Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0133797 A1) in view of Dick (US Pub. No: 2016/0277229 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang et al. teach a wireless communication device (see Abstract and Figures 5 &9/wireless device), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Fig.9, memory 930 and para [0151]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig.9, processor 940 and para [0151]), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device (see para [0151]) to: receive control signaling that indicates a change in one or more radio frequency thresholds for wireless signaling by the wireless communication device (see para [0003] wherein UEs and base stations, communicating wirelessly via over-the-air signaling, is mentioned and also see para [0091] wherein there may be a trade-off between in-band folding of distortions and an EVM of the signal and the transmitting device managing or controlling the pre-distortion of the signal on the TD samples such that the transmitting device allocating some amount of the pre-distortion (e.g., some amount of energy associated with the pre-distortion) across a frequency band including the signal to balance EVM and OOB emission to UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “ receiving control signaling that indicates a change in one or more radio frequency thresholds for wireless signaling by the wireless communication device” and also see paragraphs [0092] & [0099]); and
perform, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, wherein one or more parameters associated with the noise shaping are based at least in part on the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds (see para [0092] wherein the device may determine a residual error associated with performing the CFR function on the set of TD samples and distributing the residual error across a frequency band associated with the signal based on (e.g., with consideration to) both an EVM and an OOB emission associated with the signal, is mentioned and also see Fig.5, steps 505 to 530 and para [0111] wherein the device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling, and the first phase ramp being associated with a TD shift, such as a TD shift by a fractional sample offset, is mentioned and also, the transmitting device applying the first phase ramp for some waveform types, such as TD waveform types (e.g., for a DFT-S-FDM waveform type or an SC waveform type and, the transmitting device also transforming a set of initial TD samples or modulation symbols associated with the signaling (e.g., associated with the TD waveform of the signaling) into the first set of FD tones at 505, is mentioned and also see para [0114] wherein the device performing a CFR function on the first set of TD samples to obtain a second set of TD samples and, the CFR function including a clipping function or a companding function, or both, or any other PAPR reduction function scheme, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, wherein one or more parameters associated with the noise shaping are based at least in part on the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds” and also see para [0115]).
Jiang et al. teach the above device comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling as mentioned above, but Jiang et al. is silent in teaching the above wireless communication device comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling.
However, Dick teaches a wireless communication device (see Abstract and Fig.1/device) comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling (see para [0021] wherein clipping noise being generated for a composite signal, this clipping noise along with such composite signal being decomposed into channels with a polyphase transform and original components of such composite signal being filtered out on a carrier-by-carrier or channel-by-channel basis leaving channelized clipping noise components & spectra for each carrier, as well as possibly some in-band and/or out-of-band distortion introduced by generation of such clipping noise, is mentioned, also see Fig.6 & para [0062] wherein noise components 111 for carriers 106 being generated by threshold and clip block 110 for PAPR reduction & at 603, such noise components 111 being channelized with first polyphase filters 202 of a polyphase transform block 112, namely polyphase filtering, to provide decomposed components 206, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein at 604, decomposed components 206 ( which include noise repetition) being spectrally transformed or converted into a time domain for each of the bands of carriers 106 with an Inverse Fourier Transform block 203 of polyphase transform block 112 & at 605, noise components 206 for each of the channels being processed with a channelized filter 114 to controllably limit in-band distortion and controllably limit out-of-band distortion for each of the bands for each of carriers 106 of composite signal 101 to provide filtered components 115, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above wireless communication device of Jiang et al. to include performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, disclosed by Dick in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for effectively receiving a composite signal by a waveform generator and also providing efficient noise-shaping crest factor reduction using polyphase transformation in wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Jiang et al. further teach the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive second control signaling that indicates a set of resources allocated for noise in accordance with the noise repetition and the noise shaping and wherein the set of resources comprises resources allocated for an uplink control channel (see para [0112] wherein the transmitting device identifying a resource allocation for the signaling/second control signaling and in some aspects, the resource allocation being associated with a quantity of FD tones, RBs, subcarriers, or any combination thereof, is mentioned and also see paragraph [0044] wherein carriers/resources being configured to carry downlink and uplink communications (e.g., in a TDD mode), is mentioned & para [0113]).