DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Response received 05/04/2026 for 18510478. Claims 1-28 and 30-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 101 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed amended limitations of a "mapping model" cannot be performed in the human mind and thus the claim is not directed toward an abstract idea [pg. 9:4-5]. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The courts do not distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, “[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.” Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
The amended claim limitations recite a mapping model comprising "a plurality of entries indexed by the first hand gesture and the control gesture, each of the plurality of entries specifying a corresponding control option" and are directed to collecting and comparing known information, which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC, 659 F.3d 1057, 1067, 100 USPQ2d 1492, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2011) and thus fall within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. Merely applying the exception using generic computer components at a high level of generality can still recite a mental process per Step 2A, Prong 1 and is still directed to an abstract idea. Claim 1 remains rejected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the new and/or updated citations used in the current rejection of record under Dalal in view of Clarkson in response to the newly amended limitations.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to those recited in claim 1 and remains rejected upon a similar basis as claim 1 as stated above.
Dependent claims 2-18, 20-28, and 30-31 remain rejected at least based on their dependence from independent claims 1 and 19.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The limitation of detecting a first hand gesture of a plurality of first hand gestures of a user, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, "detecting" in the context of this claim encompasses a user observation or evaluation that the first hand of a user is performing a hand gesture from known hand gestures.
The limitation of determining a first settings list of a plurality of settings lists based on the first hand gesture, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, "determining" in the context of this claim encompasses a user observation or evaluation of a first settings list from known setting lists based on the observed hand gesture.
The limitation of detecting a control gesture of a plurality of control gestures by the user, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, "detecting" in the context of this claim encompasses a user observation or evaluation of a user control gesture from known control gestures.
The limitation of determine, using a mapping model based on the first hand gesture and the control gesture as inputs, a first control option of the plurality of control options of the first settings list based on a combination of the control gesture and the first hand gesture, wherein the mapping model comprises a plurality of entries indexed by the first hand gesture and the control gesture, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, "determining" in the context of this claim encompasses a user evaluation of a control option of known control options from the observed or evaluated settings list based on using a user evaluation or judgement of a mental or pen and paper model with observed entries indexed with the observed or evaluated control gesture and hand gesture.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites an apparatus, memory, processor, sensor data, sensors, control options, and enabling control of the apparatus. The apparatus, memory, processor, sensor data, sensors, control options, and apparatus control are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)]. Additionally, these limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of computer execution [MPEP 2106.05(h)].
The sensor data from one or more sensors represents mere data gathering that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception, as the obtained sensor data is used in the abstract mental process of observing and evaluating. The sensor data and sensors are recited at a high level of generality and is therefore insignificant extra-solution activity [MPEP 2106.05(g)]. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in this claim do no more than automate the mental processes that user performs, using the computer components as a tool.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an apparatus, memory, processor, sensor data, sensors, control options, and controlling the apparatus amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
The sensor data and sensors, as discussed above, represents mere data gathering and is insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, these elements are well-understood, routine and conventional. With respect to the "sensors" for obtaining sensor data, the courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional [MPEP 2106.05(d))(II), "electronic recordkeeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory"].
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 19 recites method steps substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and recite an abstract idea. While the claims recite additional elements of a device, sensors, and processors, the elements are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)] and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a device, sensors, and processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims also recite limitations of a touch gesture of a plurality of touch gestures, detect the touch gesture of the user (claims 2, 20); the second hand gesture of a plurality of second hand gestures, to detect the second hand gesture of one of a hand performing the first hand gesture or another hand of the user (claims 4, 21); wherein each settings list of the plurality of settings lists is associated with a respective hand gesture (claims 6, 23); a gesture of one or more fingers indicating a number, a fist gesture, a hand waving gesture, a pinching gesture, or a hand movement gesture to form a shape (claims 7, 24); determine a first number associated with the first hand gesture (claims 8, 25); determine the first settings list of the plurality of settings lists based on the first number, each settings list of the plurality of settings lists is associated with a respective number (claims 9, 26); detect the control gesture and the first hand gesture simultaneously (claims 10, 14, 27) cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components encompassing user observation or evaluation of a user touch gesture of known touch gestures; user observations or evaluations of another hand gesture and another user hand; a user evaluation of an observed settings list associated with an observed hand gesture or observed number; user observations or evaluations of different hand gestures; a user observation or evaluation of a number associated with an observed hand gesture; a user observation or evaluation of simultaneous gestures and thus fall within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The dependent claims recite additional limitations including a touch pad (claims 2, 20); a single tap operation, a double tap operation, a press and hold operation, a swipe forward operation, or a swipe backward operation (claim 3); a pause operation, a select operation, a next operation, a voice assist operation, a volume up operation, a volume down operation, an increase brightness operation, a decrease brightness operation, a launch camera operation, a zoom in operation, or a zoom out operation (claims 5, 22); a red, green, blue (RGB) camera sensor or a monochrome camera sensor (claim 11); wherein each sensor of the one or more sensors is implemented within one of the apparatus or an additional device (claims 12, 28); wherein the apparatus and the additional device communicate with each other via a wireless communication protocol (claim 13); a mobile phone (claim 15); an extended reality device (claims 16); a head-mounted-display (claim 17); a mapping table comprising entries, a settings list column, an operations column (claims 18, 31); wherein each processor of the one or more processors is implemented within one of the device or another device (claim 30) that are recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer [MPEP 2106.05(f)] and generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of executing computer commands [MPEP 2106.05(h)] and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The dependent claims also recite additional limitations of detecting the touch gesture of the user via a touch pad (claims 2, 20) that represent insignificant extra-solution activity including nominal or tangential additions to the claim, amounting to mere data collection [MPEP 2106.05(g)]. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements of detecting touch gestures via a touch pad are recited at a high level of generality which are well-understood, routine, or conventional activities [MPEP 2106.05(d))(II), "storing and retrieving information in memory"] and remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration [MPEP 2106.05(g)]. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components, linking the use of an exception to a technological field of use, and insignificant extra-solution activity cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-16, 18-19, 21-28, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalal et al. (US 20140157209 A1) in view of Clarkson (US 20130211843 A1).
