DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Pechan et al. (US 2023/0187774).
Pechan et al. disclose a battery module including a power storage device (20 and 22), with a safety valve (24) which ejects a fluid volume in the case of a thermal escalation (see [0252]). The safety valve includes an ejection direction portion and a direction change part that are integral with the storage device (see [0162]) as shown in the following annotated figure:
With regard to claim 2, the group of direction change parts (guide elements-32), shown in annotated Fig 3, correspond to the claimed “dispersion part” because they serve to disperse a fluid stream 26 that is ejected from any of the safety valves (24).
With regard to claim 3, it is noted that Figure 3 shows a fluid (26) being ejected from the safety valve in a plurality of advancing directions in a path through the openings being two adjacent guide elements (32). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the fluid to exit the two guide elements in a plurality of advancing directions given the width of the spacing between guide elements (32) and the different entry angles of the fluid. See also paragraph [0074], which describes the preferred exit angles of the gas/fluid, and the annotated portion of Figure 3 below:
With regard to claims 4-6, the guide elements (32) corresponding to the claimed direction change part are designed to redirect the flow of an elected fluid. Therefore, they are necessarily formed from a material that is capable of not deteriorating at the temperature of ejection. Furthermore, Pechan et al. teaches that the guide parts are made of materials to improve their head resistance (see para [0062]).
With regard to claims 7-12, direction change parts 932) are provided integrally with the power storage device in the form of a covering on the safety valves (see Figure 3-4).
Claims 16-20 are met for the foregoing reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pechan et al. (US 2023/0187774) in view of Aldrich (US 2020/0251703).
Pechan et al. teaches all of the limitations of the claims, as detailed above, including a rupture safety valve having a thin part that is a part of the battery case wall and is configured to rupture in the case of thermal runaway (see [0052]-[0053]). The reference fails to teach that the device includes a metal case forming a case wall part.
Aldrich teaches a similar structure with a battery pack (104) in a housing structure (106) having a rupture valve (114) therein – see Fig 1. The reference teaches that the battery pack housing is formed from metal (see para [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use metal for the battery casing surrounding the battery cells taught by Pechan et al. in view of Aldrich’s teaching that metal was known to be suitable for this purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (US 2016/0133901) and WO 2018/138226 are cited as art of interest.
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785