Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (US 20210211176 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
GAO discloses “A communication method, comprising: receiving measurement configuration information from a network device, wherein the measurement configuration information is used to configure a channel measurement resource and M interference measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “and sending a bitmap to the network device, wherein the bitmap comprises one or more bits, each bit corresponds to one or more interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource, and the M interference measurement resources comprise the one or more interference measurement resources” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold).
Regarding claim 2,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non-IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold.
Regarding claim 3,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein each bit corresponds to one interference measurement resource” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a signal strength of the one interference measurement resource is greater than a second threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value).
Regarding claim 4,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein the each bit corresponds to one interference measurement resource” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a first signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a second signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the first signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the one interference measurement resource is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR. Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without considering the IMR); “and the second signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when the interference of the one interference measurement resource is considered” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR).
Regarding claim 5,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” (See [0117] the length of the bitmap may be determined by a number of resources for CMR groups or IMR groups associated with the reporting configuration. For instance, each bit position in the bitmap may be associated with each group), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: an average signal strength of the plurality of interference measurement resources is greater than a second threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value. [0118] Only IMR set ID may be reported rather than to indicating the specific resource ID, where the additional noise and interference power contribution (in Watts) from one or more IMRs can be determined over all resources of IMR set, e.g., the linear average of the received power of all resource elements from the set).
Regarding claim 6,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein the each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” (See [0117] the length of the bitmap may be determined by a number of resources for CMR groups or IMR groups associated with the reporting configuration. For instance, each bit position in the bitmap may be associated with each group), “the degree of interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a third signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a fourth signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the third signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the plurality of interference measurement resources is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR. Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without considering the IMRs); “and the fourth signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource that is determined by using an average interference strength of the plurality of interference measurement resources as interference” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. [0118] Only IMR set ID may be reported rather than to indicating the specific resource ID, where the additional noise and interference power contribution (in Watts) from one or more IMRs can be determined over all resources of IMR set, e.g., the linear average of the received power of all resource elements from the set. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR, and for a set/ plurality of IMRs, the average interference strength of the IMRs is used).
Regarding claim 7,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein the first threshold is configured by using the measurement configuration information” (See [0083] One or more threshold values may be sent by the gNB to the UE using a reporting configuration. [0092] Configurable threshold for indicating reporting identifiers of at least one CMR or at least one IMR or at least one CMR group or at least one IMR group: A threshold for one or more IMR (and similarly for one or more CMR) may be in terms of one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. The threshold can be configured by gNB).
Regarding claim 9,
GAO discloses “A communication method, comprising: sending measurement configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the measurement configuration information is used to configure a channel measurement resource and M interference measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “and receiving a bitmap from the terminal device, wherein the bitmap comprises one or more bits, each bit corresponds to one or more interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource, and the M interference measurement resources comprise the one or more interference measurement resources” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold).
Regarding claim 10,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 9, the method further comprising: determining, based on the bitmap, the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs. [0117] For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: Based on the bitmap provided by the UE to the gNB, the gNB can determine the interference of the one or more IMRs to the CMR).
Regarding claim 11,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 9, wherein the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non-IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold.
Regarding claim 12,
GAO discloses “A communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver configured to” (See Fig. 8): “receive measurement configuration information from a network device, wherein the measurement configuration information is used to configure a channel measurement resource and M interference measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “send a bitmap to the network device, wherein the bitmap comprises one or more bits, each bit corresponds to one or more interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource, and the M interference measurement resources comprise the one or more interference measurement resources” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold).
Regarding claim 13,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 12, wherein the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non-IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold.
Regarding claim 14,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 13, wherein the each bit corresponds to one interference measurement resource” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a signal strength of the one interference measurement resource is greater than a second threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value).
Regarding claim 15,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 13, wherein the each bit corresponds to one interference measurement resource” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a first signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a second signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the first signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the one interference measurement resource is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR. Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without considering the IMR); “and the second signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when the interference of the one interference measurement resource is considered” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR).
Regarding claim 16,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 13, wherein the each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” (See [0117] the length of the bitmap may be determined by a number of resources for CMR groups or IMR groups associated with the reporting configuration. For instance, each bit position in the bitmap may be associated with each group), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: an average signal strength of the plurality of interference measurement resources is greater than a second threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value. [0118] Only IMR set ID may be reported rather than to indicating the specific resource ID, where the additional noise and interference power contribution (in Watts) from one or more IMRs can be determined over all resources of IMR set, e.g., the linear average of the received power of all resource elements from the set).
Regarding claim 17,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 13, wherein the each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” (See [0117] the length of the bitmap may be determined by a number of resources for CMR groups or IMR groups associated with the reporting configuration. For instance, each bit position in the bitmap may be associated with each group), “that the degree of the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a third signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a fourth signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the third signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the plurality of interference measurement resources is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR. Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without considering the IMRs); “and the fourth signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource that is determined by using an average interference strength of the plurality of interference measurement resources as interference” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. [0118] Only IMR set ID may be reported rather than to indicating the specific resource ID, where the additional noise and interference power contribution (in Watts) from one or more IMRs can be determined over all resources of IMR set, e.g., the linear average of the received power of all resource elements from the set. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR, and for a set/ plurality of IMRs, the average interference strength of the IMRs is used).
Regarding claim 18,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first threshold is configured by using the measurement configuration information” (See [0083] One or more threshold values may be sent by the gNB to the UE using a reporting configuration. [0092] Configurable threshold for indicating reporting identifiers of at least one CMR or at least one IMR or at least one CMR group or at least one IMR group: A threshold for one or more IMR (and similarly for one or more CMR) may be in terms of one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. The threshold can be configured by gNB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 20210211176 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20220286175 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19,
GAO discloses claim 8 of “The method of claim 1, wherein the each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” and claim 19 of “The communication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the each bit corresponds to a plurality of interference measurement resources” (See [0117] the length of the bitmap may be determined by a number of resources for CMR groups or IMR groups associated with the reporting configuration. For instance, each bit position in the bitmap may be associated with each group), but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of IMRs are a plurality of consecutive IMRs determined based on a configuration sequence of the IMRs.
However, Matsumura discloses “the plurality of interference measurement resources are a plurality of consecutive interference measurement resources determined based on a configuration sequence of the interference measurement resources” (See [0009] A user terminal measures a Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), based on a channel measurement resource at a given order in a channel measurement resource set and an interference measurement resource at the given order in an interference measurement resource set, See Fig. 4A-D, [0080] FIG. 4A, the UE measures an L1-SINR by using CMR #1 and IMR #1, FIG. 4B, the UE measures an L1-SINR by using CMR #1 and IMR #2, FIG. 4C, the UE measures an L1-SINR by using CMR #1 and IMR #3, FIG. 4D, the UE measures an L1-SINR by using CMR #1 and IMR #4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of GAO with the teachings of Matsumura, and the motivation to do so would have been to prevent an overhead of reporting SINR (Matsumura [0112]).
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462