As to claim 1, Dalal discloses a apparatus for enabling one or more control options [para 0036, system with application control], the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory [para 0033, 0059, system includes memory and processor] and configured to:
detect, based on sensor data from one or more sensors, a first hand gesture of a plurality of first hand gestures of a user [para 0021, 0030, 0047, determine input gesture from images (read: sensor data) captured by camera (read: sensor) including user hand gesture (read: first hand gesture) among various input gesture patterns (read: first hand gestures)];
… detect a control gesture of a plurality of control gestures by the user, wherein each control gesture of the plurality of control gestures is associated with a different control option of the plurality of control options [para 0042-0043, detect gesture input (read: control gesture) made by user of detectable gestures (read: plurality of control gestures), where detectable gestures may mapped to (read: associated with) application action (read: different control option) of application actions];
determine, using a mapping model based on the first hand gesture and the control gesture as inputs, a first control option of the plurality of control options of the first settings list based on a combination of the control gesture and the first hand gesture … [para 0037-0038, 0043-0044, 0047, detect changed application model (read: mapping model) determined from captured input gesture and using detected gesture input and map detected gesture input to application action (read: first control option) of application actions with application model]; and
enable the first control option to control the apparatus [para 0036, 0045, device performs application action].
However, Dalal does not specifically disclose determine a first settings list of a plurality of settings lists based on the first hand gesture, wherein the first settings list comprises a plurality of control options; wherein the mapping model comprises a plurality of entries indexed by the first hand gesture and the control gesture, each of the plurality of entries specifying a corresponding control option.
Clarkson discloses:
determine a first settings list of a plurality of settings lists based on the first hand gesture, wherein the first settings list comprises a plurality of control options [para 0035-0036, 0085-0087, 0090-0091, select particular gesture input interpretation context (read: first settings list) of input interpretation contexts (read: plurality of settings lists) including set of activatable commands (read: plurality of control options) corresponding to detected engagement input (read: first hand gesture)];
wherein the mapping model comprises a plurality of entries indexed by the first hand gesture and the control gesture, each of the plurality of entries specifying a corresponding control option [para 0042-0044, 0085-0087, 0090-0094, Tables A-B, module access library of commands (read: entries) having index corresponding to detected engagement input and detected actionable gesture input (read: control gesture)].
Dalal and Clarkson are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface input systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first hand gesture and mapping model as disclosed by Dalal with determining a settings list of a plurality of settings lists based on a hand gesture and a mapping model comprising entries indexed by the hand gesture and a control gesture as disclosed by Clarkson with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dalal as described above to allow the user to control different functionalities [Clarkson, para 0038].
As to claim 4, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the control gesture is a second hand gesture of a plurality of second hand gestures [para 0026-0028, 0030, 0042, determine input gesture based on detecting second gesture object including hand configuration (read: second hand gesture) of detectable object configurations (read: second hand gestures)]; and
to detect the control gesture, the at least one processor is configured to detect the second hand gesture of one of a hand performing the first hand gesture [para 0028, 0030, determine input gesture based on detecting second gesture object of same physical hand object in different configuration, note strikethrough indicates non-selected alternatives]
As to claim 5, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each control option of the plurality of control options is one of a pause operation [para 0043, 0046-0048, application actions include pause function, also note other actions include confirmation, next, volume up and down, and zoom in and out actions],
As to claim 6, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each settings list of the plurality of settings lists is associated with a respective hand gesture [Figs. 12-14, para 0035, 0038-0039, hierarchy model for application part of hierarchy models for multiple applications reuse gesture inputs including hand gesture].
As to claim 7, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each hand gesture of the plurality of first hand gestures is one of [para 0030, 0047, 0052, 0054-0055, various detected input gesture patterns include waving gesture; also note other detected gestures include holding up a number of fingers, closing a hand, pinch gesture, and mimicking brand icons],
As to claim 8, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine a first number associated with the first hand gesture [para 0033, 0035, 0037-0038, device includes processing unit managing application priority level (read: first number) as changed with detected hand gesture changing application].
