Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on December 22, 2024, and June 18, 2025. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 13-16 in the reply filed on December 11, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from consideration.
Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0281568), herein referred to as “Jung”, in view of Pan et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0037274), herein referred to as “Pan”. The Jung reference was provided in the information disclosure statement dated December 2, 2024 .
Regarding Claim 1,
Jung discloses: A beam time synchronization method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, time synchronization information based on a time synchronization value of a first beam and a time synchronization value of a second beam, wherein the first beam is a current serving beam, and the second beam is a candidate beam or a previous serving beam
[0219] Referring to FIG. 15A, in operation 1501, the terminal may calculate a synchronization variance. A synchronization variance may be a synchronization variance of any beam. Accordingly, a synchronization variance may be a synchronization variance of a serving beam or a synchronization variance of a neighboring beam. The terminal may determine a synchronization variance based on a difference between synchronization information of a pending beam acquired during a previous synchronization interval and synchronization information of the pending beam acquired during a current synchronization interval. Specifically, the terminal may determine a difference between a cell time in a previous synchronization interval and a cell time in a current synchronization interval.
Note: The “first beam” is the serving beam, and the “second beam” is the pending beam. The “time synchronization value” is the synchronization variance/interval.
wherein the indication information indicates that the time synchronization information meets the preset condition.
[0220] In operation 1503, the terminal may determine whether a synchronization variance is larger than a threshold. The terminal may set a threshold to a fixed constant. A threshold may be determined based on tracking performance of the terminal and peak detection capability of the terminal. The terminal may configure a threshold as a variable. According to an embodiment, a threshold may be determined based on the length of a CP. The length of a CP is related to a range in which a synchronization error can be allowed. The terminal may configure a threshold so that the threshold becomes larger as the length of a CP becomes longer. The length of a CP may be determined based on whether the CP is a normal CP (NCP) or an extended CP (ECP), or the configuration of a subcarrier spacing (SCS). When a synchronization variance is larger than the threshold, the terminal may perform operation 1505. When a synchronization variance is not larger than the threshold, the terminal may perform operation 1507.
Note: The “preset condition” is being interpreted as the synchronization variance being larger than a threshold.
Jung does not disclose sending, by the terminal device, indication information to an access network device if the time synchronization information meets a preset condition.
However, Pan discloses sending, by the terminal device, indication information to an access network device if the time synchronization information meets a preset condition.
[0103] FIG. 6 is a diagram 600 of exemplary multiple beam based SYNC and PBCH signals. The example shown in FIG. 6 makes use of both a method where the WTRU sends an ACK when energy is detected above a predetermined threshold for particular beams and where the WTRU sends the ACK when it both detects the SYNC signal and finishes initial synchronization. For example, if two thresholds (A.sub.1>A.sub.2) are used for the WTRU to detect the gNB SYNC signals, and a WTRU's auto-correlated SYNC signal is above the threshold A.sub.2 but below the threshold A.sub.1, then it may be considered to be partially synchronized. If the WTRU's auto-correlated SYNC signal is above the threshold A.sub.1, then it may be considered to be fully synchronized. For partial synchronization, the WTRU may send a pre-synchronization ACK to the gNB. For full synchronization, the WTRU may send a post-synchronization ACK to the gNB. It may also be possible to use multiple levels of pre-synchronization ACKs, each corresponding to a different level of threshold below A.sub.1. The multiple levels of pre-synchronization ACK may trigger different responses from the gNB.
Note: The preset condition here is the variance between thresholds where the signal is either partially or fully synchronized.
Jung and Pan are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include the concept of sending indication information to an access network device if the time synchronization information meets a preset condition as taught by Pan so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Pan, held further in view of Svendsen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0271818), herein referred to as “Svendsen”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Jung in view of Pan does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Svendsen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the second beam is the candidate beam, and the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, that the time synchronization value of the second beam meets the preset condition if the second beam is a beam with highest reference signal received power (RSRP) or a highest signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) in a candidate beam set.
