CTNF 18/510,398 CTNF 91601 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic benefit based on provisional application 63/383,848 filed on November 15, 2022. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The claims recite the limitation "a first set of individual IAQ Values" for a third period; and “a second set of individual IAQ values” for a fourth time period. Independent claims 1 and 8 have previously introduced the first set of IAQ values and a second set of IAQ values. The claims introduce IAQ values for a third and fourth period(s). One having ordinary skill in the art would not understand if those first and second sets of IAQ values are for the time periods for claims 1 and 8 or for the third and fourth periods as in claims 3 and 10. Appropriate action is required. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 4 and 11 recite the limitation "detect the specific location of the at least one contaminated duct based on the at least one IAQ value that is determined among the second set of individual IAQ values.” The location of the sensors should be independent of the actual indoor air quality values. One having ordinary skill would not understand how a different IAQ reading can influence the location of the sensor. Appropriate action is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) or 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Ostermeier et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20160052363), herein “Ostermeier.” Regarding claim 1, Ostermeier teaches an HVAC system for detecting at least one contaminated duct among one or more ducts (Par. 0005: “It is an object of the invention to create a method of controlling a ventilation/air-conditioning system.” Par. 0020: “The above-mentioned sensor device is arranged in an area of the air duct system…”) within an indoor environment, comprising: (Par. 0002: “The present invention relates to a method of controlling a ventilation/air- conditioning system of a motor vehicle, as well as to a vehicle having such a ventilation/air-conditioning system.” Par. 0003, 0004, 0007, etc. - quality of the recirculated air circulating in the vehicle occupant compartment. ) an air handling unit (AHU); (Par. 0019: “The ventilation/air-conditioning system of such a vehicle has an air input, which can be shut off by a shut-off element…” Par. 0007: …“flow connection to the environment is shut off by a shutoff element (such as a shut-off flap).”) a plurality of indoor air quality (IAQ sensors installed in the one or more Zones; (Par. 0004: “…an air-conditioning system having two sensors is known, which sensors are each provided for detecting the concentration of the pollutants contained in the air. One of the two sensors is arranged forward of the front wall and is provided for determining the air quality of the ambient air (fresh air). The other of the two sensors is arranged behind the front wall, i.e., in the area of the vehicle occupant compartment, and is provided for determining the quality of the vehicle occupant compartment air. An arrangement of this type having two sensors requires relatively high expenditures.” See also Par. 0024.) and a control device that includes a processor, a communication interface, and a display screen, (Par. 0016: “…the quality of the recirculated air is displayed by way of a display device arranged in the vehicle occupant compartment…”) wherein the processor is configured to: (Par. 0022: “The sensor device is connected to an electronic analysis/control system which has an electronic memory, in which at least one quality parameter of the air measured in the recirculated air mode is stored. In addition, a logic is implemented in the electronic system…”) control the AHU to turn-off air circulation to one or more zones within the indoor environment for a first time period; (Par. 0006: “The starting point of the invention is a method of controlling a ventilation/air-conditioning system of a vehicle, whereby, in a so-called recirculated-air mode, the air present in the vehicle occupant compartment is circulated in the vehicle occupant compartment and in at least one part of an air duct system of the ventilation/air conditioning system, in which case the fresh-air supply from the environment into the vehicle occupant compartment is shut off .”) control the plurality of IAQ sensors to measure a first set of IAQ values in the one or more zones when the air circulation to the one or more zones is turned off; (Par. 0007: “According to the invention, at least one quality parameter of the recirculated air is measured by a sensor device, specifically at a point of the air duct system of the ventilation/air-conditioning system at which fresh air mixes with recirculated air to form mixed air when the fresh-air supply is open, i.e., in the fresh-air mode of the ventilation/air-conditioning system. As mentioned above, in the recirculated-air mode, the fresh-air supply is shut off, so that only recirculated air is situated at the point at which the sensor device is arranged in the air duct system .”) control the AHU to turn-on the air circulation to the one or more zones for a second time period; (Par. 0007: “According to the invention, at least one quality parameter of the recirculated air is measured by a sensor device, specifically at a point of the air duct system of the ventilation/air-conditioning