DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on April 06, 2026
Claims 1-30 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (US: 2024/0056247 A1) in view of SCHOBER et al. (US: 2025/0106770 A1).
As per Claim 1 Muruganathan teaches a user equipment, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Paragraph 0252- 0254 UE 1300 can include a processor 1310 (processor 1310 can execute program code stored in program memory 1320); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first user equipment to (Paragraph 0252- 0254 UE 1300 can include a processor 1310 (also referred to as “processing circuitry”) that can be operably connected to a program memory 1320 and/or a data memory 1330 via a bus 1370 that can comprise parallel address and data buses, serial ports, or other methods):
receive control signaling comprising an indication of a resource allocation associated with a physical downlink shared channel for a second user equipment and an indication to measure a demodulation reference signal associated with the physical downlink shared channel for the second user equipment (Paragraph 0014, 0083- 0086,0091 For example, these include demodulation reference signals (DM-RS), which are transmitted to aid the UE in the reception of an associated PDCCH or PDSCH. reference signal received power (RSRP) per beam. A UE first detects and decodes DCI and, if the DCI includes an uplink grant for the UE, transmits the corresponding PUSCH on the resources indicated by the UEs perform such measurements on SSBs associated with the respective beams, PDCCH downlink control information (DCI) contains a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field that informs a UE which network beam is used for DL data transmission so that the UE can adjust its receive beam accordingly. PBCH carries the basic system information (SI) required by the UE to access a cell. PDCCH is used for transmitting DL control information (DCI) including demodulation RS (DMRS), phase-tracking reference signals (PTRS), etc. scheduling information for DL messages on PDSCH, grants for UL transmission on PUSCH, and channel quality feedback (e.g., CSI) for the UL channel. PUSCH is the uplink counterpart to the PDSCH...);
measure, based at least in part on receiving the control signaling, the demodulation reference signal associated with the physical downlink shared channel for the second user equipment (Paragraph 0090, 0092, 0096 transmits downlink control information (DCI) over PDCCH that indicates which UE is scheduled to receive data in that slot, as well as which RBs will carry that data. The fallback DCI support resource allocation type 1 in which DCI size depends on the size of active BWP. A UE first detects and decodes DCI and, if the DCI includes DL scheduling information for the UE, receives the corresponding PDSCH based on the DL scheduling information. DCI formats 1_0 and 1_1 are used to convey PDSCH scheduling. For example, to determine the modulation order, target code rate, and TB size(s) for a scheduled PDSCH transmission, the UE first reads the 5-bit modulation and coding scheme field (I.sub.MCS) in the DCI (e.g., formats 1_0 or 1_1) to determine the modulation order ); and
transmit, to a network entity and based at least in part on measuring the demodulation reference signal associated with the physical downlink shared channel for the second user equipment, signaling comprising a beam management report (Paragraph 0101, 0107, 0230 This can be useful for demodulation since the UE can know beforehand the properties of the channel when trying to measure the channel utilizing the DMRS. the UE to perform measurements on SSBs. If the network receives a UE report indicating that a new SSB beam is better than the previous best SSB beam. The first antenna port is represented by a measurement reference signal such as CSI-RS (referred to as “source RS”) and the second antenna port is a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (referred to as “target RS”). A UE performs measurements on many DL-RSs and the beam report also includes respective reference signal identifiers associated with the first and second reference signals. In some of these embodiments, the beam report is arranged into a plurality of preconfigured bitfields and each group of measurements is arranged ).
Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose a resource allocation associated with a physical downlink shared channel for a second user equipment
However, SCHOBER from an analogous art similarly teaches a resource allocation associated with a physical downlink shared channel for a second user equipment (Paragraph 0062, 0063 The DCI schedules which resources will be allocated to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) for each UE device 101-103. For example, DCI in the first PDCCH 302 may indicate the location of a large “legacy” PDSCH resource allocation 310 for the first UE 101 and a smaller PDSCH resource allocation 320 for the second UE 102, amongst other control information. The second PDCCH 303 may communicate the location of a large “legacy” PDSCH resource allocation 311 for the second UE 102 and a smaller allocation 321 for the first UE 101, while the third and fourth PDCCHs 304, 305 may communicate the locations of PDSCH resource allocations 312, 322, 313, 323 in the third and fourth slots all for the third UE 103.. );
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muruganathan to include the teaching of SCHOBER so the second UE device 102 is allocated a “legacy” rectangle 311 of resource units occupying PRBs “5-18” and symbol periods “3-13” of the second slot 301b, and also a set 320 of resource units occupying PRBs “0-3”. (See SCHOBER Paragraph 0063).
As per Claim 2 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the control signaling further comprises an indication of one or more metrics to measure, and wherein, to measure the demodulation reference signal, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first user equipment to measure, using the demodulation reference signal, the one or more metrics (Paragraph 0090, 0169, Note that RSRP is given as an exemplary measurement quantity or metric, but other relevant measurement quantities or metrics (e.g., SINR) can be reported instead of RSRP. For example, PDCCH downlink control information (DCI) contains a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field that informs a UE which network beam is used for DL data transmission so that the UE can adjust its receive beam accordingly, transmits downlink control information (DCI) over PDCCH that indicates which UE is scheduled to receive data in that slot, as well as which RBs will carry that data..).
As per Claim 3 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 2, wherein the one or more metrics comprise a reference signal received power, a spectral efficiency, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0169, 0277 Note that RSRP is given as an exemplary measurement quantity or metric, but other relevant measurement quantities or metrics (e.g., SINR) can be reported instead of RSRP. FIG. 15 can also include measurement procedures and/or sensors that monitor network performance metrics including data rate, latency and other factors).
As per Claim 4 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first user equipment to: decode the control signaling to determine: one or more resource blocks within the resource allocation comprise the demodulation reference signal, and a quantity of demodulation reference signal ports associate with the demodulation reference signal (Paragraph 0106, 0107 the UE can estimate the average delay from the signal received from antenna port A (source RS) and assume that the signal received from antenna port B (target RS) has the same average delay. This can be useful for demodulation since the UE can know beforehand the properties of the channel when trying to measure the channel utilizing the DMRS. These antenna ports are then said to be “quasi co-located” or “QCL”. The network can signal to the UE that two antenna ports are QCL with respect to one or more parameters. Once the UE knows that two antenna ports are QCL with respect to a certain parameter (e.g., Doppler spread), the UE can estimate that parameter based on one of the antenna ports and use that estimate when receiving the other antenna port. Typically, the first antenna port is represented by a measurement reference signal such as CSI-RS (referred to as “source RS”) and the second antenna port is a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (referred to as “target RS”). ).
As per Claim 5 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first user equipment to: receive, from the network entity and responsive to transmission of the signaling comprising the beam management report, a message notifying the first user equipment to switch from a first directional beam to a second directional beam (Paragraph 0014, 0097 Hence, frequent and fast beam switching (e.g., within a single TRP or between TRPs) is often needed to maintain satisfactory performance for a UE, particularly at mmW frequencies. To support such beam switching, a beam indication framework has been specified in NR. For example, PDCCH downlink control information (DCI) contains a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) field that informs a UE which network beam is used for DL data transmission so that the UE can adjust its receive beam accordingly. Prior to data transmission, however, a training phase is used to determine preferred and/or optimal UL and DL beam configurations for UE and network.).
As per Claim 6 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 5, wherein the second directional beam is associated with the second user equipment, is associated with a third user equipment, or is a newly-configured directional beam (Paragraph 0070, 0114 various directional beams to provide coverage in the respective cells. Depending on the particular cell in which it is located, a UE 405 can communicate with the gNB or ng-eNB serving that particular cell via the NR or LTE radio interface, respectively. Hence, the network may give this relation between a channel to be decoded (e.g., PDCCH/PDSCH) and a signal that is known to be transmitted in a given direction that may be used as reference by the UE, like CSI-RS, SSB, etc.).