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Jiang et al. further teach the wireless communication device of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the wireless communication device to: transmit the wireless signaling via a channel, wherein one or more resources from among the set of resources are dropped based at least in part on the one or more resources being external to the channel in a frequency domain (see para [0092] wherein the transmitting device may determine a residual error associated with performing the CFR function on the set of TD samples and distributing the residual error across a frequency band associated with the signal based on (e.g., with consideration to) both an EVM and an OOB emission ( that includes one or more resources from among the set of resources being dropped based at least in part on the one or more resources being external to the channel in a frequency domain associated with the signal), is mentioned and also see para [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Jiang et al. further teach the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to receive the control signaling by being individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive the control signaling indicating the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds based at least in part on at least a channel type, or a modulation order, or a modulation and coding scheme, or a resource allocation size, or a resource allocation location, or a transmission rank, or a waveform type, or a frequency band, or a combination thereof associated with the wireless signaling (see para [0111] wherein the transmitting device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling (that includes control signaling indicating the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds), is mentioned and also the transmitting device applying the first phase ramp to an OFDM waveform (that includes based on a waveform type), the first set of FD tones being associated with the OFDM waveform initially, is mentioned and also see para [0112]).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Jiang et al. further teach the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to receive the control signaling by being individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive, via the control signaling, information indicating an amount by which at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is to change (see para [0111] wherein the transmitting device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling (that includes control signaling/information indicating an amount by which at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is to change), is mentioned and also see para [0112] wherein the transmitting device identifying a quantity of M FD tones (such as of M continuous FD tones) of the resource allocation to cover a set of allocated RBs, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the wireless communication device of claim 1.
Jiang et al. further teach the wireless communication device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to receive the control signaling by being individually or collectively configured to cause the wireless communication device to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication that at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is not to be satisfied by the wireless communication device (see para [0111] wherein the transmitting device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling (that includes control signaling/information indicating an amount by which at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is to change), is mentioned and also see para [0118] wherein the transmitting device applying, prior to a performing a second FD to TD transform, an energy reduction scheme on a portion of the second set of FD tones associated with the one or more null resources (that can include an indication that at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is not to be satisfied by the device) between the multiple sets of non-contiguous resources, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 24, Jiang et al. teach a method for wireless communication by a wireless communication device (see Abstract and Figures 5 &9/wireless device), comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates a change in one or more radio frequency thresholds for wireless signaling by the wireless communication device (see para [0003] wherein UEs and base stations, communicating wirelessly via over-the-air signaling, is mentioned and also see para [0091] wherein there may be a trade-off between in-band folding of distortions and an EVM of the signal and the transmitting device managing or controlling the pre-distortion of the signal on the TD samples such that the transmitting device allocating some amount of the pre-distortion (e.g., some amount of energy associated with the pre-distortion) across a frequency band including the signal to balance EVM and OOB emission to UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “ receiving control signaling that indicates a change in one or more radio frequency thresholds for wireless signaling by the wireless communication device” and also see paragraphs [0092] & [0099]); and performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, wherein one or more parameters associated with the noise shaping are based at least in part on the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds (see para [0092] wherein the device may determine a residual error associated with performing the CFR function on the set of TD samples and distributing the residual error across a frequency band associated with the signal based on (e.g., with consideration to) both an EVM and an OOB emission associated with the signal, is mentioned and also see Fig.5, steps 505 to 530 and para [0111] wherein the device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling, and the first phase ramp being associated with a TD shift, such as a TD shift by a fractional sample offset, is mentioned and also, the transmitting device applying the first phase ramp for some waveform types, such as TD waveform types (e.g., for a DFT-S-FDM waveform type or an SC waveform type and, the transmitting device also transforming a set of initial TD samples or modulation symbols associated with the signaling (e.g., associated with the TD waveform of the signaling) into the first set of FD tones at 505, is mentioned and also see para [0114] wherein the device performing a CFR function on the first set of TD samples to obtain a second set of TD samples and, the CFR function including a clipping function or a companding function, or both, or any other PAPR reduction function scheme, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, wherein one or more parameters associated with the noise shaping are based at least in part on the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds” and also see para [0115]).
