Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second organic layer of claims 7-8, 13-14, 23-24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 13-14, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-8, 13-14, 23-24 recites the limitation "the second organic layer" in claims 7-8, 13-14, 23-24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al. disclose a display device (10) comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area (DA), a non-display area (NDA) adjacent to the display area, and a sensor hole (OA) at least partly surrounded by the non-display area (Fig. 3); and
an organic material shorting portion positioned in the non-display area (Fig. 13, structure is similar to applicant’s shorting portion),
wherein the organic material shorting portion comprises:
an undercut pattern (paragraph 141, groove G has an undercut pattern),
However, Choi et al. do not disclose an organic pattern positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern, and an inorganic pattern positioned between the undercut pattern and the organic pattern and being smaller in width than the undercut pattern.
On the other hand, Son et al. disclose an organic pattern (312, may be formed of the same material as the second planarization layer, paragraph 619, Fig. 6) positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern (Fig. 6) and an inorganic pattern (332, may be formed of inorganic material, paragraph 72, Fig. 6) positioned between the undercut pattern and the organic pattern (312) and being smaller in width than the undercut pattern (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. in view of Son et al. such that an organic pattern positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern, and an inorganic pattern positioned between the undercut pattern and the organic pattern and being smaller in width than the undercut pattern. Doing so would serve as a high-resolution, self-aligned separator in display devices.
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al is discussed above. Choi et al. do not disclose an upper surface and side surfaces of the inorganic pattern contact the organic pattern.
However, Son et al. disclose an upper surface and side surfaces of the inorganic pattern (332) contact the organic pattern (312) (Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. in view of Son et al such that an upper surface and side surfaces of the inorganic pattern contact the organic pattern. Doing so would ensure airtight encapsulation that blocks moisture and oxygen from penetrating the edges.
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al. is discussed above. Choi et al. do not disclose the inorganic pattern exposes an upper surface of the undercut pattern partially, and the organic pattern contacts the upper surface of the exposed undercut pattern directly.
However, Son et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (332) exposes an upper surface of the undercut pattern partially (Fig. 6), and the organic pattern (312) contacts the upper surface of the exposed undercut pattern directly (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. in view of Son et al such that the inorganic pattern exposes an upper surface of the undercut pattern partially, and the organic pattern contacts the upper surface of the exposed undercut pattern directly. Doing so would manage layer adhesion and prevent contamination.
Regarding claim 4, Choi et al. is discussed above. Choi et al. do not disclose the inorganic pattern contacts a central portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern and exposes a remain portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern.
However, Son et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (332) contacts a central portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern and exposes a remain portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern (Fig. 6, central portion of undercut pattern is exposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. in view of Son et al such that the inorganic pattern contacts a central portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern and exposes a remain portion of the upper surface of the undercut pattern. Doing so would achieve high-resolution, pixel-isolated structures.
Regarding claim 5, Choi et al. disclose an organic light-emitting device (light emitting diode, paragraph 89) positioned on the display area (DA) of the substrate (paragraph 89, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Choi et al. disclose an encapsulation layer (300, Fig. 7) on the organic light- emitting device (paragraph 109), wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic film (310), an organic film (320) on the first inorganic film, and a second inorganic film (330).
Regarding claim 12, Choi et al. disclose the non-display area (NDA1) comprises an area having the organic material shorting portion (areas indicated by box G), provided therein, and a dam area (510, 520) adjacent to the area (510, 520 are adjacent to G).
Regarding claim 13, Choi et al. disclose the organic material shorting portion (multiple areas that G is pointing to) is provided in multiple quantities, and the multiple organic material shorting portions comprise a first organic material shorting portion positioned between the display area and the dam area (Fig. 12, right most G), and a second organic shorting material portion positioned between the dam area and the sensor hole (NDA1 area is surrounding OA of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Choi et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (310) directly contacts an upper surface of the undercut pattern (structure of Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 18, Choi et al. disclose the undercut pattern comprises a plurality of layers (inorganic layers 310, 330, 710).
Claims 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Park et al. (US 20190157618 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Son are discussed above. Choi and Son do not disclose the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode on the substrate, an organic layer on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode on the organic layer.
However, Park et al. disclose the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode (122) on the substrate, an organic layer (124) on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode (126) on the organic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Park et al. such that the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode on the substrate, an organic layer on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode on the organic layer. Doing so would emit light from the OLED structure.
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Son are discussed above. None of the prior references disclose the organic layer is positioned in the non-display area and is shorted by the organic material shorting portion. Choi further discloses a shorting portion (Fig. 12, 13, since it has a similar structure, then it will take to have similar functionality/operability) and a non-display area (NDA).
