvement: the claims are drawn to beginning playback of displayed content after detection of a second triggering operation. The detection is the judicial exception; however, the detection resulting in the initiation of multimedia content playback shows improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical fields, thus integrating the abstract exception into a practical application.
Thus, claim 12 is directed to patent-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0151969 (hereinafter Campbell) in view of Smith et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0394198 (hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches:
A content search method, comprising: receiving a search keyword, (Campbell FIG. 3, ¶ 0038-0039: if the user is searching for a specific performer and/or group, the user may perform a keyword search for the desired result, using the keyword search prompt 360; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
wherein the search keyword matches with a target entity object, (Campbell ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
and the target entity object is an entity object corresponding to a target event; (Campbell ¶ 0022: if a user uploads a video of a sporting event, music recital, movie, etc. [shows an event], the user can tag himself/herself at various points of the video … The tagging may include the point in the video in which the play begins, the point in which the play ends, the name of the performer(s) involved in the performance of interest, the team name, the coach name, the venue, the performer position, and/or other information; see then this in light of ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video || also relevant is Campbell FIG. 4, ele. 458, ¶ 0040-0041 describing events: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future)
displaying various target contents by region on a search result page, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466)
wherein the target content comprises at least event information related to the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future; see also FIG. 4, FIG. 6, ¶ 0044: In response to selection of the game preview option 662, the user may be provided with information regarding the performer's next game. Information, such as trends, historical data, predictions, etc. may be provided)
and a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object in the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The user interface 450 may include information about the "Lexington Dragons," [see pictured an icon or logo])
wherein the target event involves a plurality of groups, (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: the user may select the action identity option 760 to tag that point in the content, as well as identify the player involved, the teams involved, the action that occurred, etc.)
and each of the groups comprises a plurality of entity objects, and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event; (Campbell FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing a first multimedia content.
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event,
Campbell further does not expressly disclose:
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword.
However, Smith addresses this by teaching the following.
Smith teaches a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object… (Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0075-0077: FIGS. 7A and B are illustrations of a user interface 700 including graphic editorial comments 702. Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Graphical editorial comments are selected from a premade list. Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold. Other examples that convey a similar meaning may include a graphic of three buckets on fire or a toilet)
Smith further teaches:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event, (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: The game actions are sport specific, for example, queries would not reference a baseball player when asking if the player would score a touchdown. Accordingly, the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with; Smith FIG. 5, ¶ 0061: The live game-feed(s) 502 receive game updates of current athletic contests which are sufficiently rich as to enable the algorithmic/procedural creation of editorial content. The feeds 502 provide stats for each player and team involved in a given athletic contest)
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s), team(s) [shows target group as a keyword], position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target group])
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword. (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s) [shows target entity object as a keyword], team(s), position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) and others are generated pre-game (e.g., those that pertain to season or career averages) ... Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target entity object])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell with the editorial comments of Smith.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell and Smith) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as display of retrieved data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell displaying desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Smith also displaying desired results to a user but with also enabling heuristics to sort and pair queries to comments more efficiently and to categorize training data into machine learning models as seen in Smith ¶ 0073-0074.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve upon schemes in order to provide a more dynamic experience where betting queries are generated during games and based on the action that is happening as the game progresses as seen in Smith ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell teaches:
A content search apparatus, comprising: a first receiving unit, configured to receive a search keyword, (Campbell FIG. 3, ¶ 0038-0039: if the user is searching for a specific performer and/or group, the user may perform a keyword search for the desired result, using the keyword search prompt 360; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
wherein the search keyword matches with a target entity object, (Campbell ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
and the target entity object is an entity object corresponding to a target event; and (Campbell ¶ 0022: if a user uploads a video of a sporting event, music recital, movie, etc. [shows an event], the user can tag himself/herself at various points of the video … The tagging may include the point in the video in which the play begins, the point in which the play ends, the name of the performer(s) involved in the performance of interest, the team name, the coach name, the venue, the performer position, and/or other information; see then this in light of ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video || also relevant is Campbell FIG. 4, ele. 458, ¶ 0040-0041 describing events: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future)
a first display unit, configured to display various target contents by region on a search result page, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466)
wherein the target content comprises at least event information related to the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future; see also FIG. 4, FIG. 6, ¶ 0044: In response to selection of the game preview option 662, the user may be provided with information regarding the performer's next game. Information, such as trends, historical data, predictions, etc. may be provided)
and a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object in the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The user interface 450 may include information about the "Lexington Dragons," [see pictured an icon or logo])
wherein the target event involves a plurality of groups, (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: the user may select the action identity option 760 to tag that point in the content, as well as identify the player involved, the teams involved, the action that occurred, etc.)
