DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on November 15, 2023 in which claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 15, 2023; January 23, 2024; March 13, 2024 and July 26, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Srinivasan et al. US Publication No. 2016/0191424 in view of Thayalan et al. US Publication No. 2015/0271103.
Regarding claim 1, Srinivasan et al. disclose “a primary network switch, configured in a switch group of a main network, coupled to at least one first subnet of a subnet group through at least one first link” (Figure 1, Paragraphs 0020-0023), comprising: “a processing unit, configured to execute a program code; and a storage unit, coupled to the processing unit, configured to store the program code to instruct the processing unit to execute a network coupling redundancy method” (Paragraphs 0095-0098 describing a computer program product which is a storage medium (media) or computer readable medium (media) having instructions stored thereon/in which can be used to program a processing system to perform any of the features presented), “wherein the network coupling redundancy method comprises: receiving a first control packet from a backup network switch of the switch group” (Figure 2; Paragraph 0026 describing in FIG. 2, the input port 202 can receive various incoming data packets from the traffic source 201 using the source VLs 221, and the input port 212 can receive various data packets from the traffic source 211 using the source VLs 231); “in response to not receiving the first control packet” (Paragraphs 0041-0047 describing the input port 302 can prevent the received packets from being presented at the output port 307, which is down. For example, the input packet classifier 303 can configure and/or use a mask (e.g. an output port filter mask based on the broadcast signal) as a final check before queuing the received packets into the VOQs 305), performing link change according to a first condition” (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0041-0046 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes). Although Srinivasan et al. disclose in (Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307, which detects the link state change, can broadcast the state change notification 325 across all VOQs (e.g. VOQs 305), e.g. via an output port arbiter 306. Eventually, the state change notification 325 may reach the input port 302 (and various other input ports) and in (Figure 4, Paragraphs 0051-0055 describing each output port 407 or 417 can perform the link state management 409 and 419. When an output port 407 or 417 detects any changes in the link state, the output port 407 or 417 can notify an output scheduler, such as an output port arbiter 406 Or 416, which can broadcast the state change notifications, across all VOQs 405 and 415 (eventually to the different input ports 402 and 412)). Srinivasan et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of “in response to receiving the first control packet, sending a first acknowledgment (ACK) packet comprising a connection status of the at least one first subnet”; “sending a second control packet to the backup network switch; and in response to sending the second control packet, receiving a second ACK packet from the backup network switch, and performing link change after receiving the second ACK packet” as recited in the instant claim 1. On the other hand, Thayalan et al. provide mechanism, such as an acknowledgment module (Figure 8; Paragraphs 0085-0087) adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, to allow any number of (acknowledgments) ACKs, first, second, third etc.…, to be sent and received (See Thayalan et al. Abstract; Paragraph 0016 describing a switch that includes a link aggregation module adapted to establish a virtual link aggregation group comprising a plurality of links coupling a network device to the switch and one or more other switches. The switch also includes an acknowledgment module adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, where the notification message includes port information associated with a local link participating in the virtual link aggregation group. The switch further includes a link selection module adapted to, in response to identifying the acknowledgment from each of the one or more other switches, determine a state for the local link based on the port information, where the state indicates whether the local link is an active link or a standby link for the virtual link aggregation group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the acknowledgment module of Thayalan et al. into the packet switching system of Srinivasan et al. because they are both directed to link changing and are both from the field of endeavor. Such combination would have enhanced the versatility of by allowing it to dynamically select and configure links of a virtual link aggregation group in a distributed architecture. Thus, providing a scalable and flexible solution for establishing and controlling active and standby links of a virtual link aggregation group associated with the multiple individual member switches.
As per claim 2, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the first condition comprises not receiving the first control packet from the backup network switch for a predetermined time and a link status of a link connected to the primary network switch being a linkup state and a corresponding port being not in a forward state” (Paragraphs 0041-0047 describing the input port 302 can prevent the received packets from being presented at the output port 307, which is down. For example, the input packet classifier 303 can configure and/or use a mask (e.g. an output port filter mask based on the broadcast signal) as a final check before queuing the received packets into the VOQs 305).
As per claim 3, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein the first control packet, the first ACK packet, the second control packet, and the second ACK packet are sent by multicast, and destination addresses of the first control packet, the first ACK packet, the second
control packet and the second ACK packet comprise a group identification (ID) of the switch group” (Figures 7A-7B; Paragraph 0082-0084 describing identifier of switch identifier).
As per claim 4, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the backup network switch is coupled to at least one second subnet of the subnet group through at least one second link, and the first control packet comprises a connection status of the at least one second subnet” (Paragraph 0008 describing systems and methods that can support packet switching in a network environment. A networking device, such as a network switch, which includes a crossbar fabric, can be associated with a plurality of input ports and a plurality of output ports. Furthermore, the networking device can detect a link state change at an output port that is associated with the networking device. Then, the networking device can notify one or more input ports, via the output port, of the link state change at the output port).