As per Claim 7 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first user equipment to: transmit, to the network entity, second signaling recommending a spatial direction of a directional beam to be associated with the first user equipment, a different directional beam to be associated with the first user equipment, or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0072, 0099 An important benefit of multi-TRP operation is reliability due to the spatial diversity provided by the different transmission paths to/from the respective TRPs. A basic operational principle of spatial diversity is that multiple copies of the same data payload are combined at the receiver to improve the receiver's capability to recover the data payload, the NR beam management framework allows the network to inform the UE about spatial relations between beams and to facilitate UE-side beam tracking. Before starting a random access channel (RACH) procedure towards the network, the UE measures on a set of SSBs and chooses a suitable one ).
As per Claim 8 Muruganathan- SCHOBER teaches the first user equipment of claim 7, wherein the second signaling is transmitted based at least in part on movement detected at the first user equipment, a changed location of the first user equipment, or a changed direction of the first user equipment (Paragraph 0006, 0071, 0116 Each TRP is typically an antenna array with one or more antenna elements and is located at a specific geographical location. In this manner, a gNB associated with multiple TRPs can transmit the same or different signals from each of the TRPs. For example, a gNB can transmit different version of the same signal on multiple TRPs to a single UE. Each of the TRPs can also employ beams for transmission and reception towards the UEs served by the gNB, as discussed above. Since different TRPs may be located in different physical locations and have different beams, the propagation channels can be different. To facilitate receiving PDSCH data from different TRPs or beams, a UE may be configured by RRC with multiple TCI states. The functions of HSS 131 can be related to the functions of legacy Home Location Register (HLR) and Authentication Centre (AuC) functions or operations.).
Claims 9 – 30 are network entity and a method claims corresponding to the user equipment claims 1 – 8 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 – 8. Claims 9-30 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-8.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on April 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 10-11 the Applicant argues in substance that:
(A) "Muruganathan do not teach or suggest "measure, based at least in part on receiving the control signaling, the demodulation reference signal associated with
the physical downlink shared channel for the second user equipment," as recited in independent claim 1..”.
Response
(A) In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' arguments but firmly believes that the cited references teaches claim limitation. Muruganathan explicitly each group includes measurements performed on a first reference signal from the first resource set and on a second reference signal from the second resource set. PUCCH is used by UEs to transmit uplink control information (UCI) including HARQ feedback for gNB DL transmissions, channel quality feedback (e.g., CSI) for the DL channel, scheduling requests (SRs), etc. PRACH is used for random access preamble transmission.. One of the measurements included in the first group is expressed as an absolute value, while other measurements included in the first group are expressed as differential values relative to the absolute value included in the first group.. Each resource set comprises a plurality of reference signals. The reference signals in each resource set are associated with respective spatial filtering configurations. These exemplary methods can also include performing measurements on the reference signals of the at least first and second resource sets. Phase-tracking RS (PTRS) are used by the UE to identify common phase error (CPE) present in sub-carriers of a received DL OFDM symbol. Other RS-like DL signals include Primary Synchronization Sequence (PSS) and Secondary Synchronization Sequence (SSS), which facilitate the UEs time and frequency synchronization and acquisition of system parameters (e.g., via PBCH). The PSS, SSS, and PBCH are collectively referred to as an SS/PBCH block (SSB).. An example from Muruganathan (Paragraph 0064 measurements involve the UE calculating parameters SS-RSRP and SS-RSRQ for the serving cell as well as neighbor cells. These parameters are typically calculated based on UE measurements of SSBs transmitted with a configured periodicity, e.g., 20 ms. Currently, the UE must rely on SSB for cell reselection because no other DL RS are guaranteed for UEs in non-connected states (e.g., RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE). This uncertainty can cause undesirable UE behavior, particularly in relation to energy consumption. This is discussed in more detail below, after the following description of NR network architectures and radio interface...).
Therefore, Muruganathan and Schober reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463