DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This correspondence is in response to amendments filed on October 8, 2025. Claims 1 and 4-7 are amended. Claim 3 is filed as originally presented. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claim 6 obviates claim objections and thus the previous objection is withdrawn. Additionally, amendments to claim 7 obviate the U.S.C. 101 rejection and as such the previous rejection is withdrawn. Arguments regarding the prior art have been addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Examiner did not establish a prima facie case for obviousness, as no such proper determination of the differences between the prior art and the claims based on whether the claimed subject matter, as a whole, would have been obvious (Page 6 of Remarks). Respectfully, Examiner disagrees with this assertion. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner ascertains that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the trajectories of Shirahata to include the jerk limits on the robot trajectory as taught by Cho. Doing so, as evidenced by Cho in Paragraph [0039], would limit excess vibrations during portions of the motion path in which acceleration occurs. It is further provided that by limiting undue vibrations, unnecessary spills caused by abrupt disturbances in the motion path of a container (such as vibrations) would be reduced, therefore making such a modification obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because such spills which are a result of robot motion trajectories would be mitigated. Applicant has made no such argument as to why such a rationale would be non-obvious or improper and instead makes mere allegations that Shirahata and Cho cannot be properly combined. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is NOT PERSUASIVE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirahata et al. (JP 2005-001055 A; hereinafter “Shirahata” with references to the translation provided in previously attached file) in view of Yoshizawa (US 2019/0375100 A1; from Applicant IDS) and further in view of Cho Chang Nho et al. (KR 2017-0044987 A; hereinafter “Cho” with references to the translation provided in previously attached file).
Regarding claim 1, Shirahata teaches a robot device (“robot 1” in Fig. 1) comprising:
a robot configured to convey a to-be-conveyed object contained in a container and the container together (“The present invention includes a robot that transports a transported object placed in a container” [0010]. Thus, the robot transports, i.e., conveys, a transported, i.e., to-be-conveyed, object placed in a container. “…a robot hand (hereinafter simply referred to as “hand”) 2 that holds the container 3 is attached to the tip of the arm” [0014]. Since the robot holds the container, the container holding the object is transported with the object.); and
a control device configured to control the robot (“The robot 1 is connected to a robot control device 5 and its operation is controlled by the robot control device 5” [0014].), wherein:
a posture of the container is controlled by the robot so as to correspond to a direction of a combined acceleration vector formed by an inertial acceleration vector opposite to the robot acceleration applied to the to-be-conveyed object or the container by the robot, and the gravitational acceleration acting on the to-be-conveyed object or the container (“The acceleration vector corresponding to the gravity Mg is represented by the gravity acceleration vector Kg. On the other hand, during acceleration / deceleration (accelerating or decelerating; hereinafter the same), inertial force is applied thereto. FIG. 2 shows this state. As shown in FIG. 2, the inertia force has the magnitude of the product of the vector a representing acceleration and the mass M, and the direction is opposite to that of the vector a. This inertial force is represented by -Ma, and the acceleration corresponding to this inertial force is represented by an inertial acceleration vector Ka. A force obtained by combining the gravity Mg and the inertial force -Ma is represented by Mh, and an acceleration corresponding to the combined force is represented by a combined acceleration vector Kh” [0019]. “Therefore, in the present invention, the posture of the container 3 is changed so as to follow the change in the direction of the combined acceleration vector Kh to prevent the conveyed object from spilling out of the container 3…. The robot 1 is controlled so as to incline and coincide with the direction of the resultant acceleration vector Kh at that time (the direction in which the resultant force Mh acts)” [0022]. Thus, the posture of the container 3 is controlled by the robot 1 corresponding to the direction of combined acceleration Kh which is a resulting combination of the inertial force and associated inertial acceleration vector opposite the robot’s movement acceleration on the to-be-conveyed object in the container and the gravitational force acting on the object and container.)…
However, Shirahata does not explicitly teach …a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container is set such that the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles,
when the robot is driven along the trajectory, the robot is controlled so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value, and
an acceleration upper limit value is set for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at an acceleration upper limit.
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches … a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container is set such that the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles (“A first aspect of the present disclosure provides an operation planning apparatus of a robot, the apparatus including: a non-interference path generation unit configured to generate a non-interference path in which the robot does not interfere with an obstacle between a start point and an end point set in advance” [0006]. Thus, a trajectory for a robot is set to avoid obstacles. The disclosure does not explicitly discuss such motion to convey a container and/or object in a container. However, Paragraph [0029] suggests a goal of trajectory setting is to avoid spilling liquid in a cup and discloses such trajectories to include manipulator trajectories. Thus, it is implied and therefore obvious that such trajectory is for a robot to transport an object/container such that along with the robot avoiding obstacles, such object or container additionally avoids obstacles that would cause undue spills and/or collisions during transport.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trajectory of Shirahata to be a set trajectory with a goal of obstacle avoidance as taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because by setting trajectories with the appropriate limits necessary to avoid interference with the surrounding environment, operation efficiency can be increased and undue vibrations which would cause spills of a conveyed liquid may be reduced (Yoshizawa, [0029]).
However, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa still does not teach … when the robot is driven along the trajectory, the robot is controlled so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value, and
an acceleration upper limit value is set for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at an acceleration upper limit.
Cho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches …when the robot is driven along the trajectory, the robot is controlled so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value (“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, the robot jerk is limited by a threshold, i.e., predetermined, value. The threshold is an upper limit for the robot jerk.), and
an acceleration upper limit value is set for the robot acceleration (“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, similar to the jerk, there is an acceleration threshold, i.e., upper limit, value that is set for robot acceleration trajectories.), wherein the jerk is set to zero at an acceleration upper limit (“Additionally, since there is no change in acceleration in the above constant velocity section, the acceleration trajectory and jerk trajectory can be calculated as 0” [0084]. Thus, at its maximum value, i.e., upper limit value, the acceleration would remain constant at that limit and the jerk trajectory would be zero. See also Fig. 4 and 5 wherein the peak of the acceleration at its upper limit correlates directly to the point in time where the jerk is valued at 0. The same can be seen for the lower limit.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the motion trajectories as taught by Shirahata to include the jerk limits on the robot trajectory as taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because limiting the jerk and acceleration consequently limits excess vibrations in sections of the motion path where changes in the acceleration occurs (Cho, [0039]) which prevents additional and unintended vibration forces from acting on the container holding a liquid or powder and mitigates the risk of spills.
Regarding claim 3, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa and Cho (references made to Shirahata) teaches the robot device according to claim 1,
wherein when the posture of the container is controlled by the robot so as to correspond to the direction of the combined acceleration vector (See [0022] which discloses that the posture of the container which is a function of the robotic control corresponds to the direction of the combined acceleration Kh.),
However, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa and Cho does not explicitly teach …the posture is controlled with a center of gravity of the to-be-conveyed object contained in the container as a center.
With regard to the center of gravity being a center of the posture control, Newton’s second law determines a total force on a system which is equivalent to the total mass of the system multiplied by the acceleration of the center of mass, i.e., center of gravity. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the total, i.e., combined, force Mh acts on the object contained in the container, and such force corresponds to a combined acceleration Kh, then the posture of the container and the object, which corresponds to the direction of Kh, would be controlled at its center of gravity which the forces and accelerations act upon.
Regarding claim 4, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa and Cho (references made to Cho) teaches the robot device according to claim 1,
wherein the predetermined value to which the upper limit of the robot jerk is limited is set according to a response characteristic corresponding to at least either an instructed value for the robot acceleration or an instructed value for a velocity (“At this time, the trajectory generator may receive acceleration threshold values and jerk threshold values in the acceleration section and the deceleration section as user input, or may input acceleration threshold values and jerk threshold values stored in a database or the like. Here, the acceleration threshold value and the jerk threshold value can be stored as values derived in advance by experiment or simulation” [0049]. “In addition, the trajectory generator can calculate a velocity trajectory in the acceleration section using a velocity calculation formula obtained by differentiating mathematical expression 1, calculate an acceleration trajectory in the acceleration section using an acceleration calculation formula obtained by differentiating the velocity calculation formula, and calculate a jerk trajectory in the acceleration section using a jerk calculation formula obtained by differentiating the acceleration calculation formula” [0056]. Additionally, Equation 3 shows that Limit is dependent on a velocity and acceleration limit. Thus, the upper limit of the robot jerk may be limited according to an instructed value for acceleration or velocity.).
Regarding claim 5, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa and Cho (references made to Cho) teaches the robot device according to claim 4,
wherein the predetermined value to which the upper limit of the robot jerk is limited is 10 to 200 m/s3 (“At this time, the maximum jerk in the acceleration section and the deceleration section can be limited to within 50000 (mm/s/s/s), which is the jerk threshold value” [0129]. Thus, the threshold value, i.e., the upper limit, for the robot jerk is 50,000 mm/s3 which is equivalent to 50 m/s3, resulting in an upper limit which resides between 10 and 200 m/s3.).