As per claim 5, Thayalan et al. disclose “performing an error detection for network configuration according to the connection status of the at least one second subnet carried in the first control packet” through a process of a switch identifying the unavailability of an active local link and selecting a standby link. During operation, a switch which is an actor member switch of a fabric switch identifies the unavailability of an active local link (e.g., a link associated with a port that is local to the switch) (operation 402). The unavailability can be a local port failure, a link failure, or a remote port failure (e.g., associated with a corresponding port on a remote device coupled to the switch (See Thayalan et al. Paragraph 0075).
As per claim 6, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein when the switch group comprises another backup network switch, a Media Access Control (MAC) address of the another backup network switch is greater than a MAC address of the backup network switch, and the primary network switch reports an error message” (Paragraphs 0021, 0024, 0064).
As per claim 7, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the step of sending the second control packet to the backup network switch comprises when the primary network switch resumes operation or when one of the at least one first link fails (link-down) or restores the connection (link-up), sending the second control packet to the backup network switch” (Paragraphs 0041-0047).
As per claim 8, Srinivasan et al. disclose “disclose “wherein the second control packet at least comprises a connection status of a subnet requiring performing link change” (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0041-0046 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes).
Regarding claim 9, Srinivasan et al. disclose “a backup network switch, configured in a switch group of a main network, coupled to at least one first subnet of a subnet group through at least one first link” (Figure 1, Paragraphs 0020-0023), comprising: “a processing unit, configured to execute a program code; and a storage unit, coupled to the processing unit, configured to store the program code to instruct the processing unit to execute a network coupling redundancy method” (Paragraphs 0095-0098 describing a computer program product which is a storage medium (media) or computer readable medium (media) having instructions stored thereon/in which can be used to program a processing system to perform any of the features presented), “wherein the network coupling redundancy method comprises: periodically sending a first control packet comprising a connection status of the at least one first subnet to at least one primary network switch of the switch group” (Figure 2; Paragraph 0026 describing in FIG. 2, the input port 202 can receive various incoming data packets from the traffic source 201 using the source VLs 221, and the input port 212 can receive various data packets from the traffic source 211 using the source VLs 231. Also, the output port 207 can send outgoing data packets to the traffic destination 208 using the destination VLs 227, and the output port 217 can send outgoing data packets to the traffic destination 218 using the destination VLs 237.). Although Srinivasan et al. disclose in (Figure 3; Paragraph 0037 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307, which detects the link state change, can broadcast the state change notification 325 across all VOQs (e.g. VOQs 305), e.g. via an output port arbiter 306. Eventually, the state change notification 325 may reach the input port 302 (and various other input ports) and in (Figure 4, Paragraphs 0051-0055 describing each output port 407 or 417 can perform the link state management 409 and 419. When an output port 407 or 417 detects any changes in the link state, the output port 407 or 417 can notify an output scheduler, such as an output port arbiter 406 Or 416, which can broadcast the state change notifications, across all VOQs 405 and 415 (eventually to the different input ports 402 and 412)). Srinivasan et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of “in response to sending the first control packet, receiving at least one first acknowledgement (ACK) packet from the at least one primary network switch; performing link change according to a first condition; and in response to receiving a second control packet from the at least one primary network switch, sending a second ACK packet and performing link change according to the second control packet” as recited in the instant claim 9. On the other hand, Thayalan et al. provide mechanism, such as an acknowledgment module (Figure 8; Paragraphs 0085-0087) adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, to allow any number of (acknowledgments) ACKs, first, second, third etc.…, to be sent and received (See Thayalan et al. Abstract; Paragraph 0016 describing a switch that includes a link aggregation module adapted to establish a virtual link aggregation group comprising a plurality of links coupling a network device to the switch and one or more other switches. The switch also includes an acknowledgment module adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, where the notification message includes port information associated with a local link participating in the virtual link aggregation group. The switch further includes a link selection module adapted to, in response to identifying the acknowledgment from each of the one or more other switches, determine a state for the local link based on the port information, where the state indicates whether the local link is an active link or a standby link for the virtual link aggregation group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the acknowledgment module of Thayalan et al. into the packet switching system of Srinivasan et al. because they are both directed to link changing and are both from the field of endeavor. Such combination would have enhanced the versatility of by allowing it to dynamically select and configure links of a virtual link aggregation group in a distributed architecture. Thus, providing a scalable and flexible solution for establishing and controlling active and standby links of a virtual link aggregation group associated with the multiple individual member switches.
