DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 7, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, 21, and 30 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 7, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 21-23, and 26-27 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of another reference. The newly amended claim limitations are addressed, as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 21-23 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun).
For claim 1, Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 0225] and [FIG. 12], a user terminal that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure), comprising: at least one memory ([FIG. 12], a memory 1002 and a storage 1003), and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and ([FIG. 12], a processor 1001, a memory 1002, a storage 1003. [Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002), based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory ([Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to ([Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002 and executes various processes according to these): measure a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The set of cells are the non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold]), and transmit a measurement report to a network node ([Para. 0101], A UE may, based on a measurement result, transmit an aperiodic CSI report. [Para. 0080], UE transmits separate CSI reports to the respective different TRPs.), the measurement report comprising a set of entries where each entry in the set of entries corresponds to a particular combination of one particular RS in the set of RSs and one particular cell of the set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0129], The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example of CSI report. A new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only a non-serving cell (s) with an L1/L3 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold. [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
Although teaching measurement report comprising entries each corresponding one reference signal and one cell, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs, and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices.
Sun is directed to providing port selection codebook enhancement. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs ([Para. 0037], the UE may select L CSI-RS ports of a total P CSI-RS ports for port selection [Examiner’s Note: CSI-RS ports correspond to the CSI-RS reference signals]. [Para. 0039], the port selection matrix W1 is a P×L matrix. Each column in the port selection matrix W1 is P×1, wherein only one entry is 1 (indicating selection of a port) in each column and the other entries are 0. Different columns in the port selection matrix W1 cannot be the same. Thus, one distinctive port is selected in each column. [Para. 0043], To indicate the P×L port selection matrix W1, the UE uses a bit width of [log2(C(P, L))], where C is a combinatorial function, C(N,M)=N!/M!(N-M)! [Examiner’s Note: port selection matrix W1 is the selected combination and the corresponding bits [log2(C(P, L))] represents the index of the selected combination]. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 4], decoding, at the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) from a base station, the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI [Examiner’s Note: L reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of chosen RSs and P reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of the measured RSs]. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)]), and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices ([Para. 0091], the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)). [Examiner’s Note: The rows in W1 correspond to CSI-RS port indexes that identify the CSI-RS ports and the reference signals. Reporting the combinatorial of the selected reference signals in CSI indicates not reporting the individual indexes. Based on Sun, it is obvious to replace the reference signal indexes in Matsumura with the combinatorial index to reduce bits in the measurement report]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, so that the combinatorial identifies the selected CSI-RS reference signals in the measurement report, as taught by Sun. The modification would have reduced the overhead in the payload of CSI report (Sun [Para. 0043 and 0134]).
For claim 2, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries representing a respective metric associated with each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells (Matsumura [Para. 0132], The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index. Matsumura [Para. 0128], the UE may transmit a CSI report including the following contents. Matsumura [Para. 0135], A “report” in the following description may mean an SSB index, a Re-indexing index of cell, or a set of L1-RSRP/L3-RSRP. Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 3, the cells in the CSI report are the set of cells, the three combinations of SSB index and cell ID constitute the set of entries, and the three entries of L1-RSRP constitute the second set of entries representing the respective metric, L1-RSRP, each of which is associated with a combination of RS and cell]).
For claim 3, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the respective metric comprises a relative value representing a differential compared to a base value (Matsumura [Para. 0132], The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index. Matsumura [Para. 0141], FIG. 8 is an example CSI report. An L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells). The L1-RSRP (differential) may be a measurement result of each beam and may be the difference from the L1-RSRP (absolute) of the first cell [Examiner’s Note: The entries of L1-RSRP for the non-serving cells constitute the second set and base value is the absolute L1-RSRP of the first cell]).
For claim 6, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) and the measurement report comprises a set of segments (Matsumura [Para. 0035], The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH. Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Examiner’s Note: The first report associated with the serving cell constitutes the first segment and the rest reports associated with the non-serving cells constitute the second segment]), wherein each segment of the set of segments comprises a subset of the set of entries and one or more metrics associated with the subset of the set of entries (Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell (i.e. segment), and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells (i.e. segment)).