[0053] As noted, a beam identifier may identify a beam (e.g., CSI-RS beam or SSB beam). For example, the beam identifier may include a beam index, or a time stamp identifying a time when the user equipment received a best beam (e.g., received a beam having a highest RSRP, for example). The UE can receive one or more SSB (synchronization signal block beam) sweeps from the gNB and the UE may select the beam with the best or highest RSRP for time synchronization using the Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and the secondary Synchronization Signals SSS, which is part of the SSB message.
Note: Figure 3 of this reference has multiple beams, of which there are serving and candidate beams.
Jung in view of Pan and Svendsen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan to include the concept of a time synchronization value of a beam meets the preset condition if the beam has the highest RSRP as taught by Svendsen so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Regarding Claim 3,
Jung in view of Pan does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Svendsen discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the second beam is the candidate beam, and the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, that the time synchronization value of the first beam meets the preset condition if the first beam is a beam with highest reference signal received power (RSRP) or a highest signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) in a beam set.
[0053] As noted, a beam identifier may identify a beam (e.g., CSI-RS beam or SSB beam). For example, the beam identifier may include a beam index, or a time stamp identifying a time when the user equipment received a best beam (e.g., received a beam having a highest RSRP, for example). The UE can receive one or more SSB (synchronization signal block beam) sweeps from the gNB and the UE may select the beam with the best or highest RSRP for time synchronization using the Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and the secondary Synchronization Signals SSS, which is part of the SSB message.
Note: Figure 3 of this reference has multiple beams, of which there are serving and candidate beams.
Jung in view of Pan and Svendsen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan to include the concept of a time synchronization value of a beam meets the preset condition if the beam has the highest RSRP as taught by Svendsen so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Pan, held further in view of Nam et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0260447), herein referred to as “Nam”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Jung in view of Pan does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Nam discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein before the determining, by the terminal device, the time synchronization information, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, a tracking reference signal (TRS) resource preconfigured by the access network device, wherein the TRS resource comprises a plurality of reference signals corresponding to a plurality of beams.
[0088] The base station 205 may perform an RRC procedure (e.g., cell acquisition procedure, random access procedure, RRC connection procedure, RRC configuration procedure) with the UE 215. The base station 205 may be configured with multiple antennas, which may be used for directional or beamformed transmissions. In some examples, the RRC procedure may include a beam sweep procedure. As part of the RRC procedure, the base station 205 and the UE 215 may establish a bi-directional communication link 220 for communication (e.g., uplink and/or downlink communication). In some cases, the UE 215 may be time-synchronized with the base station 205. UE 215 and base station 205 may be capable of receiving periodic TRS or CSI-RS, or both, during a slot, a TTI, a shortened-TTI (s-TTI), a subframe, or a frame, etc.
Jung in view of Pan and Nam are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan to include the concept of a TRS resource as taught by Nam so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Pan and Nam, held further in view of Svendsen..
Regarding Claim 5,
Jung in view of Pan and Nam does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Svendsen discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the indication information to the access network device comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the indication information to the access network device if a time synchronization value of at least one of the plurality of beams corresponding to the plurality of reference signals meets the preset condition, wherein the indication information comprises a reference signal index corresponding to the at least one beam.
[0053] As noted, a beam identifier may identify a beam (e.g., CSI-RS beam or SSB beam). For example, the beam identifier may include a beam index, or a time stamp identifying a time when the user equipment received a best beam (e.g., received a beam having a highest RSRP, for example). The UE can receive one or more SSB (synchronization signal block beam) sweeps from the gNB and the UE may select the beam with the best or highest RSRP for time synchronization using the Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and the secondary Synchronization Signals SSS, which is part of the SSB message.
Jung in view of Pan, Nam, and Svendsen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan and Nam to include the concept of a signal/beam index as taught by Svendsen so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Regarding Claim 6,
Jung in view of Pan and Nam does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Svendsen discloses: The method of claim 5, wherein the reference signal index comprises a reportConfig identifier (ID) of at least one reference signal or an ID of the at least one reference signal.
[0053] As noted, a beam identifier may identify a beam (e.g., CSI-RS beam or SSB beam). For example, the beam identifier may include a beam index, or a time stamp identifying a time when the user equipment received a best beam (e.g., received a beam having a highest RSRP, for example). The UE can receive one or more SSB (synchronization signal block beam) sweeps from the gNB and the UE may select the beam with the best or highest RSRP for time synchronization using the Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and the secondary Synchronization Signals SSS, which is part of the SSB message.
