DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023 was filed and is in
compliance with provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Regarding claim 9, buried layer is said to be the second conductivity type (p+) but in both in figure 7 and in figure 8 buried layer is shown as first conductivity type (n+).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction
of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be
considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting
the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rohrer (US 2022/0238744 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rohrer teaches a single photon avalanche diode, comprising:
a first double diffusion region (28, Fig.1A), being a second conductivity type (p-type); and
a first heavily-doped implant region (27, Fig.1A), located on said first double diffusion region (28, Fig.1A), being a first conductivity type (n-type), and a multiplication region (50, Fig.2B) formed between said first heavily-doped implant region and said first double diffusion region.
Fig.1A
Fig.2B
Regarding claim 2, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 1,
further comprising:
a guard ring, comprising a second double diffusion region (29, Fig.1A), said second double diffusion region being said first conductivity type (n-type) and surrounding said first double diffusion region (28, Fig.1A).
Regarding claim 3, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 2, wherein said guard ring further comprises an epitaxial layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig 1A) surrounding said second double diffusion region (29, Fig.1A).
Annotated Fig.1A
Regarding claim 4, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 2, wherein said guard ring further comprises a substrate layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig 1A) surrounding said second double diffusion region (29, Fig.1A).
Regarding claim 5, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 3, further comprising:
a deep well (Deep well, Annotated Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and said second double diffusion region (29, Fig.1A) and said epitaxial layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig.1A) located on said deep well.
Regarding claim 6, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 5, further comprising:
a first well (35, Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), located on said deep well (Deep well, Annotated Fig.1A), and surrounding said epitaxial layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig.1A); and
a second well (second well, Annotated Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and located between said deep well and said first double diffusion region (28, Fig. 1A), said epitaxial layer surrounding said second well and located between said first well and said second well.
Regarding claim 7, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 6, further comprising:
a second heavily-doped implant region (36, Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and located on said first well (35, Fig.1A);
a first electrode (19, Fig.1A), disposed on said first heavily-doped implant region (27, Fig. 1A); and a second electrode (21, Fig.1A), disposed on said second heavily-doped implant region.
Regarding claim 9, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 3, further comprising:
a buried layer (Buried layer, Annotated Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and said second double diffusion region (29, Fig.1A) and said epitaxial layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig.1A) located on said buried layer.
Regarding claim 10, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 9, further comprising:
a first well (35, Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), located on said buried layer (Buried layer, Annotated Fig.1A), and surrounding said epitaxial layer (Epitaxy layer/substrate, Annotated Fig.1A); and
a second well (second well, Annotated Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and located between said buried layer and said first double diffusion region (28, Fig.1A), said epitaxial layer surrounding said second well, and located between said first well and said second well.
Regarding claim 11, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 10, further comprising:
a second heavily-doped implant region (36, Fig.1A), being said second conductivity type (p-type), and located on said first well (35, Fig.1A);
a first electrode (19, Fig.1A), disposed on said first heavily-doped implant region (27, Fig. 1A); and
a second electrode (21, Fig.1A), disposed on said second heavily-doped implant region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohrer (US 2022/0238744 A1) in view of Yang Huang et al. (Y. Huang, Y. Xu and P. Xiatig, "A high-fill-factor SPAD array cell with a shared deep N-well," 2016 China Semiconductor Technology International Conference (CSTIC), Shanghai, China, 2016, pp. 1-3, Doi: 10.1109/CSTIC.2016.7463899. (Year: 2016))
Regarding claim 8, Rohrer teaches the single photon avalanche diode of claim 7, further comprising:
a shallow trench isolation layer (38, Fig.1A), said first heavily-doped implant region (27, Fig.1A), and said second heavily-doped implant region (36, Fig.1A).
However, Rohrer does not teach a shallow trench isolation layer surrounding said first heavily-doped implant region, and located between said first heavily-doped implant region and said second heavily-doped implant region.
Yang Huang et al. teaches a shallow trench isolation layer (STI, Fig.2) surrounding said first heavily-doped implant region (N+ region, Fig.2), and located between said first heavily-doped implant region and said second heavily-doped implant region (P+ region, Fig.2).
Rohrer and Yang Huang et al. are analogous art to the claimed invention because they both are directed to semiconductor device with single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Rohrer in view of Yang Huang et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rohrer by placing STI surrounding said first heavily -doped implant region, and located between first heavily-doped implant region and said second heavily-doped implant region as taught by Yang Huang et al..
Since, STI protects from leakage current between two heavily-doped implant region and also prevents carriers from diffusing from one active region to the another.
Figure.2
Conclusion
/R.B.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/LYNNE A GURLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2811