For claim 7, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) and the measurement report comprises a set of segments (Matsumura [Para. 0035], The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH. Matsumura [Para. 0139] and [FIG. 6], An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute) [Examiner’s Note: The combination of SSB index and cell index is the first segment and the L1-RSRP absolute and differential values are the second segment]), wherein a first segment of the set of segments comprises the set of entries and a second segment of the set of segments comprises one or more metrics associated with the set of entries (Matsumura [Para. 0139] and [FIG. 6], An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute)).
For claim 10, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the set of RSs correspond to a set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (Matsumura [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
For claim 21, Matsumura teaches a method for wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) ([Para. 0225] and [FIG. 12], a user terminal that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure), comprising: measuring a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The set of cells are the non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold]), and transmitting a measurement report to a network node ([Para. 0101], A UE may, based on a measurement result, transmit an aperiodic CSI report. [Para. 0080], UE transmits separate CSI reports to the respective different TRPs.), the measurement report comprising a set of entries where each entry in the set of entries corresponds to a particular combination of one particular RS in the set of RSs and one particular cell of the set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0129], The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example of CSI report. A new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only a non-serving cell (s) with an L1/L3 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold. [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
Although teaching measurement report comprising entries each corresponding one reference signal and one cell, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs, and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices.
Sun is directed to providing port selection codebook enhancement. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs ([Para. 0037], the UE may select L CSI-RS ports of a total P CSI-RS ports for port selection [Examiner’s Note: CSI-RS ports correspond to the CSI-RS reference signals]. [Para. 0039], the port selection matrix W1 is a P×L matrix. Each column in the port selection matrix W1 is P×1, wherein only one entry is 1 (indicating selection of a port) in each column and the other entries are 0. Different columns in the port selection matrix W1 cannot be the same. Thus, one distinctive port is selected in each column. [Para. 0043], To indicate the P×L port selection matrix W1, the UE uses a bit width of [log2(C(P, L))], where C is a combinatorial function, C(N,M)=N!/M!(N-M)! [Examiner’s Note: port selection matrix W1 is the selected combination and the corresponding bits [log2(C(P, L))] represents the index of the selected combination]. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 4], decoding, at the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) from a base station, the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI [Examiner’s Note: L reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of chosen RSs and P reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of the measured RSs]. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)]), and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices ([Para. 0091], the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)). [Examiner’s Note: The rows in W1 correspond to CSI-RS port indexes that identify the CSI-RS ports and the reference signals. Reporting the combinatorial of the selected reference signals in CSI indicates not reporting the individual indexes. Based on Sun, it is obvious to replace the reference signal indexes in Matsumura with the combinatorial index to reduce bits in the measurement report]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, so that the combinatorial identifies the selected CSI-RS reference signals in the measurement report, as taught by Sun. The modification would have reduced the overhead in the payload of CSI report (Sun [Para. 0043 and 0134]).
Claims 22-23 and 26-27 are directed to method claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-3 and 6-7. Therefore, claims 22-23 and 26-27 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-3 and 6-7.
Claims 4 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Fujitsu et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #113 R1-2306168, hereinafter Fujitsu).
For claim 4, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells (Matsumura [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example CSI report. In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells. [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The combinations for the non-serving cells with L1 measurement result being greater than the threshold are the set of the best performing combinations]).
Although teaching the measurement report comprising the best performing combinations, Matsumura and Sun do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells.
Fujitsu teaches wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells ([Page 34, Agreement for Conclusion at RAN1#110b-e], Flexible size beam report, e.g., two-part UCI (e.g., the 1st part contains the best beam/cell and the number (e.g., N) of reported beams/cells, the 2nd part contains the rest (N-1) beams/cells)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Sun, so that the CSI report includes the cell, as taught by Fujitsu. The modification would have allowed flexible size beam report (Fujitsu [Page 34, Agreement for Conclusion at RAN1#110b-e]).
Claim 24 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 24 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113 R1-2304823, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 5, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Matsumura [Para. 0101], The UE may transmit the aperiodic CSI report by using a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE)).