Jung in view of Pan, Nam, and Svendsen are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan and Nam to include the concept of a signal identifier as taught by Svendsen so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Pan, and Nam, held further in view of Kim et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2024/0206000), herein referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding Claim 7,
Jung in view of Pan and Nam does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Kim discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the sending, by the terminal device, the indication information to the access network device comprises:
sending, by the terminal device, the indication information to the access network device if a difference between time synchronization values of two of the plurality of beams corresponding to the plurality of reference signals meets the preset condition, wherein the indication information comprises identifiers of the two beams or the difference between the time synchronization values.
[0126] When the DL-RS # received by the terminal is a TRS, CSI-RS, and/or DM-RS, time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization may not be accurate. The reason is that the DL-RS # transmitted by different TRPs undergo different fading. In order to supplement the above problem, the terminal may receive the SS/PBCH block #, and may measure an RSRP (e.g., SS-RSRP) and/or SINR (e.g., SS-SINR) based on the SS/PBCH block #. Alternatively, the terminal may receive different DL-RSs from different TRPs, acquire time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization in consideration of fading of each of the different TRPs, and then receive the DL-RS #.
[0127] The terminal may derive an RSRP (e.g., SS-RSRP), SINR (e.g., SS-SINR), and/or CSI by measuring the DL-RS #, and may report a measurement result to the TRP (e.g., TRP set). The TRP set may receive the RSRP (e.g., SS-RSRP), SINR (e.g., SS-SINR), and/or CSI from the terminal, and may adjust the time synchronization and/or frequency synchronization between the terminal and each TRP so that an MCS derived based on the RSRP (e.g., SS-RSRP), SINR (e.g., SS-SINR), and/or CSI becomes higher. The TRP set may use other metrics as well as the RSRP (e.g., SS-RSRP) and/or SINR (e.g., SS-SINR). For example, the TRP (e.g., TRP set) may use an Rx-Tx time difference, a reference signal time difference or received signal time difference (RSTD), and/or a TA. Since the Rx-Tx time difference, RSTD, and/or TA may be used to estimate a propagation delay, the TRP may pre-compensate for a time offset in the radio link between the TRP and the terminal. The TRP may pre-compensate for a frequency offset in consideration of a Doppler effect in the radio link between the TRP and the terminal.
Jung in view of Pan, Nam, and Kim are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan and Nam to include the concept of difference of time synchronization values as taught by Kim so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Pan, and Nam, held further in view of Liu et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2014/0314000), herein referred to as “Liu”.
Regarding Claim 8,
Jung in view of Pan and Nam does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 8.
However, Liu discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein the indication information further indicates the access network device to send an adjustment signal to the terminal device, the adjustment signal comprises a target TRS that is a TRS resource location determined by the access network device by adding a preset offset value to a TRS resource location in frequency domain in the TRS resource.
[0170] Because the UE is aware of the QCL relationship between the reference serving cell and the target virtual cell, the UE may use various parameters (e.g., pathloss, timing, and the like) of the reference serving cell for TRS transmissions to the target virtual cell. For example, the UE may transmit TRS based on reference serving cell timing. For another example, the UE may transmit TRS based on reference serving cell pathloss. In general, there are cases where the reference serving cell timing and target virtual cell timing are not fully aligned, and small timing adjustments may be done (described below) or a timing offset (such as a fixed amount of timing, a fixed amount of sample durations, a fixed amount of symbol durations, etc.) between the reference serving cell timing and target virtual cell timing may be signaled to the UE. There are also cases where the reference serving cell pathloss and target virtual cell pathloss are not equal, and a frequency-dependent offset may be applied, or the network signals such an offset to the UE. The UE may detect these parameters of the reference serving cell, for example, by detecting and measuring RS from the reference serving cell.
Jung in view of Pan, Nam, and Liu are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung in view of Pan and Nam to include the concept of an adjustment signal being a target TRS based on the frequency domain as taught by Liu so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0022168), herein referred to as “Zhou”, in view of Lei et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0182949), herein referred to as “Lei.”
