DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 – 9, 14, 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Swamy et al. US 2022/0200303 (hereinafter Swamy).
Regarding claim 1, Swamy teaches: a hybrid power system for providing power to a golf tournament, the system comprising:
a power module (Fig. 1, #100) comprising:
a case having an interior space for housing a battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - housing 102, battery #120),
a plurality of output ports for supplying electrical current to devices electrically coupled to the ports (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power output unit 116), and
one or more input ports for receiving a supply of electrical current to charge the battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power input unit 114),
a control system configured to monitor statuses and operating conditions of the power module and comprising a controller to execute operations of the power module (Fig. 4A, [0043] - - controller 200);
a communication port configured for electronic communication with a communication network (Fig. 4A, [0044] - - network communication module 425);
a remote interface accessible via the communication network and configured to interface a monitoring station with the control system and receive or access monitored data collected by the control system related to the operations of the power module (Fig. 4C, [0052] - - the wireless communication controller relays the information from the controller to the external device and receive information from the external device and relay the information to the controller; the external device maps to a monitoring station); and
a solar array configured to couple to one of the one or more input ports (Fig. 21, [0099] - - solar panel).
Regarding claim 4, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the remote interface is accessible via wireless communication to remotely view monitored data comprising statuses and operating conditions related to the operation of the power module ([0052] - - wireless communication controller relays information from the controller to external device; [0043] – the controller communicatively connected to subcore monitoring circuits; [0040] - - the subcore monitoring circuit measures the state of charge and voltage level which are statuses and operating conditions).
Regarding claim 5, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the statuses and operating conditions comprise one or more of an environmental condition ([0040] - - temperature), operational state ([0040] - - voltage), load ([0040] - - discharge current), battery capacity ([0040] - - state of charge), or security access log.
Regarding claim 6, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the control system includes predefined trigger conditions that trigger actions based on monitored operating conditions ([0058] - - provide output power until the internal power source reaches a low-voltage cutoff threshold).
Regarding claim 7, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: transmitting a notification of the operating condition triggering the action to the monitoring station ([0054] - - power supply communicates status, power supply sensor data to the external device; status indicates the triggering action).
Regarding claim 8, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the remote interface is accessible via wireless communication by the monitoring station to remotely control operations of the controller ([0052] - - wireless; [0055] - - the external device 437 send commands to the controller).
Regarding claim 9, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the controller is operable to engage breakers within battery input and output power circuits ([0058] - - the controller can turn off one or more switches to stop the power supply from outputting power; [0061] - - controller turns off one or more switches to disable charging the internal power source).
Regarding claim 14, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: a local interface positioned on the case, wherein the local interface includes controls for engaging or disengaging breakers within battery input and output power circuits ([0045] - - user interface to control the power supply; [0058] - - the controller can turn off one or more switches to stop the power supply from outputting power; [0061] - - controller turns off one or more switches to disable charging the internal power source).
Regarding claim 16, Swamy teaches: a monitoring network for monitoring a plurality of mobile power modules positioned around a golf course to provide power to cameras and radar, the monitoring network comprising:
a monitoring station off-site of the golf course configured to wirelessly communicate with the plurality of power modules to receive or access monitored data with respect to the power modules, remotely control one or more operations of the power modules, and receive notifications (Fig. 4C, [0137] - - the server collects information from plurality of power supplies; [0052] - - the wireless communication controller relays the information from the controller to the external device and receive information from the external device and relay the information to the controller; the external device maps to a monitoring station), wherein each power module comprises:
a case having an interior space for housing a battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - housing 102, battery #120),
a plurality of output ports for supplying electrical current to devices electrically coupled to the ports (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power output unit 116),
one or more input ports for receiving a supply of electrical current to charge the battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power input unit 114), and
a control system configured to monitor statuses and operating conditions of the power module and comprising a controller to execute operations of the power module (Fig. 4A, [0043] - - controller 200; [0040] - - the subcore monitoring circuit transmits state of charge and battery voltage to the controller and receives command from the controller);
a communication port configured for electronic communication with a communication network (Fig. 4A, [0044] - - network communication module 425);
a remote interface accessible via the communication network and configured to interface the monitoring station with the control system (Fig. 4C, [0052] - - the wireless communication controller relays the information from the controller to the external device and receive information from the external device and relay the information to the controller); and
a solar array configured to couple to one of the one or more input ports (Fig. 21, [0099] - - solar panel).
Regarding claim 17, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the monitored data comprises statuses and operating conditions related to the operation of the respective power modules ([0040] - - the measured state of charge and voltage level are statuses and operating conditions).
Regarding claim 18, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the statuses and operating conditions comprise one or more of an environmental condition ([0040] - - temperature), operational state ([0040] - - voltage), load ([0040] - - discharge current), battery capacity ([0040] - - state of charge), or security access log.
