DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments 4 August 2026.
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 16 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “wherein the rotor assembly and the optical assembly are two separate assemblies connectable to each other”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, these claim limitations were not present in the previous claims and were presented by amendment on 4 August 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Han addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Han and Kojima in the present Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han CN 111580114 A in view of Kojima US 20200025276 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a driving assembly configured to drive an optical assembly of a LiDAR to rotate (Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the driving assembly comprising:
a shaft comprising a first end and a second end (main shaft 140 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a first bearing sleeved on an outer side of the shaft and located close to the first end (upper bearing portion 151 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a second bearing sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located close to the second end (lower bearing portion 152 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a stator sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located between the first bearing and the second bearing (stator 121 in Fig. 1B, [0060]); and
a rotor assembly arranged corresponding to the stator (rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the rotor assembly being configured to be connected to the optical assembly (multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]), wherein the rotor assembly and the optical assembly are two separate assemblies connectable to each other (rotor assembly includes rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62], and optical assembly includes multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]).
Han does not explicitly teach the rotor assembly fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing.
Kojima teaches rings of a bearing fixedly connected to stationery and rotating portions (races 32b and 32c in Figs. 1 and 3, [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han such that the rotor assembly is fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing similar to Kojima with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing sliding (and losing energy due to friction) between the bearing’s races and the rotating components.
Regarding claim 2, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 1, wherein the rotor assembly comprises:
a rotating holder, the rotating holder comprising a receiving cavity located on an inner side and a mounting portion located on an outer side (rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the receiving cavity being configured to receive the first bearing, the second bearing and the stator, and the mounting portion being configured to be fixedly connected to the optical assembly (cavity on inside of 130 receives bearings 151 and 152, and stator 121 in Fig. 1B, reflecting surface 111 mounted to outside of 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]); and
a magnetic element attached to the inner wall of the rotating holder forming the receiving cavity and arranged corresponding to the stator (rotor 122 may include a permanent magnet and is shown attached to the inner wall of 130 in Fig. 1B [0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 2, wherein the rotating holder comprises:
a first connecting portion for forming a first connecting cavity of the receiving cavity, the first connecting cavity being configured to receive the first bearing, (shown by 151 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]);
a second connecting portion for forming a second connecting cavity of the receiving cavity, the second connecting cavity being configured to receive the second bearing, (shown by 152 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]); and
an intermediate connecting portion located between the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, the intermediate connecting portion forming an intermediate cavity of the receiving cavity, the intermediate cavity being configured to receive the stator, and the magnetic element being located on an inner wall of the intermediate connecting portion (area between 151 and 152 includes stator 121 and rotor 122 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]).
Han does not explicitly teach an inner wall of the first connecting portion being fixedly connected to the outer ring of the first bearing and an inner wall of the second connecting portion being fixedly connected to the outer ring of the second bearing.
Kojima teaches rings of a bearing fixedly connected to stationery and rotating portions (races 32b and 32c in Figs. 1 and 3, [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han such that an inner wall of the first connecting portion being fixedly connected to the outer ring of the first bearing and an inner wall of the second connecting portion being fixedly connected to the outer ring of the second bearing similar to Kojima with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing sliding (and losing energy due to friction) between the bearing’s races and the rotating components.
Regarding claim 4, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 3, wherein the sizes of the first connecting cavity, the intermediate cavity, and the second connecting cavity increase in sequence; and the size of the outer ring of the second bearing is greater than that of the outer ring of the first bearing (shown in Fig. 1B with diameter of the cavity in 130 increasing going from upper bearing 151 to rotor 122 and stator 121 to lower bearing 152, [0060-62]).
Regarding claim 5, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 4, wherein an inner wall of the rotating holder is stepped in an axial direction of the shaft (inner wall of 130 is shown stepped in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]).
Regarding claim 6, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 4, wherein the center of gravity of the rotor assembly is located between the first bearing and the second bearing (upper bearing 151 and lower bearing 152 are at either end of the assembly with the motor and most components of optical assembly in between such that the center of gravity is between 151 and 152 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]).
Regarding claim 7, Han as modified above teaches the driving assembly according to claim 3, wherein the mounting portion is located at an outer surface of the intermediate connecting portion (reflecting surface 111 shown mounted to outside of 130 in regions including between upper and lower bearings 151 and 152 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Fig. 3, [0004-5]), comprising:
an optical assembly (110 in Figs. 1A-1B, [0060-62]); and
a driving assembly configured to drive an optical assembly to rotate (Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the driving assembly comprising:
a shaft comprising a first end and a second end (main shaft 140 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a first bearing sleeved on an outer side of the shaft and located close to the first end (upper bearing portion 151 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a second bearing sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located close to the second end (lower bearing portion 152 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a stator sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located between the first bearing and the second bearing (stator 121 in Fig. 1B, [0060]); and
a rotor assembly arranged corresponding to the stator (rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the rotor assembly being configured to be connected to the optical assembly (multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]), wherein the rotor assembly and the optical assembly are two separate assemblies connectable to each other (rotor assembly includes rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62], and optical assembly includes multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]).
Han does not explicitly teach the rotor assembly fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing.
Kojima teaches rings of a bearing fixedly connected to stationery and rotating portions (races 32b and 32c in Figs. 1 and 3, [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han such that the rotor assembly is fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing similar to Kojima with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing sliding (and losing energy due to friction) between the bearing’s races and the rotating components.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, Han as modified above teaches the LiDAR system according to claim 8, wherein the optical assembly is a polygonal prism which is mounted on a rotor assembly of the driving assembly (polygonal rotating mirror portion 110 in Fig. 1A-1B, [0059-62]).
Regarding claim 16, Han teaches a carrier assembly (vehicle-mounted, [0058]), comprising:
a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) (Figs. 3, 5, laser radar, [0058]) system comprising:
an optical assembly (110 in Figs. 1A-1B, [0060-62]); and
a driving assembly configured to drive an optical assembly to rotate (Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the driving assembly comprising:
a shaft comprising a first end and a second end (main shaft 140 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a first bearing sleeved on an outer side of the shaft and located close to the first end (upper bearing portion 151 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a second bearing sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located close to the second end (lower bearing portion 152 in Fig. 1B, [0062]);
a stator sleeved on the outer side of the shaft and located between the first bearing and the second bearing (stator 121 in Fig. 1B, [0060]); and
a rotor assembly arranged corresponding to the stator (rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62]), the rotor assembly being configured to be connected to the optical assembly (multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]), wherein the rotor assembly and the optical assembly are two separate assemblies connectable to each other (rotor assembly includes rotor 122 and rotating mirror frame 130 in Fig. 1B, [0060-62], and optical assembly includes multi-faceted mirror 110 with reflecting surfaces 111 in Figs. 1A and 1B, [0061-62]).
Han does not explicitly teach the rotor assembly fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing.
Kojima teaches rings of a bearing fixedly connected to stationery and rotating portions (races 32b and 32c in Figs. 1 and 3, [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han such that the rotor assembly is fixedly connected to an outer ring of the first bearing and an outer ring of the second bearing similar to Kojima with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of preventing sliding (and losing energy due to friction) between the bearing’s races and the rotating components.
Regarding claim 17, see rejection to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection to claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, see rejection to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection to claim 7 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645