Although teaching transmitting CSI report using MAC CE, Matsumura and Sun do not explicitly disclose and wherein a payload size associated with the measurement report is larger than a threshold.
Intel teaches and wherein a payload size associated with the measurement report is larger than a threshold ([Page 4, paragraph above Proposal 4], if larger number of reported beams and both intra- and inter-frequency measurement are reported in the same report, in case of larger report size, MAC-CE based reporting should also be supported).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Sun, so that the CSI report is transmitted in MAC CE in the case of larger report size, as taught by Intel. The modification would have allowed larger number of reported beams and both intra- and inter-frequency measurement are reported in the same report (Intel [Page 4, paragraph above Proposal 4]).
Claim 25 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 25 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claims 8-9 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Orsino et al. (WO2025095845A1. hereinafter Orsino).
For claim 8, Matsumura and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells (Matsumura [Para. 0085], Regarding L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility, methods below may be supported for L1/L2 centric report of a neighbour cell. Matsumura [Para. 0113], new events may be defined to trigger an aperiodic L1 beam report (CSI report). Matsumura [Para. 0115], The event may occur based on a measurement result of a reference signal received power in layer 1 (L1-RSRP). Matsumura [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The non-serving cells in the report are the set of cells and also the neighbour cells for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility]).
Although teaching CSI report for only non-serving cells for lower-layer triggered mobility, Matsumura and Sun do not explicitly disclose wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells.
Orsino is directed to providing systems and methods for selecting layer 1/layer 2 triggered mobility candidate cells to include in channel state information measurement report. More specifically, Orsino teaches wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells ([Page 67, lines 19-21], The first LTM CSI measurement report includes measurement information associated with a subset of the set of the LTM candidate cells and a subset of the set of the RSs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Sun, so that the non-serving cells in the CSI report for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility are referred to as LTM candidate cells, as taught by Orsino. The modification would have provided that the criteria for a UE to include a sub-set of LTM candidate cells in an LTM CSI measurement report and, for each LTM candidate cell that is included, criteria for including a sub-set of configured SSBs (Orsino [Page 6, lines 9-11]).
For claim 9, Matsumura, Sun and Orsino teach the apparatus of claim 8. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is a LTM measurement report (Orsino [Page 67, lines 19-21], The first LTM CSI measurement report includes measurement information associated with a subset of the set of the LTM candidate cells and a subset of the set of the RSs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Sun, so that the CSI report for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility is referred to as LTM measurement report, as taught by Orsino. The modification would have provided that the criteria for a UE to include a sub-set of LTM candidate cells in an LTM CSI measurement report and, for each LTM candidate cell that is included, criteria for including a sub-set of configured SSBs (Orsino [Page 6, lines 9-11]).
Claims 28-29 are directed to method claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 8-9. Therefore, claims 28-29 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 8-9.
Claims 11-13, 16-17, 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Ly et al. (US20180359687A1, hereinafter Ly) and Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun).
For claim 11, Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity ([Para. 0225] and [FIG. 12], a base station that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure), comprising: at least one memory ([FIG. 12], a memory 1002 and a storage 1003), and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and ([FIG. 12], a processor 1001, a memory 1002, a storage 1003. [Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002), based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory ([Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002), the at least one processor is configured to cause the network entity to ([Para. 0230], the processor 1001 reads programs and data from the storage 1003 into the memory 1002 and executes various processes according to these): transmit a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0163] and [FIG. 9], The radio communication system 1 may include a base station 11 that forms a macro cell C1 of a relatively wide coverage, and base stations 12 (12 a to 12 c) that form small cells C2. [Para. 0181], In the radio communication system 1, a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and so on may be communicated. [Para. 0182], A signal block including an SS (PSS, SSS) and a PBCH (and a DMRS for a PBCH) may be referred to as an “SS Block (SSB)), and receive a measurement report ([Para. 0184], The base station includes a transmitting/receiving section. [Para. 0201], based on a measurement result related to channel state information (CSI) of at least one of a serving cell, a neighbour cell, a primary cell, a primary secondary cell, and a secondary cell, the transmitting/receiving section receives the aperiodic CSI report), the measurement report comprising a set of entries where each entry in the set of entries corresponds to a particular combination of one particular RS in the set of RSs and one particular cell of the set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0129], The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example of CSI report. A new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only a non-serving cell (s) with an L1/L3 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold. [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
Although teaching the base station transmitting SSB as noted above, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose transmit a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells.