system at which fresh air mixes with recirculated air to form mixed air when the fresh-air supply is open, i.e., in the fresh-air mode of the ventilation/air-conditioning system.” See also “fresh air mode” or “mixed air” mode.) control the plurality of IAQ sensors to measure a second set of IAQ values in the one or more zones when the air circulation to the one or more zones is turned on; (Par. 0022: “The sensor device is connected to an electronic analysis/control system which has an electronic memory, in which at least one quality parameter of the air measured in the recirculated air mode is stored.) compare the first set of measured IAQ values with the second set of measured IAQ values; (Par. 0022: “In addition, a logic is implemented in the electronic system which carries out a comparison between the at least one quality parameter measured in the recirculated-air mode and the at least one quality parameter measured in the fresh-air mode.” See also paragraph 0038 that discloses that the sensor has numerous readings (set of measured values). See also Claim 1 and 3 of Ostermeier.) detect the at least one contaminated duct among the one or more ducts based on a result of the comparison between the first set of measured IAQ values and the second set of measured IAQ values; (Par. 0023: “The at least one quality parameter of the air detected by the sensor device may, for example, be the concentration of the fine particulates contained in the air and/or the concentration of a gas constituent contained in the air, such as the concentration of the carbon dioxide contained in the air, of the NOx (particularly NO, NO2) contained in the air, and/or the moisture of the air and/or the temperature of the air.”) and notify, based on the detection of the at least one contaminated duct, a message indicating the at least one contaminated duct to a user on the display screen or a GUI of a mobile application using the communication interface. (Par. 0016: “According to a further development of the invention, the quality of the fresh air and/or the quality of the recirculated air is displayed by way of a display device arranged in the vehicle occupant compartment. As an alternative, it may also only be displayed whether the quality of the fresh is currently better than that of the recirculated air present in the vehicle, or vice-versa. [0017]: The respective information can be displayed, for example, by way of a display (man-machine-interface) arranged in the center area of the instrument panel, and/or by way of an instrument cluster arranged forward of the steering wheel, and/or by way of an LED display arranged in the area of the instrument panel, and/or by way of a display device generating a virtual image (such as a so-called “head-up display” or the like).” See also Ostermeier claim 2.) Regarding claim 6, The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 6 depends. Ostermeier also teaches a plurality of sensors includes at least one of a carbon dioxide sensor, PM2.5 sensor, PM10 sensor, or a total volatile organic compound (TVOC) sensor. (Par. 0023: “The at least one quality parameter of the air detected by the sensor device may, for example, be the concentration of the fine particulates contained in the air and/or the concentration of a gas constituent contained in the air, such as the concentration of the carbon dioxide contained in the air, of the NOx (particularly NO, NO2) contained in the air, and/or the moisture of the air and/or the temperature of the air.”) Regarding claims 8 and 13, they are directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claims 1 and 6, respectively. Ostermeier teaches the claimed system or apparatuses in claims 1 and 6. Therefore, Ostermeier teaches the method of steps in claims 8 and 13 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier in view of Kalapodas et al. (PG Pub. No. 20110185302), herein “Kalapodas.” Regarding claim 2, The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 2 depends. Ostermeier does not teach a display device showing the location of the sensors in the duct(s). Kalapodas does teach that the processor is further configured to: detect a specific location of the at least one contaminated duct within the indoor environment; and notify, on the GUI of the mobile application using the communication interface or on the display screen, a message indicating the detected location of the at least one contaminated duct to the user. (Par. 0060 – 0067: “Following is the explanation of each virtual instrument and control object as they appear on the monitor's GUI and are depicted in FIG. 1: [0061] DAQ ID Programming; a control button, allowing the entry of coded ID numbers given under password to the data acquisition and control devices and selection of DAQs for computer communication. [0062] EMERGENCY INSTRUCTIONS; a normally hidden Text Box object, displaying an alert or warning message accordingly with the threat encountered, to be used in human evaluation of a response measure. [0063] HVAC--FUNCTIONAL BLOCK DIAGRAM; this display object represents a simplified graphical view of the HVAC system unit, depicting the location of the UV-C lamps in plenums and in air return ducts, and shows the air quality sensors, temperature and air flow transducers. [0064] UV-C PROTECTION COVER STATUS (Plenum 1, 2 and 3, Return 1, 2 and 3, Fresh Air