DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
With respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections. Applicant's remarks filed on 04/22/2026 with respect to previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112b have been fully considered and persuasive and thus withdraw the 112b rejections on the claims 21-23.
With respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections. Applicant's remarks filed on 04/22/2026 with respect to previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and unpersuasive.
With respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claim 21 Applicant argue the cited art of record, Um et al (US 2019/0315362 A1) (hereinafter Um) in further view of Hashimoto et al (US 2019/0143982 A1) in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0061819 A1), fails to explicitly disclose all of the recited features of the amended claim 21 (see response pages 8-10), specifically “while the vehicle is following the return path, determine whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied based on a state of the object in lane-B, when the withdrawal condition is satisfied, terminating the cancellation state, and generate from a current position of the vehicle on the return path, a second lane change path toward lane-B based on a head angle of the vehicle on a current position of the vehicle".
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Um teaches the overall lane change control framework including determining whether a lane change should be interrupted, cancelling the lane change in response to an object in the target lane, and returning the vehicle to the original lane (Um ¶¶48, 55, 72, 83, and 86). Thus, Um establishes the claimed cancellation state and return path toward the original lane.
Hashimoto further teaches that while an abort operation is being executed, the system determines whether an abort permission condition is satisfied and changes the lane change operation depending upon whether that condition is satisfied (Hashimoto Abstract; ¶¶11-22). Specifically, Hashimoto explains that when the abort permission condition is not satisfied, lane change control continues, whereas when the abort permission condition becomes satisfied, the abort control is terminated and the vehicle resumes the lane change operation. Accordingly, Hashimoto teaches determining whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied during the return operation and, when the condition is satisfied, terminating the cancellation state, as claimed.
Applicant argues that Park '819 does not generate a second lane change path from the current position of a vehicle already traveling on the return path. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Park '819 explains that the controller generates a lane changing path based on the current behavior information of the vehicle, including the current travel direction (heading angle) and the current location of the vehicle (Park ¶¶55-64). The path generation is expressly based on the vehicle's current operating state rather than a predetermined initial lane-change position. Therefore, when incorporated into the combined system of Um as modified by Hashimoto, the second lane change path is necessarily generated from the vehicle's current position and heading at the time the withdrawal condition has been satisfied, which is the vehicle's current position on the return path. The rejection, however, relies on the combined teachings of Um, Hashimoto, and Park '819. Um supplies the return path following operation, Hashimoto supplies determining whether the withdrawal condition has been satisfied and terminating the cancellation state, and Park '819 supplies generating a lane change path using the vehicle's current position and heading information. The rejection does not rely on Park '819 to independently disclose the complete return-path framework.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Um et al (US 2019/0315362 A1) (hereinafter Um) in further view of Hashimoto et al (US 2019/0143982 A1) in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0061819 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein, for generation of the second lane change path, the processor is further configured to generate a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and to generate a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle.
However, Park teaches wherein, for generation of the second lane change path, the processor is further configured to generate a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and to generate a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle (see Park paras “0026” and “0062-0064” “the lane changing preliminary path generating device 320 does not generate a lane changing preliminary path or utilizes a lane center path as the lane changing preliminary path when the travel direction and the location of the current driver's vehicle exist in a travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle within a predetermined range (for example, the travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle are not distorted)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0026] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 3, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate the lane change reference line as a straight line extending from a front center portion of the vehicle, to allow the lane change reference line to be in parallel to a central line of a driving lane in which the vehicle is driving.
However, Park teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate the lane change reference line as a straight line extending from a front center portion of the vehicle, to allow the lane change reference line to be in parallel to a central line of a driving lane in which the vehicle is driving (see Park paras “0025-0026” and “0062-0064” “the lane changing preliminary path generating device 320 does not generate a lane changing preliminary path or utilizes a lane center path as the lane changing preliminary path when the travel direction and the location of the current driver's vehicle exist in a travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle within a predetermined range (for example, the travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle are not distorted)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0026] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 4, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line.
However, Park teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line (see Park paras “0061-0064”, “0089” and “0097-0098” “The vehicle behavior generating device 310 generates a travel direction and a location of the driver's vehicle based on information on a line in front of the driver's vehicle. For example, the vehicle behavior generating device 310 may generate an angle between the driver's vehicle (the central direction of the driver's vehicle) and the line (a direction which is parallel to the line) and a location of the driver's vehicle between the lines using line information received from the detector 100.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0026] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 7, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a movement amount of the lane change reference line using at least one of a distance from a central line of a driving lane to the lane change reference line, an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line, or a combination thereof.