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhou discloses: A beam time synchronization method, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, configuration information sent by an access network device, wherein the configuration information comprises an association relationship between transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information and
[0065] In 5G networks, control information (for uplink and/or downlink) may be conveyed in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., in a MAC header) of a physical channel packet (i.e., a data packet or physical channel signal). For example, a UE 115 may transmit a MAC-CE in a PUCCH or a PUSCH, and a base station may transmit a MAC-CE in a PDCCH or a PDSCH, i.e., in headers thereof. Additionally, MAC-CEs can be transmitted in a payload of a physical channel packet. Examples of control information include information for carrier aggregation and cross carrier repetition, such as a component carrier (CC) identified (ID, CC ID). Examples of MAC-CEs include a Buffer Status Report type MAC-CE, a C-RNTI type MAC-CE, a UE Contention Resolution Identity type MAC-CE, a Timing Advance Command type MAC-CE, a DRX Command type MAC-CE, a Long DRX Command type MAC-CE, a Configured Grant Confirmation type MAC-CE, a Single Entry PHR type MAC-CE, a Multiple Entry PHR type MAC-CE, a SCell Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a Duplication Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP CSI-RS/CSI-IM Resource Set Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, an Aperiodic CSI Trigger State Subselection type MAC-CE, a TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH type MAC-CE, a TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH type MAC-CE, a SP CSI reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP SRS Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP ZP CSI-RS Resource Set Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, and a Recommended bit rate type MAC-CE.
Note: The PDDCH/MAC-CE transmitted to the base station is the “configuration information.” The timing information in the uplink transmission signal is the association relationship between control information and timing advance.
Zhou does not disclose: timing advances (TAs) of at least two time synchronization values.
However, Lei discloses: timing advances (TAs) of at least two time synchronization values.
[0103] For PUR based SDT, transmit power control commands (TPC) can be transmitted in a PUR response message. In this case, the UE may apply CLPC for subsequent SDT, for example, based on a TPC in the PUR response message. In some cases, the PUR response message can be mapped to PDCCH, or to both the PDCCH and PDSCH. In some cases, the TPC can be multiplexed with a timing advance command and/or with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (if any).
Zhou in view of Lei are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou to include the concept of two time synchronization values as taught by Lei so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Regarding Claim 16,
Zhou discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein the configuration information is carried in radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and the association relationship is carried in medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) signaling.
[0065] In 5G networks, control information (for uplink and/or downlink) may be conveyed in a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (i.e., in a MAC header) of a physical channel packet (i.e., a data packet or physical channel signal). For example, a UE 115 may transmit a MAC-CE in a PUCCH or a PUSCH, and a base station may transmit a MAC-CE in a PDCCH or a PDSCH, i.e., in headers thereof. Additionally, MAC-CEs can be transmitted in a payload of a physical channel packet. Examples of control information include information for carrier aggregation and cross carrier repetition, such as a component carrier (CC) identified (ID, CC ID). Examples of MAC-CEs include a Buffer Status Report type MAC-CE, a C-RNTI type MAC-CE, a UE Contention Resolution Identity type MAC-CE, a Timing Advance Command type MAC-CE, a DRX Command type MAC-CE, a Long DRX Command type MAC-CE, a Configured Grant Confirmation type MAC-CE, a Single Entry PHR type MAC-CE, a Multiple Entry PHR type MAC-CE, a SCell Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a Duplication Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP CSI-RS/CSI-IM Resource Set Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, an Aperiodic CSI Trigger State Subselection type MAC-CE, a TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH type MAC-CE, a TCI State Indication for UE-specific PDCCH type MAC-CE, a SP CSI reporting on PUCCH Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP SRS Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a PUCCH spatial relation Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, a SP ZP CSI-RS Resource Set Activation/Deactivation type MAC-CE, and a Recommended bit rate type MAC-CE.
Note: The PDDCH/MAC-CE transmitted to the base station is the “configuration information.” The timing information in the uplink transmission signal is the association relationship between control information and timing advance.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Lei, held further in view Zhang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0330192), herein referred to as “Zhang”. This reference is the U.S.-based counterpart to the WIPO reference (WO 2021093217) provided in the information disclosure statement dated December 2, 2024.