Intake); display objects which indicate the status ON/OFF of the safety switches installed under the UV-C unit as a shut-off protection in case when service is necessary. Each UV-C unit has its respective shut-off switch and indicator and labeled accordingly with its location [0065] UV-C LAMP EFFICACY MONITOR (Lamp Number labels); represent a series of linear quantitative color coded indicators matching the number of UVC lamps installed, and which are programmed to change their color and amplitude (level of box color fill) at three threshold levels set to indicate the efficacy of the UV-C radiation as being, full blue 80-100 [%], yellow for intensity levels between 70 and 80 [%], and red for intensities below 70 [%] which represent an alert for replacement of the respective lamp. Each UV-C lamp has its own detection sensor and efficacy indicator. Labels are marked as (Lamp Number) from 1 to 60 possible lamps in this application. The number of lamps is configurable by disabling the Visible property of the unused display boxes. [0066] AIR QUALITY SENSORS (Plenum #1, and Plenum#2); air quality sensors are situated at certain downstream locations in plenums (the ducts sending air to rooms). To display the contamination levels the signals from the air quality sensor is sent to the data acquisition unit (DAQ) then processed and displayed on the GUI on linear bar indicators where blue is for 100% air purity, lower levels than 90% indicated by a yellow color indicate a contaminated environment, and red is for critical levels of contamination associated with a warning and demand for action by involving new disinfection agents or evacuation which will also trigger an alarm demanding emergency measures to be immediately addressed as displayed on the EMERGENCY INSTRUCTIONS text box. [0067] BIO-CHEMICAL CONTAMINATION; represents a comprehensive indicator of the contamination levels calculated by quantitative risk factored algorithms, processed by its respective VI routine and displayed in accordance with the signals obtained from the air quality sensors indicating the severity of the threat.” Examiner’s Note – See figure 1 that shows the display indicating the air quality of plenum #1 and plenum #2 displayed in the GUI.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined The HVAC system and method that turns air off to a duct, takes an air quality sample, and then turns the air circulation unit on again, takes another air quality sample and then compares the two quality samples and then displays the result on a user interface device as in Ostermeier with an air quality measuring system that displays the air quality pertaining to the location or numbered ducts pertaining to the air quality sensors as in Kalapodas in order to have a user be able to read the analog inputs and display the data for Air Quality, detect the presence of bio-chemical hazard in plenums and return ducts with color coded display (green for safe, yellow and red for extreme contamination levels indication) to have an easily readable visual warning display system. (Kalapodas Claim 1 and Par. 0022) Regarding claim 9, it is directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 2. Ostermeier and Kalapodas teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 2. Therefore, Ostermeier and Kalapodas teach the method of steps in claim 9 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier in view of Urbaniak et al. (PG Pub. No. 20210247091), herein “Urbaniak.” Regarding claim 5, The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 5 depends. Ostermeier does not teach that the sensors values are sent to a server. However, Urbaniak does teach that the processor is further configured to: periodically send each of the first set of measured IAQ values, the second set of measured IAQ values, the first set of individual IAQ values, and the second set of individual IAQ values to a cloud server using the communication interface. (Par. 0053: “The data from the co-located temperature and humidity sensors is used to estimate the enthalpy of the airstream. A transmitter can transmit the airflow, temperature, humidity, and psychrometric data to an acquiring source (e.g., a controller, a reader, a server, a building management system, etc.) for making decisions.” Par. 0087: “The airstream data can be acquired from devices 20 directly or indirectly, and then processed into airstream data and sent to another entity (i.e., an acquirer 39) via interfaces 36. In some scenarios, the interfaces 36 are configured to receive electrical data (i.e., resistance or capacitance sensor signals) and then transmit the airstream parameters, simultaneously, to the acquirer 39 (e.g., a controller, user, building management system, reader, technician, computer, server, etc.). The acquirer 39 may use the airstream parameters to implement and/or effect management and control decisions in an HVAC system.” Par. 0106 – air quality measurements.