and each of the groups comprises a plurality of entity objects, and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event; (Campbell FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing a first multimedia content.
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event,
Campbell further does not expressly disclose:
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword.
However, Smith addresses this by teaching the following.
Smith teaches a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object… (Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0075-0077: FIGS. 7A and B are illustrations of a user interface 700 including graphic editorial comments 702. Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Graphical editorial comments are selected from a premade list. Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold. Other examples that convey a similar meaning may include a graphic of three buckets on fire or a toilet)
Smith further teaches:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event, (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: The game actions are sport specific, for example, queries would not reference a baseball player when asking if the player would score a touchdown. Accordingly, the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with; Smith FIG. 5, ¶ 0061: The live game-feed(s) 502 receive game updates of current athletic contests which are sufficiently rich as to enable the algorithmic/procedural creation of editorial content. The feeds 502 provide stats for each player and team involved in a given athletic contest)
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s), team(s) [shows target group as a keyword], position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target group])
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword. (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s) [shows target entity object as a keyword], team(s), position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) and others are generated pre-game (e.g., those that pertain to season or career averages) ... Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target entity object])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell with the editorial comments of Smith.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell and Smith) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as display of retrieved data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell displaying desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Smith also displaying desired results to a user but with also enabling heuristics to sort and pair queries to comments more efficiently and to categorize training data into machine learning models as seen in Smith ¶ 0073-0074.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve upon schemes in order to provide a more dynamic experience where betting queries are generated during games and based on the action that is happening as the game progresses as seen in Smith ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 14, Campbell teaches:
An electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, used to store executable instructions, wherein the processor is used to read the executable instructions from the memory and execute the executable instructions to achieve the content search method according to claim 1. (Campbell ¶ 0031: FIG. 2 depicts a remote computing device for content identification and linking, according to one or more embodiments shown and described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the remote computing device 104 includes a processor 230 ... a data storage component 236 (which stores profile data 238a and content data 238b), and the memory component 140; ¶ 0033: The processor 230 may include any processing component operable to receive and execute instructions (such as from the data storage component 236 and/or memory component 140); ¶ 0035: Included in the memory component 140 are the operating logic 242, the profile logic 144a and the content logic 144b. The operating logic 242 may include an operating system and/or other software for managing components of the remote computing device 104)
[the entirety of claim 1 has been replicated below]
A content search method, comprising: receiving a search keyword, (Campbell FIG. 3, ¶ 0038-0039: if the user is searching for a specific performer and/or group, the user may perform a keyword search for the desired result, using the keyword search prompt 360; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
wherein the search keyword matches with a target entity object, (Campbell ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
and the target entity object is an entity object corresponding to a target event; (Campbell ¶ 0022: if a user uploads a video of a sporting event, music recital, movie, etc. [shows an event], the user can tag himself/herself at various points of the video … The tagging may include the point in the video in which the play begins, the point in which the play ends, the name of the performer(s) involved in the performance of interest, the team name, the coach name, the venue, the performer position, and/or other information; see then this in light of ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video || also relevant is Campbell FIG. 4, ele. 458, ¶ 0040-0041 describing events: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future)
displaying various target contents by region on a search result page, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466)
wherein the target content comprises at least event information related to the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future; see also FIG. 4, FIG. 6, ¶ 0044: In response to selection of the game preview option 662, the user may be provided with information regarding the performer's next game. Information, such as trends, historical data, predictions, etc. may be provided)
and a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object in the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The user interface 450 may include information about the "Lexington Dragons," [see pictured an icon or logo])
wherein the target event involves a plurality of groups, (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: the user may select the action identity option 760 to tag that point in the content, as well as identify the player involved, the teams involved, the action that occurred, etc.)
and each of the groups comprises a plurality of entity objects, and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event; (Campbell FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing a first multimedia content.
