DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1, 21-26, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al(US 2024/0114553 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 33, Chu ‘553 teaches, a first wireless communication device ([0018], [0047] and Figs, 1, 10, access point (AP 102, 104,106)), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors ([0018], [0047] and Fig. 10, the AP 102 comprising processing circuit 1002 and memory coupled to the processing circuit), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit one or more management frames indicating first timing information and second timing information ([0017] and Figs. 2, 6, an AP transmitting management frames (beacon frame) that announces r-TWT SP timing information. Each AP announces its r-TWT SP information and r-TWT SP information of neighboring Aps in a management frame such as a beacon frame), the first timing information pertaining to first communication periods that correspond to a set of access points (APs) ([0017], [0026] and Figs. 2, 6, each AP announces r-TWT SP information of neighbor APs (first timing information), which indicates a communication period associated with neighboring APs ), and
the second timing information pertaining to second communication periods that correspond to the first wireless communication device ([0017], [0026] and Figs. 2, 6, each AP announces its r-TWT SP information (second timing information), indicating a communication period associated with the transmitting AP and a STA), the one or more management frames distinguishing the second communication periods from the first communication periods in accordance with a configured set of identifiers (IDs) that correspond to the first communication periods and the second communication periods ([0023], [0026], [0038] and Figs. 2, 6, identifying the plurality of r-TWT SPs inside the management frame using specific IDs. Specifically, Chu ‘553 teaches using BSSID/SSID to identify which AP the r-TWT SP belongs to, using tags to identify 1-hop neighbors and using a broadcast TWT identification (ID) to uniquely identify the shared sessions); and communicate with one or more wireless stations (STAs) associated with the first wireless communication device during at least a subset of the second communication periods([0022] and Figs. 2,3, AP communicating with its associated STAs during the reserved r-TWT SP duration).
Regarding claim 21, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘553 further teaches, wherein the first communication periods and the second communication periods are associated with any combination of one or more restricted target wake time (R-TWT) service periods (SPs), one or more TWT epochs, one or more quiet intervals, selective transmission opportunity (TXOP) sharing, or one or more differentiated channel access parameters that prioritize channel access to at least one wireless communication device([0017], [0022], each AP announces its r-TWT SP information and r-TWT SP information of neighbor APs in a management frame such as beacon frame or action frame, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 22, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘553 further teaches, wherein: the first wireless communication device is an AP ([0018], [0047] and Figs, 1, 10, access point (AP 102, 104,106)); and the set of APs includes a first set of APs associated with the first wireless communication device, a second set of APs non-collocated with the first wireless communication device, or any combination thereof([0017], [0025], the primary AP broadcasting the r-TWT SP information of “neighbor APs”, which teaches non-collocated with the primary AP, [0025] also teaches non-transmitted BSSID APs r-TWT SP information of AP1 is included with transmitted BSSID AP r-TWT SP information, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 23, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘553 further teaches,, wherein the first wireless communication device and the set of APs are members of a same multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) set or a same co-hosted BSSID set ([0025] the first wireless communication device (the primary AP) and the set of APs whose timing information is being broadcast belong to a multiple BSSID architecture, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 24, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘553 further teaches,: the first communication periods are first protected communication periods associated with first restricted target wake times (R-TWTs)( [0017], [0022] the r-TWT SPs act as protected communication periods by reserving the communication medium so that latency-sensitive frames can be exchanged without contention); and the second communication periods are second protected communication periods associated with second R-TWTs([0017], [0022], the AP is arranged to be ready and available to do the frame exchanges with the STAs(r-TWT members) during this r-TWT SP and reserve a communication medium during the r-TWT SP).