Regarding claim 6, Shirahata teaches a robot control method (Steps for a teaching program which controls robotic conveyance are provided in [0033-0040].) for controlling a robot configured to convey a to-be-conveyed object contained in a container and the container together (“The present invention includes a robot that transports a transported object placed in a container” [0010]. Thus, the robot transports, i.e., conveys, a transported, i.e., to-be-conveyed, object placed in a container. “…a robot hand (hereinafter simply referred to as “hand”) 2 that holds the container 3 is attached to the tip of the arm” [0014]. Since the robot holds the container, the container holding the object is transported with the object.), the robot control method comprising steps of:
controlling a posture of the container by the robot so as to correspond to a direction of a combined acceleration vector formed by an inertial acceleration vector opposite to the robot acceleration applied to the to-be-conveyed object or the container by the robot, and the gravitational acceleration acting on the to-be-conveyed object or the container (“The acceleration vector corresponding to the gravity Mg is represented by the gravity acceleration vector Kg. On the other hand, during acceleration / deceleration (accelerating or decelerating; hereinafter the same), inertial force is applied thereto. FIG. 2 shows this state. As shown in FIG. 2, the inertia force has the magnitude of the product of the vector a representing acceleration and the mass M, and the direction is opposite to that of the vector a. This inertial force is represented by -Ma, and the acceleration corresponding to this inertial force is represented by an inertial acceleration vector Ka. A force obtained by combining the gravity Mg and the inertial force -Ma is represented by Mh, and an acceleration corresponding to the combined force is represented by a combined acceleration vector Kh” [0019]. “Therefore, in the present invention, the posture of the container 3 is changed so as to follow the change in the direction of the combined acceleration vector Kh to prevent the conveyed object from spilling out of the container 3…. The robot 1 is controlled so as to incline and coincide with the direction of the resultant acceleration vector Kh at that time (the direction in which the resultant force Mh acts)” [0022]. Thus, the posture of the container 3 is controlled by the robot 1 corresponding to the direction of combined acceleration Kh which is a resulting combination of the inertial force counteracting acceleration on the to-be-conveyed object in the container and the gravitational force acting on the object and container.)…
However, Shirahata does not explicitly teach …setting a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles,
when the robot is driven along the trajectory, controlling the robot so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value, and
setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value.
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches …setting a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles (“A first aspect of the present disclosure provides an operation planning apparatus of a robot, the apparatus including: a non-interference path generation unit configured to generate a non-interference path in which the robot does not interfere with an obstacle between a start point and an end point set in advance” [0006]. Thus, a trajectory for a robot is set to avoid obstacles. The disclosure does not explicitly discuss such motion to convey a container and/or object in a container. However, Paragraph [0029] suggests a goal of trajectory setting is to avoid spilling liquid in a cup and discloses such trajectories to include manipulator trajectories. Thus, it is implied and therefore obvious that such trajectory is for a robot to transport an object/container such that along with the robot avoiding obstacles, such object or container additionally avoids obstacles that would cause undue spills and/or collisions during transport.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trajectory of Shirahata to be a set trajectory with a goal of obstacle avoidance as taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because by setting trajectories with the appropriate limits necessary to avoid interference with the surrounding environment, operation efficiency can be increased and undue vibrations which would cause spills of a conveyed liquid may be reduced (Yoshizawa, [0029]).
However, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa still does not teach …when the robot is driven along the trajectory, controlling the robot so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value, and
setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value.
Cho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches …when the robot is driven along the trajectory, controlling the robot so that an upper limit for a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value (“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, the robot jerk is limited by a threshold, i.e., predetermined, value. The threshold is an upper limit for the robot jerk.), and
setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration(“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, similar to the jerk, there is an acceleration threshold, i.e., upper limit, value that is set for robot acceleration trajectories.),
wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value (“Additionally, since there is no change in acceleration in the above constant velocity section, the acceleration trajectory and jerk trajectory can be calculated as 0” [0084]. Thus, at its maximum value, i.e., upper limit value, the acceleration would remain constant at that limit and the jerk trajectory would be zero. See also Fig. 4 and 5 wherein the peak of the acceleration at its upper limit correlates directly to the point in time where the jerk is valued at 0. The same can be seen for the lower limit.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the motion trajectories as taught by Shirahata to include the jerk limits on the robot trajectory as taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because limiting the jerk and acceleration consequently limits excess vibrations in sections of the motion path where changes in the acceleration occurs (Cho, [0039]) which prevents additional and unintended vibration forces from acting on the container holding a liquid or powder and mitigates the risk of spills.