Regarding claim 19, Swamy teaches: a method of providing remote power on a golf course during a golf tournament, the method comprising:
providing a plurality of power modules for positioning around the golf course (Fig. 1, #100; Fig. 4C, [0137] - - the server collects information from plurality of power supplies);
wirelessly communicating with a control system of each of the power modules to receive or access monitored data relating to the operation of the respective power modules ([0052] - - the wireless communication controller relays the information from the controller to the external device and receive information from the external device and relay the information to the controller);
remotely controlling one or more power input or power supply operations of at least one of the power modules via communication with the control system of the at least one of the power modules ([0055] - - the external device send commands to the power supply, e.g. setting operational parameters), wherein the power module comprises:
a case having an interior space for housing a battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - housing 102, battery #120),
a plurality of output ports for supplying electrical current to devices electrically coupled to the ports (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power output unit 116),
one or more input ports for receiving a supply of electrical current to charge the battery (Fig. 1, [0032] - - power input unit 114),
a control system configured to monitor statuses and operating conditions of the power module and comprising a controller to execute operations of the power module (Fig. 4A, [0043] - - controller 200; [0040] - - the subcore monitoring circuit transmits state of charge and battery voltage to the controller and receives command from the controller);
a communication port configured for electronic communication with a communication network (Fig. 4A, [0044] - - network communication module 425);
a remote interface accessible via the communication network and configured to interface the with the control system (Fig. 4C, [0052] - - the wireless communication controller relays the information from the controller to the external device and receive information from the external device and relay the information to the controller;); and
a solar array configured to couple to one of the one or more input ports (Fig. 21, [0099] - - solar panel).
Regarding claim 20, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the monitored data comprises statuses and operating conditions related to the operation of the respective power modules, and wherein the statuses and operating conditions comprise one or more of an environmental condition ([0040] - - temperature), operational state ([0040] - - voltage), load ([0040] - - discharge current), battery capacity ([0040] - - state of charge), or security access log.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swamy et al. US 2022/0200303 (hereinafter Swamy) in view of Zhang et al. CN 113804139 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 2, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Swamy does not explicitly teach: the solar array is configured to position over and at least partially enclose the power module.
However, Zhang teaches: the solar array is configured to position over and at least partially enclose the power module (Fig. 1 - - solar panel #6 partially enclose the controller module #1).
Swamy and Zhang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to solar panel powered system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Swamy, and incorporating solar panel enclosing the controller, as taught by Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide power to the controller module, as suggested by Zhang ([0020]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Swamy and Zhang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Zhang further teaches: the solar array comprises three panels that wrap around legs of a tripod, and wherein the power module positions within an area defined between the legs of the tripod (Fig. 1).
Swamy and Zhang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swamy et al. US 2022/0200303 (hereinafter Swamy) in view of Wu et al. US 2017 /0078450 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 11, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Swamy does not explicitly teach: the control system includes one or more sensors comprising one of a moisture sensor or humidity sensor configured to detect a moisture level within the case.
However, Wu teaches: the control system includes one or more sensors comprising one of a moisture sensor or humidity sensor configured to detect a moisture level within the case ([0014] - - monitoring an environmental condition; [0023] - - environmental condition includes humidity)
Swamy and Wu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to power supply.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Swamy, and incorporating humidity sensor, as taught by Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to maintain the power supply in a healthy condition, as suggested by Wu ([0003]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Swamy and Wu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Swamy further teaches: the sensors comprise a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature within the case, temperature of power module hardware within the case, or both ([0040] - - temperature sensor).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swamy et al. US 2022/0200303 (hereinafter Swamy) in view of Vitek et al. US 2003/0067722 (hereinafter Vitek).
Regarding claim 13, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Swamy does not explicitly teach: a fan located with the case or at a vent thereof, wherein the controller is configured to initiate operation of the fan when the moisture level or temperature exceeds a predefined threshold.
However, Vitek teaches: a fan located with the case or at a vent thereof, wherein the controller is configured to initiate operation of the fan when the moisture level or temperature exceeds a predefined threshold ([0003] - - a temperature control fan is operated when the temperature is outside a range)
Swamy and Vitek are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to power supply.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Swamy, and incorporating a temperature control fan, as taught by Vitek.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to control the temperature in a power supply enclosure, as suggested by Vitek ([0002]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swamy et al. US 2022/0200303 (hereinafter Swamy) in view of TAKUYA et al. JP 2019175593 (hereinafter TAKUYA).
Regarding claim 15, Swamy teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Swamy does not explicitly teach: the local interface includes a view window for viewing a network activity indicator light.
However, TAKUYA teaches: a local interface includes a view window for viewing a network activity indicator light (Fig. 3, [0027] - - the LED indicator 25 indicates presence/absence of reception of a communication signal)
Swamy and TAKUYA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to power supply.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Swamy, and incorporating a LED indicating network activity, as taught by TAKUYA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to monitor the power supply communication status, as suggested by TAKUYA ([0027]).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116