As to claim 9, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein: the at least one processor is configured
to determine the first settings list of the plurality of settings lists based on the first number [para 0033, 0035, 0037-0038, organize hierarchy model for application (read: first settings list) including application actions (read: control options) part of hierarchy models for multiple applications (read: settings lists) based on application priority level]; and
each settings list of the plurality of settings lists is associated with a respective number [Figs. 12-14, para 0035, 0037-0039, application hierarchy model of hierarchy models for multiple applications are prioritized based application priority level].
As to claim 10, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the control gesture and the first hand gesture simultaneously [para 0028, detect cooperative gesture input including first gesture performed by first hand and second gesture performed by second hand].
As to claim 11, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each sensor of the one or more sensors is one of a red, green, blue (RGB) camera sensor [para 0020-0021, imaging sensor unit includes RGB camera]
As to claim 12, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each sensor of the one or more sensors is implemented within one of [para 0019-0020, 0033, imaging sensor unit integrated with controllable device (read: additional device)].
As to claim 13, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the apparatus and the additional device communicate with each other via a wireless communication protocol [para 0021, 0033, capture device transfers operation to connected device over wi-fi (read: wireless communication protocol)].
As to claim 14, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to detect the control gesture and the first hand gesture simultaneously [para 0028, detect cooperative gesture input including first gesture performed by first hand and second gesture performed by second hand].
As to claim 15, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the additional device is a mobile phone [para 0021, 0033, capture device includes smart phone].
As to claim 16, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is an extended reality (XR) device [para 0037, 0041, 0049, device displays user interface elements, where device displaying elements including at least virtual button is consistent with examples of extended reality including virtual reality as described in Applicant's specification (0002)].
As to claim 18, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Dalal does not specifically disclose wherein the mapping model comprises a mapping table comprising the plurality of entries, the mapping table having a settings list column associated with the first hand gesture and an operations column associated with the control gesture.
Clarkson discloses wherein the mapping model comprises a mapping table comprising the plurality of entries, the mapping table having a settings list column associated with the first hand gesture and an operations column associated with the control gesture [para 0040-0045, 0085-0087, Tables A-B, module access library of commands mapping detected engagement input to context (read: settings list column) and detected actionable gesture input to command (read: operations column)].
Dalal and Clarkson are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface input systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mapping model as disclosed by Dalal with the mapping table comprising entries and columns associated with the first hand gesture and control gesture as disclosed by Clarkson with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dalal as described above to allow the user to control different functionalities [Clarkson, para 0038].
As to claim 19, Dalal and Clarkson, combined at least for the reasons above, Dalal discloses a method for controlling a device [para 0020, 0033, device includes sensor and central processing unit performing operations] to perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claims 21-28 and 31, Dalal and Clarkson, combined at least for the reasons above, discloses the method of claim 19 comprising limitations limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 4-10, 12, and 18, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 30, Dalal discloses the method of claim 19, wherein each processor of the one or more processors is implemented within one of the device [para 0033, device includes central processing unit] .
Claims 2-3, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalal and Clarkson as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Canberk (US 20210405761 A1).
As to claim 2, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the control gesture is a touch gesture of a plurality of touch gestures [para 0030, 0042, gesture input includes user hand gestures among various input gesture patterns detected through touch device]; and
to detect the control gesture, the at least one processor is configured to detect, via a touch [device] of the apparatus, the touch gesture by the user [para 0042, gesture input detected through touch device].
However, Dalal and Clarkson do not specifically disclose wherein "a touch [device]" is "a touch pad".
Canberk discloses a touch pad [para 0029-0031, detect input on touchpad].
Dalal, Clarkson, and Canberk are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface input systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the touch device as disclosed by Dalal and Clarkson with the touch pad as disclosed by Canberk with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dalal and Clarkson as described above to allow user input in an intuitive manner [Canberk, para 0030].
As to claim 3, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein each touch gesture of the plurality of touch gestures is one of [para 0051, 0055, swipe gesture],
As to claim 17, Dalal discloses the apparatus of claim 16.
However, Dalal and Clarkson do not specifically disclose wherein the XR device is a head-mounted display (HMD) apparatus.
Canberk discloses wherein the XR device is a head-mounted display (HMD) apparatus [Figs. 1A, 2A, 4, para 0029, 0045, 0058, augmented reality system includes eyewear device, note augmented reality display is consistent with examples of extended reality including augmented reality as described in Applicant's specification (0002)].
Dalal, Clarkson, and Canberk are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface input systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extended reality device as disclosed by Dalal and Clarkson with the head-mounted display apparatus as disclosed by Canberk with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Dalal and Clarkson as described above to enhance and simplify the user experience [Canberk, para 0030].
As to claim 20, Dalal, Clarkson, and Canberk, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the method of claim 19 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erivantcev et al. (US 20220253146 A1) and Kies et al. (US 20140282272 A1) and generally disclose determining application context and invoking commands based on determined application context.
Kramer et al. (US 20140195988 A1) generally discloses determining hand gestures with fingers indicating a number.
Nie et al. (US 20240094819 A1) generally discloses distinguishing control options based on a detected control gesture.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172