Ly is directed to providing discovering physical cell identifiers in wireless communications. More specifically, Ly teaches transmit a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0050], a base station may include a cell-specific signal transmitting component. [Para. 0075], transmitting (e.g., from a base station), one or more cell-specific signals to UE, where the cell-specific signals can identify a corresponding cell. [Para. 0084], cell-specific signal transmitting component can transmit the cell-specific signal to UE, which may occur without cell-specific signals transmitted from other cells in the zone. Accordingly, UE can receive the cell-specific signal(s). [Para. 0085], cell-specific signal transmitting component can transmit the cell-specific signal as a cell-specific synchronization signal over a similar bandwidth used to transmit unified synchronization signals for the zone. Base station can transmit a primary synchronization signal (PSS), primary broadcast channel (PBCH), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), PBCH etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, so that the base station transmits reference signals for the cells to UE, as taught by Ly. The modification would have allowed a UE to determine physical cell identifiers corresponding to the cells for various purposes (e.g., to communicate with the cell, perform interference cancellation, determine SNR of neighboring cells, perform mobility management, etc.) (Ly [Para. 0084]).
Although teaching transiting reference signals for cells and receiving measurement report comprising entries each corresponding one reference signal and one cell, Matsumura and Ly do not explicitly disclose wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs, and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices.
Sun is directed to providing port selection codebook enhancement. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs ([Para. 0037], the UE may select L CSI-RS ports of a total P CSI-RS ports for port selection [Examiner’s Note: CSI-RS ports correspond to the CSI-RS reference signals]. [Para. 0039], the port selection matrix W1 is a P×L matrix. Each column in the port selection matrix W1 is P×1, wherein only one entry is 1 (indicating selection of a port) in each column and the other entries are 0. Different columns in the port selection matrix W1 cannot be the same. Thus, one distinctive port is selected in each column. [Para. 0043], To indicate the P×L port selection matrix W1, the UE uses a bit width of [log2(C(P, L))], where C is a combinatorial function, C(N,M)=N!/M!(N-M)! [Examiner’s Note: port selection matrix W1 is the selected combination and the corresponding bits [log2(C(P, L))] represents the index of the selected combination]. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 4], decoding, at the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) from a base station, the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI Examiner’s Note: L reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of chosen RSs and P reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of the measured RSs]. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)]), and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices ([Para. 0091], the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)). [Examiner’s Note: The rows in W1 correspond to CSI-RS port indexes that identify the CSI-RS ports and the reference signals. Reporting the combinatorial of the selected reference signals in CSI indicates not reporting the individual indexes. Based on Sun, it is obvious to replace the reference signal indexes in Matsumura with the combinatorial index to reduce bits in the measurement report]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Ly, so that the combinatorial identifies the selected CSI-RS reference signals in the measurement report, as taught by Sun. The modification would have reduced the overhead in the payload of CSI report (Sun [Para. 0043 and 0134]).
For claim 12, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries representing a respective metric associated with each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells (Matsumura [Para. 0132], The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index. Matsumura [Para. 0128], the UE may transmit a CSI report including the following contents. Matsumura [Para. 0135], A “report” in the following description may mean an SSB index, a Re-indexing index of cell, or a set of L1-RSRP/L3-RSRP. Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 3, the cells in the CSI report are the set of cells, the three combinations of SSB index and cell ID constitute the set of entries, and the three entries of L1-RSRP constitute the second set of entries representing the respective metric, L1-RSRP, each of which is associated with a combination of RS and cell]).