However, Park teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a movement amount of the lane change reference line using at least one of a distance from a central line of a driving lane to the lane change reference line, an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line, or a combination thereof (see Park paras “0020”, “0061-0064”, “0089” and “0097-0098” “the lane changing path generating device may determine parameters, wherein the target curvature of the line is the same as a curvature of a line which is adjacent to the driver's vehicle at a current location, the target heading angle is 0, and the target location is a center location of the target lane”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0020] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 8, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a movement amount of the lane change reference line by applying an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line to a function.
However, Park teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a movement amount of the lane change reference line by applying an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line to a function (see Park paras “0020”, “0061-0064”, “0089” and “0097-0098” “the lane changing path generating device may determine parameters, wherein the target curvature of the line is the same as a curvature of a line which is adjacent to the driver's vehicle at a current location, the target heading angle is 0, and the target location is a center location of the target lane”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0020] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 20, Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the generating of the second lane change path includes: generating, by the processor, a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and generating a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle, for generation of the second lane change path; and moving the lane change reference line in a direction of a target lane, which is a target for the lane change, or in a direction of a driving lane in which the vehicle is currently driving by use of an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line.
However, Park teaches wherein the generating of the second lane change path includes: generating, by the processor, a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and generating a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle, for generation of the second lane change path; and moving the lane change reference line in a direction of a target lane, which is a target for the lane change, or in a direction of a driving lane in which the vehicle is currently driving by use of an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line (see Park paras “0026” and “0062-0064” “the lane changing preliminary path generating device 320 does not generate a lane changing preliminary path or utilizes a lane center path as the lane changing preliminary path when the travel direction and the location of the current driver's vehicle exist in a travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle within a predetermined range (for example, the travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle are not distorted)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0026] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 21, Um discloses a lane change control apparatus comprising: (see Um para “0048” “The lane change controlling apparatus 100 may determine whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle”),
a processor, and a storage configured to store data and algorithms executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to: control a vehicle to perform a lane change from lane-A to lane-B along a first lane change path; determine cancellation state in which execution of the first lane change path is stopped; based on an object on the lane-B; in response to determining the cancelation state control the vehicle to follow a return path toward the lane-A (see Um para “0048”, “0055”, “0072”, “0083” and “0086” “whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle, whether to interrupt a lane change procedure, whether to return to an original lane after the lane change is cancelled” and “a lane change control, when receiving a lane change request from the user; the present disclosure may determine a condition that a lane change procedure is interrupted, a condition of returning to an original lane, or the like to rapidly perform the lane change, the lane change cancellation, and the original lane return, depending on situations, thereby enhancing the user's convenience and improving the usability of a lane change assist function.”),
Um fails to explicitly teach while the vehicle is following the return path, determine whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied, based on a state of the object in the lane-B; and when the withdrawal condition is satisfied, terminate the cancellation state.
However, Hashimoto teaches while the vehicle is following the return path, determine whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied, based on a state of the object in the lane-B; and when the withdrawal condition is satisfied, terminate the cancellation state (see Hashimoto abstract and paras “0011-0020” “whether or not a driver's operation is performed as an abort request operation that requests to abort the lane change control; when the abort request operation is performed, determine whether or not an abort permission condition is satisfied; when the abort permission condition is not satisfied, continue the lane change control; and, when the abort permission condition is satisfied, abort the lane change control and make the vehicle travel in the first lane. The lane change control device changes ease of satisfaction of the abort permission condition depending on the situation”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to determine whether to continue a lane change or abort based on the driver intention or based on an obstacle avoidance” as taught by Hashimoto (paras. [0011-0022]) in order to improve safety while performing a lane change.
But modified Um fails to explicitly teach generate, from a current position of the vehicle on the return path, a second lane change path for changing lane to toward the lane-B based on a head angle of the vehicle on a current position of the vehicle.
However, Park teaches generate, from a current position of the vehicle on the return path, a second lane change path for changing lane to toward the lane-B based on a head angle of the vehicle on a current position of the vehicle (see Park paras “0026”, “0055-0056” and “0062-0064” “The controller 300 may be configured to generate current behavior information related to the driver's vehicle including a travel direction (a heading angle) and a location of the driver's vehicle, based on information on a line in front of the driver's vehicle recognized by the detector 100 and a lane change command input from the input device 200”, “The controller 300 may be configured to determine whether a lane changing preliminary path is generated, based on current behavior information related to the driver's vehicle, and may generate a lane changing preliminary path wherein the driver's vehicle travels in parallel to the lane in which the driver's vehicle currently travels.” and “the lane changing preliminary path generating device 320 does not generate a lane changing preliminary path or utilizes a lane center path as the lane changing preliminary path when the travel direction and the location of the current driver's vehicle exist in a travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle within a predetermined range (for example, the travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle are not distorted)”).