However, Park discloses an organic layer (124, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Park et al. such that the organic layer is positioned in the non-display area and is shorted by the organic material shorting portion. Doing so would ensure device reliability and prevent electrical shorts in the active display area.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) and Park et al. (US 20190157618 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Park et al (US 20210020078 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, Son, and Park (‘618) are discussed above. None of the prior references disclose the organic layer includes: first organic layers contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern, and a second organic layer contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern.
However, Park et al (‘078) disclose the organic layer includes: first organic layers (201) contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern (G), and a second organic layer (202) contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son and Park (‘618) in view of Park (‘078) such that the organic layer includes: first organic layers contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern, and a second organic layer contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern. Doing so would improve device performance and reduce leakage current.
Regarding claim 8, Choi, Son and Park (‘618) are discussed above. Choi discloses a shorting portion (Fig. 12, 13, since it has a similar structure, then it will take to have similar functionality/operability).
However, Choi does not disclose the first and second organic layers.
However, Park et al (‘078) disclose a first organic layer (201) and second organic layer (202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son and Park (‘618) in view of Park (‘078) such that the first organic layers and the second organic layer are shorted by the organic material shorting portion. Doing so would ensure reliable pixel definition and prevent premature layer damage.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) and Park et al. (US 20190157618 A1).as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Byun et al. (US 20230209909 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Choi, Son, and Park are discussed above. None of the prior references disclose the organic layer is positioned on upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern.
However, Byun et al. disclose the organic layer (320, may include organic material, paragraph 142)) is positioned on upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern (113, may include organic material, paragraph 141) (Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son, and Park in view of Byun et al. such that the organic layer is positioned on upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern. Doing so would act as a thin film encapsulation to provide a barrier against moisture and oxygen.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Byun et al (US 20230209909 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither references disclose the organic layer is positioned outside the dam area in a planar view, and the first inorganic film and the second inorganic film contact each other in the dam area and the second organic material shorting portion.
However, Byun et al. disclose the organic layer (420) is positioned outside the dam area (500) in a planar view (Fig. 11), and the first inorganic film (410) and the second inorganic film (430) contact each other in the dam area and the second organic material shorting portion (G2) (Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Byun et al. such that the organic layer is positioned outside the dam area in a planar view, and the first inorganic film and the second inorganic film contact each other in the dam area and the second organic material shorting portion. Doing so would enable robust encapsulation and device reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither references disclose the first inorganic film directly contacts the upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern.
However, Byun et al. disclose the first inorganic film (410) directly contacts the upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern (320, can be organic material, paragraph 142) (Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Byun et al. such that the first inorganic film directly contacts the upper and side surfaces of the organic pattern. Doing so would provide robust encapsulation and structural integrity.
Regarding claim 16, Choi et al. disclose the first inorganic film (710) directly contacts a side surface of the undercut pattern (contacts side portion G) and a lower surface of the organic pattern (720, material may be organic, paragraph 149).
Claims 19-21, 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) and Seo et al. (US 20210066418 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Choi et al. disclose a display device (10) comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area (DA), a non-display area (NDA) adjacent to the display area, and a sensor hole (OA) at least partly surrounded by the non-display area (Fig. 3); and
an organic material shorting portion positioned in the non-display area (Fig. 13, structure is similar to applicant’s shorting portion),
wherein the organic material shorting portion comprises:
an undercut pattern (paragraph 141, groove G has an undercut pattern),
However, Choi et al. do not disclose an organic pattern positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern, and wherein the undercut pattern comprises an opening penetrating the undercut pattern from an upper surface thereof, and the organic pattern fills the opening.
On the other hand, Son et al. disclose an organic pattern (312, may be formed of the same material as the second planarization layer, paragraph 619, Fig. 6) positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern (Fig. 6)
On the other hand, Seo et al. discloses an opening (TH1) penetrating the undercut pattern (paragraph 150, Fig. 4, undercut shaped pattern formed by TH1) from an upper surface thereof, and the organic pattern fills the opening (420).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. in view of Son et al. and Seo et al. such that an organic pattern positioned on the undercut pattern and being larger in width than the undercut pattern, and wherein the undercut pattern comprises an opening penetrating the undercut pattern from an upper surface thereof, and the organic pattern fills the opening. Doing so would serve as a high-resolution, self-aligned separator in display devices.
Regarding claim 20, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither references disclose the organic pattern directly contacts the undercut pattern within the opening.
However, Seo et al. disclose the organic pattern (420) directly contacts the undercut pattern (area represented in Fig. 4 by arrow TH1) within the opening (TH1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. and Son et al. in view of Seo et al. such that the organic pattern directly contacts the undercut pattern within the opening. Doing so would achieve high-resolution, pixel-isolated deposition.