For claim 13, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the respective metric comprises a relative value representing a differential compared to a base value (Matsumura [Para. 0132], The CSI report may include an L1-RSRP/L1-SINR value (absolute value or differential value) for each SSB/CSI-RS index. Matsumura [Para. 0141], FIG. 8 is an example CSI report. An L1-RSRP (differential) is included instead of an L1-RSRP (absolute) for each of the second and third cells (e.g., non-serving cells). The L1-RSRP (differential) may be a measurement result of each beam and may be the difference from the L1-RSRP (absolute) of the first cell [Examiner’s Note: The entries of L1-RSRP for the non-serving cells constitute the second set and base value is the absolute L1-RSRP of the first cell]).
For claim 16, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) and the measurement report comprises a set of segments (Matsumura [Para. 0035], The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH. Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Examiner’s Note: The first report associated with the serving cell constitutes the first segment and the rest reports associated with the non-serving cells constitute the second segment]), wherein each segment of the set of segments comprises a subset of the set of entries and one or more metrics associated with the subset of the set of entries (Matsumura [Para. 0136], In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell (i.e. segment), and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells (i.e. segment)).
For claim 17, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in uplink control information (UCI) and the measurement report comprises a set of segments (Matsumura [Para. 0035], The UE may report (transmit) a measurement result for the beam management by using a PUCCH. Matsumura [Para. 0139] and [FIG. 6], An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute) [Examiner’s Note: The combination of SSB index and cell index is the first segment and the L1-RSRP absolute and differential values are the second segment]), wherein a first segment of the set of segments comprises the set of entries and a second segment of the set of segments comprises one or more metrics associated with the set of entries (Matsumura [Para. 0139] and [FIG. 6], An L1-RSRP (absolute) in the example in FIG. 6 is an absolute value (largest value). The L1-RSRP (differential) is the difference between the L1-RSRP of the second SSB index (beam) and the first L1-RSRP (absolute)).
For claim 20, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further disclose wherein the set of RSs correspond to a set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) (Matsumura [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
For claim 30, Matsumura teaches a method for wireless communication performed by a network entity ([Para. 0225] and [FIG. 12], a base station that executes the processes of the radio communication method of the present disclosure), comprising: transmitting a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0163] and [FIG. 9], The radio communication system 1 may include a base station 11 that forms a macro cell C1 of a relatively wide coverage, and base stations 12 (12 a to 12 c) that form small cells C2. [Para. 0181], In the radio communication system 1, a synchronization signal (SS), a downlink reference signal (DL-RS), and so on may be communicated. [Para. 0182], A signal block including an SS (PSS, SSS) and a PBCH (and a DMRS for a PBCH) may be referred to as an “SS Block (SSB)), and receiving a measurement report ([Para. 0184], The base station includes a transmitting/receiving section. [Para. 0201], based on a measurement result related to channel state information (CSI) of at least one of a serving cell, a neighbour cell, a primary cell, a primary secondary cell, and a secondary cell, the transmitting/receiving section receives the aperiodic CSI report), the measurement report comprising a set of entries where each entry in the set of entries corresponds to a particular combination of one particular RS in the set of RSs and one particular cell of the set of cells ([Para. 0024], The UE may measure the channel state by using a synchronization signal/broadcast channel (Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel (SS/PBCH)) block, a synchronization signal (SS) and a demodulation reference signal (DMRS). [Para. 0069], a UE receives channels/signals from a plurality of cells. [Para. 0129], The CSI report includes one or a plurality of non-serving cell index (indices) (PCI (s) or new ID(s) of a non-serving cell (s) with a small bit size (Re-indexing index (indices) of cell (s))). [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example of CSI report. A new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only a non-serving cell (s) with an L1/L3 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold. [Para. 0131], One or a plurality of SSB indices (beam indices) may be included in the CSI report for each non-serving cell).
Although teaching the base station transmitting SSB, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose transmitting a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells.