Regarding claim 25, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘553 further teaches, the first timing information pertaining to the first communication periods indicates a plurality of communication schedules, each respective AP of the set of APs corresponding to a respective set of one or more communication schedules of the plurality of communication schedules ([00017], [0025], each AP announces its r-TWT SP information and r-TWT SP information of neighbor APs in a management frame); and
the second timing information pertaining to the second communication periods indicates one or more communication schedules that correspond to the first wireless communication device ([00017], [0025], the second timing information including the primary transmitting AP’s own communication schedules (the r-TWT SP information corresponding directly to the first wireless communication device)).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Chu ‘553 teaches, a first wireless communication device( [0018], [0047] and Figs, 1, 10, access point (AP 102, 104,106)), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless communication device to ([0018], [0047] Fig. 10, the AP 102 comprising processing circuit 1002 and memory coupled to the processing circuit):
obtain one or more management frames indicating first timing information and second timing information ([0017] and Fig. 2, 6, an AP receiving management frames (beacon frame) that announces r-TWT SP timing information. The AP management frame including r-TWT SP information of the transmitting AP (second timing information) and r-TWT SP information of neighboring Aps (first timing information)), the first timing information pertaining to first communication periods that correspond to a set of access points (APs) ([0017], [0026] and Figs. 2, 6, each AP announces its r-TWT SP information (second timing information)), and
the second timing information pertaining to second communication periods that correspond to a second wireless communication device ([0017], [0026] and Figs. 2, 6, an AP receiving management frame comprising, r-TWT SP information of the transmitting AP (second timing information) and r-TWT SP information of neighbor Aps (first timing information)), the one or more management frames distinguishing the second communication periods from the first communication periods in accordance with a configured set of identifiers (IDs) that correspond to the first communication periods and the second communication periods([0023], [0026], [0038] and Figs. 2, 6, identifying the plurality of r-TWT SPs inside the management frame using specific IDs. Specifically, Chu ‘553 teaches using BSSID/SSID to identify which AP the r-TWT SP belongs to, using tags to identify 1-hop neighbors and using a broadcast TWT identification (ID) to uniquely identify the shared sessions); and communicate with the second wireless communication device or a third wireless communication device in accordance with the second communication periods ([0028], [0033] and Figs. 2, 3, the receiving device (AP) using the received timing schedules to coordinate its communication, and communicates with associated STAs (third devices) by selecting an r-TWT SP that avoids conflicts).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 2 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu ‘553 in view of Guo et al(US 2026/0046764 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the first timing information within a first set of fields of a first element of the one or more management frames, the first element being outside of a multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) element of the one or more management frames; transmit the second timing information within a second set of fields of the first element of the one or more management frames; and transmit respective subsets of the first timing information within respective fields of respective nontransmitted BSSID profiles of the multiple BSSID element.
Guo ‘764 teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the first timing information within a first set of fields of a first element of the one or more management frames, the first element being outside of a multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) element of the one or more management frames( [0007], [0188] placing a TWT element outside of the Multiple BSSID element, and using the outside element to carry the timing information of another access point);
transmit the second timing information within a second set of fields of the first element of the one or more management frames ([0007], [0188] placing a TWT element outside of the Multiple BSSID element, and using the outside element to carry the timing information of another access point); and transmit respective subsets of the first timing information within respective fields of respective nontransmitted BSSID profiles of the multiple BSSID element( [0011], placing the RTWT parameter of the second access point inside the MBSSID element (which includes the profiles) while the same parameter is also broadcast in the TWT element outside).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553 by incorporating the teaching of Guo ‘764, since such modification would enable a station to clearly and efficiently determine RTWT information of a non-transmitted access point, as suggested by Guo ‘764([0006]).
Regarding claim 27, Chu ‘553 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: respect a set of rules associated with the first communication periods, wherein the set of APs to which the first communication periods correspond are associated with one or more basic service set (BSS) IDs (BSSIDs) in a same multiple BSSID set or a same co-hosted set as the second wireless communication device.