Regarding claim 7, Shirahata teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium that includes an executable program for causing a computer to execute respective steps of a robot control method for controlling a robot configured to convey a to-be-conveyed object contained in a container together with the container (“The processor 51 executes the teaching program stored in the memory 52 and outputs a movement command to the servo control means 55” [0030]. “From this state, a line having a teaching program (a line instructing conveyance from the conveyance start position to the conveyance end position) is read in the robot control device 5, and the operation from the current position to the end point described in the program execution line is performed” [0032]. Thus, a teaching program which executes the control steps for conveying the container via the robot is read from memory and executed by a processor, i.e., a computer. Memory 52 includes ROM and is thus non-transitory (see [0030]).), the program comprising instructions that cause the computer to execute:
(a) controlling a posture of the container by the robot so as to correspond to a direction of a combined acceleration vector formed by an inertial acceleration vector opposite to the robot acceleration applied to the to-be-conveyed object or the container by the robot, and the gravitational acceleration acting on the to-be-conveyed object or the container (“The acceleration vector corresponding to the gravity Mg is represented by the gravity acceleration vector Kg. On the other hand, during acceleration / deceleration (accelerating or decelerating; hereinafter the same), inertial force is applied thereto. FIG. 2 shows this state. As shown in FIG. 2, the inertia force has the magnitude of the product of the vector a representing acceleration and the mass M, and the direction is opposite to that of the vector a. This inertial force is represented by -Ma, and the acceleration corresponding to this inertial force is represented by an inertial acceleration vector Ka. A force obtained by combining the gravity Mg and the inertial force -Ma is represented by Mh, and an acceleration corresponding to the combined force is represented by a combined acceleration vector Kh” [0019]. “Therefore, in the present invention, the posture of the container 3 is changed so as to follow the change in the direction of the combined acceleration vector Kh to prevent the conveyed object from spilling out of the container 3…. The robot 1 is controlled so as to incline and coincide with the direction of the resultant acceleration vector Kh at that time (the direction in which the resultant force Mh acts)” [0022]. Thus, the posture of the container 3 is controlled by the robot 1 corresponding to the direction of combined acceleration Kh which is a resulting combination of the inertial force counteracting acceleration on the to-be-conveyed object in the container and the gravitational force acting on the object and container.)…
However, Shirahata does not explicitly teach … (b) setting a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container such that the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles;
(c) controlling the robot so that an upper limit of a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value when the robot is driven along the trajectory; and
(d) setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value.
Yoshizawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches …(b) setting a trajectory for the robot to transport the to-be-conveyed object or the container such that the to-be-conveyed object or the container avoids obstacles (“A first aspect of the present disclosure provides an operation planning apparatus of a robot, the apparatus including: a non-interference path generation unit configured to generate a non-interference path in which the robot does not interfere with an obstacle between a start point and an end point set in advance” [0006]. Thus, a trajectory for a robot is set to avoid obstacles. The disclosure does not explicitly discuss such motion to convey a container and/or object in a container. However, Paragraph [0029] suggests a goal of trajectory setting is to avoid spilling liquid in a cup and discloses such trajectories to include manipulator trajectories. Thus, it is implied and therefore obvious that such trajectory is for a robot to transport an object/container such that along with the robot avoiding obstacles, such object or container additionally avoids obstacles that would cause undue spills and/or collisions during transport.)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the trajectory of Shirahata to be a set trajectory with a goal of obstacle avoidance as taught by Yoshizawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because by setting trajectories with the appropriate limits necessary to avoid interference with the surrounding environment, operation efficiency can be increased and undue vibrations which would cause spills of a conveyed liquid may be reduced (Yoshizawa, [0029]).
However, Shirahata as modified by Yoshizawa still does not teach …(c) controlling the robot so that an upper limit of a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value when the robot is driven along the trajectory; and
(d) setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration, wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value.
Cho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches …(c) controlling the robot so that an upper limit of a robot jerk, which is a rate of change of the robot acceleration, is limited to a predetermined value when the robot is driven along the trajectory (“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, the robot jerk is limited by a threshold, i.e., predetermined, value. The threshold is an upper limit for the robot jerk.); and
(d) setting an acceleration upper limit value for the robot acceleration (“In addition, the present invention can generate trajectories of target positions, speeds, accelerations, and jerks for each section by limiting the trajectories of acceleration and jerks below the acceleration threshold and jerk threshold values input by the user” [0039]. Thus, similar to the jerk, there is an acceleration threshold, i.e., upper limit, value that is set for robot acceleration trajectories.),
wherein the jerk is set to zero at the acceleration upper limit value (“Additionally, since there is no change in acceleration in the above constant velocity section, the acceleration trajectory and jerk trajectory can be calculated as 0” [0084]. Thus, at its maximum value, i.e., upper limit value, the acceleration would remain constant at that limit and the jerk trajectory would be zero. See also Fig. 4 and 5 wherein the peak of the acceleration at its upper limit correlates directly to the point in time where the jerk is valued at 0. The same can be seen for the lower limit.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the motion trajectories as taught by Shirahata to include the jerk limits on the robot trajectory as taught by Cho with a reasonable expectation for success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because limiting the jerk and acceleration consequently limits excess vibrations in sections of the motion path where changes in the acceleration occurs (Cho, [0039]) which prevents additional and unintended vibration forces from acting on the container holding a liquid or powder and mitigates the risk of spills.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656