Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/28/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments and Examiner’s response are provided below.
RE: CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC$ 102:
Applicant argues: Gao's "Bitmap" indicates beam classification, not interference to a channel measurement resource (CMR). Gao's "IR-Beam" classification is not equivalent to the claimed interference indication. A bitmap encoding beam classification of Gao is not equivalent to a bitmap encoding interference impact to a channel measurement resource. These are fundamentally different. Thus, Gao fails to disclose these limitations.
Examiner’s response: Applicant argues that Gao’s bitmap merely indicates beam classification and does not indicate interference associated with a channel measurement resource (CMR), asserting that beam classification is fundamentally different from interference indication. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gao explicitly discloses that identifiers associated with one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) and interference measurement resources (IMRs) may be reported using a bitmap, and further teaches associations between CMRs and IMRs (See [0091]). Thus, the bitmap is not merely encoding beam classification, but encodes information relating IMRs to a corresponding CMR.
Furthermore, Gao discloses that the bitmap indicates IR-beams (interfering beams), which are determined based on interference-related measurements and threshold conditions (See [0117-0118], [0145-0149]).
Additionally, Applicant’s own specification ([0064]) explicitly defines that a channel measurement resource (CMR) corresponds to a serving beam and an interference measurement resource (IMR) corresponds to an interfering beam. Thus, interference measurement resources are directly associated with interfering beams. Accordingly, an indication identifying whether a beam is an interfering beam constitutes an indication regarding an interference measurement resource.
Therefore, Gao’s bitmap indication of IR-beams and association between IMRs and CMRs, constitutes indicating interference associated with one or more interference measurement resources relative to a channel measurement resource, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (US 20210211176 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
GAO discloses “A communication method, comprising: receiving measurement configuration information from a network device, wherein the measurement configuration information is used to configure a channel measurement resource and M interference measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater than 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “and sending a bitmap to the network device, wherein the bitmap comprises M bits for the respective M interference measurement resources, each bit corresponds to one of the M interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR- beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold), “wherein the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non- IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold).
Regarding claim 3,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein that the degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a signal strength of the one of the M interference measurement resources is greater than a second threshold” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value).
Regarding claim 4,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein that the degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a first signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a second signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the first signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR. Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without considering the IMR); “and the second signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise
ratio of the channel measurement resource when the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources is considered” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR).
Regarding claim 7,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first threshold is configured by using
the measurement configuration information” (See [0083] One or more threshold values
may be sent by the gNB to the UE using a reporting configuration. [0092] Configurable
threshold for indicating reporting identifiers of at least one CMR or at least one IMR or at
least one CMR group or at least one IMR group: A threshold for one or more IMR (and
similarly for one or more CMR) may be in terms of one or more RSRP or one or more SINR.
The threshold can be configured by gNB).
Regarding claim 9,
GAO discloses “A communication method, comprising: sending measurement
configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the measurement configuration
information is used to configure a channel measurement resource and M interference
measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater than 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “and receiving a bitmap from the terminal device, wherein the bitmap comprises M bits for the respective M interference measurement resources, each bit corresponds to one of the M interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR- beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold); “wherein the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non- IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold).
Regarding claim 10,
GAO discloses “The method of claim 9, the method further comprising: determining, based
on the bitmap, the interference of the one or more interference measurement resources to
the channel measurement resource” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in
one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be
reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a
list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs.
[0117] For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated
with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend
on the configured threshold. Note: Based on the bitmap provided by the UE to the gNB, the
gNB can determine the interference of the one or more IMRs to the CMR).