Jiang et al. teach the above method comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise shaping to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling as mentioned above, but Jiang et al. is silent in teaching the above method for wireless communication device comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling.
However, Dick teaches a method for wireless communication device (see Abstract and Fig.1/device) comprising performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling (see para [0021] wherein clipping noise being generated for a composite signal, this clipping noise along with such composite signal being decomposed into channels with a polyphase transform and original components of such composite signal being filtered out on a carrier-by-carrier or channel-by-channel basis leaving channelized clipping noise components & spectra for each carrier, as well as possibly some in-band and/or out-of-band distortion introduced by generation of such clipping noise, is mentioned, also see Fig.6 & para [0062] wherein noise components 111 for carriers 106 being generated by threshold and clip block 110 for PAPR reduction & at 603, such noise components 111 being channelized with first polyphase filters 202 of a polyphase transform block 112, namely polyphase filtering, to provide decomposed components 206, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein at 604, decomposed components 206 ( which include noise repetition) being spectrally transformed or converted into a time domain for each of the bands of carriers 106 with an Inverse Fourier Transform block 203 of polyphase transform block 112 & at 605, noise components 206 for each of the channels being processed with a channelized filter 114 to controllably limit in-band distortion and controllably limit out-of-band distortion for each of the bands for each of carriers 106 of composite signal 101 to provide filtered components 115, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method for wireless communication device of Jiang et al. to include performing, during an in-band clipping procedure, noise repetition to reduce a peak-to-average power ratio associated with the wireless signaling, disclosed by Dick in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for effectively receiving a composite signal by a waveform generator and also providing efficient noise-shaping crest factor reduction using polyphase transformation in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 25, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the method of claim 24.
Jiang et al. further teach the method of claim 24, further comprising: receiving second control signaling that indicates a set of resources allocated for noise in accordance with the noise repetition and the noise shaping (see para [0112] wherein the transmitting device identifying a resource allocation for the signaling/second control signaling and in some aspects, the resource allocation being associated with a quantity of FD tones, RBs, subcarriers, or any combination thereof, is mentioned and also see para [0113]).
Regarding claim 26, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the method of claim 24.
Jiang et al. further teach the method of claim 24, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving the control signaling indicating the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds based at least in part on at least a channel type, or a modulation order, or a modulation and coding scheme, or a resource allocation size, or a resource allocation location, or a transmission rank, or a waveform type, or a frequency band, or a combination thereof associated with the wireless signaling (see para [0111] wherein the transmitting device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling (that includes control signaling indicating the change in the one or more radio frequency thresholds), is mentioned and also the transmitting device applying the first phase ramp to an OFDM waveform (that includes based on a waveform type), the first set of FD tones being associated with the OFDM waveform initially, is mentioned and also see para [0112]).
Regarding claim 27, Jiang et al. and Dick together teach the method of claim 24.
Jiang et al. further teach the method of claim 24, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving, via the control signaling, information indicating an amount by which at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is to change (see para [0111] wherein the transmitting device applying a first phase ramp to a first set of FD tones associated with the signaling (that includes control signaling/information indicating an amount by which at least one of the one or more radio frequency thresholds is to change), is mentioned and also see para [0112] wherein the transmitting device identifying a quantity of M FD tones (such as of M continuous FD tones) of the resource allocation to cover a set of allocated RBs, is mentioned).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WANG (US Pub. No: 2016/0028574 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a device of Crest Factor Reduction (CFR) in wireless communication system.
Martinez (US Pub. No: 2017/0331650 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to techniques for Crest Factor Reduction (CFR) according to a noise shaping process in wireless communication system.
6. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 10/7/2026