Regarding claim 21, Choi et al. disclose an organic light-emitting device (light emitting diode, paragraph 89) positioned on the display area (DA) of the substrate (paragraph 89, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 25, Choi et al. disclose one inorganic layer (710) positioned between the undercut pattern (G) and the substrate (100) (Fig. 13), wherein the opening penetrates the at least one inorganic layer, and the organic pattern (720, material may be organic, paragraph 149) contacts the at least one inorganic layer within the opening.
Regarding claim 26, Choi et al. disclose the undercut pattern comprises a plurality of layers (inorganic layers 310, 330, 710).
Regarding claim 27, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither references disclose the organic material shorting portion further comprises an inorganic pattern positioned between the undercut pattern and the organic pattern.
However, Seo et al. disclose the organic material shorting portion (A) further comprises an inorganic pattern (410) positioned between the undercut pattern (pattern in region A) and the organic pattern (420).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi et al. and Son et al. in view of Seo et al. such that the organic material shorting portion further comprises an inorganic pattern positioned between the undercut pattern and the organic pattern. Doing so would enhance structural stability and reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 28, Choi and Seo are discussed above. Neither of these references disclose the inorganic pattern is smaller in width than the undercut pattern.
However, Son et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (332) is smaller in width than the undercut pattern (Fig. 6, width of 332 is smaller than undercut pattern in the figure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Seo in view of Son et al. such that the inorganic pattern is smaller in width than the undercut pattern. Doing so would prevent pixel contamination and enable effective lift-off processes.
Regarding claim 29, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither of these references disclose the inorganic pattern is larger in width than the opening.
However, Seo et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (410) is larger in width than the opening (TH1, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Seo et al. such that the inorganic pattern is larger in width than the opening. Doing so would enable effective pixel separation and structural integrity.
Regarding claim 30, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither of these references disclose the inorganic pattern is positioned on an upper surface of the undercut pattern outside the opening and within the opening.
However, Seo et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (410) is positioned on an upper surface of the undercut pattern (region A) outside the opening (area outside TH1) and within the opening (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Seo et al. such that the inorganic pattern is positioned on an upper surface of the undercut pattern outside the opening and within the opening. Doing so would improve structural stability and act as a barrier against moisture.
Regarding claim 31, Choi and Son are discussed above. Neither of these references disclose the inorganic pattern contacts a side surface of the undercut pattern within the opening.
However, Seo et al. disclose the inorganic pattern (410) contacts a side surface of the undercut pattern (region A) within the opening (TH1, Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Son in view of Seo et al. such that the inorganic pattern contacts a side surface of the undercut pattern within the opening. Doing so would ensure reliable isolation of organic layers.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1) and Seo et al. (US 20210066418 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, in further view of Park et al. (US 20190157618 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Choi, Son, and Seo are discussed above. None of these references disclose the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode on the substrate, an organic layer on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode on the organic layer.
However, Park et al. disclose the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode (122) on the substrate, an organic layer (124) on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode (126) on the organic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son, and Seo in view of Park et al. such that the organic light-emitting device comprises an anode electrode on the substrate, an organic layer on the anode electrode, and a cathode electrode on the organic layer. Doing so would emit light from the OLED structure.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20200161582 A1) in view of Son et al. (US 20220208915 A1), Seo et al. (US 20210066418 A1), and Park et al. (US 20190157618 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, in further view of Park et al (US 20210020078 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Choi, Son, Seo, and Park (‘618) are discussed above. None of the prior references disclose the organic layer includes: first organic layers contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern, and a second organic layer contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern.
However, Park et al (‘078) disclose the organic layer includes: first organic layers (201) contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern (G), and a second organic layer (202) contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son, Seo, and Park (‘618) in view of Park (‘078) such that the organic layer includes: first organic layers contacting side surfaces of the undercut pattern, and a second organic layer contacting an upper surface and side surfaces of the organic pattern. Doing so would improve device performance and reduce leakage current.
Regarding claim 24, Choi, Son, Seo, and Park (‘618) are discussed above. Choi discloses a shorting portion (Fig. 12, 13, since it has a similar structure, then it will take to have similar functionality/operability).
However, Choi does not disclose the first and second organic layers.
However, Park et al (‘078) disclose a first organic layer (201) and second organic layer (202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi, Son, Seo, and Park (‘618) in view of Park (‘078) such that the first organic layers and the second organic layer are shorted by the organic material shorting portion. Doing so would ensure reliable pixel definition and prevent premature layer damage.
/STEVE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817