The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/11/2025 in which claims 1-19, and 21 are pending, claim 21 is new and claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15 and 19 are currently amended.
Drawings
The drawings were received on12/11/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 16, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 1, line 19, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 1, line 21, “the rear machine body is able to rotate” should be – the rear machine body rotates--.
Claim 1, line 25, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 1, line 27, “the hedge body is able to be started” should be – the hedge body is started--.
Claim 2, line 5 and line 8, “and in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- and when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 9, “of an inner ring of the second handle” should be -- of the inner ring of the second handle--. As the inner ring was introduced in claim 1.
Claim 11, line 17, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 11, line 20, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 11, line 22, “the rear machine body is able to rotate” should be – the rear machine body rotates--.
Claim 11, line 26, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 11, line 28, “the hedge body is able to be started” should be – the hedge body is started--.
Claim 12, line 5, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 12, line 7, “in response to the rotary unlocking trigger” should be -- when the rotary unlocking trigger--.
Claim 12, line 9, “the rear machine body is able to rotate” should be – the rear machine body rotates--.
Claim 19, lines 15 “in response to the lock pin” should be amended to –when the lock pin--.
Claim 19, lines 17 “in response to the lock pin” should be amended to –when the lock pin--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. (U.S. Patent 9,308,637), herein referred to as Tsuchiya.
In regards to claim 1 and 11, Tsuchiya discloses a hedge trimmer, comprising: a front machine body (first unit 20) provided with a first handle (24), wherein the first handle (24) is provided with a first starting trigger (front start lever 26);
a blade assembly (102/104) connected to an axial front end of the front machine body (20);
and a rear machine body (second unit 40) connected to an axial rear end of the front machine body, wherein the rear machine body is provided with a second handle (main handle 44), and the second handle is provided with a second starting trigger (main start lever 46);
wherein the front machine body comprises a motor (motor 30; fig. 4) configured to drive the blade assembly to reciprocate, the rear machine body (40) comprises a power supply circuit (supply circuit 90) electrically connected with the motor (30) and a power supply/battery pack (battery 80) connected to the rear machine body (40), and the power supply is configured to supply power to the motor through the power supply circuit; the rear machine body (40) is configured to rotate relative to the front machine body (20), the rear machine body (40) comprises a rotary unlocking trigger (operation member 50; rotates relative to the front machine body) and a first microswitch (lock cooperative switch 52) arranged on a side of the rotary unlocking trigger (50), and the first microswitch (52) is a normally closed switch (figs. 6/7) and is electrically connected to the power supply circuit (80); the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is configured to be at a first position (per Fig. 9) or a second position (per Fig. 10) relative to the front machine body (20); in response to the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is at the first position (fig. 9), the rotary unlocking trigger (50) catches the front machine body (in lock holes 36a) and is away from the first microswitch (52), at this time, the rear machine body (40) is fixed relative to the front machine body (20), and the power supply circuit (90) is conducted; in response to the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is at the second position (fig. 10), the rotary unlocking trigger (50) disengages from the front machine body (exits lock holes 36a) and triggers the first microswitch (52), the rear machine body is able to rotate relative to the front machine body, and the power supply circuit is disconnected (“However, the lock cooperative switch 52 is turned on and enables the electric power supply circuit 90 when the lock operation member 50 is at the lock position, and is turned off and cuts off the electric power supply circuit 90 when the lock operation member 50 is at the unlock position” col. 8, lines 7-20);
the rotary unlocking trigger (50) comprises a grip part (e.g. the sides and/or top of 50 can be gripped, alternatively the pin 60 grips the lock holes 36a) the second starting trigger (46) is arranged on an upper side of an inner ring (annotated below) of the second handle (44) and the grip part is arranged on a lower side of the inner ring of the second handle (44) (as annotated below); and in response to the rotary unlocking trigger is at the first position (fig. 9), the first starting trigger (26) on the first handle (24) and the second starting trigger (46) on the second handle (44) are simultaneously pressed, the hedge trimmer is able to be started.
It is noted that the limitations “upper side” and “lower side” are not set with any reference to the hedge trimmer. Figure 9 illustrates handle portion 40 defining a handle opening surrounded by an inner peripheral frame (inner ring). The inner ring includes upper, lateral and lower portions surrounding the handle opening. As shown element 50 is positioned along the lower portion of the inner peripheral frame defining the handle opening. Accordingly, the reference teaches that lock operation member 50 arranged on a lower side of the inner ring. Additionally, the lower side of the inner ring corresponds to the portion of the structure below the handle opening. Lock operation member 50 is positioned along the housing structure directly adjacent to this lower portion of the inner ring. Accordingly, lock operation member 50 is arranged on the lower side of the inner ring as claimed.