Ly is directed to providing discovering physical cell identifiers in wireless communications. More specifically, Ly teaches transmitting a set of reference signals (RSs) for a set of cells ([Para. 0050], a base station may include a cell-specific signal transmitting component. [Para. 0075], transmitting (e.g., from a base station), one or more cell-specific signals to UE, where the cell-specific signals can identify a corresponding cell. [Para. 0084], cell-specific signal transmitting component can transmit the cell-specific signal to UE, which may occur without cell-specific signals transmitted from other cells in the zone. Accordingly, UE can receive the cell-specific signal(s). [Para. 0085], cell-specific signal transmitting component can transmit the cell-specific signal as a cell-specific synchronization signal over a similar bandwidth used to transmit unified synchronization signals for the zone. Base station can transmit a primary synchronization signal (PSS), primary broadcast channel (PBCH), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), PBCH etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, so that the base station transmits reference signals for the cells to UE, as taught by Ly. The modification would have allowed a UE to determine physical cell identifiers corresponding to the cells for various purposes (e.g., to communicate with the cell, perform interference cancellation, determine SNR of neighboring cells, perform mobility management, etc.) (Ly [Para. 0084]).
Although teaching transiting reference signals for cells and receiving measurement report comprising entries each corresponding one reference signal and one cell, Matsumura and Ly do not explicitly disclose wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs, and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices.
Sun is directed to providing port selection codebook enhancement. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the set of entries comprises an index of a selected combination of a quantity of chosen RSs from a quantity of measured RSs ([Para. 0037], the UE may select L CSI-RS ports of a total P CSI-RS ports for port selection [Examiner’s Note: CSI-RS ports correspond to the CSI-RS reference signals]. [Para. 0039], the port selection matrix W1 is a P×L matrix. Each column in the port selection matrix W1 is P×1, wherein only one entry is 1 (indicating selection of a port) in each column and the other entries are 0. Different columns in the port selection matrix W1 cannot be the same. Thus, one distinctive port is selected in each column. [Para. 0043], To indicate the P×L port selection matrix W1, the UE uses a bit width of [log2(C(P, L))], where C is a combinatorial function, C(N,M)=N!/M!(N-M)! [Examiner’s Note: port selection matrix W1 is the selected combination and the corresponding bits [log2(C(P, L))] represents the index of the selected combination]. [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 4], decoding, at the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration (CSI-ReportConfig) from a base station, the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI Examiner’s Note: L reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of chosen RSs and P reference signal ports correspond to the quantity of the measured RSs]. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)]), and wherein the index of the selected combination identifies the particular combination corresponding to each entry in the set of entries instead of individual RS indices ([Para. 0091], the CSI-ReportConfig indicating up to L CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports for selection by the UE out of P CSI-RS ports configured for measuring and reporting CSI. Determining, at the UE, selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, wherein the selected CSI-RS ports comprise the L CSI-RS ports or less. Generating, at the UE, a port selection matrix W1 corresponding to the selected CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports. Transmitting, from the UE, the port selection matrix W1 to the base station. [Para. 0092], wherein the UE selects the L CSI-RS ports out of the P CSI-RS ports, transmitting the port selection matrix W1 comprises transmitting the port selection matrix W1 using a bit width of [log2(C(P, L)). [Examiner’s Note: The rows in W1 correspond to CSI-RS port indexes that identify the CSI-RS ports and the reference signals. Reporting the combinatorial of the selected reference signals in CSI indicates not reporting the individual indexes. Based on Sun, it is obvious to replace the reference signal indexes in Matsumura with the combinatorial index to reduce bits in the measurement report]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura and Ly, so that the combinatorial identifies the selected CSI-RS reference signals in the measurement report, as taught by Sun. The modification would have reduced the overhead in the payload of CSI report (Sun [Para. 0043 and 0134]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Ly et al. (US20180359687A1, hereinafter Ly) and Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Fujitsu et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #113 R1-2306168, hereinafter Fujitsu).
For claim 14, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells (Matsumura [Para. 0136], FIG. 3 is an example CSI report. In the example in FIG. 3, a new ID (Re-indexing index of cell) and an L1-RSRP corresponding to each SSB index are reported. First report (SSB index, Re-indexing index of cell, and L1-RSRP) may relate to the serving cell, and second report and third report may relate to non-serving cells. [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The combinations for the non-serving cells with L1 measurement result being greater than the threshold are the set of the best performing combinations]).
Although teaching the measurement report comprising the best performing combinations, Matsumura and Sun do not explicitly disclose, Matsumura, Ly and Sun do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells.