Guo ‘764 teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: respect a set of rules associated with the first communication periods( [0190], [0260], a method of respecting the communication periods (RTWSPs) ) wherein the set of APs to which the first communication periods correspond are associated with one or more basic service set (BSS) IDs (BSSIDs) in a same multiple BSSID set or a same co-hosted set as the second wireless communication device( [0190], [0260], AP applies operational rules to respect the communication periods for other access points(access point 2) wherein in access point 2 belongs to the same MBSSID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553 by incorporating the teaching of Guo ‘764, since such modification would enable a station to clearly and efficiently determine RTWT information of a non-transmitted access point, as suggested by Guo ‘764([0006]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘764 further teaches, to respect the first communication periods, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: terminate a transmission opportunity of the first wireless communication device prior to a start of each of the first communication periods; and follow a set of channel access rules within each of the first communication periods( [0190], [0260], if ta station hold TXOP it must terminate it before the other AP’s TRWTSP begins to prevent interference).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘764 further teaches, obtain the first timing information within a first set of fields of a first element of the one or more management frames, the first element being outside of a multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) element of the one or more management frames ( [0007], [0188] placing a TWT element outside of the Multiple BSSID element, and using the outside element to carry the timing information of another access point);
obtain the second timing information within a second set of fields of the first element of the one or more management frames ([0007], [0188] placing a TWT element outside of the Multiple BSSID element, and using the outside element to carry the timing information of another access point); and obtain respective subsets of the first timing information within respective fields of respective nontransmitted BSSID profiles of the multiple BSSID element ( [0011], placing the RTWT parameter of the second access point inside the MBSSID element (which includes the profiles) while the same parameter is also broadcast in the TWT element outside).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553 by incorporating the teaching of Guo ‘764, since such modification would enable a station to clearly and efficiently determine RTWT information of a non-transmitted access point, as suggested by Guo ‘764([0006]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘764 further teaches, wherein the first wireless communication device parses the first element and ignores the multiple BSSID element in accordance with the first wireless communication device being associated with the second wireless communication device[0190], [0194] and [0286], when the station if associated with the primary, transmitting AP, it should parse the outside TWT element but ignore the MBSSID element to avoid redundant processing), the second wireless communication device being associated with a transmitted BSSID( [0190], [0194] and [0286], when the station if associated with the primary, transmitting AP, it should parse the outside TWT element but ignore the MBSSID element to avoid redundant processing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553 by incorporating the teaching of Guo ‘764, since such modification would enable a station to clearly and efficiently determine RTWT information of a non-transmitted access point, as suggested by Guo ‘764([0006]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations, Guo ‘764 further teaches, wherein the first wireless communication device parses the first element and parses a nontransmitted BSSID profile of the multiple BSSID element corresponding to an AP of the set of APs in accordance with the first wireless communication device being associated with the AP, the AP being associated with a nontransmitted BSSID( [0190], [0255], station 2 obtains RTWT information of the access point 2 from the BSSID profile of the access pint 2 included in the MBSSID element 1 while simultaneously evaluating the RTWT parameter located outside the element to determine which one to ignore).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553 by incorporating the teaching of Guo ‘764, since such modification would enable a station to clearly and efficiently determine RTWT information of a non-transmitted access point, as suggested by Guo ‘764([0006]).
Claims 3-8 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Haider et al(US 2024/0155487 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations except, a respective first schedule information subfield value of each of the first set of fields is set to a same value in accordance with the first communication periods matching to a corresponding AP in the set of APs; and
a respective second schedule information subfield value of each of the second set of fields is set to a value from a set of multiple values in accordance with the second communication periods corresponding to the first wireless communication device.