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event,
Campbell further does not expressly disclose:
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword.
However, Smith addresses this by teaching the following.
Smith teaches a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object… (Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0075-0077: FIGS. 7A and B are illustrations of a user interface 700 including graphic editorial comments 702. Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Graphical editorial comments are selected from a premade list. Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold. Other examples that convey a similar meaning may include a graphic of three buckets on fire or a toilet)
Smith further teaches:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event, (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: The game actions are sport specific, for example, queries would not reference a baseball player when asking if the player would score a touchdown. Accordingly, the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with; Smith FIG. 5, ¶ 0061: The live game-feed(s) 502 receive game updates of current athletic contests which are sufficiently rich as to enable the algorithmic/procedural creation of editorial content. The feeds 502 provide stats for each player and team involved in a given athletic contest)
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s), team(s) [shows target group as a keyword], position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target group])
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword. (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s) [shows target entity object as a keyword], team(s), position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) and others are generated pre-game (e.g., those that pertain to season or career averages) ... Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target entity object])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell with the editorial comments of Smith.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell and Smith) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as display of retrieved data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell displaying desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Smith also displaying desired results to a user but with also enabling heuristics to sort and pair queries to comments more efficiently and to categorize training data into machine learning models as seen in Smith ¶ 0073-0074.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve upon schemes in order to provide a more dynamic experience where betting queries are generated during games and based on the action that is happening as the game progresses as seen in Smith ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 15, Campbell teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to: (Campbell ¶ 0031: FIG. 2 depicts a remote computing device for content identification and linking, according to one or more embodiments shown and described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the remote computing device 104 includes a processor 230 ... a data storage component 236 (which stores profile data 238a and content data 238b), and the memory component 140; ¶ 0033: The processor 230 may include any processing component operable to receive and execute instructions (such as from the data storage component 236 and/or memory component 140))
receive a search keyword, (Campbell FIG. 3, ¶ 0038-0039: if the user is searching for a specific performer and/or group, the user may perform a keyword search for the desired result, using the keyword search prompt 360; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
wherein the search keyword matches with a target entity object, (Campbell ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video; FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3))
and the target entity object is an entity object corresponding to a target event; and (Campbell ¶ 0022: if a user uploads a video of a sporting event, music recital, movie, etc. [shows an event], the user can tag himself/herself at various points of the video … The tagging may include the point in the video in which the play begins, the point in which the play ends, the name of the performer(s) involved in the performance of interest, the team name, the coach name, the venue, the performer position, and/or other information; see then this in light of ¶ 0023: if a search engine performs a web crawl or other mechanism to locate content for indexing, the search engine may locate the tagged video || also relevant is Campbell FIG. 4, ele. 458, ¶ 0040-0041 describing events: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future)
display various target contents by region on a search result page, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466)
wherein the target content comprises at least event information related to the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future; see also FIG. 4, FIG. 6, ¶ 0044: In response to selection of the game preview option 662, the user may be provided with information regarding the performer's next game. Information, such as trends, historical data, predictions, etc. may be provided)
and a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object in the target event, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: The user interface 450 may include information about the "Lexington Dragons," [see pictured an icon or logo])
wherein the target event involves a plurality of groups, (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: the user may select the action identity option 760 to tag that point in the content, as well as identify the player involved, the teams involved, the action that occurred, etc.)
and each of the groups comprises a plurality of entity objects, and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event; (Campbell FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing a first multimedia content.
An interpretation of Campbell results in this embodiment not expressly disclosing:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event,
Campbell further does not expressly disclose:
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword.
However, Smith addresses this by teaching the following.