As per claim 10, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein the first control packet, the at least one first ACK packet, the second control packet, and the second ACK packet are sent by multicast, and destination addresses of the first control packet, the at least one first ACK packet, the second control packet and the second ACK packet comprise a group identification (ID) of the switch group” (Figures 7A-7B; Paragraph 0082-0084 describing identifier of switch identifier).
As per claim 11, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein each primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch is coupled to at least one second subnet of the subnet group through at least one second link, and each of the at least one ACK packet comprises a connection status of the at least one second subnet of the each primary network switch” (Figures 1-8 and corresponding text).
As per claim 12, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein the network coupling redundancy method further comprises performing an error detection for network configuration according to the connection status of the at least one second subnet carried in the at least one first ACK packet” through a process of a switch identifying the unavailability of an active local link and selecting a standby link. During operation, a switch which is an actor member switch of a fabric switch identifies the unavailability of an active local link (e.g., a link associated with a port that is local to the switch) (operation 402). The unavailability can be a local port failure, a link failure, or a remote port failure (e.g., associated with a corresponding port on a remote device coupled to the switch (See Thayalan et al. Paragraph 0075).
As per claim 13, Thayalan et al. disclose “further reporting an error message when one of the at least one first ACK packet carries a connection status of a subnet that does not belong to the at least one first subnet” (Figures 1-8 and corresponding text).
As per claim 14, Srinivasan et al. disclose “reporting an error message when different first ACK packets of the at least one first ACK packet carry connection statuses of the same subnet” (Paragraph 0008 describing systems and methods that can support packet switching in a network environment. A networking device, such as a network switch, which includes a crossbar fabric, can be associated with a plurality of input ports and a plurality of output ports. Furthermore, the networking device can detect a link state change at an output port that is associated with the networking device. Then, the networking device can notify one or more input ports, via the output port, of the link state change at the output port).
As per claim 15, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the first condition comprises a number of times the first ACK packet being not received from a primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch; the step of performing link change according to the first condition is switching the at least one second link of the primary network switch when the number of times of the first condition exceeds a predetermined number.” (Paragraphs 0041-0047 describing the input port 302 can prevent the received packets from being presented at the output port 307, which is down. For example, the input packet classifier 303 can configure and/or use a mask (e.g. an output port filter mask based on the broadcast signal) as a final check before queuing the received packets into the VOQs 305)
As per claim 16, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the step of performing link change according to the second control packet is performing link change according to a connection status of at least one subnet carried in the second control packet.” (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0041-0046 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes).
Regarding claim 17, Srinivasan et al. disclose “a network architecture for network coupling and backup, comprising: a plurality of subnets, belonging to a plurality of subnet groups; and a main network, comprising a plurality of switch groups, wherein each switch group of the plurality of switch groups is coupled to a subnet group of the plurality of subnet groups and comprises: at least one primary network switch, coupled to the subnet group, wherein each primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch is coupled to at least one first subnet of the subnet group through at least one first link” (Figure 1, Paragraphs 0020-0023), and “a backup network switch (Figure 1, Component 110), coupled to the subnet group through at least one second link”; wherein the each switch group of the plurality of switch groups is configured to execute a network coupling redundancy method wherein the network coupling redundancy method comprises: “sending, by the backup network switch, a first control packet comprising a connection status of the at least one second link periodically” (Figure 2; Paragraph 0026 describing in FIG. 2, the input port 202 can receive various incoming data packets from the traffic source 201 using the source VLs 221, and the input port 212 can receive various data packets from the traffic source 211 using the source VLs 231. Also, the output port 207 can send outgoing data packets to the traffic destination 208 using the destination VLs 227, and the output port 217 can send outgoing data packets to the traffic destination 218 using the destination VLs 237.); “in response to receiving the first control packet, performing link change according to a first condition” (Figure 3; Paragraph 0037 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes); “sending, by the at least one primary network switch, a second