Regarding claim 12,
GAO discloses “A communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver configured to” (See
Fig. 8): “receive measurement configuration information from a network device, wherein
the measurement configuration information is used to configure a channel measurement
resource and M interference measurement resources, and M is a positive integer greater
than 1” (See [0025] a wireless communication method generates, by a network node, a reporting configuration, where the reporting configuration indicates one or more channel measurement resource (CMR) groups or one or more interference measurement resource (IMR) groups, where the one or more CMR groups includes one or more CMRs, and where the one or more IMR groups includes one or more IMRs. The method transmits the reporting configuration to a communication node, and receives a report from the
communication node after the transmitting of the reporting configuration); “send a bitmap
to the network device, wherein the bitmap comprises M bits for the respective M interference measurement resources, each bit corresponds to one of the M interference measurement resources and has a value indicating interference of the one or more of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource” (See [0091] Scheme for indicating IR-beam(s) for one TR-beam: The DL resource indexes for IR-beams can be provided by the UE to the gNB in one report instance, directly. But, taking into account the plurality of IR-beams may be reported, for the sake of saving reporting overhead, the bitmap scheme can be used, and a list of one or more IMRs are reported and associated with one CMR, e.g., a bitmap for IMRs, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0092] an identifier for an IMR or an identifier for an IMR group related to the IMR can be included in the report based on the threshold rules described below. [0093] when the threshold is based on RSRP, the percentage of an RSRP of at least one IMR in reference to (or over) another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to or not less than the threshold value. [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. Note: The UE sends a bitmap, where each bit corresponds to one or more IMR/ DL RS and has a value indicating the IMR interference to the CMR based on a threshold); “wherein the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource comprises: an indication as whether a degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than a first threshold” (See [0117] Bitmap format for indicating IR-beam(s): In some embodiments, the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of candidate DL RS(s) for IR-beam, and each bit position is associated with each entry of candidate DL RS(s), respectively. For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: a percentage of the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR in reference to another RSRP of at least one CMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value). Note: Each bit in the bitmap is associated with an IMR, and indicates a value of “1” when the IMR is IR-beam, and “0” when the IMR is non- IR-beam, and the IR-beam determination is based on a threshold rule of whether a percentage of IMR RSRP to CMR RSRP is greater than a threshold).
Regarding claim 14,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 12, wherein that the degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a signal strength of the one of the M interference measurement resources is greater than a second threshold” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value).
Regarding claim 15,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 12, that the degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold comprises: a difference between a first signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource and a second signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource is greater than a third threshold” (See [0091] the length of the bitmap may be determined by the UE based on the number of resources for CMR or IMR associated with the reporting configuration, and each bit position may be associated with each resource. [0145] the one or more identifiers for the one or more IMRs, or the one or more CMRs are reported based on a rule-based threshold value associated with one or more RSRP or one or more SINR. [0149] the threshold value associated with the one or more RSRQ or the one or more SINR is based on a difference between a first value and a second value, where the difference between the first value and the second value is greater than or equal to the threshold value), “wherein the first signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources is not considered” (See [0149] a second value associated with the one RSRQ or the one SINR determined based on the at least one CMR.
Note: The second value is associated with SINR determined based on the CMR without
considering the IMR); “and the second signal to interference plus noise ratio is a signal to interference plus noise ratio of the channel measurement resource when the interference
of the one of the M interference measurement resources is considered” (See [0149] a first value associated with one RSRQ or one SINR determined based on at least one CMR and at least one IMR. Note: The first value is associated with SINR based on the CMR and the IMR).
Regarding claim 18,
GAO discloses “The communication apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first threshold is
configured by using the measurement configuration information” (See [0083] One or
more threshold values may be sent by the gNB to the UE using a reporting configuration.
[0092] Configurable threshold for indicating reporting identifiers of at least one CMR or at
least one IMR or at least one CMR group or at least one IMR group: A threshold for one or
more IMR (and similarly for one or more CMR) may be in terms of one or more RSRP or one
or more SINR. The threshold can be configured by gNB).
Regarding claims 20-22,
GAO discloses claim 20 of “The method of claim 1”, claim 21 of “The method of claim 9”, and claim 22 of “The communication apparatus of claim 12”, “wherein the indication is set to 1 to indicate the degree of the interference of the one of the M interference measurement resources to the channel measurement resource is greater than the first threshold” (See [0117] For example, a value in one bit, e.g., “1”, may represent that the DL RS associated with the bit is IR-beam, otherwise, non-IR-beam. [0118] IR-beam determination can depend on the configured threshold. [0146] the threshold value associated with one or more RSRP is based on one of following rules: the RSRP corresponding to at least one IMR is greater than or equal to the threshold value. Note: The indication is set to “1”, when the when the IMR is IR-beam, based on the RSRP of the IMR compared to the CMR is greater than a threshold).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462