Smith teaches a first multimedia content associated with the target entity object… (Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0075-0077: FIGS. 7A and B are illustrations of a user interface 700 including graphic editorial comments 702. Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Graphical editorial comments are selected from a premade list. Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold. Other examples that convey a similar meaning may include a graphic of three buckets on fire or a toilet)
Smith further teaches:
and the target entity object belongs to a target group among the groups involved in the target event, (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: The game actions are sport specific, for example, queries would not reference a baseball player when asking if the player would score a touchdown. Accordingly, the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with; Smith FIG. 5, ¶ 0061: The live game-feed(s) 502 receive game updates of current athletic contests which are sufficiently rich as to enable the algorithmic/procedural creation of editorial content. The feeds 502 provide stats for each player and team involved in a given athletic contest)
in response to time for receiving the search keyword being within an event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information on the search result page which is obtained based on the target group in the target event as a keyword; and (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s), team(s) [shows target group as a keyword], position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target group])
in response to the time for receiving the search keyword not being within the event occurrence period of the target event, displaying event information [on] the search result page which is obtained based on the target entity object in the target event as a keyword. (Smith FIG. 4, ¶ 0020-0022: Queries may include permutations of, “Will player/team X perform game action Y, within Z time?” for all active games, each second of the game ... queries are generated for every possible permutation of variables. In the (X, Y, Z) example, the X value is for an actor (e.g., player(s) [shows target entity object as a keyword], team(s), position(s) held by player(s)) … the possible variables include assigned metadata that indicates which sport/team/position the player or action is associated with ... Queries may refer to multiple players, multiple teams or multiple actions. Each query includes a set of metadata. The metadata is based on any combination of the query style/type, the variables used within the specific query and the game state when the query is generated; see then Smith FIGs. 7A-7B, ¶ 0073-0078: the editorial comments are generated during the athletic contest (e.g., those based on how the current game has gone) and others are generated pre-game (e.g., those that pertain to season or career averages) ... Two separate graphical editorial comments 702A, B are displayed with the same query 704 (whether the presented player, Russel Westbrook, will score 3 or more points, expressed as an over/under prompt, in the next 180 seconds of game time) ... Examples include the “fire” icon 702A and the “ice” icon 702B, each respectively indicating that a player/team is hot or cold [shows displaying event information based on the target entity object])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell with the editorial comments of Smith.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell and Smith) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as display of retrieved data.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell displaying desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Smith also displaying desired results to a user but with also enabling heuristics to sort and pair queries to comments more efficiently and to categorize training data into machine learning models as seen in Smith ¶ 0073-0074.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to improve upon schemes in order to provide a more dynamic experience where betting queries are generated during games and based on the action that is happening as the game progresses as seen in Smith ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 2, Campbell in view of Smith teaches:
wherein the event information comprises at least one of: basic information of a target group to which the target entity object belongs, (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462 ... The standings option 460 may provide standings for the league that the group is a member. The team content option 462 may provide options to view and/or identify content associated with the group; FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
game information of the target group, game schedule information of the target group, or (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040-0041: by selecting the season stats option 452, the user may be provided with one or more season statistics for the Lexington Dragons as a group … The schedule option 458 may provide the user with a listing of events (such as games for the Lexington Dragons) that are occurring in the near future. The standings option 460 may provide standings for the league that the group is a member. The team content option 462 may provide options to view and/or identify content associated with the group)
basic information of other entity objects in the target group except for the target entity object. (Campbell FIG. 5, ¶ 0042: the Lexington Dragons is a soccer team and the performers include a coach 552a, a midfielder 552b, a striker 552c, a first defender 552d, a second defender, and a goalkeeper 552f … the administrator may additionally have rights to control the content and layout of the individual performer profiles that are associated with the group)
Regarding claim 3, Campbell in view of Smith teaches:
wherein the target content further comprises a second multimedia content associated with the target group in the target event. (Campbell ¶ 0026 shows a target group and a target event as claimed through its team and game: the performance social network can tag points in the video where a performance of interest occurs that involves that player. As discussed above, the tagging may include various information including player name, team name, current score of the game (at that point in the content), final score of the game, player statistics, team statistics, etc. || Campbell ¶ 0027 shows second multimedia content as claimed: Additionally, a highlight video may also be provided in the player profile that may be dynamically configured based on a user selection. As an example, the player profile may include a plurality of different game videos; see also relevant Campbell ¶ 0051: This allows a user to quickly view highlights of individual players, types of plays, etc. Additionally, other options may be provided, such as those that compile highlights of a single game, season, etc. into a single video (and/or audio) stream of content)
Regarding claim 6, Campbell in view of Smith teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 above including:
wherein, after displaying the various target contents by region on the search result page, the method further comprises: (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040 shows displaying on a results page: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466; see then afterwards occurring in at least Campbell ¶ 0041, "The team content option 462 may provide options to view and/or identify content associated with the group"; see then FIG. 9, ¶ 0050: in response to selecting the team content option 462 (FIG. 4), the user interface 950 may be provided)
in response to detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page, playing a multimedia content displayed completely in a second target display region sequentially according to a multimedia order corresponding to the second target display region operated by the second triggering operation. (Campbell FIG. 9, ¶ 0050-0051 describe playing multimedia content, see first ¶ 0050: Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group. The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein [see this being an ordered listing]; see then ¶ 0051: This allows a user to quickly view highlights of individual players, types of plays, etc. ... the user interface 950 may be provided with a video stream that only includes those highlights. Additionally, the user may be provided with options to view particular highlights with the options provided in the tagged content listing area 954; see also relevant ¶ 0052-0053 with its respective listing [also exhibiting a multimedia order as required by the claims]: the tagged content listing area 1054 includes tagged portions of content of a common performer (e.g., Ed Harkin), which are provided in a content area 1052)
Regarding claim 12, similar to claim 6 but not including claim 6’s intervening claim 3, Campbell in view of Smith teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above including:
wherein, after displaying the various target contents by region on the search result page, the method further comprises: (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040 shows displaying on a results page: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466; see then afterwards occurring in at least Campbell ¶ 0041, "The team content option 462 may provide options to view and/or identify content associated with the group"; see then FIG. 9, ¶ 0050: in response to selecting the team content option 462 (FIG. 4), the user interface 950 may be provided)
in response to detecting a second triggering operation on the search result page, playing a multimedia content displayed completely in a second target display region sequentially according to a multimedia order corresponding to the second target display region operated by the second triggering operation. (Campbell FIG. 9, ¶ 0050-0051 describe playing multimedia content, see first ¶ 0050: Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group. The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein [see this being an ordered listing]; see then ¶ 0051: This allows a user to quickly view highlights of individual players, types of plays, etc. ... the user interface 950 may be provided with a video stream that only includes those highlights. Additionally, the user may be provided with options to view particular highlights with the options provided in the tagged content listing area 954; see also relevant ¶ 0052-0053 with its respective listing [also exhibiting a multimedia order as required by the claims]: the tagged content listing area 1054 includes tagged portions of content of a common performer (e.g., Ed Harkin), which are provided in a content area 1052)
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Smith in further view of Santhanam et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0078133 (hereinafter Santhanam).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell in view of Smith teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 above including:
wherein, after displaying the various target contents by region on the search result page, the method further comprises: (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040 shows displaying on a results page: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466; see then afterwards occurring in at least Campbell ¶ 0041, "by selecting the season stats option 452, the user may be provided with one or more season statistics for the Lexington Dragons as a group," ¶ 0042, "in response to selecting the current roster option 456 from FIG. 4, the user interface 550 may be provided with a listing of performers 552a-552f that are a part of the group," and ¶ 0044, "in response to selection of the season stats option 652, the user may be provided with individual season statistics of the performer of the user interface 650")
Campbell in view of Smith does not expressly disclose:
in response to detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region according to an operation direction of the first triggering operation and a multimedia order corresponding to the first target display region operated by the first triggering operation.
