DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Any references to applicant’s specification are made by way of applicant’s U.S. pre-grant printed patent publication.
This action is in response to the communication filed on 10/28/25.
All objections and rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5, 10, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rawat et al. (Rawat), US 2022/0188690 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Rawat discloses:
A method for performing threat detection comprising (e.g. Rawat, Abstract):
receiving, by a detection system (e.g. Rawat, fig. 1), a set of labels (e.g. Rawat, fig. 2:45) that are generated using an unsupervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 39 – e.g. DBSCAN), the set of labels received from a label data store (e.g. Rawat, fig. 2:45; par. 39, 40, 50, 51 – the label data is embodied within and received from hardware/software logic and memory, i.e. “a label data store”; see also applicant’s own characterization of a “data store”, Specification, par. 185);
initiating, by the detection system, a training process of a supervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 40 – SVM, i.e. a “Support Vector Machine” or supervised model, is initiated using labels generated from DBSCAN, i.e. an unsupervised model; see also Rawat , fig. 1:14; par. 30, 41 - herein the SVM is further trained using the Meta Model) using the set of labels from the unsupervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 40);
initiating, by the detection system, an inference process of the supervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 26, 29, 44; fig. 1:26 – herein during live activity or deployment – i.e. an “inference process” using the SVM), wherein output of the inference process generates the set of clustered data (e.g. Rawat, par. 26, 29 – the SVM generates an output comprising a classification or clustering of data according to groupings such as “normal” and/or “threat”);
and storing, by the detection system, the supervised machine learning model in a model data store for future inference processes on new data (e.g. Rawat, par. 42, 45, 50, 51 – the SVM model is updated and embodied within hardware/software logic and memory, i.e. “a model data store”; see also applicant’s own characterization of a “data store”).
Regarding claim 2, Rawat discloses:
wherein generating the set of labels comprises: executing the unsupervised machine learning model to identify clusters in unlabeled data (e.g. Rawat, par. 28, 39);
and automatically assigning, by the unsupervised machine learning model, labels that encode cluster membership of the unlabeled data without human labeling intervention (e.g. Rawat, par. 28, 39 – herein, the DBSCAN autonomously assigns tentative or soft labels).
Regarding claim 3, Rawat discloses:
wherein generating the set of labels comprises: executing the unsupervised machine learning model to reduce a number of input variables or features from unlabeled data and transform the unlabeled data into a low-dimensional space to produce a transformed representation (e.g. par. 37, 39 – the unsupervised model take a large unlabeled data set of features and reduces the complexity of the dataset into one or more clusters or groups);
and automatically assigning, by the unsupervised machine learning model, labels for the unlabeled data based on the transformed representation (e.g. Rawat, par. 39 – the dataset of clusters or groups are labeled).
Regarding claim 4, Rawat discloses:
wherein generating the set of labels comprises: executing the unsupervised machine learning model to automatically assign binary labels to indicated whether unlabeled data is outlier data or normal data (e.g. Rawat, par. 39 – cluster labels may indicate data as either benign or malicious). See also Rawat (e.g. fig. 1; par. 29, 44), wherein the pipeline, including the unsupervised machine learning model, is executed so as to automatically produce labels of benign or malicious, i.e. “normal” or “outlier” data.
Regarding claim 5, Rawat discloses:
wherein the set of labels that was determined from the unsupervised machine learning model is provided as input to the supervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 28, 39 - 41), and the training process iteratively adjusts parameters of the supervised machine learning model to minimize a difference between predictions and true labels (e.g. Rawat, par. 41-45).
Regarding claim 10, Rawat discloses:
further comprising: initiating an action based on the inference process of the supervised machine learning model (e.g. Rawat, par. 40 – an actions, such as notifications -at least – are initiated based upon the inference process).