Park '819 explains that the controller generates a lane changing path based on the current behavior information of the vehicle, including the current travel direction (heading angle) and the current location of the vehicle (Park ¶¶55-64). The path generation is expressly based on the vehicle's current operating state rather than a predetermined initial lane-change position. Therefore, when incorporated into the combined system of Um as modified by Hashimoto, the second lane change path is necessarily generated from the vehicle's current position and heading at the time the withdrawal condition has been satisfied, which is the vehicle's current position on the return path.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0055-0056] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Regarding claim 23, Um discloses a lane change control method comprising: (see Um para “0048” “The lane change controlling apparatus 100 may determine whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle”),
controlling a vehicle to perform a lane change from a lane-A to a lane-B based on a first lane change path; determining cancellation state in which execution of the first lane change path is stopped, based on an object on the lane-B; controlling the vehicle to follow a return path toward the lane-A (see Um para “0048”, “0055”, “0072”, “0083” and “0086” “whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle, whether to interrupt a lane change procedure, whether to return to an original lane after the lane change is cancelled” and “a lane change control, when receiving a lane change request from the user; the present disclosure may determine a condition that a lane change procedure is interrupted, a condition of returning to an original lane, or the like to rapidly perform the lane change, the lane change cancellation, and the original lane return, depending on situations, thereby enhancing the user's convenience and improving the usability of a lane change assist function.”),
Um fails to explicitly teach in response to determining the cancellation state; determining whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied while the vehicle is following the return path, based on a state of the object in the lane-B; terminating the cancellation state when the withdrawal condition is satisfied.
However, Hashimoto teaches in response to determining the cancellation state; determining whether a withdrawal condition is satisfied while the vehicle is following the return path, based on a state of the object in the lane-B; terminating the cancellation state when the withdrawal condition is satisfied (see Hashimoto abstract and paras “0011-0020” “whether or not a driver's operation is performed as an abort request operation that requests to abort the lane change control; when the abort request operation is performed, determine whether or not an abort permission condition is satisfied; when the abort permission condition is not satisfied, continue the lane change control; and, when the abort permission condition is satisfied, abort the lane change control and make the vehicle travel in the first lane. The lane change control device changes ease of satisfaction of the abort permission condition depending on the situation”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to determine whether to continue a lane change or abort based on the driver intention or based on an obstacle avoidance” as taught by Hashimoto (paras. [0011-0022]) in order to improve safety while performing a lane change.
But modified Um fails to explicitly teach generating a second lane change path toward the lane-B from a current position of the vehicle on the return path, based on a head angle of the vehicle on a current position of the vehicle.
However, Park teaches generating a second lane change path toward the lane-B from a current position of the vehicle on the return path, based on a head angle of the vehicle on a current position of the vehicle (see Park paras “0026”, “0055-0056” and “0062-0064” “The controller 300 may be configured to generate current behavior information related to the driver's vehicle including a travel direction (a heading angle) and a location of the driver's vehicle, based on information on a line in front of the driver's vehicle recognized by the detector 100 and a lane change command input from the input device 200”, “The controller 300 may be configured to determine whether a lane changing preliminary path is generated, based on current behavior information related to the driver's vehicle, and may generate a lane changing preliminary path wherein the driver's vehicle travels in parallel to the lane in which the driver's vehicle currently travels.” and “the lane changing preliminary path generating device 320 does not generate a lane changing preliminary path or utilizes a lane center path as the lane changing preliminary path when the travel direction and the location of the current driver's vehicle exist in a travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle within a predetermined range (for example, the travel direction and the location of the driver's vehicle are not distorted)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to recognize line information on a front side of the driver's vehicle to input a lane changing command of the driver's vehicle” as taught by park (paras. [0055-0056] – [0062-0064]) in order to maintain a current travel lane and to control the lane changing path.
Claims 5-6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Um et al (US 2019/0315362 A1) (hereinafter Um) in further view of Hashimoto et al (US 2019/0143982 A1) in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0061819 A1) in further view of Park et al (US 2014/0050362 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein, for generation of the second lane change path, the processor is further configured to generate a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and to generate a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle.