Haider ‘487 teaches, a respective first schedule information subfield value of each of the first set of fields is set to a same value in accordance with the first communication periods matching to a corresponding AP in the set of APs([0116] and Table 2, when a primary AP advertises the schedule of another AP in its multiple BSSID(MBSSID) it sets the filed to a single fixed indicator value 3); and a respective second schedule information subfield value of each of the second set of fields is set to a value from a set of multiple values in accordance with the second communication periods corresponding to the first wireless communication device([0116] and Table 2, for the transmitting AP’s own communication periods(the second communication information) the subfields is not fixed to a single value. Instead, the AP sets the subfield to 0, 1, or 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, the same value is a restricted target wake time (TWT) schedule information (RTSI) subfield value of 3([0116] and Table 2, the value of “3” indicates the advertised R-TWT schedule is active and is for an AP corresponding to a nontransmitted BSSID); and the set of multiple values includes RTSI subfield values of 0, 1, and 2([0116] and Table 2, for the transmitting AP’s own communication periods(the second communication information) the subfields is not fixed to a single value. Instead, the AP sets the subfield to 0, 1, or 2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations except, each respective nontransmitted BSSID profile of the multiple BSSID element includes a respective subset of the first timing information and excludes a remainder of the first timing information, and a schedule information subfield of a target wake time (TWT) element of that respective nontransmitted BSSID profile is set to a value from a set of multiple values.
Haider ‘487 teaches, each respective nontransmitted BSSID profile of the multiple BSSID element includes a respective subset of the first timing information and excludes a remainder of the first timing information([0106] an AP (transmitted BSSID) may include one or more TWT elements in a nonstramitted BSSID profile in a multiple BSSID element indicating R-TWT SPs) and a schedule information subfield of a target wake time (TWT) element of that respective nontransmitted BSSID profile is set to a value from a set of multiple values([0116] and Table 2, the R-TWT schedule information subfield whose values changes based on the specific R-TWT status of that APs own schedule(e.g. idle, active or full)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the set of multiple values includes restricted target wake time (TWT) schedule information (RTSI) subfield values of 0, 1, and 2([0116] and Table 2, for the transmitting AP’s own communication periods (the second communication information) the AP sets the subfield to 0, 1, or 2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein a broadcast target wake time (TWT) ID subfield of the TWT element of that respective nontransmitted BSSID profile is set to an ID of a subset of the configured set of IDs([0124], [0125], when an AP transmits its own schedules inside its own profile, the broadcast TWT ID filed must contain unique ID selected from a subset of available IDs).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the subset of the configured set of IDs includes broadcast TWT ID subfield values within a range greater than 0 and less than 3 l([0118], [0124], [0126] and Fig. 5A, the broadcast TWT ID subfield defined as a 5-bit field which provides a total configured set of 32 IDs (values 0-31)).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 teaches all of the claim limitations Guo ‘764 further teaches, wherein the first wireless communication device parses the first element and parses a nontransmitted BSSID profile of the multiple BSSID element, and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to[0007], [0188] placing a TWT element outside of the Multiple BSSID element, and using the outside element to carry the timing information of another access point): inherit information conveyed via the first element if a second element having a same ID as the first element is not included in the nontransmitted BSSID profile( [0168] MBSSID inheritance using a non-inheritance element).
The combination of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764 does not explicitly teach, the information that is inherited only including the second set of fields having broadcast target wake time (TWT) ID subfield values within a range greater than 0 and less than 31.
Haider ‘487 teaches, the information that is inherited only including the second set of fields having broadcast target wake time (TWT) ID subfield values within a range greater than 0 and less than 31(([0118], [0124], [0126] and Fig. 5A, the broadcast TWT ID subfield defined as a 5-bit field which provides a total configured set of 32 IDs (values 0-31)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teaching of Chu ‘553 and Guo ‘764, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu ‘553 in view of Haider et al (US 2024/0155487 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chu ‘553 teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the first timing information within a first set of fields of the one or more management frames([0026], transmitting the first timing information of neighbor Aps within fields of the management frame (the TWT element)), transmit the second timing information within a second set of fields of the one or more management frames([0038] the Ap transmitting the own communication periods(second timing information) within fields of the management frame).