However, Santhanam teaches:
in response to detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region according to an operation direction of the first triggering operation… (Santhanam teaches updating displayed content through its scrolling, see specifically FIG. 1, step 108, step 114, ¶ 0019: At 108, a search results canvas (e.g., a search engine results page) for the search query may be segmented into a set of content interface slots … a content interface slot may comprise a horizontally scrollable interface slot within which one or more content interfaces may be populated such that a user may horizontally scroll between content interfaces; see also ¶ 0022-0023: At 114, a content interface layout may be constructed on the search results canvas ... The content interface may be assigned to a content interface slot corresponding to the exploration type (e.g., the horizontally scrollable interface may be amenable to the browsing exploration type because the user may easily scroll and browse through images or other supplemental content...); see also FIGs. 2, ¶ 0026, step 212: The content interface layout component 206 may segment a search results canvas 210 into a set of content interface slots, such as a horizontally scrollable interface slot 212)
and a multimedia order corresponding to the first target display region operated by the first triggering operation. (Santhanam FIG. 1, step 114, ¶ 0022: At 114, a content interface layout may be constructed on the search results canvas ...a content interface slot may be populated with a set of content interfaces according to an ordering that is derived from the content interest context (e.g., a content interface comprising highly interesting content (e.g., relative to the search query) may be ordered before other content interfaces with relatively less interesting content); FIG. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell as modified with the search result display interaction of Santhanam.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell as modified and Santhanam) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as search result interfaces.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell as modified displaying pages comprising desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Santhanam also displaying pages comprising desired results to a user but with the added ability to manipulate the displayed information.
Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement content interface layouts dynamically created and tailored to particular users and/or content interest contexts as seen in Santhanam (¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 11, similar to claim 5 but not including claim 5’s intervening claim 3, Campbell in view of Smith teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above including:
wherein, after displaying the various target contents by region on the search result page, the method further comprises: (Campbell FIG. 4, ¶ 0040 shows displaying on a results page: the user interface 450 may be provided in response to a user performing a keyword search for "Lexington Dragons" in the user interface 350 (FIG. 3) … the user interface 450 may include a season stats option 452, an individual stats option 454, a current roster option 456, a schedule option 458, a standings option 460, a team content option 462, an upload content option 464, and an other option 466; see then afterwards occurring in at least Campbell ¶ 0041, "by selecting the season stats option 452, the user may be provided with one or more season statistics for the Lexington Dragons as a group," ¶ 0042, "in response to selecting the current roster option 456 from FIG. 4, the user interface 550 may be provided with a listing of performers 552a-552f that are a part of the group," and ¶ 0044, "in response to selection of the season stats option 652, the user may be provided with individual season statistics of the performer of the user interface 650")
Campbell in view of Smith does not expressly disclose:
in response to detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region according to an operation direction of the first triggering operation and a multimedia order corresponding to the first target display region operated by the first triggering operation.
However, Santhanam teaches:
in response to detecting a first triggering operation on the search result page, updating a multimedia content displayed in a first target display region according to an operation direction of the first triggering operation… (Santhanam teaches updating displayed content through its scrolling, see specifically FIG. 1, step 108, step 114, ¶ 0019: At 108, a search results canvas (e.g., a search engine results page) for the search query may be segmented into a set of content interface slots … a content interface slot may comprise a horizontally scrollable interface slot within which one or more content interfaces may be populated such that a user may horizontally scroll between content interfaces; see also ¶ 0022-0023: At 114, a content interface layout may be constructed on the search results canvas ... The content interface may be assigned to a content interface slot corresponding to the exploration type (e.g., the horizontally scrollable interface may be amenable to the browsing exploration type because the user may easily scroll and browse through images or other supplemental content...); see also FIGs. 2, ¶ 0026, step 212: The content interface layout component 206 may segment a search results canvas 210 into a set of content interface slots, such as a horizontally scrollable interface slot 212)
and a multimedia order corresponding to the first target display region operated by the first triggering operation. (Santhanam FIG. 1, step 114, ¶ 0022: At 114, a content interface layout may be constructed on the search results canvas ...a content interface slot may be populated with a set of content interfaces according to an ordering that is derived from the content interest context (e.g., a content interface comprising highly interesting content (e.g., relative to the search query) may be ordered before other content interfaces with relatively less interesting content); FIG. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell with the search result display interaction of Santhanam.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell displaying pages comprising desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Santhanam also displaying pages comprising desired results to a user but with the added ability to manipulate the displayed information.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Smith in further view of Barthel et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0337346 (hereinafter Barthel).