However, Park 362’ teaches wherein, for generation of the second lane change path, the processor is further configured to generate a lane change reference line as a reference for the vehicle to perform the lane change, and to generate a driving direction reference line extending in a driving direction of the vehicle (see Park 362’ para “0022” “The route change determination method may further include: when the traveling lane is not specified at the calculating of the traveling lane, correcting the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle; correcting a lateral position by calculating an offset for a left line of the current traveling lane from image recognition information of the image recognition module; and estimating a longitudinal position by calculating a head angle between a line and a traveling direction of the vehicle from the image recognition information, when a signal received by a GPS module is received.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to correct the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle” as taught by park 362’ (para. [0022]) in order to accurately calculate the traveling lane to perform the lane change safely.
Regarding claim 6, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to move the lane change reference line in a direction of a target lane, which is a target for the lane change, or in a direction of a driving lane in which the vehicle is currently driving by use of an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line.
However, Park 362’ teaches wherein the processor is further configured to move the lane change reference line in a direction of a target lane, which is a target for the lane change, or in a direction of a driving lane in which the vehicle is currently driving by use of an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line (see Park 362’ para “0022” “The route change determination method may further include: when the traveling lane is not specified at the calculating of the traveling lane, correcting the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle; correcting a lateral position by calculating an offset for a left line of the current traveling lane from image recognition information of the image recognition module; and estimating a longitudinal position by calculating a head angle between a line and a traveling direction of the vehicle from the image recognition information, when a signal received by a GPS module is received.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to correct the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle” as taught by park 362’ (para. [0022]) in order to accurately calculate the traveling lane to perform the lane change safely.
Regarding claim 22, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: wherein the lane change reference line is moved in a region between a center line of the driving lane and a line of the driving lane which is adjacent to the target lane.
However, Park 362’ teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: wherein the lane change reference line is moved in a region between a center line of the driving lane and a line of the driving lane which is adjacent to the target lane (see Park 362’ para “0022” “The route change determination method may further include: when the traveling lane is not specified at the calculating of the traveling lane, correcting the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle; correcting a lateral position by calculating an offset for a left line of the current traveling lane from image recognition information of the image recognition module; and estimating a longitudinal position by calculating a head angle between a line and a traveling direction of the vehicle from the image recognition information, when a signal received by a GPS module is received.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to correct the traveling lane by tracing a lane change record of the vehicle” as taught by park 362’ (para. [0022]) in order to accurately calculate the traveling lane to perform the lane change safely.
Claims 11-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Um et al (US 2019/0315362 A1) (hereinafter Um) in further view of Hashimoto et al (US 2019/0143982 A1) in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0061819 A1) in further view of Lee (US 2016/0090087 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change start point, which is a start point for the lane change by use of at least one of a speed of the vehicle, a control target time, an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line, or a combination thereof.
However, Lee teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change start point, which is a start point for the lane change by use of at least one of a speed of the vehicle, a control target time, an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line, or a combination thereof (see Lee para “0050” “The first path generator 200 may determine the first lane changing end point on the straight road, based on a driving speed of the vehicle and a width of the lanes. The first path generator 200 may receive information about locations, orientations and steering angles of the first lane changing start point and the first lane changing end point, and generate the first change path based on a polynomial (e.g., a sixth-order polynomial) using the above information as coefficients.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 12, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change start point by applying an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line to a function.
However, Lee teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change start point by applying an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line to a function (see Lee para “0050” “The first path generator 200 may determine the first lane changing end point on the straight road, based on a driving speed of the vehicle and a width of the lanes. The first path generator 200 may receive information about locations, orientations and steering angles of the first lane changing start point and the first lane changing end point, and generate the first change path based on a polynomial (e.g., a sixth-order polynomial) using the above information as coefficients.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 14, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change end point, which is a point at which the lane change is completed, by use of a speed of the vehicle and a time required for the lane change to be completed from a lane change start point.
However, Lee teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change end point, which is a point at which the lane change is completed, by use of a speed of the vehicle and a time required for the lane change to be completed from a lane change start point (see Lee figs 3, 5 & 7 and paras “0050” and “0104” “The first path generator 200 may determine the first lane changing end point on the straight road, based on a driving speed of the vehicle and a width of the lanes. The first path generator 200 may receive information about locations, orientations and steering angles of the first lane changing start point and the first lane changing end point, and generate the first change path based on a polynomial (e.g., a sixth-order polynomial) using the above information as coefficients.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 15, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change intermediate point between the lane change start point and the lane change end point according to a distance ratio predetermined by a user.