Chu ‘553 does not explicitly teach, wherein each respective first ID field associated with the first set of fields includes a same ID of the configured set of IDs in accordance with the first communication periods corresponding to the set of APs, the set of APs belonging to a same multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) set or a same co-hosted set as the first wireless communication device; and wherein each respective second ID field associated with the second set of fields includes a unique ID of a subset of the configured set of IDs in accordance with the second communication periods corresponding to the first wireless communication device
Haider ‘487 teaches, wherein each respective first ID field associated with the first set of fields includes a same ID of the configured set of IDs in accordance with the first communication periods corresponding to the set of APs, the set of APs belonging to a same multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) set or a same co-hosted set as the first wireless communication device ([0120], [0125], [0126] and Fig. 5A, transmitting timing information for a Aps belonging to a multiple BSSID set or co-hosted set, and using duplicate or reserved IDs(i.e. a “same ID) for these schedules within the ID field of the same frame); and wherein each respective second ID field associated with the second set of fields includes a unique ID of a subset of the configured set of IDs in accordance with the second communication periods corresponding to the first wireless communication device([0124], [0125] and Fig. 5A, for the transmitting AP’s own schedules, the broadcast TWT ID subfield may be used as an identifier of a broadcast TWT (B-TWT) schedule (e.g., B-TWT or R-TWT) such that each schedule within the BSS (corresponding to the transmitting AP) may get a unique ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘533 further teaches, the first wireless communication device is a restricted target wake time (TWT) (R-TWT) scheduling AP([0017] and Fig. 2, 6, an AP transmitting management frames (beacon frame) that announces r-TWT SP timing information. Each AP announces its r-TWT SP information and r-TWT SP information of neighboring Aps in a management frame such as a beacon frame)
Haider ‘487 teaches, AP that is announcing an R-TWT schedule with a restricted TWT schedule information (RTSI) subfield value set to 3([0116] and Table 2, a value of 3 indicates that the advertised R-TWT schedule is active and is for and AP corresponding to a non transmitted BSSID that is a member of the same multiple BSSID set or co-hosted BSSID set as the AP transmitting the restricted TWT schedule information subfield); and the R-TWT scheduling AP sets a broadcast TWT ID subfield to a fixed value of 31 in a broadcast TWT field corresponding to the R-TWT schedule in accordance with announcing the R-TWT schedule with the RTSI subfield set to 3([0118], [0126] when the RTSI is set to 3. The broadcast TWT ID subfield is set to a “reserved” value. In IEE 802.11 standards setting the 5 bit filed to a reserved status typically means locking it to fix value such as all 1s which equals 31 in binary so it is ignored or treated uniformly by receiving stations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Chu ‘533 further teaches, the R-TWT schedule is indicated by the first timing information ([0017], [0026] and Figs. 2, 6, each AP announces its r-TWT SP information (second timing information) and r-TWT SP information of neighbor Aps (first timing information)).
Haider ‘487 teaches, the same ID of the configured set of IDs is equal to the fixed value of 31([0107], [0120] and [0126], when the broadcast TWT information filed of an advertised B-TWT schedule indicates ABSS, the broadcast TWT ID subfield in the TWT element may be reserved (31) and fig. 5A shoeing the broadcast TWT ID 523 is a 5 bit field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the first set of fields and the second set of fields are outside of a multiple BSSID element of the one or more management frames([0013], [0104], fields containing the timing information for both the primary transmitting AP (second timing information) and the other Aps such as nontransmitted BSSIDS(first timing information) can be placed in a TWT element that is located strictly outside of the multiple BSSID element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: transmit the first timing information within a first set of fields of the one or more management frames, wherein a respective first schedule information subfield value of each of the first set of fields is set to a same value in accordance with the first communication periods corresponding to the set of Aps([0116] and Table 2, transmitting timing information using a restricted TWT schedule information subfield within a broadcast TWT information subfield . When an AP advertises the schedule of another AP, this subfield is set to a specific value(the value of 3) because all advertised schedules for these other Aps are marked with the exact same indicator (value 3), Haider 487 teaches setting the schedule information subfield to a same value for those periods), the set of APs belonging to a same multiple basic service set (BSS) ID (BSSID) set or a same co-hosted set as the first wireless communication device([0116] and table 2 same multiple BSSID set or co-hosted BSSID set as the AP transmitting the restricted TWT schedule information subfield ); and transmit the second timing information within a second set of fields of the one or more management