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined The HVAC system and method that turns air off to a duct, takes an air quality sample, and then turns the air circulation unit on again, takes another air quality sample and then compares the two quality samples and then displays the result on a user interface device as in Ostermeier with sensing parameters in a duct of an HVAC system and sending the airstream data to a server as in Urbaniak in order to analyze the parameters and more efficiently control the HVAC system. (Par. 0087) Regarding claim 12, it is directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 5. Ostermeier and Urbaniak teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 5. Therefore, Ostermeier and Urbaniak teach the method of steps in claim 12 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostermeier in view of Reeder (US Patent No. 9,182,751), herein “Reeder.” Regarding claim 7, The previously cited reference(s) teach the limitations of claim 1 which claim 7 depends. Ostermeier does not teach a pattern indicative of a specific issue. However, Reeder does teach that the processor is further configured to: determine a ramping pattern of the second set of measured IAQ values with respect to a predefined required IAQ level; and detect one of a zone specific (Col. 7, line 65 – Col. 8, line 1: “In some implementations, such a determination can be made for each zone of a property, e.g., for each room of a home, or can be determined for the property as a whole.” issue or an issue related to the at least one contaminated duct based on the determined ramping pattern. (Col. 8, lines 6 – 14: “Determining that a CO2 concentration has changed significantly can involve determining that a maximum or minimum has occurred in the graph of CO2 concentration for the property. For example, based on two previous CO2 concentration samples indicating that a CO2 concentration is decreasing, and a third CO2 concentration sample that has just been received indicating that the CO2 concentration is now increasing, a minimum point can be identified that corresponds to an event at the property.” Col. 15, line 50 – Col. 16, line 4 and Col. 21, lines 54 – 59.) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined The HVAC system and method that turns air off to a duct, takes an air quality sample, and then turns the air circulation unit on again, takes another air quality sample and then compares the two quality samples and then displays the result on a user interface device as in Ostermeier with determining a pattern in a zone and determine a specific event for the property or zone as in Reeder in order to identify patterns and anomalies in CO2 levels and for appropriate action to be taken if a safety hazard exists or if significant changes in the behavioral patterns of users are detected. (Col. 7, lines 9 – 12) Regarding claim 14, it is directed to a method of steps to implement the system or apparatuses set forth in claim 7. Ostermeier and Reeder teach the claimed system or apparatuses in claim 7. Therefore, Ostermeier and Reeder teach the method of steps in claim 14 . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims pending resolving all intervening issues such as the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections above. Reasons for allowance will be held in abeyance pending final recitation of the claims. The prior art does not disclose the elements of claim 1 and wherein, for detecting the specific location of the at least one contaminated duct, the processor is further configured to: re-control the AHU to turn- off the air circulation to corresponding zones among the one or more zones for a third time period; control each of the plurality of IAQ sensors to measure a first set of individual IAQ values of the corresponding zones when the air circulation to the corresponding zones is turned off for the third time period; re-control the AHU to turn-on the air circulation to the corresponding zones for a fourth time period; control each of the plurality of IAQ sensors to measure a second set of individual IAQ values of the corresponding zones when the air circulation to the corresponding zones is turned-on for the fourth time period; compare the first set of individual IAQ values with the second set of individual IAQ values; detect the specific location of the at least one contaminated duct within the indoor environment based on a result of the comparison between the first set of individual IAQ values and the second set of individual IAQ values. However, as rejected above, the meaning of the first and second set of IAQ values needs to be further defined. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Lincoln et al. (US PG Pub. No. 20200300499), is on point with the instant application and teaches multiple sensors (30) in a duct (20) that sense air quality. (Par. 0043). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD G ERDMAN whose telephone number is (571)270-0177. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 7am - 3pm or 4pm EST.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth Lo can be reached at (571) 272-9774. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 2 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 3 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 4 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 5 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 6 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 7 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 8 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 9 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 10 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 11 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/510,398 Page 12 Art Unit: 2116