However, Lee teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a lane change intermediate point between the lane change start point and the lane change end point according to a distance ratio predetermined by a user (see Lee figs 3, 5 & 7 and paras “0050” and “0080” “when at least one lane is present between the current lane and the target lane. For example, there is a case in which lane changing is performed n times starting from a current lane (a case in which n lanes are present between the current lane and the target lane). In this case, an x-axis value of the first lane changing end point IEP, i.e., a moving distance D, may be calculated by Equation 1 in which the constants m1 and m2 increase to be proportional to n”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 16, modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein a movement amount of the lane change reference line increase and a driving distance for the lane change increase as an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line increases.
However, Lee teaches wherein a movement amount of the lane change reference line increase and a driving distance for the lane change increase as an angle between the lane change reference line and the driving direction reference line increases (see Lee figs 3, 5 & 7 and paras “0050” and “0080” “when at least one lane is present between the current lane and the target lane. For example, there is a case in which lane changing is performed n times starting from a current lane (a case in which n lanes are present between the current lane and the target lane). In this case, an x-axis value of the first lane changing end point IEP, i.e., a moving distance D, may be calculated by Equation 1 in which the constants m1 and m2 increase to be proportional to n”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 17, Um discloses wherein, in response that the vehicle follows the return path to the original lane and returns to the original lane, the processor is further configured to move the lane change reference line in a direction of a target lane, in a state where the cancellation of the lane change is withdrawn at the start point and a head of the vehicle is directed in the direction of the target lane, which is a target for the lane change (see Um para “0048”, “0055”, “0072”, “0083” and “0086” “whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle, whether to interrupt a lane change procedure, whether to return to an original lane after the lane change is cancelled” and “a lane change control, when receiving a lane change request from the user; the present disclosure may determine a condition that a lane change procedure is interrupted, a condition of returning to an original lane, or the like to rapidly perform the lane change, the lane change cancellation, and the original lane return, depending on situations, thereby enhancing the user's convenience and improving the usability of a lane change assist function.”).
but modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein a return path includes a start point, an intermediate point, and an end point.
However, Lee teaches wherein a return path includes a start point, an intermediate point, and an end point (see Lee figs 3, 5 & 7 and paras “0050” and “0080” “when at least one lane is present between the current lane and the target lane. For example, there is a case in which lane changing is performed n times starting from a current lane (a case in which n lanes are present between the current lane and the target lane). In this case, an x-axis value of the first lane changing end point IEP, i.e., a moving distance D, may be calculated by Equation 1 in which the constants m1 and m2 increase to be proportional to n”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Regarding claim 18, Um discloses wherein, in response that the vehicle follows the return path to the original lane and returns to the original lane, the processor is further configured to move the lane change reference line in a direction of the original lane, in a state where the cancellation of the lane change is withdrawn at the intermediate point and a head of the vehicle is directed in the direction of the original lane (see Um para “0048”, “0055”, “0072”, “0083” and “0086” “whether it is possible to change a lane of a vehicle, whether to interrupt a lane change procedure, whether to return to an original lane after the lane change is cancelled” and “a lane change control, when receiving a lane change request from the user; the present disclosure may determine a condition that a lane change procedure is interrupted, a condition of returning to an original lane, or the like to rapidly perform the lane change, the lane change cancellation, and the original lane return, depending on situations, thereby enhancing the user's convenience and improving the usability of a lane change assist function.”).
but modified Um fails to explicitly teach wherein a return path includes a start point, an intermediate point, and an end point.
However, Lee teaches wherein a return path includes a start point, an intermediate point, and an end point (see Lee figs 3, 5 & 7 and paras “0050” and “0080” “when at least one lane is present between the current lane and the target lane. For example, there is a case in which lane changing is performed n times starting from a current lane (a case in which n lanes are present between the current lane and the target lane). In this case, an x-axis value of the first lane changing end point IEP, i.e., a moving distance D, may be calculated by Equation 1 in which the constants m1 and m2 increase to be proportional to n”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Um for apparatus for controlling lane change of vehicle, system having the same and method thereof “to generate a first change path connecting a first lane changing start point and a first lane changing end point on a straight road” as taught by Lee (para. [0050]) in order to provide a safe path for changing lanes on a road without invading lanes other than a current lane and a lane to be moved to.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOSSAM M ABD EL LATIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664