In regards to claim 2 and 12, Tsuchiya discloses a wherein the front machine body has a cylindrical rotating shaft part (36; fig. 3) on a rear end of the front machine body, the rotating shaft part defines a plurality of lock holes (36a) distributed on an outer peripheral surface of the rotating shaft part, the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is provided with a lock pin (60) located at a front end of the rotary unlocking trigger (50) and matched with one or more lock holes (60), and in response to the rotary unlocking trigger is at the first position (fig. 9), the lock pin (60) is inserted into the one or more lock holes (36a), and the rear machine body (40) is fixed relative to the front machine body (20); in response to the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is at the second position (fig. 10), the lock pin (60) is separated from the one of the one or more lock holes (36a), and the rear machine body (40) is able to rotate relatively to the front machine body (20; see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 3 and 13, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the rotary unlocking trigger (50) and the rear machine body (40) form a sliding connection or a rotating connection, and a rear end of the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is exposed out of the rear machine body and configured to be operated by an operator (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 4 and 14, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the rotary unlocking trigger (50) is provided with a hook-shaped part (the part of trigger 50 adjacent 48 per Figure 10 is hook shaped) that is located at the rear end of the rotary unlocking trigger and is exposed out of the rear machine body (fig. 10), and a free end of the hook-shaped part is bent towards a lower side of the rear machine body (bends downwards, see Fig. 10).
In regards to claim 5 and 15, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the rear machine body (40) is provided with an elastic piece (spring member 62) located between the lock pin (60) and an inner wall of the rear machine body, and the elastic piece (60) and the first microswitch (52) are located on the same side (bottom side) of the rotary unlocking trigger (50).
In regards to claim 6 and 16, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the one or more lock holes (36a) are arranged at the same intervals along a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft part (36).
In regards to claim 7 and 17, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the plurality of locking holes (36a) forms a plurality of locations with rotatable angles of the front machine body relative to the rear machine body, and an angle difference of adjacent locations is 45 degrees.
In regards to claim 9, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the second handle (44) extending along an axial direction of the rear machine body and the starting trigger (46) is configured to control starting of the motor, and the second starting trigger (46) and the rotary unlocking trigger (50) are respectively located on an upper side and a lower side of an inner ring of the second handle (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (U.S. Patent 9,308,637), herein referred to as Tsuchiya in view of Lin (U.S. Publication 2008/0282555), herein referred to as Lin
In regards to claim 8 and 18 , Tsuchiya discloses wherein the front machine body (20) is provided with a first handle (24) extending in a transverse direction that is perpendicular to an axial direction of the front machine body, the first handle comprises a holding part (24) (see Fig. 1, the handle 24 is C-shaped) arranged transversely and connecting parts that are respectively connected with the front machine body from two transverse ends of the holding part, an elastic component is arranged between the front machine body (20) and each of the connecting parts, and the elastic component is rubber or a spring. Tsuchiya discloses the claimed invention except for the highlighted recitations wherein a spring is arranged between the front machine body and the connecting parts. Attention is further directed to the Lin hedge clipper. Lin discloses a rotary mechanism 9 that can be utilized to rotate the back handle 1 relative to the front housing of the trimmer. Alternatively, the rotatory mechanism can be utilized with the front handle. Lin sets forth that “the rotary mechanism 9 may be incorporated in the main handle, the front handle and the lateral handles of the present invention to control their rotations” see paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated a spring such as shown by Lin (e.g. 92) to provide for the rotation and adjustability of the front handle of Tsuchiya relative to the front machine body for better control of the trimmer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant contends that Tsuchiya does not disclose the amended limitations that the grip part is arranged on a lower side of the inner ring of the second handle. It is noted that the limitations “upper side” and “lower side” are not set with any reference to the hedge trimmer. Figure 9 illustrates handle portion 40 defining a handle opening surrounded by an inner peripheral frame (inner ring). The inner ring includes upper, lateral and lower portions surrounding the handle opening. As shown lock operation member 50 is positioned along the lower portion of the inner peripheral frame defining the handle opening. Accordingly, the reference teaches that lock operation member 50 arranged on a lower side of the inner ring. Additionally, the lower side of the inner ring corresponds to the portion of the structure below the handle opening. Lock operation member 50 is positioned along the housing structure directly adjacent to this lower portion of the inner ring. Accordingly, lock operation member 50 is arranged on the lower side of the inner ring as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724