Regarding claims 14 – 20, they are system and medium claims essentially corresponding to the above, and they are rejected, at least, for the same reasons. Furthermore regarding claim 14 and 20, Rawat discloses:
…a memory; and a processor that are configured to execute machine readable instructions stored in the memory … and … A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors… (e.g. Rawat, par. 48 - 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 – 9 and 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawat et al. (Rawat), US 2022/0188690 A1 in view of Miller et al. (Miller), US 2019/0188212 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Rawat discloses continuously optimizing an unsupervised machine learning model during inference (e.g. Rawat, par. 23, 29, 41). However, Rawat does not appear to explicitly teach a “confidence score” resulting from the inference process, i.e. anomaly or threat detection, that can be used to adjust data clustering.
However, Miller, like Rawat, teaches using a threat detection system using machine learning algorithms, comprising generating a confidence score (e.g. Miller, par. 120 – statistical confidence score) associated with the inference process of the supervised machine learning model (e.g. Miller, fig. 1:100; par. 118 – during operation of threat detectors, i.e. the supervised machine learning model), wherein the confidence score is a likelihood that unlabeled data received by the unsupervised machine learning model is to be grouped in the set of clustered data (e.g. Miller, par. 120, 121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the “confidence score” teachings of Miller within the threat detection system of Rawat. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings that using a confidence score can help to improve the accuracy of detecting outlier data (e.g. Miller, 118, 120).
Regarding claim 7, the combination enables:
wherein the confidence score is determined for each cluster in the set of clustered data and a greatest confidence score associated with a particular cluster determines which cluster data are assigned (e.g. Miller, par. 120, 121).
Regarding claim 8, the combination enables:
wherein the confidence score is determined for each cluster in the set of clustered data and the confidence score is a thresholding for classification (e.g. Miller, par. 120, 121 – “low confidence” or “false positive rate” is equivalent to “thresholding”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination enables:
wherein the confidence score corresponds with a determination that the unlabeled data is outlier data when it is not similar to existing data (e.g. Miller, par. 120, 121 – comparison of the confidence score to a “false positive rate” allows for determining when the data is an outlier or belongs within a cluster).
Regarding claim 11, Rawat discloses initiating an action, such as a notification, upon threat detection during an inference process. However, Rawat does not appear to explicitly teach that the notification is displayed.
However, Miller, like Rawat, teaches using a threat detection system using machine learning algorithms, and teaches performing an action, such as a notification, upon detection during an inference process, and furthermore teaches that the notification is displayed (e.g. Miller, par. 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the notification display teachings of Miller within the threat detection system of Rawat. This would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings that displaying the notification allows a user to inspect the system and perform an appropriate response (e.g. Miller, 67, 123).
Thus, the combination enables:
wherein the action comprises updating a display that identifies an inference associated with the set of clustered data (e.g. Miller, par. 67).
Regarding claim 12, the combination enables:
wherein the action comprises sending a notification to remove a device from communicating with a detection system via a network (e.g. Rawat, 37, 40; see also Miller, par. 7, 67). The examiner points out that information is purposeful for all that it may imply. For example, “1” may imply “a security log”, or may imply “normal data” and/or may imply “outlier data”, and “0” may imply “not a security log” or “outlier data” and/or “normal data” (e.g. see Applicant’s own admission, Specification, par. 29, 30). Thus, any “alert” of maliciousness or threat implies to a receiver of the notification the need to remove the malicious or offending device. However, the examiner furthermore notes that the informational content of non-functional descriptive material is not afforded patentable weight. Thus, the information or meaning of the alert does not change the functionality or provide an additional function to the step of sending/receiving an alert. See Ex parte Nehls, 88 USPQ2d 1883, 1887-90 (BPAI 2008) (precedential); Ex parte Curry, 84 USPQ2d 1272 (BPAI 2005) (informative) (Federal Circuit Appeal No. 2006-1003, aff'd, Rule 36 (June 12, 2006)); Ex parte Mathias, 84 USPQ2d 1276 (BPAI 2005) (informative), aff'd, 191 Fed. Appx. 959 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Regarding claim 13, the combination enables:
wherein the action comprises adding a portion of the set of clustered data to an outlier queue for further review (e.g. Rawat, par. 40; see also Miller par. 7, 67 - Malicious data is output for review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495