Regarding Claim 14,
Zhou in view of Lei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 14.
However, Zhang discloses: The method of claim 13, the method further comprising:
determining, by the terminal device, a TA adjustment value corresponding to the TCI state information; and determining, by the terminal device, a new TA based on the TA adjustment value and the correspondence.
[0030] The beam and TA relationship determiner 220 in this example may determine a first set of beam indications and a second set of timing advance command (TAC) values, e.g. based on a command or signaling from a BS. Each beam indication in the first set is associated with a respective TAC value in the second set. In one embodiment, each beam indication comprises at least one of: a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set; a spatial relation information (SRI); a quasi co location (QCL) state; a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state. In one example, the beam group comprises a group of beams that are transmitted to different transmission/reception points (TRPs) in a same serving cell. In another example, the beam group comprises a group of beams that are transmitted in different serving cells.
[0092] FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary uplink transmission conflict 900 caused by TA modification, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. When a UE receives TA information from a base station and applies it to the subsequent adjustment of the transmission TA of the uplink signal, it may overlap with the former adjacent uplink signal without TA adjustment in the time domain, causing the uplink signal collision. As shown in FIG. 9, slot n 911 starts from a timing alignment baseline 901 in time domain. Before the TA modification, slot n 911, slot n+1 912 . . . slot n+k 913 are not overlapping. After the TA modification, slots starting from slot n+1 922 have an updated or adjusted TA, while slot n 921 still uses the old TA or unadjusted TA. As a result, the two adjacent slots, slot n 921 and slot n+1 922, have an overlapping slot portion 930 due to the TA adjustment 940, which causes a potential uplink transmission conflict. In addition, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 uses TA adjustment during timing synchronization. Compared with the uplink signal of time slot n 921, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 has better anti-interference ability and transmission quality due to the TA adjustment. Due to misalignment of uplink timing, the uplink signal of time slot n 921 may not be effectively decoded and used by the base station. As such, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 should be completely reserved for transmission.
Note: Since there is a relationship between the TCI and TA as noted in paragraph [0030], paragraph [0092]/Figure 9 is demonstrating a new TA value based one the adjustment (before and after).
Zhou in view of Lei and Zhang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Lei to include the concept of determining a TA adjustment value and a new TA based on the adjustment as taught by Zhang so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Regarding Claim 15,
Zhou in view of Lei does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 15.
However, Zhang discloses: The method of claim 14, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the new TA based on the TA adjustment value and the correspondence comprises: determining, by the terminal device, that a sum of the TA adjustment value and an original TA value is a value of the new TA.
[0092] FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary uplink transmission conflict 900 caused by TA modification, in accordance with some embodiments of the present disclosure. When a UE receives TA information from a base station and applies it to the subsequent adjustment of the transmission TA of the uplink signal, it may overlap with the former adjacent uplink signal without TA adjustment in the time domain, causing the uplink signal collision. As shown in FIG. 9, slot n 911 starts from a timing alignment baseline 901 in time domain. Before the TA modification, slot n 911, slot n+1 912 . . . slot n+k 913 are not overlapping. After the TA modification, slots starting from slot n+1 922 have an updated or adjusted TA, while slot n 921 still uses the old TA or unadjusted TA. As a result, the two adjacent slots, slot n 921 and slot n+1 922, have an overlapping slot portion 930 due to the TA adjustment 940, which causes a potential uplink transmission conflict. In addition, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 uses TA adjustment during timing synchronization. Compared with the uplink signal of time slot n 921, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 has better anti-interference ability and transmission quality due to the TA adjustment. Due to misalignment of uplink timing, the uplink signal of time slot n 921 may not be effectively decoded and used by the base station. As such, the uplink signal of slot n+1 922 should be completely reserved for transmission.
Note: The “sum” can be interpreted as the combination of the old/unadjusted TA and the adjusted TA (element 930).
Zhou in view of Lei and Zhang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Lei to include the concept of a sum of a TA adjustment as taught by Zhang so as to promote effective beam synchronization within the network.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411