Fujitsu teaches wherein the measurement report further comprises a second set of entries indicating a subset of best performing cells of the set of cells or a set of best performing combinations among each particular combination of the one particular RS in the set of RSs and the one particular cell of the set of cells ([Page 34, Agreement for Conclusion at RAN1#110b-e], Flexible size beam report, e.g., two-part UCI (e.g., the 1st part contains the best beam/cell and the number (e.g., N) of reported beams/cells, the 2nd part contains the rest (N-1) beams/cells)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, Ly and Sun, so that the CSI report includes the cell, as taught by Fujitsu. The modification would have allowed flexible size beam report (Fujitsu [Page 34, Agreement for Conclusion at RAN1#110b-e]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Ly et al. (US20180359687A1, hereinafter Ly) and Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113 R1-2304823, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 15, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is included in medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (Matsumura [Para. 0101], The UE may transmit the aperiodic CSI report by using a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE)).
Although teaching transmitting CSI report using MAC CE, Matsumura, Ly and Sun do not explicitly disclose and wherein a payload size associated with the measurement report is larger than a threshold.
Intel teaches and wherein a payload size associated with the measurement report is larger than a threshold ([Page 4, paragraph above Proposal 4], if larger number of reported beams and both intra- and inter-frequency measurement are reported in the same report, in case of larger report size, MAC-CE based reporting should also be supported).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, Ly and Sun, so that the CSI report is transmitted in MAC CE in the case of larger report size, as taught by Intel. The modification would have allowed larger number of reported beams and both intra- and inter-frequency measurement are reported in the same report (Intel [Page 4, paragraph above Proposal 4]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US20240196250A1, hereinafter Matsumura) in view of Ly et al. (US20180359687A1, hereinafter Ly) and Sun et al. (US20230216558A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Orsino et al. (WO2025095845A1. hereinafter Orsino).
For claim 18, Matsumura, Ly and Sun teach the apparatus of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells (Matsumura [Para. 0085], Regarding L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility, methods below may be supported for L1/L2 centric report of a neighbour cell. Matsumura [Para. 0113], new events may be defined to trigger an aperiodic L1 beam report (CSI report). Matsumura [Para. 0115], The event may occur based on a measurement result of a reference signal received power in layer 1 (L1-RSRP). Matsumura [Para. 0130], the UE may transmit a CSI report for only non-serving cells with an L1 measurement result being larger than a specific threshold [Examiner’s Note: The non-serving cells in the report are the set of cells and also the neighbour cells for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility]).
Although teaching CSI report for only non-serving cells for lower-layer triggered mobility, Matsumura, Ly and Sun do not explicitly disclose wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells.
Orsino is directed to providing systems and methods for selecting layer 1/layer 2 triggered mobility candidate cells to include in channel state information measurement report. More specifically, Orsino teaches wherein the set of cells corresponds to a set of lower-layer triggered mobility (LTM) cells ([Page 67, lines 19-21], The first LTM CSI measurement report includes measurement information associated with a subset of the set of the LTM candidate cells and a subset of the set of the RSs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, Ly and Sun, so that the non-serving cells in the CSI report for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility are referred to as LTM candidate cells, as taught by Orsino. The modification would have provided that the criteria for a UE to include a sub-set of LTM candidate cells in an LTM CSI measurement report and, for each LTM candidate cell that is included, criteria for including a sub-set of configured SSBs (Orsino [Page 6, lines 9-11]).
For claim 19, Matsumura, Ly, Sun and Orsino teach the apparatus of claim 18. The references further teach wherein the measurement report is a LTM measurement report (Orsino [Page 67, lines 19-21], The first LTM CSI measurement report includes measurement information associated with a subset of the set of the LTM candidate cells and a subset of the set of the RSs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Matsumura, Ly and Sun, so that the CSI report for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility is referred to as LTM measurement report, as taught by Orsino. The modification would have provided that the criteria for a UE to include a sub-set of LTM candidate cells in an LTM CSI measurement report and, for each LTM candidate cell that is included, criteria for including a sub-set of configured SSBs (Orsino [Page 6, lines 9-11]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417