Regarding claim 7, Campbell in view of Smith teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 above including:
wherein bullet-screen information is displayed on the first multimedia content according to a preset presentation mode, (Campbell FIGs. 9-10, ¶ 0050-0053: Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group. The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein)
…
and the bullet-screen information is used to display a comment content for the first multimedia content. (Campbell FIGs. 9-10 display caption 952 "Ed Harkin Save," described in ¶ 0050: in response to tagging the content of FIG. 8, a caption 952 may automatically be created at the point in the content where the action occurred)
Campbell in view of Smith does not expressly disclose:
a display mode of the bullet-screen information is determined according to a publisher attribute of the bullet-screen information,
However, Barthel addresses this by teaching:
a display mode of the bullet-screen information is determined according to a publisher attribute of the bullet-screen information, (Barthel FIGs. 21-23, ¶ 0284-0291, particularly ¶ 0286 showing different publishers as claimed, "The user information window 706 identifies the user that created the media content card 702, such as with a user photograph, user name, and favorite team" and then ¶ 0291 regarding display modes: one or more aspects of the media content cards 700 are adjusted depending on whether the media content card 700 is a certified card or an uncertified card. As one example, a background color of certified media content card 702 has a first color (e.g., white), while a background color of an uncertified media content card 722 has as second color (e.g., black) different than the first color [this corresponds to instant specification ¶ 00130-00131 describing display mode as including background color])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell as modified with the search result display of Barthel.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell as modified and Barthel) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as search result interfaces.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell as modified displaying pages comprising desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Barthel also displaying pages comprising desired results to a user but with the added ability to adjust the aspects of displayed media content cards (Barthel ¶ 0291). Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate appropriate contextual information alongside media results as seen in Barthel (¶ 0002-0005).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Smith in further view of Barthel in further view of Bosarge et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0034541 (hereinafter Bosarge).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell in view of Smith in further view of Barthel teaches all the features with respect to claim 7 above.
Campbell teaches:
wherein a plurality of comment controls are further displayed on the search result page, (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: Also included are a caption option 754, an edit option 756, a delete option 758, and an action identity option 760; see these options also present in FIG. 9, ¶ 0050-0051: The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein)
the plurality of comment controls and the first multimedia content are displayed in an identical region, (Campbell FIG. 9, ¶ 0050-0051: FIG. 9 depicts a user interface 950 that identifies a performer in the content … Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group. The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein)
…
wherein, after displaying the various target contents by region on the search result page, the method further comprises: receiving a comment operation for a target comment control in the plurality of comment controls; (Campbell FIG. 7, ¶ 0045-0046: Also included are a caption option 754, an edit option 756, a delete option 758, and an action identity option 760; see these options also present in FIG. 9, ¶ 0050-0051: The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein; other options may be provided, such as those that compile highlights of a single game, season, etc. into a single video (and/or audio) stream of content)
in response to receiving the comment operation, determining a target display mode corresponding to target bullet-screen information… wherein the target bullet-screen information is used to display a target comment content input by the comment operation for a target multimedia content in the first multimedia content; and (Campbell FIGs. 7-10, ¶ 0048-0049 describe a comment operation: user interface 850 may be provided and may include prompts for the user to enter (and/or edit) information, such as a player identity option, a position identity option, a team identity option, an action identity option, and a time identity option. Upon entering the desired information, the user may select OK, which will associate a metatag with that portion of the content; ¶ 0050-0053: in response to tagging the content of FIG. 8, a caption 952 may automatically be created at the point in the content where the action occurred ... Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group. The tagged content listing area 954 includes a plurality of play clip options for playing one or more of the tagged content therein)