frames, wherein a respective second schedule information subfield value of each of the second set of fields is set to a value from a set of multiple values in accordance with the second communication periods corresponding to the first wireless communication device([0116] and table 2, for the transmitting AP’s own schedules (the second terminal information). The restricted TWT schedule information subfield is set to a value selected from a set of multiple different values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the same value is a restricted target wake time (TWT) schedule information (RTSI) subfield value of 3, and wherein a broadcast TWT ID subfield of each of the first set of fields is set to a value of 3 l in accordance with the RTSI subfield value of 3([0118], [0126] when the RTSI is set to 3. The broadcast TWT ID subfield is set to a “reserved” value. In IEE 802.11 standards setting the 5 bit filed to a reserved status typically means locking it to fix value such as all 1s which equals 31 in binary so it is ignored or treated uniformly by receiving stations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chu ‘553 and Haider ‘487 teaches all of the claim limitations, Haider ‘487 further teaches, wherein the first set of fields and the second set of fields are outside of a multiple BSSID element of the one or more management frames([0013], [0104], fields containing the timing information for both the primary transmitting AP (second timing information) and the other Aps such as nontransmitted BSSIDS(first timing information) can be placed in a TWT element that is located strictly outside of the multiple BSSID element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Haider ‘487, since such modification would improve scheduling and/or announcing target wake time (TWT) schedules for a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set and/or an overlapping BSS (OBSS), as suggested by Haider ‘487([0002]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu ‘553 in view of Zhu et al (US 2025/0310876 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Chu ‘553 teaches, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: change timing information of the first timing information or the second timing information or one or more states associated with the first communication periods or the second communication periods ([0048], adjusting an r-TWP SP of the AP based on the indication of the r-TWT SP in the received frame).
Chu ‘553 does not explicitly teach, set a field value in one or more second management frames based at least in part on changing the timing information or the one or more states, wherein setting the field value is associated with setting a critical update flag to a one value, incrementing a basic service set (BSS) parameter change count, or incrementing a value associated with a check beacon field value; and transmit the one or more second management frames in accordance with the field value.
Zhu ‘876 teaches, set a field value in one or more second management frames based at least in part on changing the timing information or the one or more states, wherein setting the field value is associated with setting a critical update flag to a one value, incrementing a basic service set (BSS) parameter change count, or incrementing a value associated with a check beacon field value([0105] , announcing updated R-TWT scheduling information in a beacon frame , notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations); and transmit the one or more second management frames in accordance with the field value ([0105]-[0107] transmitting the updated R-TWT schedule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Zhu ‘876, since such modification would enable to establish an R-TWT to reduce interference within the R-TWT SP, as suggested by Zhu ‘876([0004]-[0005]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu ‘553 in view of Ratnam et al(US 2024/0365379 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Chu ‘553 teaches, , wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to: schedule the second communication periods based at least in part on the first communication periods and one or more periodic transmissions by the first wireless communication device([0017],[0048], dynamically adjusting the AP’s own schedule based on the received schedules of neighboring APs to coordinate the medium, Chu ‘553 further teaches, the management frames used to transmit the scheduling information are periodic beacon frames).
Chu ‘553 does not explicitly teach, wherein target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) corresponding to the first wireless communication device are during the second communication periods, the one or more periodic transmissions including periodic beacon transmissions associated with the TBTTs.
Ratnam ‘379 teaches, wherein target beacon transmission times (TBTTs) corresponding to the first wireless communication device are during the second communication periods, the one or more periodic transmissions including periodic beacon transmissions associated with the TBTTs ([0084], [0085], [0122], scheduling rTWT service periods (the second communication period) or quiet elements such that they align in time with the TBTT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chu ‘553, by incorporating the teaching of Ratnam ‘379, since such modification would provide methods and apparatuses for synchronizing OBSS transmissions for multi-AP coordination, as suggested by Ratnam ‘379([0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474