control packet according to a second condition” (Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307, which detects the link state change, can broadcast the state change notification 325 across all VOQs (e.g. VOQs 305), e.g. via an output port arbiter 306. Eventually, the state change notification 325 may reach the input port 302 (and various other input ports); (Figure 4, Paragraphs 0051-0055 describing each output port 407 or 417 can perform the link state management 409 and 419. When an output port 407 or 417 detects any changes in the link state, the output port 407 or 417 can notify an output scheduler, such as an output port arbiter 406 Or 416, which can broadcast the state change notifications, across all VOQs 405 and 415 (eventually to the different input ports 402 and 412)). Although Srinivasan et al. disclose in (Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307, which detects the link state change, can broadcast the state change notification 325 across all VOQs (e.g. VOQs 305), e.g. via an output port arbiter 306. Eventually, the state change notification 325 may reach the input port 302 (and various other input ports) and in (Figure 4, Paragraphs 0051-0055 describing each output port 407 or 417 can perform the link state management 409 and 419. When an output port 407 or 417 detects any changes in the link state, the output port 407 or 417 can notify an output scheduler, such as an output port arbiter 406 Or 416, which can broadcast the state change notifications, across all VOQs 405 and 415 (eventually to the different input ports 402 and 412)). Srinivasan et al. did not specifically detail the aspects of “in response to receiving the first control packet, the each primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch sending a first acknowledgement (ACK) packet comprising a connection status of the at least one first link”; in response to receiving the second control packet, the backup network switch sending a second ACK packet and performing link change according to the second control packet; and in response to receiving the second ACK packet, the at least one primary network switch performing link change” as recited in the instant claim 17. On the other hand, Thayalan et al. provide mechanism, such as an acknowledgment module (Figure 8; Paragraphs 0085-0087) adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, to allow any number of (acknowledgments) ACKs, first, second, third etc.…, to be sent and received (See Thayalan et al. Abstract; Paragraph 0016 describing a switch that includes a link aggregation module adapted to establish a virtual link aggregation group comprising a plurality of links coupling a network device to the switch and one or more other switches. The switch also includes an acknowledgment module adapted to identify an acknowledgment of a notification message from each of the one or more other switches, where the notification message includes port information associated with a local link participating in the virtual link aggregation group. The switch further includes a link selection module adapted to, in response to identifying the acknowledgment from each of the one or more other switches, determine a state for the local link based on the port information, where the state indicates whether the local link is an active link or a standby link for the virtual link aggregation group). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the acknowledgment module of Thayalan et al. into the packet switching system of Srinivasan et al. because they are both directed to link changing and are both from the field of endeavor. Such combination would have enhanced the versatility of by allowing it to dynamically select and configure links of a virtual link aggregation group in a distributed architecture. Thus, providing a scalable and flexible solution for establishing and controlling active and standby links of a virtual link aggregation group associated with the multiple individual member switches.
As per claim 18, Thayalan et al. disclose “wherein the first control packet, the first ACK packet, the second control packet, and the second ACK packet are sent by multicast, and a destination address of each of the first control packet, the first ACK packet, the
second control packet and the second ACK packet comprises a group identification (ID) of the corresponding switch group” (Figures 7A-7B; Paragraph 0082-0084 describing identifier of switch identifier).
As per claim 19, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the first condition of the network coupling redundancy method comprises a number of times the first ACK packet being not received from a primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch by the backup network switch; and the step of the backup network switch performing link change according to the first condition is switching the at least one first link of the primary network switch when the number of times of the first condition exceeds a predetermined number” (Paragraphs 0041-0047 describing the input port 302 can prevent the received packets from being presented at the output port 307, which is down. For example, the input packet classifier 303 can configure and/or use a mask (e.g. an output port filter mask based on the broadcast signal) as a final check before queuing the received packets into the VOQs 305)
As per claim 20, Srinivasan et al. disclose “wherein the second condition of the network coupling redundancy method comprises when a primary network switch of the at least one primary network switch resumes operation or when one of the at least one first link fails (link-down) or restores the connection (link-up), the primary network switch sending the second control packet” (Paragraphs 0041-0047).
As per claim 21, Srinivasan et al. disclose disclose “wherein the step of performing link change according to the second control packet is performing link change according to a connection status of the at least one subnet carried in the second control packet” (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0041-0046 shows an illustration of handling a link state change in a network environment; Paragraph 0045 describing the output port 307 can perform the link state management 309, and notify the input port 302 with regarding to the link state changes).
Other Reference(s) Cited
US Patent No. 10,873,498 describes technique includes hosting an Internet Storage Name Service (iSNS) server on a network switch to provide access to a plurality of subnets; and configuring the iSNS server to be an active server for a first subnet of a plurality of subnets and to be a backup server for a second subnet of the plurality of subnets.
US Patent No. 10,686,734 describes Network Switch With Interconnected Member Nodes
US 20190123956 describes hosting an internet storage name service (iSNS) server on a network switch to provide access to a set of subnets.
US 20190097949 describes Network Switch, Has First Element Node For Calculating Forwarding Path, And Second Element Node For Forwarding Packet According To Forwarding Path Calculated By First Element Node Without Calculating Another Forwarding Path For Packet
US Patent No. 9,960,953 describing a system includes a primary network switch appliance and a secondary network switch appliance communicatively coupled in-line between nodes on a computer network.
US 20170214566 describing Network Switch Appliance, Has Bypass Switch For Completing Communication Path Between Tool And Node On Network Through Network Switch Appliance When Appliance Is In State, And Tool, Node, And Another Appliance Placed External To Appliance
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
February 27, 2026