displaying the target bullet-screen information on the target multimedia content according to the preset presentation mode and the target display mode. (Campbell FIGs. 9-10 display caption 952 "Ed Harkin Save" and 954 "Harkin Save" "Tamlan Goal" etc. described in ¶ 0050: in response to tagging the content of FIG. 8, a caption 952 may automatically be created at the point in the content where the action occurred. Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group; see, occurring after the content tagging and caption creation of FIG. 8, both FIG. 9, ¶ 0050, "Also included in the user interface 950 of FIG. 9 is a tagged content listing area 954, which lists portions of this (and/or other) content of the group ... as the user interface 950 was accessed via the Lexington Dragons group profile, the tagged portions of content may all be associated with Lexington Dragons' performances" and FIG. 10, ¶ 0052, "the tagged content listing area 1054 includes tagged portions of content of a common performer (e.g., Ed Harkin), which are provided in a content area 1052" in light of the claimed 'target display mode')
Barthel teaches:
determining a target display mode corresponding to target bullet-screen information according to a target publisher attribute to which the target comment control belongs, (Barthel FIGs. 21-23, ¶ 0284-0291, see specifically ¶ 0291 regarding display modes: one or more aspects of the media content cards 700 are adjusted depending on whether the media content card 700 is a certified card or an uncertified card. As one example, a background color of certified media content card 702 has a first color (e.g., white), while a background color of an uncertified media content card 722 has as second color (e.g., black) different than the first color [this corresponds to instant specification ¶ 00130-00131 describing display mode as including background color])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell as modified with the search result display of Barthel.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell as modified displaying pages comprising desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Barthel also displaying pages comprising desired results to a user but with the added ability to adjust the aspects of displayed media content cards (Barthel ¶ 0291).
Campbell in view of Smith in further view of Barthel does not expressly disclose:
and each of the comment controls belongs to one publisher attribute,
However, Bosarge addresses this by teaching:
and each of the comment controls belongs to one publisher attribute, (Bosarge ¶ 0065: The disclosed embodiments are useful, in some instances, to reduce technical difficulties associated with navigating content with a browser, particularly content provided by disparate host domains and search engines; FIGs. 10-12, ¶ 0117-0120, ¶ 0117: The webpage 1010 that is shown is currently a webpage SERP for image content (e.g., Google images), including multiple links 1099 to image content available from a particular host search engine (i.e., Image Host 1); ¶ 0120: the navigation control panel 1205 and the displayed webpage 1210 have been updated in response to user navigation to a different webpage link identified in the navigation control panel, namely, image host N 1206 (wherein image host N could be image host 2, 3, 4, etc. from FIG. 11))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functioning of the search results display of Campbell as modified with the search result display of Bosarge.
In addition, both of the references (Campbell as modified and Bosarge) disclose features that are directed to analogous art, and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as search result display interfaces.
Motivation to do so would be to improve the functioning of Campbell as modified displaying pages comprising desired results to a user with the functioning of similar reference Bosarge also displaying pages comprising desired results to a user but with the added contextual information such as result host and/or source. Motivation to do so would also be the teaching, suggestion, or motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art for improving the efficiency and ease for performing internet navigation with a browser that interfaces with one or more search engine as seen in Bosarge (¶ 0066).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rose, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0268022, "Determining Search Queries for Obtaining Information During a User Experience of an Event"; see Rose FIGs. 4-5, ¶ 0035, "A model of SSS module 166 may rely on a rule indicating that a popular search query sent to search module 164 in response to scoring plays in sports games are searches for statistics of the player(s) that score. Therefore, a different rule of SSS module 166 may cause search module 164 to search, in response to a scoring play during the hockey game, for player stats of the player that scored and the players that assisted during the play"; ¶ 0071, "query scheduling module 274 may determine one or more first queries for execution during a basket ball game between teams A and B on a Saturday. On the next day (Sunday), Query scheduling module 274 may determine a second group of queries for execution during a basket ball game between teams C and D"; ¶ 0080, "For sporting events the types of information contained in a card as one of search content portions 118 include: stats, scores, past history with current opposing team, replays of important moments, right after that moment occurs, player bios, history, stories, future games, where they are in playoff contention, other games in progress that relate to or are relevant to the current game—score updates, especially, and upcoming appearances in your area," relevant to at least the independent claim limitations about displaying event information obtained based on target group or based on target entity object
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2153 December 3, 2025
/KAVITA STANLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153