DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested the claim be amended to recite “foaming the resin structure” in the final line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9 and 11 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0023775 to Poelma et al. (hereinafter Poelma) in view of US 2019/0374309 to Parkar et al. (hereinafter Parkar).
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 4, and 12. Poelma teaches a method for producing a resin product [0001]. The resin product is expanded due to the action of microspheres to provide a foam product [0033]. The resin product may have a lattice structure [0075], corresponding to a resin structure with an internal cavity communicating with an outer space and with multiple exterior surfaces.
The method comprises preparing a polymerizable liquid/composition comprising a dual cure additive manufacturing resin and heat expandable microspheres [0029] – [0035], i.e. a curable material and a thermally expandable foaming agent. The method further comprises curing the composition via additive manufacturing [0044], thereby forming a resin structure which may be in the form of a lattice as described above. After this curing step, the object may be cleaned or rinsed with a solvent [0049] – [0059]. As the resin structure has an internal cavity communicating with an outer space, cleaning such an object would necessarily include cleaning said internal cavity.
A heating step is subsequently performed in an oven containing an inert gas atmosphere or in an inert liquid bath, optionally under elevated pressure in the range of 10 to 100 psi [0061] – [0067]. Per above, the lattice structure of the resin comprises an internal cavity communicating with an outer space and with multiple exterior surfaces. Thus, carrying out the heating step in Poelma in which the outer space is filled with an inert gas or liquid will result in such fluid being blown through a first exterior surface into the resin structure. The instant specification as filed discloses the pressure for blowing the gas is in the range of 0.1 to 1.0 MPa (14 – 145 psi) [0046]. The elevated pressure taught by Poelma would then be reasonably expected to correspond to sufficient pressure such that the fluid reaches a second exterior surface of the structure. Poelma further teaches the application of heat causes the microspheres to expand [0033]. Thus, the heating step in Poelma will also result in fabrication of a resin foam product via the expansion of the microspheres within the resin structure having fluid blown therein.
Poelma does not expressly characterize the above described heating step functions to further clean the resin structure. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Poelma teaches a heating step employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a heating step which functions to further clean the resin structure, would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Poelma also does not expressly the above described, initial cleaning step with solvent involves the resin structure being immersed in the solvent as it is exposed to an ultrasonic treatment. However, Parkar teaches the concept of exposing a 3D printed article to ultrasonic treatment in a solvent. Parkar further teaches this step cleans the article by dissolving only the uncured printable composition/residue [0120]. Poelma and Parkar are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely methods of additive manufacturing. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the cleaning step of Poelma by exposing the resin structure to an ultrasonic treatment in a solvent, as suggested by Parkar. The motivation would have been that it has been held that it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); and MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Poelma shows this is a known method of cleaning 3D articles after curing [0120]. The addition of ultrasonic waves would further be expected to enhance the efficacy of the cleaning step, as compared to a cleaning step in which the solvent is used alone.
Regarding Claim 2. Poelma teaches the method of Claim 2 wherein the curable material is a liquid which is light/photo-curable [0044]. Poelma further teaches the resin structure may be formed from the composition via stereolithography [0045]. Per [0072] of the PG-PUB of the instant application, stereolithography/SLA is a method in which a composition is irradiated with an active energy ray.
Regarding Claims 5 – 7 and 13 – 16. Poelma teaches the method of Claim 1, 2, 3, and 4 wherein the resin product may have a lattice structure [0075], corresponding to a resin foam product having the instantly claimed features.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9. Poelma teaches the method of Claim 1 in which the heating step may be performed in an oven containing an inert gas atmosphere, optionally under elevated pressure in the range of 10 to 100 psi [0061] – [0067]. The heating step may be performed in two phases [0062] – [0065]. Thus, the first heating phase may be reasonably considered to correspond to the instantly claimed step of blowing a fluid/gas to the resin structure, while the second heating phase may be reasonably considered to correspond to the instantly claimed step of blowing a fluid/gas to the resin foam product. Moreover, limitations directed to the step of blowing a fluid/gas to the resin foam product after it is produced are not considered to further limit the instant claims which are directed to a method of producing the resin foam product.
Regarding Claim 11. Poelma teaches the method of Claim 2 employs heat expandable microspheres [0029] – [0035], i.e. a thermally expandable foaming agent.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0023775 to Poelma et al. (hereinafter Poelma) in view of US 2019/0374309 to Parkar et al. (hereinafter Parkar).
Regarding Claim 17. Poelma teaches a resin product [0001]. The resin product is produced by a method in which a resin structure is expanded due to the action of microspheres to provide a foam product [0033]. The resin product may have a lattice structure [0075], corresponding to a resin structure with an internal cavity communicating with an outer space.
The method of preparing the resin foam product comprises preparing a polymerizable liquid/composition comprising a dual cure additive manufacturing resin and heat expandable microspheres [0029] – [0035], i.e. a curable material and a thermally expandable foaming agent. The method further comprises curing the composition via additive manufacturing [0044], thereby forming a resin structure which may be in the form of a lattice as described above. After this curing step, the object may be cleaned or rinsed with a solvent [0049] – [0059]. As the resin structure has an internal cavity communicating with an outer space, cleaning such an object would necessarily include cleaning said internal cavity.
A heating step is subsequently performed in an oven containing an inert gas atmosphere or in an inert liquid bath, optionally under elevated pressure in the range of 10 to 100 psi [0061] – [0067]. Per above, the lattice structure of the resin comprises an internal cavity communicating with an outer space and with multiple exterior surfaces. Thus, carrying out the heating step in Poelma in which the outer space is filled with an inert gas or liquid will result in such fluid being blown through a first exterior surface into the resin structure. The instant specification as filed discloses the pressure for blowing the gas is in the range of 0.1 to 1.0 MPa (14 – 145 psi) [0046]. The elevated pressure taught by Poelma would then be reasonably expected to correspond to sufficient pressure such that the fluid reaches a second exterior surface of the structure. Poelma further teaches the application of heat causes the microspheres to expand [0033]. Thus, the heating step in Poelma will also result in fabrication of a resin foam product via the expansion of the microspheres within the resin structure having fluid blown therein.
Poelma does not expressly characterize the above described heating step functions to further clean the resin structure. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Poelma teaches a heating step employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a heating step which functions to further clean the resin structure, would implicitly be achieved by a process employing all of the claimed steps and processing conditions, as well as the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties using only the claimed process employing the claimed steps, processing conditions, and ingredients in the claimed amounts.
Poelma also does not expressly the above described, initial cleaning step with solvent involves the resin structure being immersed in the solvent as it is exposed to an ultrasonic treatment. However, Parkar teaches the concept of exposing a 3D printed article to ultrasonic treatment in a solvent. Parkar further teaches this step cleans the article by dissolving only the uncured printable composition/residue [0120]. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the cleaning step of Poelma by exposing the resin structure to an ultrasonic treatment in a solvent, as suggested by Parkar. The motivation would have been that it has been held that it is obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); and MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Poelma shows this is a known method of cleaning 3D articles after curing [0120]. The addition of ultrasonic waves would further be expected to enhance the efficacy of the cleaning step, as compared to a cleaning step in which the solvent is used alone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered. The Office responds as follows:
A) Applicant argues that primary reference Poelma provides no reason for cleaning a resin structure by blowing a fluid through the first exterior surface of the resin structure with sufficient pressure such the fluid reaches the second exterior surface of the resin structure. However, it is the Office such limitations are implicitly met by the disclosure of Poelma for the reasons detailed in the modified grounds of rejection of Claims 1 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth above.
B) Applicant argues that there is no reason to combine Poelma and Parkar, as Parkar as a whole leads away from the presently claimed subject matter. Applicant notes that [0120] of Parkar implies the references seeks to avoid foaming of its 3D article, while primary reference Poelma’s objective is to foam its 3D article by the expansion of the microspheres incorporated therein.
However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The Office agrees that Poelma seeks to foam its 3D printed article, while Parkar does not share this particular objective. It nonetheless remains the Office’s position that the references are suitably combined. Poelma teaches its 3D printed articles can be cleaned in any suitable apparatus [0050]. Parkar teaches a suitable apparatus for performing the cleaning of 3D printed articles, namely an ultrasound apparatus. Additionally, Poelma performs foaming as a separate step, after the solvent cleaning step. As such, Parkar does not envision that foaming must occur during the cleaning step in which the solvent is provided. There is consequently a reasonable expectation of success in combining the two reference disclosures, as Poelma provides no particular limitation on the apparatus which may be used to clean the 3D printed article with a solvent and Parkar discloses 3D printed articles may suitably be cleaned with solvents using an ultrasonic treatment apparatus.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764